Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Frankx

Graham wrote: »
    I'd actually infer that it's a sign the government need to put more effort into enforcement.

Make it an offence for a shop to allow customers/staff without masks.
    Bring in fixed penalties for not wearing masks.

Not sure they can

You'd have a percentage of the population not eating

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

If that's self inflicted, they'd come around quick enough.

For those that can't wear a mask for legitimate medical reasons, €20 on top of the PUP to cover deliveries or an hour during the day where they are permitted to enter shops unmasked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Akabusi

Yes: surgical
    Was shopping in tesco earlier and was disappointed not to see more people wearing masks. It was roughly a 50/50 split. Two people that were wearing them had them below their noses. On any other outing to the shops I noticed a lot higher percentage of people wearing them. Hope its not a sign of people getting complacent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭setanta1984

No: I will wait for the HSE to recommend
    odyssey06 wrote: »
    It will be reflected in the case numbers.. but without a control group how do you say we had X less cases for specific reason Y?
    For any measure?

Grand so, back to my original question, as to when do people think can we start to see this? Must be starting within the next week or so?
    Seeing as no other measure has been changed other than the mask mandate on 20th July since 29th June, we can be pretty sure no?

A reminder as well that our 7 day average for the weeks coming up to the mandate decision were less than 20, often less than 10. It realistically couldn't have been any lower. Which forms part of my point, we got that level after 2 months of all retail being open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

we got that level after 2 months of all retail being open.

All retail didn't open until the 15th of June.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭harr

For those who say they won’t wear a mask and currently don’t , what will happen when it becomes law in a week or two ?
    Will people run the risk of getting fined or will you wait till it’s legally enforced ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

No: I will wait for the HSE to recommend
    harr wrote: »
    For those who say they won’t wear a mask and currently don’t , what will happen when it becomes law in a week or two ?
    Will people run the risk of getting fined or will you wait till it’s legally enforced ?

Have you ever had to call the Gardai for an emergency?? I have. I’m not too worried about being caught with no mask. Given their response time for someone actually being in a house burgling it, I reckon if someone called the cops today about someone with no mask it might be Dec 2021 by the time they get a response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

No: I don't care enough
    I have started wearing a mask in shops in last few weeks, relatively young no underlying illnesses Have noticed more and more people wearing them and I honestly dont mind them. Feel a bit more protected too while wearing it.
    Although i must admit I got a nice black one from amazon wouldnt like to wear one of those medical ones i still have to look cool :D I must check if i can get a bane style mask :cool:

One of my friends on FB has started collecting them. He’s a body builder and he looks damn menacing and cool in his Hulk mask :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,472 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Paddygreen you were told not to post in this thread again, take a week off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Seanergy

Yes: valved

It's almost as if certain settings require different measures. Your graph points out that people providing close contact care to ill or vulnerable people should wear masks (and not just any old cloth, medical grade protection) - absolutely nobody would challenge this.

The question is about proportionate measures - the fact that we don't have the equivalent data imo shows that shopping etc. is not a big enough risk to require this country to make it against the law (eventually) to go to tesco or buy petrol without masks.

I'm pretty surprised that with all the championing of the mandatory masks decision, people don't actually expect it to be reflected in case numbers?

But the graph does not show HCW's getting sick from LTRC's, it shows LTRC's getting sick from HCW's and then it shows HCW's donning surgical masks and then a serious fall in transmission. The HCW's in these settings were not given medical grade protection, they were given surgical masks. Surgical masks are not designed and never were deisgned to protect the wearer, much the same as 'any old cloth' mask.

Proportionate measures would be ideal if we were all in this together, but sadly we are not. Zero data is zero data, your opinion is just your opinion. The person down the road may be of the opinion that the GOV did not want to scare people from using essential services during an already stressful enough time so bulled on with social distancing and hand hygiene and did not collect data for supermarkets.

Throwing some practical common sense on your face during a pandemic is not a victory, can't expect and don't expect it to be reflected in case numbers when the ships taking water, 75,000+ arrivals last month.

diy-masks-graph-hse-cases2.png

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Had a neighbour tell me today that he felt a bit silly going to the shop wearing a face mask until he saw me leave my house wearing a face mask one day. Look what I've started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Yes: surgical
    I had a good laugh at the guy today in my local Aldi. He had this T-shirt pulled up over his face and nose.

Won’t mind but they had tonnes of actual masks for sale.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

bazermc wrote: »
    I had a good laugh at the guy today in my local Aldi. He had this T-shirt pulled up over his face and nose.

Won’t mind but they had tonnes of actual masks for sale.

See several people a day going into the petrol station grocery shop across the road from the office doing that.

Followed a couple in the other day, unmasked, stopped by security, asked to put a mask on, said to security that he wasn't wearing a mask, he pointed out that he was outside, they put their hands over their mouths and went in.

This is going to upset some corners....

masks-01-as-gty-200730_1596122518836_hpMain_1x1_992.jpg

Face masks have become the standout accessory of 2020 amid the coronavirus pandemic, and now they are taking center stage at weddings too.

In addition to finding the perfect dress, brides-to-be have been cranking things up a notch by also finding gorgeous face masks to match their ensembles.

https://www.goodmorningamerica.com/style/story/brides-wearing-face-masks-designed-match-wedding-dresses-72075045?cid=social_twitter_abcn

200.gif

Also fair play to this chap who speaks to my favorite bugbear: people who complain about how hard to breathe it is in these masks.

So, he jogged outdoors in 102 F/ 38.9 C heat, 1 kilometer, wearing 10 masks - immediately after smoking a Black and Mild cigarillo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,531 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Graham wrote: »
    If that's self inflicted, they'd come around quick enough.

For those that can't wear a mask for legitimate medical reasons, €20 on top of the PUP to cover deliveries or an hour during the day where they are permitted to enter shops unmasked.

Many could wear face shields, which would still reduce some types of transmission. Otherwise, as you say, and the government should people with genuine issues e.g. pay for delivery.

We need to get a handle on mask fashion though

v45nq1ws8he51.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

That's a dangerous territory :D

s-l300.jpg

DIY-coronavirus-lifehacks-masks-1.jpg

The case for wearing masks

Does it take account of the fact that people are not using them properly, playing around with them and touching items in shops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,255 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Frankx wrote: »

Does it take account of the fact that people are not using them properly, playing around with them and touching items in shops

People wear seatbelts incorrectly e.g. under shoulders or not clicked in etc. Does incorrect usage mean seatbelts should not be used?

I think majority of people who actually wear masks is able to do it correctly. Minority of under nose wearers and fiddlers won't make huge difference imo. Problem is there is still too many not wearing masks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭WAW

joeguevara wrote: »
    People wear seatbelts incorrectly e.g. under shoulders or not clicked in etc. Does incorrect usage mean seatbelts should not be used?

Are you seriously equating the wearing of seat belts to the wearing of face coverings?

WAW wrote: »
    Are you seriously equating the wearing of seat belts to the wearing of face coverings?

The poster that I replied to made an assertion of not wearing masks due to people wearing them incorrectly.

But to break it down masks save lives. Seatbelts save lives. Wear both.

I’m actually fcuking sick of discussing this with morons who have no clue and thinking that they no better than world experts or think their debates are intellectual.

The poster that I replied to made an assertion of not wearing masks due to people wearing them incorrectly.

I’m actually fcuking sick of discussing this with morons who have no clue and thinking that they no better than world experts or think their debates are intellectual.

That pretty much sums it up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

You probably already discussed it before with Frankx, it's a new user account.

Incorrect seatbelt usage doesn't endanger others in the same way

Also incorrect seatbelt usage is way lower statistically than incorrect mask usage

Incorrect seatbelt usage doesn't endanger others in the same way

Also incorrect seatbelt usage is way lower statistically than incorrect mask usage

source.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭WAW

How are people who disagree with you morons? There is so much conflicting 'evidence' on everything to do with this virus.
    Whilst I appreciate it can sometimes be frustrating when someone disagrees with us, it's nosensical to brand people morons because they have a different view and IMO, a right to that view. There's very little incontrovertible fact around this virus. There are no experts really at this point. Many esteemed medical professionals still disagree on many aspects.
    You're not an expert either yet you choose to reply as though you're omniscient about this virus and people who take a different view are branded morons. Don't you see anything off with that standpoint?

Not to put too fine a point on it but you spelled 'know' as 'no'. Somebody could easily call you a moron for that, if they chose to be picky and rude.

How are people who disagree with you morons? There is so much conflicting 'evidence' on everything to do with this virus.
    Whilst I appreciate it can sometimes be frustrating when someone disagrees with us, it's nosensical to brand people morons because they have a different view and IMO, a right to that view. There's very little incontrovertible fact around this virus. There are no experts really at this point. Many esteemed medical professionals still disagree on many aspects.
    You're not an expert either yet you choose to reply as though you're omniscient about this virus and people who take a different view are branded morons. Don't you see anything off with that standpoint?

Not to put too fine a point on it but you spelled 'know' as 'no'. Somebody could easily call you a moron for that, if they chose to be picky and rude.

Just read the thread, by now is tiresome reading the same sh1te over and over again. People are comparing masks to basically everything by now, muzzles and crap. If at this stage anyone who is refusing to understand how they work, or saying they useless and conspiracy and whatever bs people can come up immediately, well yeah that's a good reason to point moron out. Don't really understand how people can choose to be willingly flouting medical advices.

This is the thing. I’m not saying that anyone who disagrees with me is a moron. I’m saying that people who disagree with fcucking medical experts are morons. And pseudo intellectuals who try and bolster an argument with a doctor that disagrees, is also a moron as guaranteed their so called expert is a fake or no clue what they are talking about.

Yes it’s a new virus. Yes new stuff is being discovered daily. But anyone who doesn’t wear a mask when in enclosed space should be sectioned. I’m sick of mincing my words. There is no argument for not putting on a mask in an enclosed space where others are.