Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XX-26,644 in ROI (1,772 deaths) 6,064 in NI (556 deaths) (08/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

JTMan wrote: »
    Has EVERYTHING in Phase 4 been pushed back to 1 September?

- The reopening of offices was supposed to be allowed from 10 August. Is that pushed back?
    - The reopening of colleges was supposed to be allowed from 10 August. Is that pushed back?
    - The reopening of schools was supposed to be allowed from 10 August. Is that pushed back?

Thanks.

What a bizzare post. We are in a pandemic. Public health would be a priority. Its almost as if you feel you entitled for life to go back to normal. It can't and probably wont for a long time. You can adjust to the circumstances or just stay and complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Offices were not allowed reopen until 10 August unless staff were essential workers AND could not work from home. (Bar some small exceptions). It always made sense that reopening offices was the last phase. If people can work from home they should work from home and responsible good employers should insist on it.

Anyone know if office reopenings (and college and schools) are pushed back to 1 September?

You sure about that on offices not being allowed reopen until the 10th with the above criteria?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

wadacrack wrote: »
    What a bizzare post. We are in a pandemic. Public health would be a priority. Its almost as if you feel you entitled for life to go back to normal. It can't and probably wont for a long time. You can adjust to the circumstances or just stay and complain.
    I think his post is genuine. I highly doubt schools would be allowed open today based on the government's other decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Szero

Has EVERYTHING in Phase 4 been pushed back to 1 September?

- The reopening of offices was supposed to be allowed from 10 August. Is that pushed back?
    - The reopening of colleges was supposed to be allowed from 10 August. Is that pushed back?
    - The reopening of schools was supposed to be allowed from 10 August. Is that pushed back?

Thanks.

Yes.

See Government website here. "Phase 4 has been delayed. Ireland will remain in Phase 3 until the end of August".

Hence, office cannot reopen for non-essential workers until September 1st, schools cannot reopen until September 1st (has that impact registered with schools who planned to open at the end of August???) and colleges cannot reopen until September 1st (I think Trinity was planning to do a phased reopening from August 10th - that's gone).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭Rebelbrowser

wadacrack wrote: »

Em, he just asked a question, no? Answer is I believe they have all been pushed back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Are the meat factories with clusters being closed? Surely they’d have to be closed for 2 weeks anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭The Unbearables

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    A huge amount of people are completely in denial about this situation, including the sugarcoaters in this thread

Sticking your fingers in your ears and going "la! la! la!" is the behavior of a child

tenor.gif

Some serious denial worldwide tbh not just here.

A lot of people just can't grasp the enormity of the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

Im as pro mask as they come but why with a huge uptick in compulsory mask wearing is there still a surge in cases across europe? Are only the irresponsible people getting it now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,393 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

People who think the pubs being closed will have a positive impact on schools are delusional. The plan for opening schools looks like it was written by a 12 year old. It's a shambles.

A 12 year might have done a half decent better plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Agreed. The enormity of what we are facing hasn't sunk in for many/most. Even with a vaccine it will be a struggle to control this, and all this "oh i might not take it" just shows how people haven't really thought through what the consequences are. Pubs might not re-open again this year. And next year. Just let that sink in for a minute. Anyone planning to get married cannot invite 50+ people to their wedding. Not this year, not next year. This may be as good as it gets for some time.

This isn't doom-mongering, it's realism - we won't begin to get control of this until a (good) vaccine arrives, and we will doing this balancing act for probably another year. We have to make the best of what we have, and not keep giving out because we can't go back to what we had. Government needs to support businesses, and see them through to a vaccine - and then convince everyone to get innoculated.

Being in denial and fearful is a natural reaction. The problem is when such people make out anyone taking it seriously or just being realistic is a doom merchant. Just have banter, dont be nasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Commintunity transmission increasing said Mr Martin even though their own daily stats published every day says the last week it remains stable and even dropped to 4,5 and 4 the last 3 days hmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Longing

Today's cases:
    Gibraltar +1
    Monaco +2
    Malta +16

Whopping figures

Taking population into account Malta is worse than us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭Steve F

hmmm wrote: »
    Agreed. The enormity of what we are facing hasn't sunk in for many/most. Even with a vaccine it will be a struggle to control this, and all this "oh i might not take it" just shows how people haven't really thought through what the consequences are. Pubs might not re-open again this year. And next year. Just let that sink in for a minute. Anyone planning to get married cannot invite 50+ people to their wedding. Not this year, not next year. This may be as good as it gets for some time.

This isn't doom-mongering, it's realism - we won't begin to get control of this until a (good) vaccine arrives, and we will doing this balancing act for probably another year. We have to make the best of what we have, and not keep giving out because we can't go back to what we had.

This is spot on.
    There are still people that believe the "end" is just around the corner
    To say this is nieve would be an understatement.
    I'm not sure whether they just don't grasp what is meant by a novel virus or it's a case of burying their heads in the sand hoping it will somehow all "go away"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭The Unbearables

This isn't doom-mongering, it's realism - we won't begin to get control of this until a (good) vaccine arrives, and we will doing this balancing act for probably another year. We have to make the best of what we have, and not keep giving out because we can't go back to what we had. Government needs to support businesses, and see them through to a vaccine - and then convince everyone to get innoculated.

Believe me I'm aware. My own daughter wants to make plans for a year in Australia from next Spring and can't get it around her head it's not possible now but she's only 19 so I'll cut her some slack.

The "doom monger" comments from some supposed grown adults arent worth replying to for me and show a real level of immaturity as well as ignorance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭Steve F

I also believe seeing people wearing masks BELOW their noses shows how ignorant they are of how viruses are transmitted and caught

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Commintunity transmission increasing said Mr Martin even though their own daily stats published every day says the last week it remains stable and even dropped to 4,5 and 4 the last 3 days hmm.

Since taking over as Taoiseach, he has shown an extremely poor understanding of statistics and what they mean going forward.

Given how poorly the majority of the population understand the daily figures and how the media simply blindly report figures without any background whatsoever, he can pretty much say anything he wants, the media will run with it and the majority of the public will agree with it. It's actually quite infuriating.

It was pointed out here a few weeks ago when there was a report of historical deaths that most media outlets simply reported the number of deaths without any background whatsoever.

I'm generally not of the "de gubberment are trying to scare all de sheeple" disposition but it's quite alarming how many people can enthusiastically buy into the narrative of the government or whatever spin media outlets are putting on things without stopping to critically evaluate the situation themselves.

Either they're being over-cautious or they're not giving us the real figures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭harr

Did they say that the masks in shops were going into law? I missed the press conference. Who's enforcing it?

Masks to be worn In all retail from Monday .. up to the retailers to enforce the new laws. HSA will be spot checking and I presume the guards will enforce if needed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭twirlagig

Is there an age requirement for the wearing of face coverings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Steve F wrote: »
    I also believe seeing people wearing masks BELOW their noses shows how ignorant they are of how viruses are transmitted and caught

If masks are to become mandatory, there needs to be serious education distributed on how to wear them. A lot of people mean well enough to at least try to wear one but incorrect fitting and malpractice in terms of fidgeting with it or periodically taking it off every few seconds as it suits is actually more dangerous than not wearing one at all.

An alarming minority don't cover their nose or like to wear them as a chin-bra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

And even if, by some miracle, we had managed to keep the virus off this island and could continue living as before (minus leaving the island of course)...we'd still be f****.
    The economic consequences of the global (repeat, global) pandemic are going to catch up with us anyway. Markets lost, supply chains broken, jobs gone, etc pp
    Right now the world is just in the beginning of this. Huge amounts of money world wide are pumped into the system to retain a semblance of normalcy. Once this source dries up the "fun" will really start.

thelad95 wrote: »
    Since taking over as Taoiseach, he has shown an extremely poor understanding of statistics and what they mean going forward.

Given how poorly the majority of the population understand the daily figures and how the media simply blindly report figures without any background whatsoever, he can pretty much say anything he wants, the media will run with it and the majority of the public will agree with it. It's actually quite infuriating.

It was pointed out here a few weeks ago when there was a report of historical deaths that most media outlets simply reported the number of deaths without any background whatsoever.

I'm generally not of the "de gubberment are trying to scare all de sheeple" disposition but it's quite alarming how many people can enthusiastically buy into the narrative of the government or whatever spin media outlets are putting on things without stopping to critically evaluate the situation themselves.
    Completely agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Idioteque

Szero wrote: »
    Yes.

See Government website here. "Phase 4 has been delayed. Ireland will remain in Phase 3 until the end of August".

Hence, office cannot reopen for non-essential workers until September 1st, schools cannot reopen until September 1st (has that impact registered with schools who planned to open at the end of August???) and colleges cannot reopen until September 1st (I think Trinity was planning to do a phased reopening from August 10th - that's gone).

I don't think offices are closed for non-essential workers, just they had to be able to demnostrate adequate safety measures in place as per guidelines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

fr336 wrote: »
    Being in denial and fearful is a natural reaction. The problem is when such people make out anyone taking it seriously or just being realistic is a doom merchant. Just have banter, dont be nasty.

It seemed when all this kicked off, a lot of people had September and October in their heads as back to normal time, I think a TD in the sail even suggested it would be nice to have an extra bank holiday around then as a remembrance for those who died when we were back to normal. Tbh I couldn’t see it. I even remember some of the economic forecasts saying we’d come back in 2021 and things would be fine, but I couldn’t wrap my head around how they knew this or why they thought it. It’s becoming clearer that this is going to be ongoing for quite some time.

I’ve read so much and tried to stay impartial where I can, but all the shorter term positive predictions are evaporating as time goes on.

Unfortunately this thread has become a bit of a ****show where I’m hesitant to post anything which may be perceived as negative before I post it.

When the numbers were really good and we’d see a small rise, some would panic and they’d be scorned and told to look at the 7 day avg. Now that the 7 day avg is climbing, it’s ok because it’s clusters, and the daily numbers aren’t on a constant climb.

I dunno, ShineOn7 ban was a bit harsh, card probably deserved.. Kermit was banned when he started talking about Australia was gonna grow, he was torn apart first, and now look.

I think both sides of the argument are important to get a good perspective on realities of the pandemic, just a shame there can’t be debate without personal abuse, direct or perceived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

People who think the pubs being closed will have a positive impact on schools are delusional. The plan for opening schools looks like it was written by a 12 year old. It's a shambles.

I don't understand why you don't think the argument in favour of keeping pubs closed is compelling.

They're inherently risky environments given what we know about the transmission of the disease, just behind nightclubs in the level of risk. And we're in a period of great uncertainty. It would be a mad shot in the dark, in my view, to just give it a lash with the pubs and, sure, we'll see how it goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

peasant wrote: »
    And even if, by some miracle, we had managed to keep the virus off this island and could continue living as before (minus leaving the island of course)...we'd still be f****.
    The economic consequences of the global (repeat, global) pandemic are going to catch up with us anyway. Markets lost, supply chains broken, jobs gone, etc pp
    Right now the world is just in the beginning of this. Huge amounts of money world wide are pumped into the system to retain a semblance of normalcy. Once this source dries up the "fun" will really start.

My initial anxiety was about the virus, then the fallout. My current anxiety is about how long it’s taking for **** to the hit the fan. I flip flop from “maybe it’ll be ok” to “Jesus, this is painfully slow, long road ahead”

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

harr wrote: »
    Masks to be worn In all retail from Monday .. up to the retailers to enforce the new laws. HSA will be spot checking and I presume the guards will enforce if needed.

Why retail?

It should be every indoor public building, factories, libraries, schools, colleges.

Instead of some stupid rule, if you can't social distance, wear a mask. It should be wear a mask indoors anywhere there's people.

One user on boards has linked to the HSE aware of aerosol transmission and there's very little measures in place for this type of transmission. Instead they go on about social distancing and hand washing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Either they're being over-cautious or they're not giving us the real figures

Over cautious I'd reckon and he'll be like that until a vaccine arrives. Was hilarious watching him struggle when journalists asked him a number of times is the 3 weeks from today or from August 10th?

500 for outdoor gatherings should have been allowed IMO. Majority of our recent spike in cases have come from indoors settings and none of the cluster are connected to outdoor gatherings.