Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XX-26,644 in ROI (1,772 deaths) 6,064 in NI (556 deaths) (08/08)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,953 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Is there a date for the next phase of " reopening" to be announced
    For Pubs and numbers for weddings and that sort of thing ?

Or is it just see how we get on and we let ye know when we know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

Is there a date for the next phase of " reopening" to be announced
    For Pubs and numbers for weddings and that sort of thing ?

Or is it just see how we get on and we let ye know when we know

The date for pubs is the 10th August. Cabinet to meet next Tuesday to make the final decision

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Thought that the moment I heard about rumours that people at airports we’re asked for their PPS numbers.

It's dodgy as fcuk to be honest. Not all outgoing Irish travellers would be on social welfare so there's definitely something hairy about this. To set up a desk and request information from outgoing travellers to establish what their income is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

If this was relating to my post, I was just going along with Paddy for the fun of it.

I thought we were after losing ya :D

I have today’s positive test count at +56

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

ShyMets wrote: »
    The date for pubs is the 10th August. Cabinet to meet next Tuesday to make the final decision
    I'm with the publicans on this, they need to be making the call this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Ah jaysus this place will explode.

niallo27 wrote: »
    Ah jaysus this place will explode.

Positive tests were nearly 50 yesterday and we had 14 cases so we’ll see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

Department of Coronavirus. Jesus that is funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,926 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0729/1156284-cystic-fibrosis-face-masks/

Surely, CF sufferers and others with seriously underlying physical health problems can wear special respiratory masks, i.e. the masks that have filters on them.

Do the approximate 1100 CF sufferers in Ireland have access to those ?

Fair play to the young man for speaking out. Ireland has 38% higher than EU average deaths caused by respiratory illnesses and people still complain when asked to help. 1 in 5 people in Ireland are killed by respiratory diseases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭NH2013

Do we have a trend developing at this stage of the positive test being proportionately higher than confirmed cases? Such as in cases of people already found COVID positive being tested again?

Also does anyone know how we are handling our antibody test results, will it be similar to Spain and included in our total count or just a nice to know number?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

NH2013 wrote: »
    Do we have a trend developing at this stage of the positive test being proportionately higher than confirmed cases? Such as in cases of people already found COVID positive being tested again?

Also does anyone know how we are handling our antibody test results, will it be similar to Spain and included in our total count or just a nice to know number?
    No, it's an entirely separate project. We report new cases only, daily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭NH2013

is_that_so wrote: »
    No, it's an entirely separate project. We report new cases only, daily.

I more so meant would they be included going forward in the "Total Cases" count rather than in our daily new cases count so as to give a better picture of the spread of the disease and a better estimate at fatality and complication rates?

I understand mass antibody trials in Ireland have only really gotten underway in recent weeks, and little data is published on them yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

Any sign of the dreaded R number... haven’t heard anything lately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Benimar

NH2013 wrote: »

Up until yesterday, apart from Monday’s and Tuesdays the numbers were similar. As was the total of the two days when added together in fairness.

Either they are counting differently, including anti body tests, or we are in for a whopper of a number soon!

Hopefully there is a reason for it, and it’s not a backlog.

Benimar wrote: »
    Up until yesterday, apart from Monday’s and Tuesdays the numbers were similar. As was the total of the two days when added together in fairness.

Either they are counting differently, including anti body tests, or we are in for a whopper of a number soon!

Hopefully there is a reason for it, and it’s not a backlog.

100 positive tests added in the past 48 hours which seems ridiculous tbh considering GPs are reporting no increase at all. I reckon some re-testing or something is happening since nursing home testing ended last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

definite uptick recently.
    Too early to call a trend.

Public health officials are sounding the alarm over a resurgence of coronavirus
    cases in Europe as countries ease lockdowns and international travel ramps up
    with some experts warning citizens have become too complacent.

The increase is marked in countries such as Spain, while eastern Europe and the
    Balkans, which were largely spared the worst of the early pandemic, are seeing a
    steep increase in recorded cases.

Boris Johnson, Britain’s prime minister, warned of a looming “second wave” of
    Covid-19 across Europe on Tuesday, while the head of Germany’s public health
    authority said: “We’ve let our guard down”.

https://www.ft.com/content/bcddc297-b7f2-444d-908f-54e8ce6f4f98

521544.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Benimar

100 positive tests added in the past 48 hours which seems ridiculous tbh considering GPs are reporting no increase at all. I reckon some re-testing or something is happening since nursing home testing ended last week.

Would close contacts need a GP referral? I know it sounds way to high to be close contact related unless there is some mad outbreak we haven’t heard of!

They wouldn’t need a referral no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,953 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Currently there are 6 people in hospital in the Republic due to Covid
    In 6 different hospitals

Hardly doomsday stuff ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

That is huge. Hopefully we are nicely surprised like yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

definite uptick recently.
    Too early to call a trend.

https://www.ft.com/content/bcddc297-b7f2-444d-908f-54e8ce6f4f98

521544.jpg

No its not, clearly Europe is on for a 2nd wave. How bad it will be still not clear but alot of countries now really struggling. Eastern Europe looks in real trouble. Australia had 700 cases and that is a few weeks after a lockdown. Ireland at the moment looks to be a complete outlier in Europe at least. Hopefully we can keep it a lowish rate and not a significant surge but its going to be evry hard to avoid that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,459 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Nah no referal, offered one straight away when contact traced and of course should take it. As we know this doesn't appear to be the case in a silly proportion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,459 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

wadacrack wrote: »
    No its not, clearly Europe is on for a 2nd wave. How bad it will be still not clear but alot of countries now really struggling. Eastern Europe looks in real trouble. Australia had 700 cases and that is a few weeks after a lockdown. Ireland at the moment looks to be a complete outlier in Europe at least. Hopefully we can keep it a lowish rate and not a significant surge but its going to be evry hard to avoid that

ECDC gives you a good breakdown, only have to look at the graph to see its Spain thats causing issues

https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/cases-2019-ncov-eueea

Germany for example reports 860 cases yesterday and 489 today. There's going to be fluctuations so its a little too early to draw conclusions as the OP said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

The huge majority of europe has this under control save for hot spots in a few countries and east european countries in the Romania Bulgaria region

521548.png

It does seem like a trend that places which weren't hit as hard the first time around are seeing bigger surges like Eastern Europe and Australia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

That is huge. Hopefully we are nicely surprised like yesterday.

It was mentioned by someone already but I wonder if it's possible that antibody tests are being included in this total, but are not being included in new cases. Would make some kind of sense. Fingers crossed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

wadacrack wrote: »

To me spain is the canary in the coal mine. This thing follows patterns of human migration. Most cases in France are internal holiday related. Germany external in Bulgaria. It's universally young seeding outbreaks.

China ---> Chinese new year. Biggest migration on the planet
    Iran ----> Largest religious festival in Qom
    Italy. ---> Winter / spring skiing destination
    Spain ---> euro summer holiday destination number one
    France ---> holidays
    Germany --->people coming back from holidays.

It's fairly predictable once people start moving around.
    There's a fairly clear lag. We thought we wouldn't get it despite everyone and their mother going skiing.We can avoid it but gonna be tough to curtail people's holidays on the continent when they usually all go in august.

There's a reason UK brought back quarantine. We shouldn't be too bad if people stick to it. Who knows.

521549.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Crap

Lets hope it's not near that figure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Hopefully they can clarify the discrepancy, if we have a capable journalist to ask!

Quick back of the envelope calculations from 11th July to today, I have 475 positive tests and so far 331 new cases (excluding what's to be announced today and excluding any denotifications). That's a difference of 144.