Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

No: other
    Right, so supermarkets have been grand because of the measures being taken. And the plan is to just keep those measures until there's a vaccine? That's what all the anti-maskers want?
    How exactly are those questions logically connected? Not wearing a mask does not make you anti-mask, you may not perceive a need for one. We have two understandings of masks, our public heath one - if you can't social distance, and government or political position -wear one in these circumstances.

is_that_so wrote: »
    How exactly are those questions logically connected? Not wearing a mask does not make you anti-mask, you may not perceive a need for one. We have two understandings of masks, our public heath one - if you can't social distance, and government or political position.

You're saying supermarkets are safe because of measures being taken. Everyone who doesn't want masks is making this argument over and over and over again in this thread.

I'm asking if these measures are what these posters want until there is a vaccine.

"our public heath one - if you can't social distance"

And why is social distancing preferable to so many people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Went to Boylesports yesterday, met 6 hardy polish boys. None wearing masks but all interested in your whereabouts
    You should have brought them here, we've a few liberal scardey pants need sorting.

Mod: Best thing I can say about these two posts right now is that they are dickish and add nothing to the discussion at hand. Neither of you post in this thread again.

It's not bizzare, it's fuelled by the leftys and left leaning media here. Same as everything in this country. Our top Virologist doesn't see them as a necessity. An addidas sports mask wouldn't stop a fart let alone covid. It's insane to think we can live along beside this.

Put a mask on and try your hardest to blow out a match. Then try to tell me that it doesn't help the virus spread less.

You're saying supermarkets are safe because of measures being taken. Everyone who doesn't want masks is making this argument over and over and over again in this thread.

I'm asking if these measures are what these posters want until there is a vaccine.
    I tend not to get exercised by what actions other people take during this, I'm just responsible for my own actions. You seem to lump anyone without a mask into a neat homogeneous blob, some kind of human subspecies from the way you're posting. Distancing trumps masks every time, that's what we've been told and understand. The political message now is wear a mask in these circumstances or get fined, so that's what most people will probably do. What they think of that really doesn't matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,537 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Got bus into town for first time in months every single person getting off and on had a mask.
    Now on the enterprise train to Belfast lots of spacing and everyone again in masks.
    Clearly the message is getting through to people.

I tend not to get exercised by what actions other people take during this, I'm just responsible for my own actions. You seem to lump anyone without a mask into a neat homogeneous blob, some kind of human subspecies from the way you're posting. Distancing trumps masks every time, that's what we've been told and understand. The political message now is wear a mask in these circumstances or get fined, so that's what most people will probably do. What they think of that really doesn't matter.

Right, so distancing is what people without a mask want, and people who want masks want less distancing.

Vietnam did both and got rid of the virus. It's been months since I've worn one. It's actually possible to take more than one measure at a time but people are too scared about being seen with a piece of fabric on their face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭Sconsey

Provide a source? For the excess mortality? Has your head been in the sand? It was headline news for days a couple of weeks ago

Yeah providing sources is not really your thing is it? Remember when you claimed that there were zero transmissions of the virus in shops. Not a single one, in the whole country, every shop. Something that the government, the HSE, NEPHT don't know. But Timmy seems to know...without any source of course, just knows though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,621 ✭✭✭Tork

Yes: to protect others
    gmisk wrote: »
    Got bus into town for first time in months every single person getting off and on had a mask.
    Now on the enterprise train to Belfast lots of spacing and everyone again in masks.
    Clearly the message is getting through to people.

That's encouraging to hear. Despite what some people in this thread seem to think, nobody enjoys wearing a mask but if it means we can rid ourselves of this virus, so be it. I think some of the non mask wearing comes from people who are either afraid of looking like an eejit or just forgot to bring one. That'll settle down as it becomes a habit.

Right, so distancing is what people without a mask want, and people who want masks want less distancing.

Vietnam did both and got rid of the virus. It's been months since I've worn one. It's actually possible to take more than one measure at a time but people are too scared about being seen with a piece of fabric on their face.
    We are not Vietnam, Sweden, Spain nor anywhere else. The strategy chosen here was aimed at our populace and what they believed would work best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

Sconsey wrote: »
    Yeah providing sources is not really your thing is it? Remember when you claimed that there were zero transmissions of the virus in shops. Not a single one, in the whole country, every shop. Something that the government, the HSE, NEPHT don't know. But Timmy seems to know...without any source of course, just knows though.

As I said, until someone can prove there was transmission in Ireland from retail settings in the first phases of locdown, I'll take it on board, until then, the evidence is 0.

We are not Vietnam, Sweden, Spain nor anywhere else. The strategy chosen here was aimed at our populace and what they believed would work best.
    Does the virus behave differently in Ireland?

Tork wrote: »
    Does the virus behave differently in Ireland?
    We have our guidance from NPHET. That's how they choose to do things.

That's not what I asked. Does the virus transmit differently in Ireland to how it does in other countries?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,724 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

That's encouraging to hear. Despite what some people in this thread seem to think, nobody enjoys wearing a mask but if it means we can rid ourselves of this virus, so be it. I think some of the non mask wearing comes from people who are either afraid of looking like an eejit or just forgot to bring one. That'll settle down as it becomes a habit.

If the mask becomes a habit it will need to be a big mask.

We'll have nun of that here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭Sconsey

As I said, until someone can prove there was transmission in Ireland from retail settings in the first phases of locdown, I'll take it on board, until then, the evidence is 0.

Lovely, based on your logic I could (for example) say that 48% of community transmissions occurred in a retail setting, until you can prove me wrong it's a fact....but I won't say that because I know it's bullsh1t, you should do the same.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Yes: valved
    Do anyone of you reading these things apply some critical thinking to them?

20% moderate neurological issues, right. All of those contracted in elderly hospitalised patients. So 20% of 5% of 0.3% of the tested population.

Here's a similar study of H1N1, the flu. And its essentially similar to covid19.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3559119/#:~:text=Overall%2C%2023%20(41.8%25)%20patients,coma%20in%20five%20(9.1%25).

The news piece didn't mention ages. So where did you get that this only happens to the elderly in hospitals. All ages have been hospitalised with this disease.

Median age of cases is currently 48

https://covid19ireland-geohive.hub.arcgis.com/

Sconsey wrote: »
    Lovely, based on your logic I could (for example) say that 48% of community transmissions occurred in a retail setting, until you can prove me wrong it's a fact....but I won't say that because I know it's bullsh1t, you should do the same.

Er, no. Is there proof of community transmission during the first phases of lockdown in retail settings. As of now, no, there is not.

The news piece didn't mention ages. So where did you get that this only happens to the elderly in hospitals. All ages have been hospitalised with this disease.

"...although these symptoms were concentrated among elderly patients"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Pablo Escobar

Statistically it’s so unlikely that there are 0 cases from retail settings that I don’t think anyone thought that proof was required. It’s a very bizarre stance you’re taking there.

This virus and the way it is dealt with has evolved since March. So too has the advice worldwide, which is why masks are increasingly being brought into the picture. It is unfortunate that so many people in nursing homes contracted the virus but it was brought in from outside. Despite us all being told to keep our distances, wash our hands and stay at home, the virus never went away. The rates are now rising again and if it continues, we could end up back on lockdown. I don't know who the hell wants that. I certainly don't. Wearing a mask while you buy your groceries or get on a bus is a small sacrifice to make when you can then go anywhere you want for the rest of your day. I didn't see my elderly parents for ages when lockdown started and even when I did make the trip to visit them distantly, I was stopped by the guards to explain myself. How is that preferable to wearing a strip of fabric across my nose and mouth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Er, no. Is there proof of community transmission during the first phases of lockdown in retail settings. As of now, no, there is not.

Think we should all move to supermarkets, seems like it's the only safe place to be :D

"...although these symptoms were concentrated among elderly patients"

Why half quote a sentence?

"According to Segura, who co-authored the study, the most common symptoms experienced by coronavirus patients were myalgia, headaches and dizziness. He points out that nearly 20% also presented disorders of consciousness, although these symptoms were concentrated among elderly patients."

Patients with disorders of consciousness are elderly.

That doesn't mean that everyone with neurological symptoms are elderly.

"According to Segura, who co-authored the study, the most common symptoms experienced by coronavirus patients were myalgia, headaches and dizziness. He points out that nearly 20% also presented disorders of consciousness, although these symptoms were concentrated among elderly patients."

I never said it did. Read the original post. Also, any thoughts on it being almost identical to H1n1?

And any reason why you said it didnt apply to elderly people?

(And while it not mean alll patients are elderly, 5% of total patients are hospitalised, and most of them are elderly, so quite why youd want to scare people is odd)

This virus and the way it is dealt with has evolved since March. So too has the advice worldwide, which is why masks are increasingly being brought into the picture. It is unfortunate that so many people in nursing homes contracted the virus but it was brought in from outside. Despite us all being told to keep our distances, wash our hands and stay at home, the virus never went away. The rates are now rising again and if it continues, we could end up back on lockdown. I don't know who the hell wants that. I certainly don't. Wearing a mask while you buy your groceries or get on a bus is a small sacrifice to make when you can then go anywhere you want for the rest of your day. I didn't see my elderly parents for ages when lockdown started and even when I did make the trip to visit them distantly, I was stopped by the guards to explain myself. How is that preferable to wearing a strip of fabric across my nose and mouth?

Wear a mask in Tesco, go to a wedding without one! Is this really what's being suggested here?

Where did weddings come from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,251 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

I presume 'disorders of consciousness' is dementia?
    The elderly don't die of dementia but sadly the cause of death among those suffering from dementia in care homes is always pneumonia.
    I presume dying 'with covid' is another way of describing pneumonia.

I never said it did. Read the original post. Also, any thoughts on it being almost identical to H1n1?

And any reason why you said it didnt apply to elderly people?

(And while it not mean alll patients are elderly, 5% of total patients are hospitalised, and most of them are elderly, so quite why youd want to scare people is odd)

I'm sorry you said that hospitalised patients are elderly.

People of all ages have been hospitalised.

You pick out half a sentence that said disorders of consciousness are more common in elderly. That does not mean this is an old folks disease.

This is not the flu.