If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

briany wrote: »
    Even if every pub opened back up tomorrow under the proviso of doing some simple food for the customers coming in, be it a pizza, toasted sandwich or just letting them bring in a bag of chips, it still wouldn't be good enough for a lot of people. The food thing is only to pay lip service to what people really want to do when going to their local and that is to socialise - that's the main attraction of a traditional public house, the craic, the atmosphere etc, because you can sure as hell eat and drink and watch sport at home (if you've a way of viewing said sport, anyway).

I think the problem still remains that so many people will be so glad to get back out to the pub, and publicans will be so glad of the patronage, that all the social distancing and time limit, and food stipulation will go out the window where and when it can be gotten away with.

But on the one hand, if all that does not contribute to a spike in cases, then I would say that is (in hindsight) a fantastic piece of social disobedience, showing that we can still have our pub culture while not overloading the medical system. But on the other, if it does contribute to a rise in cases, directly, nobody involved is going to admit that they f'd up.

I'd be quite opposite of that, I'd appreciate my local so much I'd go over the top with distancing, hand hygiene and sticking to a time limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,610 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Poorside wrote: »
    I'd be quite opposite of that, I'd appreciate my local so much I'd go over the top with distancing, hand hygiene and sticking to a time limit.

I agree, my local is a well run, clean shop with no hassle and a crew of dedicated regulars who closed before they were told to, spent thousands to get up to scratch and have been paying rent and bills for 6 months now with no income. At this stage in the game I'd take a 20 minute time limit once a week just to help the lads out (stubborn pricks won't just take a whip round)
    I'd imagine most of the locals would feel the same way........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,457 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Well , seeing as i was the first to mention them, it's not about opening the pub up for me. I have not drank any alcohol in six months and don't miss it all that much, but there are people who are isolated who do. A mens shed, which i was not aware of, is a good idea, but then not everyone might have the inclination to join a mens sheds to learn a new skill and socialise that way.

Sure. The trope of the little auld fella at the end of the bar, with the white hair and the flat cap, comes up time and time again in these threads. If you care about that fella, you'll support ways for him to socialise without the danger of the pub (to the community and himself). Assuming the only way he can socialise is in the pub, is a very limiting belief.

If we care about this little old fella, then we should support government funding for a range of alternative ways for them to socialise, men's sheds are one good example. The pub isn't a realistic option for the next few years. Time to get to grips with reality and support other ways for that fella to get his healthy social interaction - with lower risk of spreading the virus to himself and others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,506 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Again, no one is dying hor being hospitalised from theses clusters. We can see from the stats that the vast majority aren't massively effected by this. Yet we are at panic stations.

But the virus is still spreading. We can’t just say “nobody died, it’s grand”... because we won’t be saying that if a victim is an older person, asthma sufferer etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,617 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

Sure. The trope of the little auld fella at the end of the bar, with the white hair and the flat cap, comes up time and time again in these threads. If you care about that fella, you'll support ways for him to socialise without the danger of the pub (to the community and himself). Assuming the only way he can socialise is in the pub, is a very limiting belief.

If we care about this little old fella, then we should support government funding for a range of alternative ways for them to socialise, men's sheds are one good example. The pub isn't a realistic option for the next few years. Time to get to grips with reality and support other ways for that fella to get his healthy social interaction - with lower risk of spreading the virus to himself and others.

You do not have the right to control how one lives their life. Time to get to grips with that reality.

I wonder are some people aware of just how arrogant they come across as when trying to enforce their will on other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,652 ✭✭✭✭briany

I don't think a Men's Shed is going to replace a pub for a lot of 'little auld fellas' because they may have been going to a particular pub much of their lives. They'd view it as something normal. But a Men's Shed has an underlying dimension of a self-help group for older men who have fallen through the cracks into a lonely situation or feeling of uselessness and that isn't a state that men are always ready to admit they've arrived at.

Rather than auld tricksters taking up art classes, what I think would be more likely to happen where pubs aren't an option for several years (not that I see this coming to pass) is just the massive uptick in old fashioned rambling houses in rural areas. Such as this,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

hynesie08 wrote: »
    I agree, my local is a well run, clean shop with no hassle and a crew of dedicated regulars who closed before they were told to, spent thousands to get up to scratch and have been paying rent and bills for 6 months now with no income. At this stage in the game I'd take a 20 minute time limit once a week just to help the lads out (stubborn pricks won't just take a whip round)
    I'd imagine most of the locals would feel the same way........

Sounds like my place, although they started doing takeaway growlers and it's been a godsend to both them and me.
    Still getting to try plenty of different beers and have a quick chat with the owner and they're making a few bob as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

You do not have the right to control how one lives their life. Time to get to grips with that reality.

I wonder are some people aware of just how arrogant they come across as when trying to enforce their will on other people.

You mean like the people trying to force the pubs open - against, and pissing on, the efforts of those who've made sacrifices either by foregoing some things that they like themselves, or who have put themselves at risk in hospitals and even essential businesses, just to keep the show on the road and keep people alive?

Fairly arrogant alright - "I want my pints and fuck everyone else"

Perhaps we should just suit everyone. People can register that they follow the guidelines, and this can be verified somehow, and then others can verify that they don't.
    Those that don't want to follow the guidelines then can get to the back of the hospital queue if they catch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,033 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

You do not have the right to give someone else a possibly fatal virus.

I wonder are some people aware of just how arrogant they come across as when insisting that they can do what they like regardless of the consequences for other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

You do not have the right to give someone else a possibly fatal virus.

I wonder are some people aware of just how arrogant they come across as when insisting that they can do what they like regardless of the consequences for other people.

In fairness he has more of a chance of crashing his car and killing someone than he does of meeting someone in a shop for a few seconds, passing covid on and then that person dying from the virus.

You're all being ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

In fairness he has more of a chance of crashing his car and killing someone than he does of meeting someone in a shop for a few seconds, passing covid on and then that person dying from the virus.

You're all being ridiculous.
    Isn't it more to do with sitting in groups in pubs, restaurants and clubs etc.?
    Not too many people are worried about meeting someone in a shop for a few seconds.

Taking the covid deaths out of the equation, the virus still costs hospital beds, and that is not somewhere we want to be in two months time going into flu season etc.
    Also, would the person that has been killed in the car crash be likely to pass on the car for somebody else to crash?

Not so sure it is everyone else that's being ridiculous.

I don't make the laws. The government is enforcing pubs staying shut, not me. And all the anecdotes about the little aul fella at the end of the bar with his white hair and flat cap and puppy dog eyes, don't change the facts.

If you care about that aul fella and his social life, then you'll support other ways for him to socialise. If you only pretend to care about him because you want the pubs to open again then you'll oppose promoting alternative ways for that aul fella to socialise because it was never about him in the first place.

I think we need to create and promote new ways to socialise safely. This thing isn't going away in the next few weeks or months. It's likely here for years. So we need to adapt.

briany wrote: »
    I don't think a Men's Shed is going to replace a pub for a lot of 'little auld fellas' because they may have been going to a particular pub much of their lives. They'd view it as something normal. But a Men's Shed has an underlying dimension of a self-help group for older men who have fallen through the cracks into a lonely situation or feeling of uselessness and that isn't a state that men are always ready to admit they've arrived at.

Rather than auld tricksters taking up art classes, what I think would be more likely to happen where pubs aren't an option for several years (not that I see this coming to pass) is just the massive uptick in old fashioned rambling houses in rural areas. Such as this,

Right but I think you're getting too focused on men's sheds. Men's sheds are just one good example of a way to socialise safely. There are countless other ways and they should be created and promoted because sitting around waiting for pubs to reopen is a surefire way to end up socially isolated

Rambling houses like that one would need good social distancing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,027 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

How I hate that awful phrase "wet pubs" I wonder who came up with it? Rte seem to be very fond of using it. Very subtle connotations of drinking dives full of soaks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,326 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Food pubs and Pints pubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

How I hate that awful phrase "wet pubs" I wonder who came up with it? Rte seem to be very fond of using it. Very subtle connotations of drinking dives full of soaks

Never heard of it before last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,341 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Completely agree. I don't think anyone has ever heard or used of this phrase until a number of weeks ago. I cringe anytime I hear it.

Food and non food pubs would suffice. They definitely are trying to push something seedy with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,033 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

The probability of giving a particular person Covid may be small, the probability that you give someone Covid of all the people you'll meet in the next month may well be material.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,786 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I don't make the laws. The government is enforcing pubs staying shut, not me. And all the anecdotes about the little aul fella at the end of the bar with his white hair and flat cap and puppy dog eyes, don't change the facts.

If you care about that aul fella and his social life, then you'll support other ways for him to socialise. If you only pretend to care about him because you want the pubs to open again then you'll oppose promoting alternative ways for that aul fella to socialise because it was never about him in the first place.

I think we need to create and promote new ways to socialise safely. This thing isn't going away in the next few weeks or months. It's likely here for years. So we need to adapt.

Thats the reality of the situation. There's no guarantees on a vaccine and even if there is its at least a year away. People who only go to the pub to socialise need to find new ways to meet up with others, be it mens sheds or going to GAA matches or some other outlet to get out of the house.

I think it hasnt dawned on a lot of people yet that these pub closures could go deep into 2021 or even further. Schools & universities are set to re-open next month and lets face it there are going to be clusters out of that. Plus we will have the usual winter flus going around too. I doubt we will see the drink only pubs open this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,838 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Any publican relying on this fella is screwed anyway, or has costs so low they'll get through it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,476 ✭✭✭MOH

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Schools & universities are set to re-open next month and lets face it there are going to be clusters out of that.

It's ridiculous to be even considering opening schools. Every school is just full of teenagers half of whom will have been at house parties the night before, who'll just infect the rest who'll then spread it around the community.
    The only reason anyone wants schools open is that parents are fed up of having their moody teenagers sitting around the house.

People should stop worrying about this mythical guy in the country with no friends or family and only means of outlet is the pub in the ar5e end of nowhere. If there are any, they will find something different to do if pubs are closed. Amazing how he is always puled out when discussing getting round things like rural drink driving etc. He is a caricature, an extreme, and Ive never met one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,838 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Schools is about the education of the children, and it's another factor in the economy normalising. Teenagers have been socialising, back playing contact sport for weeks already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,027 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

joeguevara wrote: »
    People should stop worrying about this mythical guy in the country with no friends or family and only means of outlet is the pub in the ar5e end of nowhere. If there are any, they will find something different to do if pubs are closed. Amazing how he is always puled out when discussing getting round things like rural drink driving etc. He is a caricature, an extreme, and Ive never met one.

I'm afraid you may have led quite a sheltered life if you've never met such a person. They inhabit both the country and the town in equal numbers they can be married or single or whatever and that couple of hours in the local of an evening talking sport, politics or general nonsense is what keeps them going and sane, the human interaction that only a local public house can give, a haven from life's troubles for a short while its part of who we are and has saved many a one from the rope or the river over the years
    it has never been a mystery to me why we drink, we drink to escape that truth which stalks us all and will come to us all in the end whether we work out every day and eat all our greens or not those few hours of pure escapism are what keeps someone like me sane and ready to go on and so I look forward to the day when I can visit my local again and shoot the breeze and enjoy a few pints without being forced to have a "substantial" meal

I'm afraid you may have led quite a sheltered life if you've never met such a person. They inhabit both the country and the town in equal numbers they can be married or single or whatever and that couple of hours in the local of an evening talking sport, politics or general nonsense is what keeps them going and sane, the human interaction that only a local public house can give, a haven from life's troubles for a short while its part of who we are and has saved many a one from the rope or the river over the years
    it has never been a mystery to me why we drink, we drink to escape that truth which stalks us all and will come to us all in the end whether we work out every day and eat all our greens or not those few hours of pure escapism are what keeps someone like me sane and ready to go on and so I look forward to the day when I can visit my local again and shoot the breeze and enjoy a few pints without being forced to have a "substantial" meal

The fact that I haven't led a sheltered life is the reason I haven't met them stuck in the back ar5se of nowhere where a pub is the only social outlet. Ridiculous comment.

If they inhabit the town, then there are pubs are open. And other establishments. Their own fault if their life is centred around a mystical enchanted place, that is closed.

In the country, where I am from, there are very few of these people. For the miniscual amount of them that there are, make a change. They are not the customers that help a publican stay afloat, and as someone who comes from a pub family, sick of hearing about them as a reason that pubs should be open.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Rimmy

Heading down now to the local for maybe 9 or 10 pints.

Bear garden is open and looking forward to having a few. Receipt in hand job for the food!

Screw the begrudgers!!!!

Rimmy wrote: »

Bear garden is open and looking forward to having a few. Receipt in hand job!

Screw the begrudgers!!!!

Id prefer a beer garden, but getting drunk watching bears would be cracking Friday entertainement.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Rimmy wrote: »

Bear garden is open and looking forward to having a few. Receipt in hand job for the food!

Screw the begrudgers!!!!

While we are annihilating diction, what are hand job receipts all about? Screwing begrudgers ?

All sounds very kinky.

What pub is this exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Food and non food pubs would suffice. They definitely are trying to push something seedy with it.

Since the very beginning the media have been pushing certain words and phrases. It's social conditioning and indoctrination.

Until the age of 16 I was in a cult, i recognize the buzzwords and phrases a mile away, when I hear them on the radio I almost freeze. I've been through this before and I can pick up on these things instantly.