Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XIX-25,802 in ROI (1,753 deaths) 5,859 in NI (556 deaths) (21/07)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭xtal191

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,257 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

I don't see what inspections can do to stop people gathering in the street.
    By all accounts from what I've heard from various bars, the garda enforcement is a PR exercise, they've gone in, asked what time the kitchen is closing and what time everyone will be gone by and that's it.

Now if your blatantly taking the piss and not serving food they can threaten to put a bad word in for your license renewal in September

There was a video the other day of a Garda criticising bar in Dublin for not policing their queue properly, I think it could easily be an issue when they're inspecting. Whole idea is that people are meant to be social distanced. Not sure many Gardai would walk that and think it was grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭YellowBucket

tom1ie wrote: »
    Tbh I’m not sure about that. I seriously think people can see how serious this is but are afraid to say anything for fear of being branded a lunatic or a scaremonger.
    We’ve had the same in this thread sure.

I know a few people who've been attacked on Twitter for even RTing medics and so on stressing it's important to wear a mask, mostly by the usual bot-like accounts with several Irish flags and a name like Patriot9837483A25 and a picture of some celtic-ish symbol .. but still it isn't conducive to anyone sticking their neck out if they're a casual twitter user.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,461 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Do you know that there isn’t?
    Do you know that anyone in that video wasn’t interacting with the USA tourists that were supposedly in Killarney during the week?
    What about UK tourists? How do you know they werent there?
    Surely we have to air on the side of caution.

Well I'm telling you about a major Dublin Hotel that in normal times is full of Americans, Japanese, British and every other tour group nationality this time of year and they've no international bookings in the next 2 weeks so I'd be fairly confident its a scene being repeat in many places.

Sorry but the rest of your post is full of what ifs so I can't exactly respond to rumour. Again "supposedly" being used. Do you have any proof of this influx of tourists??

Like i said I'm in Dublin daily and not a camera around the neck or carrols giftstore bag to be seen. You can spot an American tourist a mile away, anyone who's regularly in the city can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,142 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    Dublin as a whole county will never be a localised lockdown. Too much of the country's infrastructure is in it

But if there was a huge outbreak in somewhere like, for example, Tallaght than I could see part of that area locked down. Much like Melbourne locked down an apartment block this week

Sure that’s never going to work! If we can’t police SD in pubs how are we gonna police a lockdown in tallaght!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,178 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

So first off you mentioned panic no one else.

I’m glad you can tell American tourists from locals and I suppose you can tell UK tourists from locals too. That’s great.
    But I’m gonna assume most people can’t and so could quite easily come into contact with them if they’re here.

Speaking of which do we actually have any figures for UK and USA tourists coming into the country in the last couple of weeks. I presume that’s a readily accessible stat?

Jesus you really take a post out of context.

Yes i mentioned panic as you get a real sense of it from some posts tonight, yourself included.

I'm not sure where in the country you are, in normal times take a walk around Dublin city any day of the week, you can tell a tourist a mile off, anyone who walks around Dublin regularly knows exactly what I'm talking about.

Should be, CSO might have it or Failte Ireland, fire away with a FOI request

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,178 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

American tourists usually easy to spot - the couple wear the same coat
    Wouldn't be so sure about the UK tourists unless they are talking

Well I'm telling you about a major Dublin Hotel that in normal times is full of Americans, Japanese, British and every other tour group nationality this time of year and they've no international bookings in the next 2 weeks so I'd be fairly confident its a scene being repeat in many places.

Sorry but the rest of your post is full of what ifs so I can't exactly respond to rumour. Again "supposedly" being used. Do you have any proof of this influx of tourists??

Like i said I'm in Dublin daily and not a camera around the neck or carrols giftstore bag to be seen. You can spot an American tourist a mile away

Fair enough but there is anecdotal evidence of tourists coming into the country that has been linked to on this thread. Couple this with Ryanair and Aer lingus increasing flights from uk to Ireland and it’s not a massive stretch to conclude that people are travelling from the uk to Ireland. I’d love to see stats.
    The links I alluded to earlier were for tourists from USA to Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,466 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

People do realise that pubs will be allowed fully open as normal soon anyways, right?

Some people want restrictions until there is a vaccine.

The reality is, our poor PPE in hospitals and care settings is a far greater risk than pubs.

Is the PPE an issue in hospitals now? I thought we had that under control.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Ffs I’ve a break away in Sligo and Clare booked in august.
    If this **** carry’s on you can be guaranteed we’ll be locked down again thanks to these assholes and do you think they’ll take any blame? Then or the publicans? Like fcuk they will.
    Never even occurred to me...

Where are publicised outbreaks in places around Ireland, why on earth would you risk going to them.

People stand to lose money on "staycations" as well as their holiday abroad. Oof

Jesus you really take a post out of context.

Yes i mentioned panic as you get a real sense of it from some posts tonight, yourself included.

I'm not sure where in the country you are, in normal times take a walk around Dublin city any day of the week, you can tell a tourist a mile off, anyone who walks around Dublin regularly knows exactly what I'm talking about.

Should be, CSO might have it or Failte Ireland, fire away with a FOI request

Lol! Ah stop!
    The only one that mentioned panic was you.
    Again the reaction is to a video that was put on twitter of 100s of people not SDing in dcc.
    The only sense I get tonight is denial from yourself.
    You are telling us the chances of tourists in that video are minuscule. How the hell do you know that? You don’t.
    It’s not panic it’s common sense.
    Panic seems to be your go to statement.

Eod100 wrote: »
    There was a video the other day of a Garda criticising bar in Dublin for not policing their queue properly, I think it could easily be an issue when they're inspecting. Whole idea is that people are meant to be social distanced. Not sure many Gardai would walk that and think it was grand.

Saw that video, the Garda in question was getting alot of flack for literally breaking the rules himself by shouting at the manager at a close distance.

At worst they can threaten to put a bad word in on your licence renewal, apart from that its very limited as to anything they can do. The press release yesterday stated a file will be sent to the DPP for anywhere found to be in breach of guidelines, but they're exactly that guidelines not underpinned by legislation so would never reach any sort of prosecution.

Its a fcuked up system, requirements on reopening should have been underpinned using the emergency legislation available to the minster for health. Why it wasn't done I've no idea , would have given the Gardai the powers they need to actually do something

It's impossible to know if somebody is a tourist as in fresh off the boat the last few days . There are lots of foreign people in Dublin who may be new to the city having moved here in March or earlier and remained here during lockdown, I know several personally. They may be exploring the city now as it's probably a good time for that actually and appear like normal tourists but represent no greater risk of spread obviously.

s1ippy wrote: »
    Never even occurred to me...

Where are publicised outbreaks in places around Ireland, why on earth would you risk going to them.

People stand to lose money on "staycations" as well as their holiday abroad. Oof

Don’t understand what your saying maybe PM me?

Saw that video, the Garda in question was getting alot of flack for literally breaking the rules himself by shouting at the manager at a close distance.

At worst they can threaten to put a bad word in on your licence renewal, apart from that its very limited as to anything they can do. The press release yesterday stated a file will be sent to the DPP for anywhere found to be in breach of guidelines, but they're exactly that guidelines not underpinned by legislation so would never reach any sort of prosecution.

Its a fcuked up system, requirements on reopening should have been underpinned using the emergency legislation available to the minster for health. Why it wasn't done I've no idea , would have given the Gardai the powers they need to actually do something

Yeah I thought way he did it so close to the staff member wasn't right tbh but goes to show that some are taking it fairly seriously.

Yeah it's daft there's no real legislative basis for their enforcement but may be relying on current alcohol laws about substantial meals say. But think if Garda told publican to clear a crowd whether they strictly had that lawful power, it would be in their interest to follow it.

The other side is that as Dr. Holohan made fairly clear is that how publicans and customers behave now will influence whether we can get to next tage and whether all pubs can open then. It just seems real short term vision from pubs that are open now that are taking the piss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

"Pubs" now trending on Twitter Ireland

Lol! Ah stop!
    The only one that mentioned panic was you.
    Again the reaction is to a video that was put on twitter of 100s of people not SDing in dcc.
    The only sense I get tonight is denial from yourself.
    You are telling us the chances of tourists in that video are minuscule. How the hell do you know that? You don’t.
    It’s not panic it’s common sense.
    Panic seems to be your go to statement.

Again as I addressed in my last post yes I said panic as that appears to be the tone of some posts.

like i said you've just gone off on a tangent now. And yet your saying theres plenty of tourists milling around ?? I've given you the example from a friend in the hotel industry, if his place is quiet you can be pretty confident its replicated in others.

No denial or panic here, I'm quite comfortable given our case numbers and community transmission. Also quite confident there won't be a surge in cases from outdoor settings. The tone of tonight's posts are very reminiscent of the protests a few weeks ago, that night posters were telling us spikes in 2 weeks time, well there wasn't.

Have been out in a few bars this week and would gladly go back, felt very comfortable in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

Its been dead since early evening. Everywhere closing before 10pm. there's a temple bar webcam you can view.

https://www.earthcam.com/world/ireland/dublin/?cam=templebar

But wait where are all the foreign hordes from the US, UK and Brazil the lads are hyperventilating? I thought there was supposed to be 50 million people all coughing all over each other in the middle of Dublin?

Should technically be 'restaurants'
    Shows how the government gives us an inch and some take a mile. Gonna be a hard choice to open pubs up in the final phase.

Chile, Peru and Brazil will overtake Ireland and Netherlands in deaths per million within the next few days, probably the first countries of the developing world to have been as affected by the pandemic as Western Europe

Eod100 wrote: »
    Yeah I thought way he did it so close to the staff member wasn't right tbh but goes to show that some are taking it fairly seriously.

Yeah it's daft there's no real legislative basis for their enforcement but may be relying on current alcohol laws about substantial meals say. But think if Garda told publican to clear a crowd whether they strictly had that lawful power, it would be in their interest to follow it.

The other side is that as Dr. Holohan made fairly clear is that how publicans and customers behave now will influence whether we can get to next tage and whether all pubs can open then. It just seems real short term vision from pubs that are open now that are taking the piss.

Yeah I agree, I used to work in the pub trade while in college a few years ago now and if the Gardaí wanted something done you did it, wouldn't be worth the hassle having them in at every closing for the next week or so and you can be dam sure they'd be sat in a car across the road as as soon as 30 minutes after last orders was up they'd be over to check everyone was gone.

They've better things to be doing than sitting on pubs for the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Wolf359f wrote: »
    Shows how the government gives us an inch and some take a mile. Gonna be a hard choice to open pubs up in the final phase.

I don't think it will unfortunately

The Vinter's Association have serious pull

Don’t understand what your saying maybe PM me?

think they might be referring to the identified clusters in Sligo and Leitrim spring to mind but I could be reading the post wrong

Again as I addressed in my last post yes I said panic as that appears to be the tone of some posts.

like i said you've just gone off on a tangent now. And yet your saying theres plenty of tourists milling around ?? I've given you the example from a friend in the hotel industry, if his place is quiet you can be pretty confident its replicated in others.

No denial or panic here, I'm quite comfortable given our case numbers and community transmission. Also quite confident there won't be a surge in cases from outdoor settings. The tone of tonight's posts are very reminiscent of the protests a few weeks ago, that night posters were telling us spikes in 2 weeks time, well there wasn't.

Have been out in a few bars this week and would gladly go back, felt very comfortable in them.

I don’t see how I’ve gone off on a tangent. I never once said there was plenty of tourists mulling around around I said there was potential as we haven’t shut down travel to USA or UK (we can’t with UK)

So because your mates hotel is quiet there are no tourist from the UK or USA in dcc that could potentially be mixing with the crowd in that twitter video or a crowd like that........fair enough.
    Again our case numbers are grand at the moment I’ve never once disputed that.
    I won’t disagree with the outdoor mixing quote, you are 20 times less likely to catch it outdoors is the advice at the moment, in a 6 month old virus, blm protests in America didn’t help the spread sure...... did they?

Clicked on it and this was the first thing that came up along with a load of tweets about London and the UK.

https://twitter.com/___knighty/status/1279485218500608000?s=19

I don’t see how I’ve gone off on a tangent. I never once said there was plenty of tourists mulling around around I said there was potential as we haven’t shut down travel to USA or UK (we can’t with UK)

So because your mates hotel is quiet there are no tourist from the UK or USA in dcc that could potentially be mixing with the crowd in that twitter video or a crowd like that........fair enough.
    Again our case numbers are grand at the moment I’ve never once disputed that.
    I won’t disagree with the outdoor mixing quote, you are 20 times less likely to catch it outdoors is the advice at the moment, in a 6 month old virus, blm protests in America didn’t help the spread sure...... did they?

It's hard to know but the BLM protests in America coincided with a national middle finger to virus containment so could easily have been because people just got lazy in many other aspects of daily life

This puts risk in perspective. Might be more for US with greater risk but in theory still applies here too:

https://twitter.com/LizSly/status/1279552427918856192

Wolf359f wrote: »
    I don't think it will unfortunately

The Vinter's Association have serious pull
    That they do, however the pubic sentiment does have weight during this pandemic.
    Also with the greens and FG being a part of government, I think FF is on thin ice.
    Even FG know they had a bounce in the polls and them calling out FF for lack of action will only see FG bounce higher.
    It's unfortunately business as usual, playing politics with peoples lives.