Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Dubl07

Yes: other
    Stark wrote: »
    Seems to be a general thing in the restaurants I've been in that the waiting staff have been wearing visors. They're supposed to be fairly useless for protecting the staff from infection from what I've heard.

Useless to wear a visor without also wearing a mask according to Swiss research.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Yes: valved
    harr wrote: »
    Seen my first melt down this morning, man was asked to put on mask in shop and let a torrent of abuse at the poor girl at counter. Something something about his right not to wear a mask and it wasn’t the law .. fair play to the assistant who was calm and enough and calmly told the man it was also her right to refuse service he left after firing off another round of abuse. A number of customers also told him calm down and he left once a few people started to turn on him ..
    Not a very good public image for the company he works for as he was wearing their uniform and driving a work van.

Something like this American idiot :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭harr

Sounds like a lovely person. Fair play to the assistant for standing up to him.
    First person to react like that she said and most are being ok about being asked , one or two have declined to wear a mask and said they would go elsewhere.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

GazzaL wrote: »
    They're the same lot that wanted the whole country in full lockdown until there wasn't a single case left. Lunatics.

How do you come up with such things? Pro masks the same lot who wanted a full lockdown.

Pro-maskers, anti-maskers, none of us had a choice with the restrictions placed upon us.

So if we do have to close up again, is it ok that I blame the anti-maskers because it's actually them happy to spread disease? Don't blame the pro-maskers for the lockdowns.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

xhomelezz wrote: »
    Something like this American idiot :D

I'd go to these shops for the free entertainment. Just stand well back from their shouting and hissy fits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,082 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Masks around Europe:
    • Britain yesterday also made it compulsory to wear a face-covering in shopping centres, banks, takeaway outlets, sandwich shops and supermarkets. Exceptions have been made, including for children under 11 or people with respiratory problems, but others who refuse to cover their nose and mouth in the UK risk a fine of up to £100 (€115).
    • Austria has reimplemented a similar policy with face masks mandatory again in a range of places from supermarkets to pharmacies — the rule previously having been relaxed.
    • Masks are now mandatory in enclosed spaces across France.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

I'd go to these shops for the free entertainment. Just stand well back from their shouting and hissy fits.

For sure, with 2 metre long stick to keep them away. Stupidity of some is unbelievable, my pizza right :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,231 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

harr wrote: »
    Seen my first melt down this morning, man was asked to put on mask in shop and let a torrent of abuse at the poor girl at counter. Something something about his right not to wear a mask and it wasn’t the law .. fair play to the assistant who was calm and enough and calmly told the man it was also her right to refuse service he left after firing off another round of abuse. A number of customers also told him calm down and he left once a few people started to turn on him ..
    Not a very good public image for the company he works for as he was wearing their uniform and driving a work van.

Hopefully someone got a photo of this lad. Be worth asking the company if this was the image they wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

No: I don't care enough
    bush wrote: »
    Ye thats what ive been wondering how long will this mask wearing go on. I live in a county that hasnt seen a case in weeks and do people normally going around shops sneezing in peoples faces? It just seems pointless to me in shops.

Ireland has 26 new cases and 9 new deaths in the past 48 hours with approximately 699 confirmed cases active

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/ireland/

Paddygreen wrote: »
    Adding about a meter of pvc pipe to a snorkel and a one way valve might be a solution, that way all the air you breathe would be from a meter above your head. Gravity would naturally draw virus droplets to the ground.

The virus particle is thousands of times smaller than an aerosolized water droplet and rides along it.

Overheal wrote: »
    Ireland has 26 new cases and 9 new deaths in the past 48 hours with approximately 699 confirmed cases active

Ireland does not have 9 new deaths in the last 48 hours. 8 of those were from months ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

It's shocking the amount of pro-mask people on here that are actively encouraging people to disregard WHO guidelines.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Nope.

People should wear masks AND adhere to the guidelines

It's shocking the amount of pro-mask people on here that are actively encouraging people to disregard WHO guidelines.

Quote a single one.

(a) Nobody has done so.
    (b) The WHO are pro-mask as are the CDC. Are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,305 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Are the pro-mark zealots (because that's what some of these posts read like to be honest!) REALLY so fearful of "the virus" that they will lash out whenever someone questions it, or doesn't agree? Or is it just Irish begrudgery/curtain-twitching that some seem to be "getting away with" something they're not?

I'm actually serious. Given the extremely low rates of new cases and deaths that we continue to have, coupled with the again declining "R number" (because I know that's another favourite used to validate it), why do we need masks NOW when we didn't at any point up until now - and yet somehow still managed to "flatten the curve" to the aforementioned minimal new cases?

I'm just back from the weekly shop and it was a thoroughly unpleasant experience. Couldn't breathe properly, sweating, and even trouble concentrating by the time I got out of the place. I also spent about half what I normally would so there's that element too. But of course, I fully expect this real world feedback to be dismissed with "just get on with it" or whatever.

Twitter and the culture it's bred (this "need" to be on-message and validated, coupled with an aggressive "with us or against us" stance) has a LOT to answer for generally, but particularly in how some people are treating others during this situation.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Are the pro-mark zealots (because that's what some of these posts read like to be honest!) REALLY so fearful of "the virus" that they will lash out whenever someone questions it, or doesn't agree? Or is it just Irish begrudgery/curtain-twitching that some seem to be "getting away with" something they're not?

You are most welcome to disagree.

For the benefit of your fellow citizens, please demonstrate your disagreement in the privacy of your own home.

I'm actually serious. Given the extremely low rates of new cases and deaths that we continue to have, coupled with the again declining "R number" (because I know that's another favourite used to validate it), why do we need masks NOW when we didn't at any point up until now - and yet somehow still managed to "flatten the curve" to the aforementioned minimal new cases?

I'm just back from the weekly shop and it was a thoroughly unpleasant experience. Couldn't breathe properly, sweating, and even trouble concentrating by the time I got out of the place. I also spent about half what I normally would so there's that element too. But of course, I fully expect this real world feedback to be dismissed with "just get on with it" or whatever.

Twitter and the culture it's bred (this "need" to be on-message and validated, coupled with an aggressive "with us or against us" stance) has a LOT to answer for generally, but particularly in how some people are treating others during this situation.

Well, IF you had such a troubles to wear one, maybe it's time to visit your GP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

Overheal wrote: »
    Quote a single one.
    odyssey06 wrote: »
    (a) Nobody has done so.
    (b) The WHO are pro-mask as are the CDC. Are you?

I've repeatedly posted the WHO guidelines only to be dismissed by the same bunch of eejits on here. Huge numbers of people are wearing face masks incorrectly, putting themselves and others at higher risk.
    robinph wrote: »
    What do you think they are at risk of by touching their face while wearing a mask compared to when not wearing a mask, and why does being older increase the risk to them.

It's best if people don't touch their masks, but we are not talking about being in an operating theatre here where the mask is to stop blood and other nasties reaching you. The point of wearing a mask in public spaces is to reduce the spread of your breathing upon others, not to protect you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭OldRio

I'm just back from the weekly shop and it was a thoroughly unpleasant experience. Couldn't breathe properly, sweating, and even trouble concentrating by the time I got out of the place. I

n.

Good grief you sound exactly like a person who could be at great risk from the virus. I'd be self isolating if I were you.

Graham wrote: »
    You are most welcome to disagree.

For the benefit of your fellow citizens, please demonstrate your disagreement in the privacy of your own home.

Oh please :rolleyes: Enough with the "think of the Children" hysteria!

The virus is reduced to manageable levels for near 2 months now and remains so despite wide reopening of businesses. That's all these measures wre intended to do incidentally - it will never be eradicated fully until a vaccine is developed.

Masks has become the new "STAY HOME". A means for the fearful and docile to shout down anyone who doesn't buy into the hysteria about daily numbers in the media (which are generally meaningless - what good is an ever increasing count of cases that doesn't reflect how many are recovered and clear?).

I'll say now what I said then. Stay home if you wish. Mask up if you wish. But stop projecting your fears and insecurities onto others.

In my own case - as I've said before - I'm not sick, haven't been sick, WFH, and live in a county with 1% of cases and no new ones in nearly a month (as of last week). The chances of me getting or passing a virus is minimal as to be virtually zero.

I've repeatedly posted the WHO guidelines only to be dismissed by the same bunch of eejits on here. Huge numbers of people are wearing face masks incorrectly, putting themselves and others at higher risk.

The WHO who you are so fond of quoting are pro-Mask:
    In light of evolving evidence, the WHO advises that governments should encourage the general public to wear masks where there is widespread transmission and physical distancing is difficult, such as on public transport, in shops or in other confined or crowded environments".

Do you agree?

I was actually thinking of the entire population, and our economy.

What makes you think only children are susceptible to Coronavirus?

Perhaps you'll answer this time.

How does wearing a mask incorrectly increase the risk when compared to not wearing a mask at all?

Any source of them HUGE numbers?? Haven't seen one single person in the shop this morning to do anything wrong with their mask. Plenty of elderly and they managed to do it right. Apart from three muppets without mask, like they care about anyone rebel attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

The virus is reduced to manageable levels for near 2 months now and remains so despite wide reopening of businesses. That's all these measures wre intended to do incidentally - it will never be eradicated fully until a vaccine is developed.

Masks has become the new "STAY HOME". A means for the fearful and docile to shout down anyone who doesn't buy into the hysteria about daily numbers in the media (which are generally meaningless - what good is an ever increasing count of cases that doesn't reflect how many are recovered and clear?).

I'll say now what I said then. Stay home if you wish. Mask up if you wish. But stop projecting your fears and insecurities onto others.

In my own case - as I've said before - I'm not sick, haven't been sick, WFH, and live in a county with 1% of cases and no new ones in nearly a month (as of last week). The chances of me getting or passing a virus is minimal as to be virtually zero.

The insecurity is strong in this one.

It's a mask not a fake pair of bollix.

Throw it on lad, do your bit. I know you are all ready, you are just given it the tough guy online routine.

Fair play to you.

You don't know if you are sick. You can have this, be infectious and not know it.

What are your chances of being in a car accident?
    And do you still wear a seat belt?
    Why would weaing a masks to protect others be different?

xhomelezz wrote: »
    Well, IF you had such a troubles to wear one, maybe it's time to visit your GP.
    OldRio wrote: »
    Good grief you sound exactly like a person who could be at great risk from the virus. I'd be self isolating if I were you.

No need, because I am not at any significant risk to need to do anything beyond good hygiene and social distancing - and as I don't generally hug random people in supermarkets, or get so close to them that even in normal circumstances it'd be odd, that level of risk is virtually zero.

And as I've said before, life IS risk. Virtually everything we do carries some chance that something may go wrong. But we don't generally worst-case preparations before we engage in those things. If we did we probably would never leave the house at all.

Boggles wrote: »
    The insecurity is strong in this one.

It's a mask not a fake pair of bollix.

Throw it on lad, do your bit. I know you are all ready, you are just given it the tough guy online routine.

Fair play to you.

You're only proving my argument earlier - can't make a coherent point without hyperbole and insults.

I have no need to do an act. I'm not 12 and I don't particularly care what a bunch of anonymous Internet randomers think. But I am free to give my experiences and views - just as you are - and will continue to do so.

If that upsets you, feel free to put me on ignore (and anyone else likewise)

No need, because I am not at any significant risk to need to do anything beyond good hygiene and social distancing - and as I don't generally hug random people in supermarkets

Ahhh I see how you're confused.

1) hugging is not necessary to transmit coronavirus.
    2) masks are not to protect you, they are to protect people around you.