Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XIX-25,802 in ROI (1,753 deaths) 5,859 in NI (556 deaths) (21/07)Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

The simple truth is that if we have an outbreak on the scale of Italy, Spain or the UK, our totally underesourced hospitals will not be able to cope.

We got through by skin of our teeth, by pulling all the stops out and having a possibly excessively tight lock down, but that did not solve the problem and also probably on just getting lucky on a few issues.

We seem to be determined to both import the virus again and then spread it around as much as possible by taking no precautions and assuming it's gone.

There's nothing about Ireland that makes it somehow magically immune to this.

A very simple question which is very easily answered, have people changed their behaviour since March?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

A very simple question which is very easily answered, have people changed their behaviour since March?

LOL did you not look at the pictures?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Strazdas wrote: »
    In fairness, Dame Lane is one of the narrowest streets in Temple Bar or Dublin city centre. There's scarcely enough room to swing a cat in it.

It was not just Dame Lane though. The area around Pygmalion on South William Street was not far off the above. Many restaurants and pubs throughout south inner city of Dublin this evening were absolutely hopping with interior packed out and dozens standinng crowded just outside premises drinking. I walked all around the city today, very few masks, very little distancing, a whole lot of close socialising and a LOT of public drinking

There was a really jovial atmosphere in the city and I have to say it was nice seeing the city again looking like a typical weekend months ago but it's not sustainable and clearly many people have forgotten that a lockdown does not stop the virus for ever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭YellowBucket

bb1234567 wrote: »
    I actually thought Ireland may have had immunity to the devastation witnessed in continental Europe because of it's low population density. But now with hospitals overrun in Pheonix AZ this also shows that low density populated areas are also not immune to effects of high rates of transmission

It has low density housing, but it also has very high density social behaviours revolving around getting off your face drunk in a packed pub. It's a common feature of UK culture too.

Personally, I think we just got lucky on a few issues but our stars may not always align on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Strazdas wrote: »
    In fairness, Dame Lane is one of the narrowest streets in Temple Bar or Dublin city centre. There's scarcely enough room to swing a cat in it.

All the more reason for loads of people not to congregate there

From a few days before 17th March: No pubs and a lot of cautious staying at home.

This week: people standing outside pubs knocking back pints and mingling as if there was nothing at all to be even slightly concerned about.

Behaviour has changed enormously.

The pro economy guys will like this - how about sending people back to work 6 days a week for the rest of the year to get the economy back on track? Would also ensure safe Covid standards as anyone not abiding by the rules could be sacked without pay.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

I actually thought Ireland may have had immunity to the devastation witnessed in continental Europe because of it's low population density. But now with hospitals overrun in Pheonix AZ this also shows that low density populated areas are also not immune to effects of high rates of transmission

Herd stupidity unfortunately it seems if it doesn't exist on Facebook or Instagram as a means to virtue signal or massage their egos it doesn't exist in real life. Covid is last months ice bucket challenge.......etc etc ...

I don't get this argument between people claiming that it's somehow 'pro-economy' to just throw caution to the wind and take huge risks with this virus.

The optimal situation is a pragmatic and sensible reopening with plenty of precautions to prevent this virus from either spreading within the community or getting imported. We're doing neither of those it seems.

Putting the economy at risk by taking no precautions at all is both utterly stupid and also extremely anti-business and anti-economy. We could end up with a serious second wave and a complete economic collapse as a result of it.

There are scientific facts about this virus and they're not pleasant but they're facts. Not liking those facts does not make them go away.

It's like trying to have a political argument about whether being hit by a car is a good idea or not. You don't go out and play chicken with cars on the M50 to prove a point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

What’s happening in those tweets is wrong clearly but where do you expect them to get the virus from? There’s very little chance of catching it in the community rn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

fr336 wrote: »
    The pro economy guys will like this - how about sending people back to work 6 days a week for the rest of the year to get the economy back on track? Would also ensure safe Covid standards as anyone not abiding by the rules could be sacked without pay.

Surely moving to a 4 day week is what would boost the economy. Long weekend every weekend for people to avail of and spend money in the collapsed hospitality sector. I think you have it backwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,931 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Dame Lane vids are a bit depressing. We’ve seen people being careless but that’s just a mass of about 150 people thinking seemingly ‘we just don’t give a fûck anymore’... complacency, careless and entirely selfish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

It was not just Dame Lane though. The area around Pygmalion on South William Street was not far off the above. Many restaurants and pubs throughout south inner city of Dublin this evening were absolutely hopping with interior packed out and dozens standinng crowded just outside premises drinking. I walked all around the city today, very few masks, very little distancing, a whole lot of close socialising and a LOT of public drinking

There was a really jovial atmosphere in the city and I have to say it was nice seeing the city again looking like a typical weekend months ago but it's not sustainable and clearly many people have forgotten that a lockdown does not stop the virus for ever

Allowing people to stand is probably the problem, it's impossible to maintain social distancing if people are standing in a confined space. I suppose the only plus is that it's outdoors and theoretically less risky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,142 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

What’s happening in those tweets is wrong clearly but where do you expect them to get the virus from? There’s very little chance of catching it in the community rn

And if there are UK or USA tourists intermingled with the people in the video?

There was very little chance of catching it in the community until someone brought it into the country first time round. Public making same selfish mistakes again only this time people like bar owners have spent a fortune making indoors covid proof

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,257 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

As others have said all it takes is 1 asymptomatic person to spread it. The risk may be low, may be lower than it's ever been since the first case but it still exists. That's why all the social distancing exists throughout Ireland, when Dublin was the most affected county would think people would have a bit more awareness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,767 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

tom1ie wrote: »
    And if there are UK or USA tourists intermingled with the people in the video?

You’re generalising a bit by insinuating that every single tourist has the virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

As much as I miss scenes like that and wish we could to back to it, and maybe if people are going to do it, it might be worth taking the risk to see if we can live some kind of normal existence alongside this virus, however, we can’t have it all - we can’t have thronged streets of people drinking PLUS tourists coming in from the UK and the US. Obviously the Brits are similar to us and like a good night out (how long before the hens and stags get here??), and the Americans love the idea of going out to our pubs, having a Guinness and experiencing the Irish craic. The two combined are just a disaster!

The Guards will surely have to do something now about the takeout beers? The way things will be now, there’ll be more craic outside the pub than inside as you can mingle with strangers (the best part of a night, tbh) and social distancing can go out the window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

LOL did you not look at the pictures?!

That's not an answer tbh. The majority of people have changed their behaviour since March. The evidence is clear to see. Although every bank holiday weekend, house party, protest etc we saw on threads such as this the numbers of infections will rise and we will lockdown again.
    I can only offer my experience but I was at work today and travelling home saw no issues. Queueing outside the SM this evening for a few minutes no issues. I guess based on our individual fear level we will see different threats.

All it takes is some American, Brazilian or British tourist or some Irish person who's back from somewhere like that and who's just flown in on Corona Airlines, not bothered to quarantine and head off for a few pints and 'boom' you've an outbreak of cases scattered all over Dublin and beyond.

This is utterly stupid and counterproductive stuff. There's no polite way of putting it.

There was very little chance of catching it in the community until someone brought it into the country first time round. Public making same selfish mistakes again only this time people like bar owners have spent a fortune making indoors covid proof

It’s like being back in March again only this time the general populous couldn’t give a **** about covid. Sure it’s a hoax it’s from 5g, Insert latest twitter bull**** here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭the corpo

Maybe it's a just a blow off of steam this weekend, but if it continues over the next couple of weekends I can't see how the government will be able to stand over letting pubs open fully from July 20th, and in fact not reverse the opening decisions.

Out of interest, have any restaurants had similar issues? The few I've seen on social media have seemed delighted with how well it's gone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

There was very much in the community in early march either. How did that pan out , ask someone who works in one of our hospitals or nursing homes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

As much as I miss scenes like that and wish we could to back to it, and maybe if people are going to do it, it might be worth taking the risk to see if we can live some kind of normal existence alongside this virus, however, we can’t have it all - we can’t have thronged streets of people drinking PLUS tourists coming in from the UK and the US. Obviously the Brits are similar to us and like a good night out (how long before the hens and stags get here??), and the Americans love the idea of going out to our pubs, having a Guinness and experiencing the Irish craic. The two combined are just a disaster!

The Guards will surely have to do something now about the takeout beers? The way things will he now, there’ll be more craic outside the pub than inside as you can mingle with strangers (the best part of a night, tbh) and social distancing can go out the window.

Speaking of which, even saw a hen night out on dame Street this evening! It felt exactly like a normal weekend in dublin city centre this evening

You’re generalising a bit by insinuating that every single tourist has the virus.

If 100,000 tourists came to dublin but only one had Covid and mingled in that crowd, they pass it to one person, they pass it to others, these people go back home in dublin or elsewhere, pass it to the supernarket worker, passes it to a few customers, they pass to heir friends etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,931 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Eod100 wrote: »
    As others have said all it takes is 1 asymptomatic person to spread it. The risk may be low, may be lower than it's ever been since the first case but it still exists. That's why all the social distancing exists throughout Ireland, when Dublin was the most effected county would think people would have a bit more awareness.

Your average pub owner though is sitting at home, watching Netflix, waiting for the email or txt with the nights takings... he feels comfortable that he has spent a few grand installing screens and bought a few masks for the staff. Be grand, doing his/her bit. #theeconomytheeconomytheeconomytheeconomytheeconomy

Ah come on citizen you know that the UK and USA tourists coming here pose a threat. I didn’t say every single one of them have the virus but they are coming from countries with far higher infection rates.
    The Eu are using this as a barometer sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

The government asked us not to form in crowds back in March. The weekend before St Patricks day, pictures emerged from temple bar with crowds.

One of the reasons we went into lockdown was to prevent other crowed scenes like that to control the spread of the virus. The authorities will be keeping a close eye on this no doubt and if cases spike again in a fortnights time, we probably be seeing a localised lockdown there so bualadh bos mor now to Dublin city for potentially sabotaging our progress. You will all be whinging on Joe Duffy no doubt when the Dublin city pubs are issued with closures.

There was very much in the community in early march either. How did that pan out , ask someone who works in one of our hospitals or nursing homes

Politically things have changed somewhat too. I would say the Publican Party being in the mix could end up resulting in a lot more lobbying from pubs, hospitality and airlines being taken seriously than it was over the March and April, when you effectively had the outgoing government sitting in as technocratic caretakers, with no assumption that they were going to be in anything other than opposition.

It remains to be seen whether the current lot have any backbone on these issues. The last lot barely had, and tended to leave huge loopholes like the airports open.

Speaking of which, even saw a hen night out on dame Street this evening! It felt exactly like a normal weekend in dublin city centre this evening

That’s got to be a joke!