Potential-Monke wrote: » I remember finally getting one of those shytes to court after multiple offences (theft, burglary and assault) in a short space of time. Judge gives him 4 days in prison. 4 days. Anyway, at the time we used to bring these "people" to prison directly, so a day out driving to one of the few jails we have. Checked in said shyte. Stopped for some grub on the way back (nothing fancy, fish and chips and a can of coke). Finished up and headed back. As we were coming into the city, there was shyte walking into the city. Turns out there wasn't enough spaces so they temporarily released him, gave him €20 and a bus ticket, and he was home on the train the same time as us. What a waste of resources, time and money.
Potential-Monke wrote: » Nope, I've decided to become a hermit and concentrate on what makes me happy, which it appears is less social interaction because people are idiots, and copious amounts of weed. And gaming. yeah, if you looked at my life right now, you'd think I was one of those waster stoner types. But I've a full time WFH job, I contribute, but I just don't sign up to the 'typical' life of a wife, mortgage (had it, recession, sold the house and took the hit), kids, sports, SUV crap. Far better than any therapist trying to tell me how I should feel and act, even though I know myself that I'm the opposite of most people so the typical therapy crap doesn't work for me.
mick087 wrote: » Like every other law enforcement in the world, they are there to protect the rich and powerful.
Deleted User wrote: » I'm neither rich or powerful, and they did a good job of getting my ass out of danger. I got jumped by a group of 5 guys, who laid into me with a will. I was down on the ground, hurting bad, when the Gardai came running to break it up. Two Gardai interrupting 5 guys beating me up. That takes courage, when they could have hung back waiting for other Gardai to join them. Scattered the guys. They helped me up, checked my injuries, and got me to A&E. Also did a great job finding the ****ers, and getting them charged. No. I do understand some of the cynics out there.. but I have personal experiences of them helping me or friends. None of whom were wealthy, or powerful at that time. I also know a variety of stories by friends of the local Gardai or detectives being very helpful and efficient in breaking up fights. Nah... I won't buy into the hate. All you need is one experience of them stepping in to save your ass (I had broken ribs, and internal bleeding from that attack)... to cancel out the occasional dipsht
mick087 wrote: » Law eforcement is corrupt and rotten to its core. I dont class individual Garda as bad people as such, but what they are part of and represent is rotten. Yes i have seen Garda do great things in there line of work but the law is stacked in favour of those with and not those without.
hrcbob wrote: » A degree of respect to them And their role when you’re out of order goes a long way To having a better outcome to your dealings with them. There are the few robo cop wannabies out there but what profession doesn’t have a degree arsehole somewhere?
mick087 wrote: » Law eforcement is corrupt and rotten to its core.
I dont class individual Garda as bad people as such, but what they are part of and represent is rotten. Yes i have seen Garda do great things in there line of work but the law is stacked in favour of those with and not those without.
[Deleted User] wrote: » You earn respect in this life,you dont just get handed to people once they put on a uniform imo Plenty good gaurds out there,who have earned it....but plenty other gaurds out there,who have no business in the gaurds and dont deserve any respect aswell
hrcbob wrote: » See I regard this as being a two way street. If you’re being a Dick to every guard you meet just because of one bad one you heard about it even had dealings with, why would you expect anything other than the the same biased treatment from them? Those guys and girls do a proper ****ty job for absolute peanuts and are treated with nothing but abuse by the Skum that the courts should be locking up.
[Deleted User] wrote: » Tbh they just treated with indifference.....they dont get served in the village,nor people engage with em,if atal possible Noone seeks em out to be a dick to em, or be rude to either....but noone shows undue respect either in interactions
Trigger Happy wrote: » Must be disheartening to be on the frontline and seeing the courts give light sentences and scrotes free to reoffend.
cj maxx wrote: » In fairness alot of the gripes here are actually down to the judiciary not the Gardai
[Deleted User] wrote: » I'm neither rich or powerful, and they did a good job of getting my ass out of danger. I got jumped by a group of 5 guys, who laid into me with a will. I was down on the ground, hurting bad, when the Gardai came running to break it up. Two Gardai interrupting 5 guys beating me up. That takes courage, when they could have hung back waiting for other Gardai to join them. Scattered the guys. They helped me up, checked my injuries, and got me to A&E. Also did a great job finding the ****ers, and getting them charged. No. I do understand some of the cynics out there.. but I have personal experiences of them helping me or friends. None of whom were wealthy, or powerful at that time. I also know a variety of stories by friends of the local Gardai or detectives being very helpful and efficient in breaking up fights. Nah... I won't buy into the hate. All you need is one experience of them stepping in to save your ass (I had broken ribs, and internal bleeding from that attack)... to cancel out the occasional dipsht
ILoveYourVibes wrote: » I had an ex ...he had a criminal record ..but a guard who was a friend got it erased. Its actually dangerous that ex was not a good person. .
Kylta wrote: » Am curious to know did being a guard cause you to live the way you live now? Did it change your personality or your outlook on life? You being reclusive now where you like that before you were a guard?
bubblypop wrote: » This never happened
Potential-Monke wrote: » I'm blaming my time in AGS for they way I feel now. Everything mentioned above, the lack of sentencing, the revolving door in court, the lack of management support, the assaults I've endured without reproach (because it's part of my job...), this all made me fairly negative and I am who I am now because of it. But, while it looks bad, I'm better for it. I was trying to be the socialite, going to events, had the mortgage and long term girlfriend, could have had kids, cared about what people think of me, etc. Now, I work on my happiness. Looking from the outside in, it would be considered a waste by some people, but it opened my eyes to the unfairness of society and by removing myself from trying to be a socialite and no longer caring what people think of me, I'm far, far happier. But it's not fair to put it all on my time there, my life leading up to that point had its struggles (nothing more or less worse than others), and maybe I put being a Garda on a pedestal, the parents were delighted as I was the first in the family to become one (historically) and they're from a time where it was one of the best jobs one could get, so I had believed that this was it, this will be my purpose. It's not like that anymore, so I suppose after a few years of experiencing the terrible judicial system it just popped this bubble I had made. I subsequently made the hard choices and here I am, much happier to not interact with the public anymore. Thinking back, I should have joined the army instead, as I had 7 years in the FCA/RDF and loved every second of it. Hindsight is great. I agree. There's no possible way to "wipe" a record. It's saved on a central system and can't be removed. It will always be there, but only if it's a conviction. Reports don't show on checks, only convictions (save for internal information), but from a public point of view only convictions will show. I'm not judging anyone for hating AGS, interactions will cause that. And I will admit that there could be more professionalism, but I also think that there is too much expected. As I said previously, if the job was just to uphold and enforce the law, it would be a grand job. It's all the other jobs you have to do that ruin it, and all the while doing it with a smile in case you offend someone. Criminals have more protection than victims. But it's working to change itself. Specialised units set up to deal with sensitive matters, family liaison officers to deal with victims of crime and their families, community policing to try and prevent youth from getting involved in crime, sexual assault specialists. There was a time when a Garda could go to a shop to take a report of a theft, and then immediately take a rape report, which as you can imagine would not be easy for the victim explaining this to a big, country male Garda with little to no interpersonal skills (as they were back in the day). Now we have specialised units to deal with this, taking into account the sensitivity and behaving as such. One thing I will say re: reports and the Gardai doing nothing. People need to realise that unless the law allows it, the Gardai can't do anything. I've had countless "discussions" (ie: me talking, they shouting) with people who say we don't do their job, we know who the criminals are, etc, but will refuse to give us statements, which are required when the Guards themselves didn't see what happened. People are reluctant to go to court (and understandably so), but without those statements there's little the Gardai can do. It's not like CSI Miami, or Law and Order, there simply are not enough resources to be keeping an eye on all criminals (who are also getting smarted as time passes, rarely doing "the job" themselves and instead getting the up and coming youth criminals to do it because of lighter sentencing).
ILoveYourVibes wrote: » I had an ex ...he had a criminal record ..but a guard who was a friend got it erased. Its actually dangerous that ex was not a good person.
Sinzo wrote: » Thanks for your insight into the problems faced by Gardai. It is always the same. People who dont do your job feel free to criticise without opening their minds and looking at all facets of the issue.
Potential-Monke wrote: » One thing I will say re: reports and the Gardai doing nothing. People need to realise that unless the law allows it, the Gardai can't do anything. I've had countless "discussions" (ie: me talking, they shouting) with people who say we don't do their job, we know who the criminals are, etc, but will refuse to give us statements, which are required when the Guards themselves didn't see what happened. People are reluctant to go to court (and understandably so), but without those statements there's little the Gardai can do. It's not like CSI Miami, or Law and Order, there simply are not enough resources to be keeping an eye on all criminals (who are also getting smarted as time passes, rarely doing "the job" themselves and instead getting the up and coming youth criminals to do it because of lighter sentencing).
Potential-Monke wrote: » I'm blaming my time in AGS for they way I feel now. Everything mentioned above, the lack of sentencing, the revolving door in court, the lack of management support, the assaults I've endured without reproach (because it's part of my job...), this all made me fairly negative and I am who I am now because of it. But, while it looks bad, I'm better for it. I was trying to be the socialite, going to events, had the mortgage and long term girlfriend, could have had kids, cared about what people think of me, etc. Now, I work on my happiness. Looking from the outside in, it would be considered a waste by some people, but it opened my eyes to the unfairness of society and by removing myself from trying to be a socialite and no longer caring what people think of me, I'm far, far happier. But it's not fair to put it all on my time there, my life leading up to that point had its struggles (nothing more or less worse than others), and maybe I put being a Garda on a pedestal, the parents were delighted as I was the first in the family to become one (historically) and they're from a time where it was one of the best jobs one could get, so I had believed that this was it, this will be my purpose. It's not like that anymore, so I suppose after a few years of experiencing the terrible judicial system it just popped this bubble I had made. I subsequently made the hard choices and here I am, much happier to not interact with the public anymore. Thinking back, I should have joined the army instead, as I had 7 years in the FCA/RDF and loved every second of it. Hindsight is great.