Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XIX-25,802 in ROI (1,753 deaths) 5,859 in NI (556 deaths) (21/07)Read OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Mystery famous journalist with supposedly five decades of experience takes on the formidable Sarah McInerney, with her view that she should be the exception to the two-week quarantine rule, because when she says she'll talk at a festival in Roscommon she is ALWAYS true to her word.

Just the absolute height of entitlement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,197 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

People shouldn't be coming here... Yet, they're still coming here.

A call centre isn't going to do much, anyone can answer their phone in the pub.

Exactly. ''Are you in X''? ''Yes'' ''Grand so, thanks''

Unless they have to provide physical landline or local Gardai checking on accommodation it's not workable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,760 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Singing sweet nothings.

Yup nothing new really.

They've been told by the AG that they can't do mandatory quarantine.

Its quite simple, implement the same list of countries that are allowed and those that aren't allowed as is in place in Europe. Just get in line with Schengen.

Flights continue but if your an American flying from America you won't be allowed into the country simple as that. All others on flights coming from the states, Europeans and Irish citizens have the 2 week self isolation as is in place now.

Only exception would be US people for essential travel but would agree definitely

One thing this whole thing has proven is we don't have enough Gardai. If we did then we'd have a public transport unit and a unit who can check compliance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Eod100 wrote: »
    Only exception would be US people for essential travel but would agree definitely

Yeah sorry forgot to add that in. Same policy as the EU Schengen area, its fairly simple

"If you're lying to us you're breaking the law" - Coveney

Then arrest the Americans? Practice what you preach Simon.

Yeah sorry forgot to add that in. Same policy as the EU Schengen area, its fairly simple

That makes line about being more restrictive than EU rubbish. Not sure why journalists don't press him on that. ''Why can't Ireland do what EU is doing?'' . Simple as

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

EU doesnt have a quarentine for other EU contries, anywhere, including Schengen.

only our own made up one for now.

A call centre is our best idea. Jesus Christ.

Eod100 wrote: »
    That makes line about being more restrictive than EU rubbish. Not sure why journalists don't press him on that. ''Why can't Ireland do what EU is doing?'' . Simple as

They've been hiding behind the CTA whenever asked previously

copeyhagen wrote: »
    EU doesnt have a quarentine for other EU contries, anywhere, including Schengen.

only our own made up one for now.

Yes I know that. That's my point, go in line with the EU policy of allowing travel within the EU. Same policy also bans Americans on non essential trips

A call centre is our best idea. Jesus Christ.

Oh but there's an online form sure.. :confused:

40% of people have filled out forms incorrectly. So 40% broke the law?

Is he actually for real?? Ah no Gardai have raised concerns at all have they. Utter sh1t show

https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1282719460835627008?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

All others on flights coming from the states, Europeans and Irish citizens have the 2 week self isolation as is in place now.
    Yes I know that. That's my point, go in line with the EU policy of allowing travel within the EU. Same policy also bans Americans on non essential trips

i read that as "2 week self isoaltion coming from Europe" as being after the 20th, presuming these fooktards release a green belt list ont he 20th.

Is he actually for real?? Ah no Gardai have raised concerns at all have they. Utter sh1t show

https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1282719460835627008?s=19
    If I wasn't laughing I'd be crying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Gruffalox wrote: »
    This is such a fcuk of a thing. I know people will start the usual guff about how some love doom, and stories like these should not be posted and what are ya gonna do? Live under a rock etc etc and that some are wetting themselves about how bad things could be etc, all of which is bullsh1t, as none of us want this absolute fcuk of a thing in our midst. None of us.
    I have been seeing stories recently about long term effects of even so-called mild doses. I think it is just hard for people to accept or even contemplate that this new cause of very unpleasant morbidity is here with us now. And there is really feck all we can do about it. We actually cannot go around forever in masks or socially distancing. This is our new TB or Polio. It is horrible that this is true. Damn this thing.

Our government had to do their bit and stop inviting potential cases of covid into our country from travellers.

This article could be used to highlight the dangers of the virus.

There is stuff we can do to minimise this. We need the whole population to be on board to follow the guideline on hygiene. We need mask wearing in public indoor places. We need to avoid crowds. Maintain social distancing. Continuing working from home. Move more towards online shopping to avoid bricks and mortar shops and public. Keep life low key. I know people eager to go back to the way life was. As in out every weekend getting plastered. Ask yourself is it really worth it. Maybe instead of going our every weekend, go out once a month. Pick up some quite hobbies and keep the head down for a few months. I have faith in the London vaccine. We will know more on the vaccine in a few more weeks and then it will be a wait for another few more months.

i read that as "2 week self isoaltion coming from Europe" as being after the 20th, presuming these fooktards release a green belt list ont he 20th.

Sorry no, I mightn't have made it clear. I've no issue with travel within the EU and banning non essential trips from countries that aren't on the EU list.

I'd like us to adopt the EU policy as it stands today, no quarantine on intra EU travel as per EU policy

0 new deaths

11 additional cases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭dalyboy

I think this must be week 5 that we have heard this promise of “green list will be announced NEXT WEEK” ... incompetence is springing to my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

If they do what is needed to airports and travel into the country, what then happens to airport/airline workers currently on PUP?

0 deaths 11 new cases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

0 new deaths

11 additional cases
    Good news to start the new week.

Cases back down again last two days now. Clusters under control. Fair play to the public health teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Be Thursday or Friday I'd say as 20th is the last phase and they need to make the call. As there was no Dame Lane Part Deux this weekend, pubs should get the go-ahead.

Cases back down again last two days now. Clusters under control. Fair play to the public health teams.

Very quick tracing of clusters it appears