If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

showpony1 wrote: »
    who cares? eating a plate of food isn't going to stop spread of Covid-19.

If the normal pubs open up it'll just be same thing - sitting at the table with pints no food.

I don't see how opening the pubs is seen as anarchy it'll be pretty much same pub experience we have now.

The way "the pubs opening" is spoken about is as if some people think pubs are just opening the way they were before - dancefloors, standing at bar etc?

So no change to the 105 minute rule either? I think the issue is can we trust the public to be sensible and not get ****faced in a time when we are trying to follow social distancing rules? Sure they could then go on pub crawls but these types are going to be the big risk either ways. Publicans also might not enforce the rule as a good few that serve food already aren't and these places, being honest, often are barely viable and rely on their regulars and not upsetting them.
    To suggest the only difference is going to be the lack of a meal is wrong in my opinion. Right now you are "meant" to be able to go for a meal and have a few drinks with it. When the pubs open we are green lighting "going for pints". I'm all for pints and I can't wait for the day when I can prop myself up at the bar and talk ****e or be behind it listening to Joe talk the same bollox he always does. But it definitely is a different scenario. My last shift before the lock down was the Friday before Paddy's when people were already being told to be sensible and social distance. The whole night was a **** show of lads having to be cut off and hanging out of each other. I just hope when we reopen it doesn't go back to that.
    Basically I think we should reopen the pubs if we can trust people to realise there is still a need to be more sensible than we usually have to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

showpony1 wrote: »
    who cares? eating a plate of food isn't going to stop spread of Covid-19.

If the normal pubs open up it'll just be same thing - sitting at the table with pints no food.

I don't see how opening the pubs is seen as anarchy it'll be pretty much same pub experience we have now.

The way "the pubs opening" is spoken about is as if some people think pubs are just opening the way they were before - dancefloors, standing at bar etc?

Well, I'm sure the pubs who couldn't open because they weren't serving food care that other pubs have lied and ignored guidelines in order to re-open.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 442 ✭✭freak scence

almostover wrote: »
    Two pubs in a seaside town here in west Cork. One always did food (very good food) and the other never did. Went to the gastropub last night and was a lovely experience. The other pub is now doing €9 pizzas. Passed it on the way home last night and not a pizza in sight. Tables inside far too close to one another, people walking between tables to talk. Looked like it normally does only that nobody was at the bar. This is why we cant open pubs as normal IMHO. Give people an inch and they will take a mile. Also, people in pubs abandon social distancing and hygiene after a few jars.

so how do you think kids are going to behave once they go back to school. teachers want **** all to do with it. And there are also 65 escorts in cork now , i would have a much bigger problem with them spreading covid that a few old farts in the local

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,677 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

One thing that strikes me in many places is how often we have to touch surfaces. Like in mcd the other day , automated fromt dors now, but the loo main door , tap and soap dispenser all have to be touched....

TomTomTim wrote: »
    Can you explain the specifics of this, as I don't understand it? I'm sure your very informed, considering you're a full believer in the position.

No of course I can't explain the specifics. But I'm one of those people who has the cop on to realise I'm not a medical or science expert, and to listen to those who are.

But I suspect I'm in the minority on this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Benimar wrote: »
    It’s to do with being a close contact. Look at HSE website. If you are in an enclosed space with someone for a certain length of time you are treated as a close contact. That time is 2 hours.

Not strictly true though, it means they might be subject to risk assessment.

But as we discussed a few weeks ago, if there was two people in the same bar were diagnosed shortly after they would do mass testing of all in the bar that day. The same way they have done recently for the outbreaks in factories/workplaces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,132 ✭✭✭Dickie10

yeah but whorehouses are usually 30 or 60 mins anyway so its grand

Dickie10 wrote: »
    yeah but whorehouses are usually 30 or 60 mins anyway so its grand

dickie by name and nature

I do wonder how many of the people gormlessly grinning on here about the fact that they got a feed of pints without any food, or were allowed stay for 3 hours in the pub, and strutting about pontificating ignorantly about how all the experts are wrong, will be ranting furiously if pubs aren't allowed reopen or another lockdown is enforced in a few weeks time.

But no doubt it will all be the fault of the government, or the teachers, or nphet or Santa Clause or the tooth fairy!

I do wonder how many of the people gormlessly grinning on here about the fact that they got a feed of pints without any food, or were allowed stay for 3 hours in the pub, and strutting about pontificating ignorantly about how all the experts are wrong, will be ranting furiously if pubs aren't allowed reopen or another lockdown is enforced in a few weeks time.

But no doubt it will all be the fault of the government, or the teachers, or nphet or Santa Clause or the tooth fairy!

nope it will be egghead steve and the one million rats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭showpony1

Well, I'm sure the pubs who couldn't open because they weren't serving food care that other pubs have lied and ignored guidelines in order to re-open.

my post was really to the "OMG they didn't order food" type post - if they are sitting at a table for the 2 hours and thrown out when the next booking arrives it makes no odds really to the spread of Covid-19.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,178 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Talk now that the vinters are going the legal route

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,605 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Well obviously none of them will be ranting since they immediately dropped dead due to the lack of chicken goujons in the pub, or spontaneously combusted after 105 minutes...... Or is it 90.......or is it unlimited if tables are 2m apart, depending on whether or not there's 50 people in the bar, or is that private functions only.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

Talk now that the vinters are going the legal route
    Pity the Vintners haven't taken any action with the "full force of the law" on a significant amount of their own members circumventing public health crisis measures with 5/6 hour 'meals', '2 pints for 9 euro in exchange for no meal' offers and outright fake receipts placed on tables detailing phantom meals that were never consumed

I'm sure they will happy defending the public interest in the company of Michael O'Leary, maybe the CIF or the FAI will join them next

Ohmeha wrote: »
    Pity the Vintners haven't taken any action with the "full force of the law" on a significant amount of their own members circumventing public health crisis measures with 5/6 hour 'meals', '2 pints for 9 euro in exchange for no meal' offers and outright fake receipts placed on tables detailing phantom meals that were never consumed

I'm sure they will happy defending the public interest in the company of Michael O'Leary, maybe the CIF or the FAI will join them next

Since you definitely know about these places and I assume have proof, you've reported these establishments to the gardai and the vintners??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,326 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

ShooterSF wrote: »
    So no change to the 105 minute rule either? I think the issue is can we trust the public to be sensible and not get ****faced in a time when we are trying to follow social distancing rules?

Have you any evidence to show people shift faced can pick up covid, Everyman and his dog knows alcohol is a santaiser.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Since you definitely know about these places and I assume have proof, you've reported these establishments to the gardai and the vintners??

Have you actually been reading this thread?
    You seem to be very selective in what you are choosing to hear.

The levels, on this thread, of sheer thickness, obtuseness and refusal to believe expert advice is unbelievable. It would make an interesting study for psychologists.

But of course, shur what do psychologists know. Mickey Mucker falling off a bar stool while chortling at the fact that he didn't have to order food is far more reliable.

This thread is embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭votecounts

Don't think the pubs will reopen because of the emphasis on schools. Anyone willing to start a new thread NO FOOD PUBS REOPENING 31ST AUGUST:)
    could be later as a lot of the schools won't be able to reopen as they are not for fit for purpose regarding SD

Have you actually been reading this thread?
    You seem to be very selective in what you are choosing to hear.

Yeah, a lot of people hearing about pubs packed to the rafters, or serving guinness in a bowl and calling it soup, or having to sit on a strangers lap...... And yet there appears to be no proof, and there's been ~25 incidents caught by the guards.

So how are all these bars getting away with the flagrant ignorance of the rules........ Or are people on the Internet maybe exaggeration.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

Eh you forgot the pubs giving receipt showing €9 for ‘food’ which is actually a charge for 2 pints

The levels, on this thread, of sheer thickness, obtuseness and refusal to believe expert advice is unbelievable. It would make an interesting study for psychologists.

But of course, shur what do psychologists know. Mickey Mucker falling off a bar stool while chortling at the fact that he didn't have to order food is far more reliable.

You're missing the point entirely. The €9 minimum spend on food is arbitrary fussing by daddy government. The town where I live there are four bars masquerading as restaurants and these are wedged most days. Why? When people are funneled into these places through absence of choice then social distancing is surplus to requirements, unless you want to cut your profit margin in half.

Now the local (you might have heard of the colloquialism) where one can quietly sup on a pint in a sparsely populated environment is the real danger apparently. Even if you want to conveniently overlook a time limit applied across the board. Two/three pints, a gander at sports on the box and a light natter with the publican...a frightening incubation chamber for rampant spread of Covid-19 :rolleyes:

And you can park the "psychology" lesson. Do you wonder why the mental health of punters who enjoy an odd pour is going to hell, people like you fanning the flames of hyperbole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

Not seeing much of a difference between a normal bank holiday and tonight. Went to the local earlier was there from 7 till 10 which was last orders. In the local late bar since about 10.15 , last orders 12.30, fairly busy, all table service.

Feels very normal and don't see what would change if either were allowed to open as normal.

And no I've not had food in either and I'm with the same group in both pubs so same close contacts.

There would be no difference between either of these now and if they were allowed to officially open, distancing, table service etc all in place. Everyone sticking to their tables which is good to see.

Is this just an example of why pubs cannot being trusted to follow the rules if allowed open on the 10th? :)

yep how many cases from **** pints and pizazs **** all . all from mickeys knacker c19 planes

hetuzozaho wrote: »
    Is this just an example of why pubs cannot being trusted to follow the rules if allowed open on the 10th? :)

an example of you can't think for yourself without similes :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Well I’ve ironed my drinking shirt.

Again.

like egg head steve and mickey mouse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

an example of you can't think for yourself without similes :rolleyes:

You've lost me. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

hetuzozaho wrote: »

Oh no I didn't have my €9 covid meal.

Honestly what difference does it make if I have a few pints with a meal or a few without. Same contacts, table service, tables very well spaced out, people not moving from their table unless going to the bathroom.

So whats the problem, we didn't have a few chicken wings?

You're missing the point entirely. The €9 minimum spend on food is arbitrary fussing by daddy government. The town where I live there are four bars masquerading as restaurants and these are wedged most days. Why? When people are funneled into these places through absence of choice then social distancing is surplus to requirements, unless you want to cut your profit margin in half.

Now the local (you might have heard of the colloquialism) where one can quietly sup away in a sparsely populated environment is the real danger apparently. Even if you want to conveniently overlook a time limit applied across the board. Two/three pints, a gander at sports on the box and a light natter with the publican...a frightening incubation chamber for rampant spread of Covid-19 :rolleyes:

And you can park the "psychology" lesson. Do you wonder why the mental health of punters who enjoy an odd pour is going to hell, when people like you are fanning the flames of hyperbole.

oh give over. It's a lot more complex than that. nephet have to look at the full picture, and the dangers of allowing all pubs to open unhindered. They have to take a careful and measured approach, and yes it's not going to be perfect for everyone but we're all having to suffer in different ways at the moment.