Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XX-26,644 in ROI (1,772 deaths) 6,064 in NI (556 deaths) (08/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,082 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Not at all. That's a live feed to RTE with the headline from yesterday.

Someone said earlier he was....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Watch "Statement by Taoiseach Micheál Martin on Covid-19" on YouTube

https://youtu.be/_MukkyWe2hs

What's the odds on a 2 week national lockdown, schools have no hope of opening as things stand.
    Pretty low as long as these numbers follow the predicted pattern. There is mass testing and contact tracing going on so expect high numbers. Glynn says it will be like that for a few days and there may be a surge too at Day 7 with retests. It's not like March when we had no idea where cases were coming from, they know what's going on here. This is disease management in action, hopefully very successfully!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,156 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

fritzelly wrote: »
    Think someone has messed up there - showing RTE One instead with a film they shouldn't be showing on YT

Then again its far better than the RTE player :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,764 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

People who don't wear masks make me sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,870 ✭✭✭✭road_high

People who don't wear masks make me sick.

Keep away from them then. Not that hard to do is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,240 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

174 cases?!?!
    This is the second wave. No more "ah no there is no second wave lads" bs.

It's on now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

spookwoman wrote: »
    Unfortunately many people cannot afford butcher meat. From my own experience butcher meat is not always better, some places you have to preorder cuts and then when you get it it could be poor quality and you still have to pay for it.

Thats unfortunate about the quality. When we were buying meat and switched to butchers we couldnt buy the same quantity as supermarket, which was a good thing. We planned our meals better and stretched dishes out more. Less waste, less plastic etc. We've since cut it out completely apart from the odd time.

is_that_so wrote: »
    Pretty low as long as these numbers follow the predicted pattern. There is mass testing and contact tracing going on so expect high numbers. Glynn says it will be like that for a few days and there may be a surge too at Day 7 with retests. It's not like March when we had no idea where cases were coming from, they know what's going on here. This is disease management in action, hopefully very successfully!

Yea just listening to Glynn there no fear of more lockdowns most of the country is averaging 16 per 100,000 Kildare is over 100 per 100,000, offaly 80 and laois is 60ish...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭eggy81

There needs to be an education campaign on how to use masks but there still hasn't been anything. Make masks mandatory in retail and on public transport as if the problem will just go away. They need to educate people and make them mandatory in all settings.

What, like outside in the fresh air walking the dog in the mountains and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,870 ✭✭✭✭road_high

eggy81 wrote: »

"Away with the fairies" being a very apt username there

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

eggy81 wrote: »

Indoor settings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

A lot of talk about they are known clusters and tracing is happening etc. which is great.

But, these clusters arose from somewhere so even if we have a small number of community transmission these clusters probably started with one of these.

So local restrictions appropriate I think.

Indoor settings

***Where your in a confined space for more than 20 minutes with no physical distancing.
    This blanket masking even if your only stepping inside a door for 5 minutes is completely unnecessary and based on 0 science just another knee jerk reaction to keep a few loons and the media happy.

Masking has made people stop the other precautions. Nobody is cleaning their hands to the same extent and these gombeens in masks think they can ignore the two meter distancing rule.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

thats me off the meat so, breathing and coughing over the meat
    no thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,174 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

spookwoman wrote: »
    Unfortunately many people cannot afford butcher meat. From my own experience butcher meat is not always better, some places you have to preorder cuts and then when you get it it could be poor quality and you still have to pay for it.

Jeez what kind of Butcher's have you there? Sounds absurd to have to order a cut of meat. At least six butcher's in our nearest town and the quality is excellent and it's far from expensive. Anywhere that requires preordering isn't a real butcher's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

There needs to be an education campaign on how to use masks but there still hasn't been anything. Make masks mandatory in retail and on public transport as if the problem will just go away. They need to educate people and make them mandatory in all settings.

I definitely think the need to step up their communication with the population. It’s actually frightening how people can still think masks don’t help. The only question mark over them is how much they help. Anybody can do a simple test at home. Stand 3 feet from a mirror, Fill your mouth with water and cough, with and without a mask and tell us how wearing the mask impacted the amount of water on the mirror.

I had a conversation with my 11 year old son earlier. My wife was concerned he would think certain decisions we take at different times (limiting what he can do depending on COVID numbers or restrictions etc) were like a punishment. He knows there is a virus , all our children do, but they also know that they don’t need to be scared of it. We Explain to them that we have a responsibility to be careful to protect vulnerable people like their grand parents and people who may get very sick if they catch it.

So I told him there are decisions we have had to make at time’s and we may have to make in the future that may seem unfair and it might feel like we are punishing him. I told him we really don’t want to have to take these decisions and we aren’t completely sure at different time’s what is the right call to make, but every time we are trying to be fair to him but also cautious when it comes to the virus.

He understood everything I said , he knows we are trying to do our best. That’s how I see how our authorities (generally) and our health services since middle of March. People being angry, confused at times and wanting to vent is understandable. But we all have our role to play to make the impact of the virus less severe, if we all played our individual part in this (including thinking of others, not just what we want) , we would manage this a lot better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Myramar

road_high wrote: »
    Those masks proving a rip roaring success aren’t they

Te people in these factories did not catch it on public transport or in retail outlets and, with 5 community transmission cases in the entire country it looks like, so far, they haven't spread it to others in these setting either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭theballz

I know two nurses who work in covid wards in different hospitals. They both received emails yesterday regarding adjusted plans for second wave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

Exactly, I wouldnt call mass produced factory meat food. Especially the processed shìte.

Ask any parent/grandparent how many times they ate meat in a week pre 60s and they ll say once or twice at best.

Theres still a butchers in most decent sized towns where you'll get locally grown meat and a good service where they ll cut/pack it whatever way you want. You'll pay an extra couple of euro but its a better product and it might make people eat less of it. You ll be helping local farms and producers.

Yeah, Brady's traditional family ham "cured for three whole days", ffs.

Local butchers aren't all they are cracked up to either, try asking them for salt only cured ham/bacon, or to guarantee that there was no water pumped in their minced beef.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Lash_Alert

174 cases?!?!
    This is the second wave. No more "ah no there is no second wave lads" bs.

It's on now.

you best get into lock down mood then! Maybe get onto twitter and abuse the politicians?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Drumpot wrote: »
    I definitely think the need to step up their communication with the population. It’s actually frightening how people can still think masks don’t help.
    There are plenty of people in this forum who think masks don't help - communication can only get you so far if people have no common sense and refuse to listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭bettyoleary

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Jeez what kind of Butcher's have you there? Sounds absurd to have to order a cut of meat. At least six butcher's in our nearest town and the quality is excellent and it's far from expensive. Anywhere that requires pr eordering isn't a real butcher's.
    Unfortunately industrial farming dosent work with corona. We have to let our animals social distance. Also we have to deal with fosil fuels. Quite easy to ponder really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

***Where your in a confined space for more than 20 minutes with no physical distancing.
    This blanket masking even if your only stepping inside a door for 5 minutes is completely unnecessary and based on 0 science just another knee jerk reaction to keep a few loons and the media happy.

Masking has made people stop the other precautions. Nobody is cleaning their hands to the same extent and these gombeens in masks think they can ignore the two meter distancing rule.

People think masks make them invincible. The messages about good hygiene, hand sanitising, and social distancing are being completely lost. There's much less hand sanitiser around now, and way less people using it.

The people I meet that aren't wearing masks are much more likely to use social distancing and to have good hygiene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Almost a replica of threads in March as cases increased. No shortage of patronising posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

How fcuking dim are people if they can't manage masks? I have no special training in infection control measures around masks but it makes sense to have clean zip lock bags for each clean mask. After wearing a mask, put it into a bag. I like to use nappy bags and tie a knot and then I keep the zip lock bags for clean masks and I change the zip lock bags frequently. It's not hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,174 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Unfortunately industrial farming dosent work with corona. We have to let our animals social distance. Also we have to deal with fosil fuels. Quite easy to ponder really

I have absolutely no idea what you mean by that.

Fossil fuels ?

Easy to ponder?

What are you on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

You mentioned fosil fuels yesterday in a reply, what about fossil fuels and covid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭theballz

Where these lads in the meat factories not wearing masks?

owlbethere wrote: »
    How fcuking dim are people if they can't manage masks? I have no special training in infection control measures around masks but it makes sense to have clean zip lock bags for each clean mask. After wearing a mask, put it into a bag. I like to use nappy bags and tie a knot and then I keep the zip lock bags for clean masks and I change the zip lock bags frequently. It's not hard.

I've not seen anyone do that. If you tell me your seeing most people do that I won't believe you. Are you sanstizing your hands before you put it on and take it off as I'm seeing no one doing that either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

owlbethere wrote: »

Most people don't use masks correctly, they throw their masks anywhere, stuff it into their pockets or bag when they're not using them, touch it incorrectly when putting it on and taking it off, touch it and their face while wearing it, etc. etc.