What's your opinion on Irish police/law-enforcement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Sinzo

I remember finally getting one of those shytes to court after multiple offences (theft, burglary and assault) in a short space of time. Judge gives him 4 days in prison. 4 days. Anyway, at the time we used to bring these "people" to prison directly, so a day out driving to one of the few jails we have. Checked in said shyte. Stopped for some grub on the way back (nothing fancy, fish and chips and a can of coke). Finished up and headed back. As we were coming into the city, there was shyte walking into the city. Turns out there wasn't enough spaces so they temporarily released him, gave him €20 and a bus ticket, and he was home on the train the same time as us. What a waste of resources, time and money.

Jesus Christ, what a croc of sh1t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

Nope, I've decided to become a hermit and concentrate on what makes me happy, which it appears is less social interaction because people are idiots, and copious amounts of weed. And gaming. yeah, if you looked at my life right now, you'd think I was one of those waster stoner types. But I've a full time WFH job, I contribute, but I just don't sign up to the 'typical' life of a wife, mortgage (had it, recession, sold the house and took the hit), kids, sports, SUV crap.

Far better than any therapist trying to tell me how I should feel and act, even though I know myself that I'm the opposite of most people so the typical therapy crap doesn't work for me.

Am curious to know did being a guard cause you to live the way you live now? Did it change your personality or your outlook on life? You being reclusive now where you like that before you were a guard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

I've no respect for them whatsoever.
    I don't accept the poster who says unless you are or were in ags then you can't know what it's like.

Cobblers.

They have shown themselves time and again to be knsular, power hungry and corrupt.

We had the last two cards commissioners allowed to wander off into the sunset and not have to explain their dubious actions to anyone.

No one could convince me that they are any use.
    If the whole lot could be disbanded and a new and modern and answerable organisation was created then maybe I'd reconsider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭mick087

Like every other law enforcement in the world, they are there to protect the rich and powerful.

mick087 wrote: »
    Like every other law enforcement in the world, they are there to protect the rich and powerful.

I'm neither rich or powerful, and they did a good job of getting my ass out of danger.

I got jumped by a group of 5 guys, who laid into me with a will. I was down on the ground, hurting bad, when the Gardai came running to break it up. Two Gardai interrupting 5 guys beating me up. That takes courage, when they could have hung back waiting for other Gardai to join them. Scattered the guys. They helped me up, checked my injuries, and got me to A&E. Also did a great job finding the ****ers, and getting them charged.

No. I do understand some of the cynics out there.. but I have personal experiences of them helping me or friends. None of whom were wealthy, or powerful at that time. I also know a variety of stories by friends of the local Gardai or detectives being very helpful and efficient in breaking up fights.

Nah... I won't buy into the hate. All you need is one experience of them stepping in to save your ass (I had broken ribs, and internal bleeding from that attack)... to cancel out the occasional dipsht

People love to have the police to hate.
    Unless they actually know a guard personally, then they hate 'other guards'

It's because it's a faceless organisation unless you have personal ties with it.
    People speak about 'the guards' but it's really not personal. I understand that after 22 years in the job.
    Younger guards take everything personally, criticisms etc.
    The older you are the more you realise, guards at an organisation are there as a punching bag, for most people.

People that have bad things happen to them, need a punching bag. AGS as a whole, fulfils that need.

That's why older guards are easier going, they give more leeway, & dont take criticism to heart. Younger guards are still idealistic, that's why they argue & stick up for the organization.

Unfortunately, their idealism is soon knocked out of them.

There are flaws in the guards, there are flaws in many organizations. As a whole, AGS are a good police force, very little corruption of any kind.
    I have worked with police from many different countries, & believe me, everyone in Ireland should be grateful for AGS, because they are a lot better then many other forces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

We really should be thankful that we don't have a paramilitary force thats present in countries and the subsequent social issues that such forces generate.

🙈🙉🙊

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭I Am Nobody

A few years ago,I had a bike stolen.@ days later the Gardai found in it a field burnt.and 2 days after they arrested the fcuker for it.They were always polite and motivated in catching them.And one even said to me "thats tragic they fcuked up a thing of beauty".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭mick087

I'm neither rich or powerful, and they did a good job of getting my ass out of danger.

I got jumped by a group of 5 guys, who laid into me with a will. I was down on the ground, hurting bad, when the Gardai came running to break it up. Two Gardai interrupting 5 guys beating me up. That takes courage, when they could have hung back waiting for other Gardai to join them. Scattered the guys. They helped me up, checked my injuries, and got me to A&E. Also did a great job finding the ****ers, and getting them charged.

No. I do understand some of the cynics out there.. but I have personal experiences of them helping me or friends. None of whom were wealthy, or powerful at that time. I also know a variety of stories by friends of the local Gardai or detectives being very helpful and efficient in breaking up fights.

Nah... I won't buy into the hate. All you need is one experience of them stepping in to save your ass (I had broken ribs, and internal bleeding from that attack)... to cancel out the occasional dipsht

Law eforcement is corrupt and rotten to its core.

I dont class individual Garda as bad people as such, but what they are part of and represent is rotten. Yes i have seen Garda do great things in there line of work but the law is stacked in favour of those with and not those without.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭hrcbob

I dont class individual Garda as bad people as such, but what they are part of and represent is rotten. Yes i have seen Garda do great things in there line of work but the law is stacked in favour of those with and not those without.

I think you’ll find the law is just the law. It’s just words written on a piece of paper somewhere and I very much doubt that there is any mention of a persons wealth written into it.
    People who do ****ty things fall foul of it no matter how much money they have so if you want to have pleasant dealings with it just stay the right side of it.

I’ve had enough dealings with Gardai over the years to know that as a general rule they are pretty decent folk doing a ****ty job.
    A degree of respect to them And their role when you’re out of order goes a long way To having a better outcome to your dealings with them.
    There are the few robo cop wannabies out there but what profession doesn’t have a degree arsehole somewhere?

hrcbob wrote: »
    A degree of respect to them And their role when you’re out of order goes a long way To having a better outcome to your dealings with them.
    There are the few robo cop wannabies out there but what profession doesn’t have a degree arsehole somewhere?

You earn respect in this life,you dont just get handed to people once they put on a uniform imo

Plenty good gaurds out there,who have earned it....but plenty other gaurds out there,who have no business in the gaurds and dont deserve any respect aswell

I disagree. It's simply that many people are not resistant to the corruption that often comes with power. Some people will become corrupt, others not so much, and a few not at all.

They're part of an essential service, and represent order in this country. People have options. It's just that many people in this country act like complete tools and get annoyed when they're caught. Or they resist being arrested, and offended that the Gardai don't treat them all gentle like.

You earn respect in this life,you dont just get handed to people once they put on a uniform imo

Plenty good gaurds out there,who have earned it....but plenty other gaurds out there,who have no business in the gaurds and dont deserve any respect aswell

See I regard this as being a two way street.
    If you’re being a Dick to every guard you meet just because of one bad one you heard about it even had dealings with, why would you expect anything other than the the same biased treatment from them?

Those guys and girls do a proper ****ty job for absolute peanuts and are treated with nothing but abuse by the
    Skum that the courts should be locking up.

hrcbob wrote: »
    See I regard this as being a two way street.
    If you’re being a Dick to every guard you meet just because of one bad one you heard about it even had dealings with, why would you expect anything other than the the same biased treatment from them?

Those guys and girls do a proper ****ty job for absolute peanuts and are treated with nothing but abuse by the
    Skum that the courts should be locking up.

Tbh they just treated with indifference.....they dont get served in the village,nor people engage with em,if atal possible

Noone seeks em out to be a dick to em, or be rude to either....but noone shows undue respect either in interactions

On that basis, you are disrespectful to strangers. that's kinda sucky

Tbh they just treated with indifference.....they dont get served in the village,nor people engage with em,if atal possible

Noone seeks em out to be a dick to em, or be rude to either....but noone shows undue respect either in interactions

When I was a kid the local guard and the priest were the two people who you avoided conversation with if at all possible.
    Both of them were actually lovely people but there was a degree of respect shown to their roles in the community that no longer exists.
    The local guard and local priest nowadays I call by their first names when I meet them but will still use their official titles of guard xxxx or father xxx when it’s official interactions
    It costs nothing to be polite to people so thinking that because this person wears a uniform, he/she is everything that’s wrong with that institution, is a bad place to be starting from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,665 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Underfunded, under resourced and understaffed, with evident corruption in the upper echelons.

I've never had a problem with
    them and I'd hate their job, but the ordinary rank and file members aren't the problem. They're in a role their they see the worst of humanity and regularly get abused by those who like "to stick it to the man".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Poor.

I don't think i have ever had a good experience with them.

When i was little we pulled into a petrol station ...there was a member of staff who was beating up a young lad ....my dad had to stop them. We tried calling the guards ..they never bothered to come ..we waited over an hr.

My friend got broken into and i had an ex who was broken into twice. On all accounts the guards were unhelpful. And they were outright unprofessional in that they made personally unpleasant remarks to my friend and in the other case of my ex which were upsetting at a vulnerable time. One guard kept commenting on the state of the bedsit my ex was living in saying it was tiny and like a tenement building. Which in fairness it was but he was a student and the guard should have sense enough to keep his gob shut. To my friend she had to give a description of her underwear (which had been stolen ) to a male guard. She already had to deal with them looking about her house with her underwear strewn about the place.

When i was around 19 i got a series of weird phone calls one of them left a message on my phone threatening 'To rape my arse until it burst'. Those exact words. I wasn't even going to go to the guards. But i played it to a friend and she marched me right into the guarda station. It was a FEMALE guard who was there. She looked incredibly bored and just sighed at me. She made me feel i was being a nuisance. She said if they ring again take down what they say. But that she couldn't do anything. SHE DIDN'T EVEN TAKE MY DETAILS. (LIKE I AM JUST GOING TO SIT THERE IF IN A PUBLIC PLACE TAKING DOWN THE SORDID CRAP THIS GUY IS SAYING).

Once i was in a club ....i saw a guy i knew ....we didn't get on i knew her gf ..but there were not together then. I didn't think anything of it. Then on leaving the club ..a guard asked to search me and asked details. He seemed to expect something. I was like show me your guarda number. He was like i don't have to. I just let him search me. He found nothing seemed confused and then gave me a crazy rant. He wanted my details. I told him i had no id he was like 'HOW DID YOU GET INTO THE CLUB THEN'. I was like nodding politely. Then he walked off when his radio went off.

Then a couple of weeks later someone told me the guy i saw there had mentioned me to the guards with the intent of getting me into trouble. Apparently he knew the guard. Funny thing was he himself was into drugs.

I had an ex ...he had a criminal record ..but a guard who was a friend got it erased. Its actually dangerous that ex was not a good person.

Years ago ...my father caught a guy who lived behind us exposing himself in public. He rang the guards. They didn't want to come around. But my dad was insistent ...he was like 'THERE ARE KIDS AROUND HERE'. GET THIS ....they went around ..and the guy (it was a house share) told his roomates he wasn't coming down. So the guards just left. They didn't insist on talking to him. Also TWO other people had seen this guy expose himself in public on the estate. And they reported it too..NOTHING.

So yeah my opinion of the guards is quite low.

Oh this is this funny story ...a groups of friends and me were walking around temple bar it was like 2 in the afternoon this guarda car comes speeding by STOPS 'Did you see two guys walking with this description?'....'No' ..(which was the truth).......Car speeds off. Another guarda car speeds by ...'Did you see these two guys with this description?' ...'Nope'. Then we walk for about 15 mins .....the same FIRST guarda car drives by slows down 'DID YOU SEE THESE TWO GUYS FITTING THIS DESCRIPTION?' ...I am like are you joking ? 'no'...he nods ...doesn't recognize us. I was like there is slim chance of those two guys being caught the guards are not exactly observant.

Any time i have gone to get passport etc. They have been almost rude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,208 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Must be disheartening to be on the frontline and seeing the courts give light sentences and scrotes free to reoffend.

This, for anyone who puts their shoulder to the wheel in any walk of life to see their work undermined by those they are working with or for, it can be heartbreaking... imagine you are a Garda, answering a 999 call, you arrest a guy who has assaulted a tourist, you take a couple of digs yourself during the arrest.
    . Goes to court, solicitor says despite his crimes he’s a good fella, volunteers at his local garage for experience, turning his life around, stress from a recent death in the family is a contributing factor, off drugs two years....

Judge : “Tom, are you promising me not to reoffend ? Ok, I’m sentencing you to xx months, SUSPENDED...”.

The cûnt is away laughing.

That said my overall experiences with Gardai have been quite poor, difficult job but lack of ability, interest, professionalism and manners on each occasion... desperate, not a great organization these days.

Not surprised by iloveyourvibes story based on the incompetence I experienced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,708 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

In fairness alot of the gripes here are actually down to the judiciary not the Gardai

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭bo0li5eumx12kp

cj maxx wrote: »
    In fairness alot of the gripes here are actually down to the judiciary not the Gardai

Is there like a, judiciary commissioner?

Like Drew Harris but, for judges?

There's gotta be an individual at the top dictating policy, nuh?

It's hardly the minister for justice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭corks finest

At senior levels shocking, corruption swept under the carpet, morale on the ground at an all time low.
    Lots like our civil service just going through the motions, passing time till retirement.
    This will not get better until judiciary actually jail druggies , constantly feuding travellers etc for substantial periods,laws for knife crime and large amounts of class A drugs need mandatory long sentences not the slap on the hand crap we read about daily

I agree. I support the men in blue. They are not perfect but which one of us is above reproach. I had a similiar interaction with them.
    The problem was how ineffective the judicial process is with dealing with criminal behaviour and recidivism.

ILYV, 2nd hand stories, you shouldn't believe everything people tell you.
    I had an ex ...he had a criminal record ..but a guard who was a friend got it erased. Its actually dangerous that ex was not a good person.
    This never happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Kylta wrote: »
    Am curious to know did being a guard cause you to live the way you live now? Did it change your personality or your outlook on life? You being reclusive now where you like that before you were a guard?

I'm blaming my time in AGS for they way I feel now. Everything mentioned above, the lack of sentencing, the revolving door in court, the lack of management support, the assaults I've endured without reproach (because it's part of my job...), this all made me fairly negative and I am who I am now because of it.

But, while it looks bad, I'm better for it. I was trying to be the socialite, going to events, had the mortgage and long term girlfriend, could have had kids, cared about what people think of me, etc. Now, I work on my happiness. Looking from the outside in, it would be considered a waste by some people, but it opened my eyes to the unfairness of society and by removing myself from trying to be a socialite and no longer caring what people think of me, I'm far, far happier.

But it's not fair to put it all on my time there, my life leading up to that point had its struggles (nothing more or less worse than others), and maybe I put being a Garda on a pedestal, the parents were delighted as I was the first in the family to become one (historically) and they're from a time where it was one of the best jobs one could get, so I had believed that this was it, this will be my purpose. It's not like that anymore, so I suppose after a few years of experiencing the terrible judicial system it just popped this bubble I had made. I subsequently made the hard choices and here I am, much happier to not interact with the public anymore.

Thinking back, I should have joined the army instead, as I had 7 years in the FCA/RDF and loved every second of it. Hindsight is great.
    bubblypop wrote: »
    This never happened

I agree. There's no possible way to "wipe" a record. It's saved on a central system and can't be removed. It will always be there, but only if it's a conviction. Reports don't show on checks, only convictions (save for internal information), but from a public point of view only convictions will show.

I'm not judging anyone for hating AGS, interactions will cause that. And I will admit that there could be more professionalism, but I also think that there is too much expected. As I said previously, if the job was just to uphold and enforce the law, it would be a grand job. It's all the other jobs you have to do that ruin it, and all the while doing it with a smile in case you offend someone. Criminals have more protection than victims.

But it's working to change itself. Specialised units set up to deal with sensitive matters, family liaison officers to deal with victims of crime and their families, community policing to try and prevent youth from getting involved in crime, sexual assault specialists. There was a time when a Garda could go to a shop to take a report of a theft, and then immediately take a rape report, which as you can imagine would not be easy for the victim explaining this to a big, country male Garda with little to no interpersonal skills (as they were back in the day). Now we have specialised units to deal with this, taking into account the sensitivity and behaving as such.

One thing I will say re: reports and the Gardai doing nothing. People need to realise that unless the law allows it, the Gardai can't do anything. I've had countless "discussions" (ie: me talking, they shouting) with people who say we don't do their job, we know who the criminals are, etc, but will refuse to give us statements, which are required when the Guards themselves didn't see what happened. People are reluctant to go to court (and understandably so), but without those statements there's little the Gardai can do. It's not like CSI Miami, or Law and Order, there simply are not enough resources to be keeping an eye on all criminals (who are also getting smarted as time passes, rarely doing "the job" themselves and instead getting the up and coming youth criminals to do it because of lighter sentencing).

I'm blaming my time in AGS for they way I feel now. Everything mentioned above, the lack of sentencing, the revolving door in court, the lack of management support, the assaults I've endured without reproach (because it's part of my job...), this all made me fairly negative and I am who I am now because of it.

But, while it looks bad, I'm better for it. I was trying to be the socialite, going to events, had the mortgage and long term girlfriend, could have had kids, cared about what people think of me, etc. Now, I work on my happiness. Looking from the outside in, it would be considered a waste by some people, but it opened my eyes to the unfairness of society and by removing myself from trying to be a socialite and no longer caring what people think of me, I'm far, far happier.

But it's not fair to put it all on my time there, my life leading up to that point had its struggles (nothing more or less worse than others), and maybe I put being a Garda on a pedestal, the parents were delighted as I was the first in the family to become one (historically) and they're from a time where it was one of the best jobs one could get, so I had believed that this was it, this will be my purpose. It's not like that anymore, so I suppose after a few years of experiencing the terrible judicial system it just popped this bubble I had made. I subsequently made the hard choices and here I am, much happier to not interact with the public anymore.

Thinking back, I should have joined the army instead, as I had 7 years in the FCA/RDF and loved every second of it. Hindsight is great.

I agree. There's no possible way to "wipe" a record. It's saved on a central system and can't be removed. It will always be there, but only if it's a conviction. Reports don't show on checks, only convictions (save for internal information), but from a public point of view only convictions will show.

I'm not judging anyone for hating AGS, interactions will cause that. And I will admit that there could be more professionalism, but I also think that there is too much expected. As I said previously, if the job was just to uphold and enforce the law, it would be a grand job. It's all the other jobs you have to do that ruin it, and all the while doing it with a smile in case you offend someone. Criminals have more protection than victims.

But it's working to change itself. Specialised units set up to deal with sensitive matters, family liaison officers to deal with victims of crime and their families, community policing to try and prevent youth from getting involved in crime, sexual assault specialists. There was a time when a Garda could go to a shop to take a report of a theft, and then immediately take a rape report, which as you can imagine would not be easy for the victim explaining this to a big, country male Garda with little to no interpersonal skills (as they were back in the day). Now we have specialised units to deal with this, taking into account the sensitivity and behaving as such.

One thing I will say re: reports and the Gardai doing nothing. People need to realise that unless the law allows it, the Gardai can't do anything. I've had countless "discussions" (ie: me talking, they shouting) with people who say we don't do their job, we know who the criminals are, etc, but will refuse to give us statements, which are required when the Guards themselves didn't see what happened. People are reluctant to go to court (and understandably so), but without those statements there's little the Gardai can do. It's not like CSI Miami, or Law and Order, there simply are not enough resources to be keeping an eye on all criminals (who are also getting smarted as time passes, rarely doing "the job" themselves and instead getting the up and coming youth criminals to do it because of lighter sentencing).

Thanks for your insight into the problems faced by Gardai. It is always the same. People who dont do your job feel free to criticise without opening their minds and looking at all facets of the issue.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 140 ✭✭gailforecast

Come on now Vibes, that’s a fib.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Sinzo wrote: »
    Thanks for your insight into the problems faced by Gardai. It is always the same. People who dont do your job feel free to criticise without opening their minds and looking at all facets of the issue.

I always forget to leave out the positive side of the job, but it's marred by the negative. I had good times too, but not job related. Made some great friendships. But the job itself was hard. All depends on where you're stationed too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭bo0li5eumx12kp

Good point on reports.

Not related to the Garda but, in general I think report making is something that can get overlooked as, in an apartment building I had resided, there were several repeat incidences of disturbances coming exclusively from one apartment and individuals frequenting it.

The building security had attempted to address this but, without written reports/statements from other residences, told me there was little to nothing he could do to enforce action on the matter.

Coming to learn this, I drafted a report outlining the repeated complaints (including blood on the walls, another resident who had been attacked, and not filed a written report), and submitted it to the security officer.

On the basis of this, an eviction notice was written and the situation was addressed entirely within the following week.

All on the basis of one clear, written report.

The part of this thread that jumps out at me most of all is, the judicial sentencing etc.

And what your post alludes to is that, without due process (which seems to involve evidence substantiated in writing/testimony etc), that judicial process can and seems to often, fall short.

My take away from this is currently at least, as a complainant, prioritize reporting; substantiated, clear, well outlined reporting.
    Something undeniable to a judge upon case review, information which, by way of being in an office and not in the community actively dealing with violent crime etc, they seem to up until now at least, consistently overlook (reflected in their poor/oblivious sentencing protocols).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

It seems you might have some PTSD. I hate to see peoples personalities change because of the job they do. But I can understand stand it in frontline workers. Firemen, emergency staff, guards etc. There are sights these folk will see that nobody else does. Sometimes people will think a career for them looks good on paper and realises its not what its seems when the job becomes either stressful or they become disillusioned with the job. You seem happy doing what your doing at the moment but I think you might need to mix a little bit more and maybe give people another chance not everybody is cut with the same cloth and being reclusive means your just interacting with idiots on social media. Being the total opposite to you growing up. I hope you do well. In regards to hindsight it a curse. I should have been a gynecologist and I could be looking at pussy right now instead of posting this. Best of luck mate.

Just one question did you loose your girlfriend?