Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

They are and they aren’t. They told us they are but then they forgot to make a law for it. They’re relying on general obedience and peer pressure. Loads of people in here lapping it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

No: I will wait for the HSE to recommend
    It would be great if ye could be bothered wearing gloves too lads. I still have to double dip with sanitizer because people are not wearing them at petrol stations. Just put on some gloves guys, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭witchgirl26

No: I don't care enough
    Yes the virus could enter your body via your eyes but if someone who has it is wearing a mask then it's covering their mouth and nose from which droplets are expelled and transmit the virus. So by wearing a mask it's stopping those going too far & entering someones eyes. Basically if people wear masks, the eyes aren't a problem area unless people are going around poking at others eyes.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

The virus doesn't look for hosts, it just happens to land on them. It has no intelligence to go searching out eyeballs.

But if everyone is wearing a mask then that will disrupt the flow of air out of your mouth such that you will mostly then not be spreading droplets into other people's eyes. Think its a long way off being able to pursuade the population to fully suit up in hazmat gear, so in the meantime everyone wearing a mask, or visor where appropriate, is a great solution that deals with most of the issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,415 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Masks are enough, what you are proposing is like insisting passengers on planes each travel with parachutes. Only last week some worker in a pub here put in a claim for falling because she was wearing a visor.
    https://amp.independent.ie/irish-news/woman-suing-after-fall-on-pub-stairs-says-covid-visor-made-it-difficult-to-see-39396069.html

corsav6 wrote: »
    Are masks even mandatory? Plenty of people not wearing them in shops.

I literally raise my eyebrows in disgust and disapproval when I see their naked faces. I was confronting offenders until one guy followed me home from my local Spar. I had to walk really fast without giving him the satisfaction of breaking into a full run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,517 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Yes: surgical
    Paddygreen wrote: »
    It would be great if ye could be bothered wearing gloves too lads. I still have to double dip with sanitizer because people are not wearing them at petrol stations. Just put on some gloves guys, thanks.

Wearing gloves is not recommended and can have quite severe dermatological effects for anybody with any form of a skin condition . It's also hugely wasteful disposing of them after use each time .

In summary keep cleaning and sanitising the hands it's a better option than wearing gloves

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Are you wearing gloves or sanitising your hands at the petrol station, or doing both?

If you are putting on gloves and then using sanitiser, then pumping, then sanitising again... Why bother with the gloves? That's just adding in an extra complication for zero benefit and if anything adds a different problem as you now have a badly cleaned pair of gloves you are carrying around as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,742 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

No: other

you still have to double dip with sanitizer if people wear gloves because the gloves are better carriers of virus than skin. i doubt many people use or understand aseptic glove techniques (most dont do it with masks)

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,500 ✭✭✭emaherx

Your level of PPE is not in line with what the experts are saying.

Gloves are not recommended and may do more harm than good. Advise from the experts is wash your hands regularly especially before touching your face.

Masks are not to prevent you inhaling the virus and are not very effective for this purpose but have been proven to greatly reduce an infected person from spreading the virus as they breath or coug/sneeze, this is why visors are not madatory.

If everyone would just wear their masks and wash/sanitize their hands regularly that would do the most good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

Do you know that the virus can enter your body via your eyes? A mask is useless if a viral droplet lands on your eyeballs. High time that face visors were made mandatory along with masks especially with a Christmas shopping just around the corner. Btw people you should don your masks BEFORE you arrive at a stores entrance.

Why not wear ear muffs too.sure this thing is so clever it will get in tru the ears next.ffs people need to get a grip of themselves.when will it be mandatory to wear fecking masks 24/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 abc2304

Yes: surgical
    I just can't see a valid argument against wearing masks? The main thing to realise about this disease is that there are still so many 'unknowns' - we have no idea of the long-term health risks. There are more and more stories of healthy people having longer term effects in almost every organ in the body. I think wearing a mask while indoors (maybe exceptions are reasonable for restaurants and bars, that's a separate debate) should be mandatory. I now have 6 washable masks so that I always have a clean one to hand. It's not easy to find good quality reusable masks online, my first two purchases (one from an Irish website and one from Amazon) were both poor quality, but my most recent purchases from reusable-face-masks.ie are much better quality and much more comfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,273 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

I literally raise my eyebrows in disgust and disapproval when I see their naked faces. I was confronting offenders until one guy followed me home from my local Spar. I had to walk really fast without giving him the satisfaction of breaking into a full run.

That must have been really difficult without breaking the handles on your bag for life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

I think this is a satirical / wind-up account. But I'm not 100% on that. It's hard to know sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭SNNUS

Pity he did not catch you..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,713 ✭✭✭D3V!L

The few people I see wearing masks aren't wearing them properly anyway. Usually not covering the nose or have it around their chin. Whats the point of that.

The government can bring in all the laws the want but unfortunately there's no law against stupidity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

I think this is a satirical / wind-up account. But I'm not 100% on that. It's hard to know sometimes.

99% sure its a wind up account. Some of the earlier posts are entertaining but of late he's been trying a bit too hard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,886 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

They aren't offenders. There is no law to wear them in the shops so its up to the person unless the shop enforces it.

The spread of the virus in the supermarkets was pretty low.

Ensuring people keep their hands clean is more important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭statto25

Lets hope he catches you the next time

abc2304 wrote: »
    I just can't see a valid argument against wearing masks? The main thing to realise about this disease is that there are still so many 'unknowns' - we have no idea of the long-term health risks. There are more and more stories of healthy people having longer term effects in almost every organ in the body. I think wearing a mask while indoors (maybe exceptions are reasonable for restaurants and bars, that's a separate debate) should be mandatory. I now have 6 washable masks so that I always have a clean one to hand. It's not easy to find good quality reusable masks online, my first two purchases (one from an Irish website and one from Amazon) were both poor quality, but my most recent purchases from reusable-face-masks.ie are much better quality and much more comfortable.

8 people in hospital in the whole country. The illness is mild if you are under 65 and in half decent health.

If people want to wear masks, well for them.

Should it be mandatory? Absolutely not

That must have been really difficult without breaking the handles on your bag for life

He was hot on my heels coughing and saying “come back bud” and I was absolutely terrified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,533 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

8 people in hospital in the whole country. The illness is mild if you are under 65 and in half decent health.

Since.masks stop you spreading the disease then it is not your call on whether to wear them, you don't have a right to infect others or suggest they stay out of your way

Face shields are more of a choice.

Paddy has been fishing for a reaction from day one. And rebuked by mods for doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,415 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

And many thousands of non Covid patients not being treated while we wait for the magical vaccine, it's like waiting for the moving statues to come alive again.

Why were non surgical masks not recommended when we were getting hundreds of new cases per day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,106 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Since.masks stop you spreading the disease then it is not your call on whether to wear them, you don't have a right to infect others or suggest they stay out of your way

Face shields are more of a choice.

That point needs clarity, proper use of ppe helps slow not prevent the spread if other guidelines are still being followed.
    There not though and bo bo the clown has a better understanding of how to use and dispose of a facemask properly than the general public.
    The basics have gone out the window, I choose not to follow the mask advice but I'm hyper concious of following all the other essential advice which when followed mitigates the reasons for wearing a mask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭AUDI20

I think you should go into lockdown again on your own Paddy sure it would be for own safety, you have us all wearing spacesuits next. This is Trollism at its best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,844 ✭✭✭Nermal

Never change Paddy! Apart from your mask and gloves, change those constantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,533 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

And many thousands of non Covid patients not being treated while we wait for the magical vaccine, it's like waiting for the moving statues to come alive again.

Why were non surgical masks not recommended when we were getting hundreds of new cases per day?

These patients will now be treated as the number of Covid patients us less and the disease is less prevalent because of people wearing masks.

We should have worn masks all along but as slow to get organised, as usual. But in April people stayed at home, so they didn't much need masks, now they are out and they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

You were posting the other day you wanted nightclubs back open asap

But now you don't want masks .:rolleyes:

Juwwi wrote: »
    You were posting the other day you wanted nightclubs back open asap

But now you don't want masks .:rolleyes:

Why should anything be closed? Because 8 people are hospital? :rolleyes: