If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Covid19 Part XIX-25,802 in ROI (1,753 deaths) 5,859 in NI (556 deaths) (21/07)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,857 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

The numbers are so off,

It is like they save up to give a big number on one day to suit their narrative. It is really dodgy the delayed reporting of the cases, can some journo ask some hard questions and not pander to the constant negative stream.
    I'm far from a conspiracy theorist but it really does come across like this is happening. Suddenly this starts happening in the past 2 weeks, it doesn't sit well with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,728 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

Renjit wrote: »
    Why is Spain surging again?

Probably because of people going there on holiday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,601 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I know people will probably jump down my throat for this but -

The tone from RTE about people gathering in public for a Sinn Fein funeral and people gathering in public on the day of Jack Charlton's funeral is absolute night and day.

My view is that both activities are either safe or unsafe and you can't get your knickers in a twist about one and egg on the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

I'm a numbers guy, always have been since school and I study statistics as part of my university degree.
    I'm really not a fan of how we're basically manipulating figures.
    We've had 58 positive tests in last 72 hours and 52 cases reported. These numbers line up, but our way of reporting them is not.

It’s to suit the narrative of NPHET.
    These cases were known over the weekend. 44 positive tests over the weekend why not just announce them yesterday.
    All about the schools opening in September. We ain’t seeing no relaxation of restrictions until at least then. The holiday subsidy isn’t happening until September. All these things add up. They don’t want people moving and gathering anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

We should have an R0 update from Donnelly tomorrow/Thursday so that may give a sense of how the wind is blowing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

I'm a numbers guy, always have been since school and I study statistics as part of my university degree.
    We've had 58 positive tests in last 72 hours and 52 cases reported. These numbers line up, but our way of reporting them is not.

There has to be something that we are unaware of that is holding back on the reporting of some of these cases.

I'm sure it's not being done deliberately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

Agreed. It would be helped by providing transparency on how many of today's cases actually relate to yesterday. It does feel like they are deliberately holding back cases so that they can give a big number. Fully expect a number under 20 tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Renjit wrote: »
    Why is Spain surging again? Seems like antibodies tests included.
    They have some big hotspots, in Catalonia and Aragon in particular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Miike

Santy2015 wrote: »
    These cases were known over the weekend. 44 positive tests over the weekend why not just announce them yesterday.
    All about the schools opening in September. We ain’t seeing no relaxation of restrictions until at least then. The holiday subsidy isn’t happening until September. All these things add up. They don’t want people moving and gathering anywhere.

Do you think the NPHET has any bearing on the operation of the HPSC? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 916 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

Arghus wrote: »

The tone from RTE about people gathering in public for a Sinn Fein funeral and people gathering in public on the day of Jack Charlton's funeral is absolute night and day.

My view is that both activities are either safe or unsafe and you can't get your knickers in a twist about one and egg on the other.

Or indeed the BLM protest or the funeral of a Garda.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 111 ✭✭Wild Field 1831

Just watching on the news and very few with masks on the Walkinstown roundabout or Ballina.

We all want to give Jack the send off he deserves but the difference in RTE tone compared to other gatherings is striking.

I really don't think NPHET is fiddling numbers to keep us all living in fear. First of all, I don't think they're that calculating or powerful and what possible benefit is there to doing that?

It's a ludicrous conspiracy theory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,857 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

The main thing anyway today is 0 deaths. Great to see it again and our hospitals are nearly empty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Miike

I really don't think NPHET is fiddling numbers to keep us all living in fear. First of all, I don't think they're that calculating or powerful and what possible benefit is there to do doing that?

It's a ludicrous conspiracy theory.

Complex systems breed this kind of stuff though. The reporting of numbers is an immense operation and is only as strong as the weakest link. There will ALWAYS be 'the weekend effect' (seen in every country) and jitter. Daily reported cases have no bearing for lay people and should pay more attention to the 3 and 5 day averages for a general picture of how things are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,607 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

GAA looking for an exemption from the 200 crowd size. If they get it why shouldn't everybody? I'm quite disgusted that they are even looking for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Renjit

The main thing anyway today is 0 deaths. Great to see it again and our hospitals are nearly empty.

Seems like vulnerable persons are taking precautions and the age bracket of new cases is lower? Spain is managing well too despite increase.

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    GAA looking for an exemption from the 200 crowd size. If they get it why shouldn't everybody? I'm quite disgusted that they are even looking for this.

Yeah, I don't get that either. Surely that rule is designed exactly for those type of situations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Probably the most ridiculous thing to date is the GAA being back at all. If they want schools back it's a silly decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,799 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

I won't be overly worried until we see a significant upward trend in hospital and in particular ICU admissions.

At the moment those are extremely low thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Renjit

El Sueño wrote: »
    I won't be overly worried until we see a significant upward trend in hospital and in particular ICU admissions.

Exponential rise doesn't give much time to escalate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

Santy2015 wrote: »

The CMO even indicated today's figures would be higher than yesterday. He could have said we don't know until we receive the data but he didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,056 ✭✭✭Ficheall

El Sueño wrote: »

Those won't really kick in until it's older people getting infected though.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,151 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Wife was in the coombe today. Full corridors, no seating for patients, no social distancing. No staff seemed to care, shrug of the shoulders and 'ah sure look'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Probably the most ridiculous thing to date is the GAA being back at all. If they want schools back it's a silly decision.

What the hell is wrong with 500 people standing in the open air and getting a bit of relief to go watch a game of hurling or football.if we get this much awaited 2nd wave and we’re all locked down again the government will have a hard sell next time round.seems you can have countless people indoors in shopping centres and that’s grand but feck it,it’s lethal to be out in the fresh air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,431 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

I guess it's a one size of all guidance at the moment but I wouldn't see any reason why they couldn't have more people provided they were split up and didn't go over 200 in those sections. Just need to have different entrances and exits or stagger entrance times so people don't congregate going in or out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭redmgar

Were people not getting sick of stating yesterday that there was no delay of reporting usually on Monday, and now saying they are sick of the backlog?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

redmgar wrote: »
    Were people not getting sick of stating yesterday that there was no delay of reporting usually on Monday, and now saying they are sick of the backlog?

Separate issues. The backlog is not related to weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭redmgar

I think its fair to say that no one on here is an expert and has a clue whats going to happen, much like the rest of the country. Some people are using the same stats to show a doomsday scenario as the stats people are using to show its much ado about nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,142 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Not defending them but who do you mean by everybody. Do you mean other sports. Gaa should easily accommodate far more than 200 people.