Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XX-26,644 in ROI (1,772 deaths) 6,064 in NI (556 deaths) (08/08)Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

I agree with the sentiment of Harris but I'd like to add something.
    Fine the sh!te out of people who break the public health rules as it
    could lead to your county locking down.

We are far too nice and it's going to cost us.

https://twitter.com/SimonHarrisTD/status/1291769482952634371?s=20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Loada bollix.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

So if you can visit family, which live outside the three counties, what sense does this all make!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭v638sg7k1a92bx

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    These three counties will be the cautionary tale that if cases rise this is what will happen.

Cases as opposed to deaths. The narrative has changed since the outbreak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Sounds harmless enough at first glance except for perhaps restaurants having to move to take-away only, more of a restricted movement kind of thing... But no travel to these counties is bad news for all hotels as any staycations booked there are off the cards now. Seems like lots of cancellations anyway since this morning.

Grandmother's nursing home in celbridge also contacted all families this morning to cancel all visits until further notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

As I have said bunch of idiots running the country.. You couldn't make it up. Copy and paste a template from a foreign government and apply it stupidly to 3 counties. Clowns

The poor girl getting married this month earlier in the thread in Kildare isn't going to be happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,197 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,674 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Link broken?

Looks like the tweet has been deleted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

jaysus. That escalated quickly.

First case confirmed on 30th of July.
    80 cases Plant closed on 5th of August.
    County closed down on 7th of August.

https://twitter.com/JackHoJo/status/1291469937609969672?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭BLIZZARD7

As I have said bunch of idiots running the country.. You couldn't make it up. Copy and paste a template from a foreign government and apply it stupidly to 3 counties. Clowns

What do you suggest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,760 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Lets see your plan Paddy.
    Also what county are you from, out of curiosity?

Charlie Flanagan, Laois-Offaly TD, makes a very valid point:
    "Meat factory issue was well flagged & should have been tackled earlier. Punishing and penalising an entire community in an arbitrary way is a blunt instrument and ill-considered."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,021 ✭✭✭kingshankly

theguzman wrote: »
    If Kildare has lockdown how about the Motorways in and out of the county?

Did the motorways close when the country was in lock down ??? God some people!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

So if you can visit family, which live outside the three counties, what sense does this all make!

Yeah it makes no sense. If a regional lockdown is going to work, the people in those counties shouldn’t be allowed to leave those counties. If you can travel all around the country for work what will that do?

Also what exactly is closed? Just Cafes, restaurants and bars for the most part?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Unreal. How the meat factories where allowed to operate with impunity yet you couldnt have a pint without ordering a meal is breath taking.

It was well highlighted how much of an issue these kips where months ago yet we only act now. A sham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭screamer

Yeah it makes no sense. If a regional lockdown is going to work, the people in those counties shouldn’t be allowed to leave those counties. If you can travel all around the country for work what will that do?

Also what exactly is closed? Just Cafes, restaurants and bars for the most part?

We don’t know the details yet as press conference isn’t till later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

I dont think sport should be stopped.

the virus is not spread playing sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Think it was mentioned a few days ago that there appeared to be a tapering in worldwide cases, it may be testing limitations, or perhaps just temporary, but it does seem like the growth has slowed, even a little.
    The US government has been in charge of their numbers for the last couple of weeks, as opposed to the CDC. May be a contributor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

pGiutJ3.gif

Laving Kildare this evening.

(I say this as an exiled native.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

Charlie Flanagan, Laois-Offaly TD, makes a very valid point:
    Could have done something when he was a minister but was too busy praising the black and tans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭eggy81

Thats a ****ing joke. One down 3 ****ing counties because of a few meat factories. Shower of *****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,344 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Such a preventable mess, bloody idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scoondal

MD1990 wrote: »
    I dont think sport should be stopped.

the virus is not spread playing sports.

Sports, pubs my French holiday ... no cases.
    Lock down Kildare, those Kildare people are spreading the virus all around them.
    What kind of people are they ? They should be ashamed of living in Co. Kildare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭Christy42

So any announcement about what is to be done about factories?

Or is this just a "sure we tried something" and ignoring the actual issue that would require some effort?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,874 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Did the motorways close when the country was in lock down ??? God some people!!

Yes they did unless you had essential business. I couldn’t access the M9 from Kilkenny without showing a work letter each time. Some people indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Do the restaurant, gyms, cinemas, etc restrictions apply to the whole country or just the three counties? What I'm loving about all this is the clarity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,760 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Christy42 wrote: »
    So any announcement about what is to be done about factories?

Or is this just a "sure we tried something" and ignoring the actual issue that would require some effort?
    There's not much to be done now when the damage is done to be fair. Today's about the three counties, the factory issue can be dealt with on a seperate occasion.

Sanjuro wrote: »
    Do the restaurant, gyms, cinemas, etc restrictions apply to the whole country or just the three counties? What I'm loving about all this is the clarity.

3 counties