Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭moonage

What are the criteria for ending the policy of compulsory mask wearing?

What are the conditions whereby this temporary measure can be lifted? What level has the virus to get to and for how long?

Of course, there aren't any criteria. The government went into lockdown without knowing how to get out of it. They have done the same with mask wearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

Yes: surgical
    moonage wrote: »

What are the conditions whereby this temporary measure can be lifted? What level has the virus to get to and for how long?

Of course, there aren't any criteria. The government went into lockdown without knowing how to get out of it. They have done the same with mask wearing.

Yeah we're trapped in our masks forever.

Jesus wept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭OldRio

Yes: valved
    _Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Not at all. Just glad to see that beyond the confines of this thread, realism is still out there.

Was in one of the Fresh shops/market places for lunch and again very very few wearing masks beyond staff.

From what I saw today in and around Dublin it seems the majority aren't too bothered about "masking up" after all.

'Realism'?
    Reading your posts its obvious you don't understand the definition of the word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Anybody know where you can buy a shield mask in Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

No: other
    moonage wrote: »

Ye thats what ive been wondering how long will this mask wearing go on. I live in a county that hasnt seen a case in weeks and do people normally going around shops sneezing in peoples faces? It just seems pointless to me in shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,082 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

bush wrote: »
    Ye thats what ive been wondering how long will this mask wearing go on. I live in a county that hasnt seen a case in weeks and do people normally going around shops sneezing in peoples faces? It just seems pointless to me in shops.

You've never had someone cough or sneeze within 2 metres of you while in a shop? Ever?
    That's how far the droplets can travel.

And the emerging evidence re: aerosol transmission is that in poorly ventilated areas, the droplets from the cough or sneeze can hang in the air.
    So they don't have to sneeze in your face. They just have to sneeze\cough and you pass through the same spot soon after.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

No: I will wait for the HSE to recommend
    Anybody know where you can buy a shield mask in Dublin?

Woodies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,257 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

I've just had a conservation with someone about masks, they said that most people only wear them because they have to and to be allowed into shops, they don't wash them or even change them and become filthy breeding grounds for germs and bacteria, people shove them into their pockets with whatever else is in their pockets on their way to and from the supermarket. They also described someone in the fruit & veg aisle breathing all over the produce through a filthy mask
    ...... the conclusion: they are pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Tig98

It's true a lot of people are misusing masks and have poor hygiene around them, but it's still better than no masks. If someone with the virus wears a mask / it's on the mask because it's never washed the projectile force of it is reduced and its still less likely to infect others.

Unless your one was like smelling the apples its grand

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

I've just had a conservation with someone about masks, they said that most people only wear them because they have to and to be allowed into shops, they don't wash them or even change them and become filthy breeding grounds for germs and bacteria, people shove them into their pockets with whatever else is in their pockets on their way to and from the supermarket. They also described someone in the fruit & veg aisle breathing all over the produce through a filthy mask

Your friend's claim is so wrong. Most people do not wear them because they have to and to be allowed into shops.

How do you know that people don't wash their face coverings? Do you follow them home from the shop and see what they put into their washing machines?

Conclusion: sh!t talk from your friend

Adding about a meter of pvc pipe to a snorkel and a one way valve might be a solution, that way all the air you breathe would be from a meter above your head. Gravity would naturally draw virus droplets to the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Is your friend Holy God?

How do they know what most people do?

Absolutely no effort being put into these false anecdotes lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,082 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Your 'conversation' about 'most people' does not trump the advice of the CDC.

If what you have outlined was the case, we would expect to see jumps in cases when mask wearing rolled out.
    The evidence from US states where masks were rolled out contradicts your conclusion.

Think about the same scenarios you have outlined and replay it this time without the mask.
    As opposed to breathing, dropping saliva, coughing and sneezing in the supermarket without any face covering???
    Bacteria don't jump off the mask into the air.
    Virus droplets do from an uncovered mouth.

It's their own germs on the mask. Whatever else was in their pockets was already on their hands.
    The mask is a barrier that protects others from them.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Your 'conversation' about 'most people' does not trump the advice of the CDC.

If what you have outlined was the case, we would expect to see jumps in cases when mask wearing rolled out.
    The evidence from US states where masks were rolled out contradicts your conclusion.

Think about the same scenarios you have outlined and replay it this time without the mask.
    As opposed to breathing, dropping saliva, coughing and sneezing in the supermarket without any face covering???
    Bacteria don't jump off the mask into the air.
    Virus droplets do from an uncovered mouth.

It's their own germs on the mask. Whatever else was in their pockets was already on their hands.
    The mask is a barrier that protects others from them.

Well said. Same principle as a nappy. Keep your sh!t to yourself should be the slogan. Smokers are admonished for smoking around nipple, those who think they should have the right to breath out their germs around others should also be admonished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

The pro mask nazis must be loving all this now.when is their next big push to have people wearing them full time both outdoors and indoors.hate the god damn things and have went to town a lot less since this madness has taken hold.when do the pro mask wearing crowd propose we can get rid of them.a couple of months,yrs or the next decade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

boggerman1 wrote: »
    The pro mask nazis must be loving all this now.when is their next big push to have people wearing them full time both outdoors and indoors.hate the god damn things and have went to town a lot less since this madness has taken hold.when do the pro mask wearing crowd propose we can get rid of them.a couple of months,yrs or the next decade

They're the same lot that wanted the whole country in full lockdown until there wasn't a single case left. Lunatics.

You mean the pro science Nazis?

Sure just stay in your house until it all blows over, you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,021 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

No: I don't care enough

When there's a vaccine, or until the virus has disappeared by itself due to not being able to spread further, as happened with MERS. People wearing masks and social distancing is how that happened, so you probably need to get used to it.

There's a reason why Japan and other Asian countries didn't have anything like the same spread we did in Europe and America.

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

.hate the god damn things and have went to town a lot less

You're wearing a mask and social distancing.

Keep it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭Sconsey

No: other

You should be more worried about the punctuation-nazis.

I've just had a conservation with someone about masks, they said that most people only wear them because they have to and to be allowed into shops, they don't wash them or even change them and become filthy breeding grounds for germs and bacteria, people shove them into their pockets with whatever else is in their pockets on their way to and from the supermarket.

You will be relieved to hear the cleanliness (or otherwise) of a mask does not alter its ability to prevent spray when someone speaks/coughs/sneezes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

Yes: surgical
    I'm noticing high levels of compliance out now - which is fantastic.

But I think we need a another big push from the government on WhY and HOW to wear them. More adds, household leaflets drops etc.

By and large, people are getting the message and realizing it's for everybody's benefit to wear one, we just need to get those last few uneducated and cognitively vulnerable over the line now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

robinph wrote: »
    How does someone wearing a mask incorrectly increase their chances of catching the virus from you who are wearing a mask correctly? What difference does wearing a mask wrong compared to not wearing one at all make? Does the virus know that they are wearing a mask wrongly and target them specifically and avoid the people who are not wearing a mask at all?

What difference does being old make to if the virus chooses to land on them or not? Where are the studies showing how the virus is searching out these older people with incorrectly fitting masks but avoiding young people with no masks?

If you care about other people then wear a mask.
    Avoid people who are not wearing masks as they don't care about you.

There's a catch, however. You have to wear the mask correctly and dispose of it properly, or you might actually increase the infection risk to yourself or others.

"That's what I see all the time," Griffin said, NPR reported. "That's why in the studies, masks fail—people don't use them (correctly). They touch the front of it. They adjust it. They push it down somehow to get their nose stuck out."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭harr

Seen my first melt down this morning, man was asked to put on mask in shop and let a torrent of abuse at the poor girl at counter. Something something about his right not to wear a mask and it wasn’t the law .. fair play to the assistant who was calm and enough and calmly told the man it was also her right to refuse service he left after firing off another round of abuse. A number of customers also told him calm down and he left once a few people started to turn on him ..
    Not a very good public image for the company he works for as he was wearing their uniform and driving a work van.

There's a catch, however. You have to wear the mask correctly and dispose of it properly, or you might actually increase the infection risk to yourself or others.

How does wearing a mask incorrectly increase infection risk when compared to wearing no mask at all?

harr wrote: »
    Seen my first melt down this morning, man was asked to put on mask in shop and let a torrent of abuse at the poor girl at counter. Something something about his right not to wear a mask and it wasn’t the law .. fair play to the assistant who was calm and enough and calmly told the man it was also her right to refuse service he left after firing off another round of abuse. A number of customers also told him calm down and he left once a few people started to turn on him ..
    Not a very good public image for the company he works for as he was wearing their uniform and driving a work van.

What an absolute giant díckhéad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Pro mask Nazis?? How do you call yourself so? Another thick as brick post..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

GazzaL wrote: »
    They're the same lot that wanted the whole country in full lockdown until there wasn't a single case left. Lunatics.

Utter bs, if you read through the thread, you would find out masks were advocated since the start, because they would help to shorten time of lockdown or severity of it. You keep twisting everything to help you with your nonsense posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,371 ✭✭✭Be right back

harr wrote: »

Sounds like a lovely person. Fair play to the assistant for standing up to him.