Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XIX-25,802 in ROI (1,753 deaths) 5,859 in NI (556 deaths) (21/07)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,461 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

fr336 wrote: »
    To be fair everything worked out well the last time people were irresponsible and got shoulder to shoulder in a crowd of strangers

I was actually just about to say this, there was nothing linked to the protests that saw thousands and at the time most of us said give it 2-3 weeks but there was no spike.

At least they're outdoors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭the corpo

If we get through all this without a surge in cases, then the whole thing has been a 5g chemtrails hoax and Gemma O'd can have my £5, but my covid paranioa is tingling away this evening. Firstly, the stories from the pubs today and yesterday, then things like walking down my main st earlier, passed a full barbers, neither staff nor customers wearing any masks or PPE at all, and tonight I can hear a huge house party somewhere in the area.

An Italian friend of mine travelled home to the south of Italy today and says *everyone* is wearing masks, even just out for a walk.

We're doomed! Probably...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,178 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    Wave 92 Incoming!1!

https://twitter.com/BarryWhyte85/status/1279523136413761544

Oh well. At least they're outdoors

If we survive this and our wide open Airports to tourists without a spike then we must be made up of special stuff

Let's see where this all leads in 2 to 3 weeks

I'm personally, slowly creeping back up to April/May levels of concern

Tell me that is not real - ridiculous
    Do they not know they could be asymptomatic and starting off a brand new spike of cases
    Given the age demographic there I guess the brain stopped engaging at the mention of beer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

I was actually just about to say this, there was nothing linked to the protests that saw thousands and at the time most of us said give it 2-3 weeks but there was no spike.

Yeh I don't think there will be a spike from this either given how little covid there is in the country.
    Even with those large crowdsin parts of Dublin tonight, the likelihood is literally none of them have covid!
    But if that behaviour keeps up, eventually some tourists who are infected will be at these events, and then it will spread. It may take a while,it took over 4 weeks in Israel for example when they went back to completely normal lifestyle, but it is inevitable if tourists are not forcibly screened.

HSE Operations report relased. As expected at the weekend very little change.

As of 18:30 11 covid paitents in ICU, 7 on ventilators. Both up 1 from yesterday.

As of 8pm 20 in general hosptial beds. Up 1 on yesterday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

tom1ie wrote: »
    Why take the fcuking risk?!

Because Ireland has many:
    • Alcoholics
    • Very social people
    • Spineless politicians afraid to close airports to Americans, despite them doing it to us and despite the rest of the EU shutting them out

When you mix it all together I think we're going to fúck up 3-4 months of sacrifice for nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,142 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

No spikes here but what about USA and Brazil etc.

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Yeh I don't think there will be a spike from this either given how little covid there is in the country. But if that behaviour keeps up, eventually some tourists who are infected will be at these events, and then it will spread. It may take a while,it took over 4 weeks in Israel for example when they went back to completely normal lifestyle, but it is inevitable if tourists are not forcibly screened.

Known cases are not a true indicator of how many infected there are in the community especially when you have young people who may not even realise they are asymptomatic.
    Only needs one person in that group to infect a 100 people
    Damn idiots if you ask me.

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Yeh I don't think there will be a spike from this either given how little covid there is in the country. But if that behaviour keeps up, eventually some tourists who are infected will be at these events, and then it will spread. It may take a while,it took over 4 weeks in Israel for example when they went back to completely normal lifestyle, but it is inevitable if tourists are not forcibly screened.

Absolutely. I’ve been saying this for a while.
    Our numbers are low now, but we are not even trying to stop the UK and USA “seeding” more infections among our , evidently, more than willing population.
    It’s only a matter of time now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

We still have important parts of society to try and reopen (e.g. schools), and they won't reopen if we see a spike in cases.

If pubs can't control themselves and their customers they are running the risk of the entire industry being shut (along with restaurants by the way). If was a restaurant owner or a responsible publican I'd be hopping mad, and probably a bit scared at the scenes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭YellowBucket

I give up. The only conclusion I can come to is that a significant % of people in Ireland, the UK, the US and quite a few other places are just never going to take this seriously unless they end up in hospital on a ventilator.

I don't think people are getting through their heads that all we did was remove the ability of the virus to transmit by locking down. The virus didn't magically go away because we did that, we just reset the clock a few months.

The impression I'm getting from most people I've spoken to is one of exceptionalism and being smug about how dumb Americans or "The Brits" are, while doing more or less exactly the same things and throwing caution to the wind on the "I can't see it, so it can't be real" principle.

I quite literally had someone in Dublin today showing me clips of how some American was refusing to wear mask and throwing her toys out of the pram about it on some rant online, yet the same person doesn't bother to wear a mask or even do any of the social distancing stuff herself (including on the Luas and busses), but it's just the Americans who are dumb, of course.

If those pub / outside pub scenes are common, all it's going to take is one random person to show up with COVID-19 and you'll have a big outbreak in Dublin or somewhere else that isn't taking this seriously.

fritzelly wrote: »
    Known cases are not a true indicator of how many infected there are in the community especially when you have young people who may not even realise they are asymptomatic.
    Only needs one person in that group to infect a 100 people
    Damn idiots if you ask me.

Don’t know about 1 infecting 100 but your right, idiots the lot of them.
    It was inevitable the minute pub/restaurants opened up though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,257 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Non food pubs have been serving takeaway pints for the last week weeks and have kept doing it this week.

Surely they have some responsibility when they're the ones serving and people drinking outside their door?

Eod100 wrote: »
    Surely they have some responsibility when they're the ones serving and people drinking outside their door?

Nope, once your 100m away from the pub you bought the pints from theres no comeback on them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

I give up. The only conclusion I can come to is that a significant % of people in Ireland, the UK, the US and quite a few other places are just never going to take this seriously unless they end up in hospital on a ventilator.

I don't think people are getting through their heads that all we did was remove the ability of the virus to transmit by locking down.

The impression I'm getting from most people I've spoken to is one of exceptionalism and being smug about how dumb Americans are, while doing more or less exactly the same things and throwing caution to the wind on the "I can't see it, so it can't be real" principle.

The simple truth is despite the hysteria,media overlorad etc very few people who contract the virus ( without underlying conditions) end up on a ventilator

Was in the builders the other day and he took my contact details for contact tracing
    Are all the bars doing this as well? Thought that was the the purpose of the whole idea of opening bars to control the amount of people and be able to trace them if there was an outbreak
    I seriously doubt any details are being taken in that video

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,257 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Nope, once your 100m away from the pub you bought the pints from theres no comeback on them

They're right outside, I can't see it being further than 100m. And I don't think that's good enough in a pandemic tbh, they have a greater responsibility than usual regardless of what law says.

Ah that explains the carry on at the red cow!
    So can the person Drinking be done for Public drinking? In other words if u buy a beer and the pub makes you go 100m away from its front door and a guard comes along, can you be cautioned/arrested for drinking in public?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

fr336 wrote: »
    To be fair everything worked out well the last time people were irresponsible and got shoulder to shoulder in a crowd of strangers

The protest marches were very different in that the vast majority would have been sober

This video shows absolutely zero masks. And I'm sure a drunken hug or two was had as the night went on

In the early days of this I saw reports saying that colder (personality wise) and less sociable nations were doing much better in this. Countries like Japan and Germany etc

Ireland is the total opposite. We're, generally, very sociable

Loving a drink and "having the craic" with strangers are not great traits to have right now

fritzelly wrote: »
    Was in the builders the other day and he took my contact details for contact tracing
    Are all the bars doing this as well? Thought that was the the purpose of the whole idea of opening bars to control the amount of people and be able to trace them if there was an outbreak
    I seriously doubt any details are being taken in that video

Why would details be taken of people outside ?? They aren't on anyones premises.

When your going in to sit down for food and your few drinks the contact details are taken, in my experience some places taking everyones name and number others just 1 person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭YellowBucket

The simple truth is despite the hysteria,media overlorad etc very few people who contract the virus ( without underlying conditions) end up on a ventilator

The simple truth is that if we have an outbreak on the scale of Italy, Spain or the UK, our totally underesourced hospitals will not be able to cope.

We got through by skin of our teeth, by pulling all the stops out and having a possibly excessively tight lock down, but that did not solve the problem and also probably on just getting lucky on a few issues.

We seem to be determined to both import the virus again and then spread it around as much as possible by taking no precautions and assuming it's gone.

There's nothing about Ireland that makes it somehow magically immune to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

To be fair to the BLM, some protesters were wearing masks. Also, would be there be more possible transmission when groups of people are mingling and talking to each other face on with alcohol on them, than people walking or facing in the same direction?

tom1ie wrote: »
    Ah that explains the carry on at the red cow!
    So can the person Drinking be done for Public drinking? In other words if u buy a beer and the pub makes you go 100m away from its front door and a guard comes along, can you be cautioned/arrested for drinking in public?

Nope public drinking in Ireland isn't illegal unless your in an area that has bye laws enforcing no public consumption.

Only law is that it must be consumed 100m or more away from the place of trade.

What went on at the red cow by the way ?

Why would details be taken of people outside ?? They aren't on anyones premises.

When your going in to sit down for food and your few drinks the contact details are taken, in my experience some places taking everyones name and number others just 1 person.

So pretty much no contact tracing info available in that twitter video.
    Ffs!
    Shows contact tracing won’t really help us much if the locals interact with infected tourists.
    Ah well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

Very few once a country goes into lockdown. Hopefuly Ireland can stop the virus getting into the country in large numbers again and isolate it once here because the public simply cant be trusted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

ShineOn7 wrote: »

In fairness, Dame Lane is one of the narrowest streets in Temple Bar or Dublin city centre. There's scarcely enough room to swing a cat in it.

To be fair to the BLM, some protesters were wearing masks. Also, would be there be more possible transmission when groups of people are mingling and talking to each other face on with alcohol on them, than people walking or facing in the same direction?

Very true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

The simple truth is that if we have an outbreak on the scale of Italy, Spain or the UK, our totally underesourced hospitals will not be able to cope.

We got through by skin of our teeth, by pulling all the stops out and having a possibly excessively tight lock down, but that did not solve the problem and also probably on just getting lucky on a few issues.

We seem to be determined to both import the virus again and then spread it around as much as possible by taking no precautions and assuming it's gone.

There's nothing about Ireland that makes it somehow magically immune to this.

I actually thought Ireland may have had immunity to the devastation witnessed in continental Europe because of it's low population density. But now with hospitals overrun in Pheonix AZ this also shows that low density populated areas are also not immune to effects of high rates of transmission

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

Sure its grand soon to be sitting beside you in the office bus dart , serving you in a cafe bar shop or using the touchscreen in the supermarket...

Pure ****in skum ......

Half these pitifully halfwits will be visiting friends parents etc in the next week and are no doubt looking at American's and saying how ****ing stupid they are and feeling quite smug about themselves.

Too stand in an alley pissing in a corner with loads of tossers on a ****ty night in dublin...

Brilliant

Strazdas wrote: »
    In fairness, Dame Lane is one of the narrowest streets in Temple Bar or Dublin city centre. There's scarcely enough room to swing a cat in it.

Well cats could be potential carriers