Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,652 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

skelly22 wrote: »
    Missing my point Charlie. I was questioning a previous poster's assertion so, yes, you've effectively agreed with me. Thanks.

Not agreeing with you in the slightest. I look on people who will not wear masks, other than those who cannot for medical reasons, for the very limited occasions they are being asked to as selfish mé féiners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭VonLuck

Yes, here we are. 0.006% of worlds population died with covid. 6 months on.

Yes, you're right. The measures put in place are really working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,947 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

My 80 year-old mother not wearing them either as she's entirely unconvinced. I suppose she's a stupid bitch then. She was telling me she got harassed on the street the other day by a mask-wearer as she didn't have one on.

I think she is stupid, very in fact. If she gets it, the odds are very bad. Is it really that hard to wear one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

Yes, here we are. 0.006% of worlds population died with covid. 6 months on.

How much % is Ireland of the world population? If all of Ireland died would this be a problem, or a little blip on the world population? Moronic comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭skelly22

VonLuck wrote: »
    That sounds like complacency. I remember people back in late February and early March saying this thing is overblown and there's nothing to worry about, yet here we are.

No she's not complacent at all. It's a well-beaten track at this stage but remind yourself of the Apocalyptic scenario presented to us in mid-March by Holohan & Co. that convinced us to retreat to our living rooms. Yet here we are.

I am not the mask expert.

Is it easier to breath in a mask? no.

Is it harder to breath? yes.

Will I wear one again? No.

I largely agree with you on this ginger. Where it is if valve is is there is signs of a resurgence in community transmission , but when there are 11 daily cases the value is negligible. There are more comfortable options though. I am in the unfortunate position of not seeing the value in face masks currently, but on returning to the office part time been told that even though masks are not mandatory but strongly advised, my manager has hold us that he “expects” his department to show example and wear when away from desks.

Wow. This reminds me of that time you said person was "contaminated" with covid.

You need to stop this fear mongering Charles.

Do you actually know the definition of contaminated ?

"Make (something) impure by exposure to or addition of a poisonous or polluting substance"

Being sprayed with droplets containing the Covid-19 virus qualify under the definition does it not? :rolleyes:

Now that we got masks out of the way - has below been posted? What the f is going on

"Due to the quarantine, which also applies to arrivals in Ireland from EU member states, several countries in the EU including Germany, France, the Netherlands and Denmark advise their citizens against non-essential travel to Ireland.

Ireland meets the criteria for low infection rates in the new travel guide model, but we still advise against any unnecessary travel to Ireland because there is a 14 day home quarantine for people traveling to Ireland from abroad,” the advice to citizens on Denmark’s foreign affairs ministry reads.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/europe/ireland-left-out-as-eu-opens-borders-to-15-states-including-australia-canada-and-japan-1.4292678

Where is that poster who said that our economic damage is out of our control??

Their advice aligns with our own then. I expect to see this change shortly though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

I largely agree with you on this ginger. Where it is if valve is is there is signs of a resurgence in community transmission , but when there are 11 daily cases the value is negligible. There are more comfortable options though. I am in the unfortunate position of not seeing the value in face masks currently, but on returning to the office part time been told that even though masks are not mandatory but strongly advised, my manager has hold us that he “expects” his department to show example and wear when away from desks.

I am following the needs must if it means that restrictions can be eased model. Particularly on a busy Dart or bus, at the airport or on a flight. I am not a fan of crowded places anyway so don’t think it will arise in other circumstances but not agin it and carry one with me.

MattS1 wrote: »
    I think she is stupid, very in fact. If she gets it, the odds are very bad. Is it really that hard to wear one?

This is precisely what I was pointing out to a previous poster, the dogs abuse people get for not wearing a mask, the wearing of which is voluntary!! Not even worth arguing about it tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,171 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

It’s such a slap in the face for hard working families who have put thousands into their holidays. Being asked to throw that money down the toilet during these times & after such a stressful lockdown? And going against the ECDC and others too?
    And all the while the Germans and others travel no bother & actually have a plan that won’t destroy their economy + their citizens mental health.
    More importantly however, the Irish economy will be destroyed by this move long term. Many businesses here need good connectivity and international travel to remain here. Not to mention how many jobs & airlines will go bust. Other countries will look far more appealing with their borders managed and well controlled.

Some travel for business purposes has continued throughout .
    Yes , we need to manage and control our borders , I agree .
    No reason why Irish people should not travel to " safe " countries with similar control levels .
    I don't think it is fair to ask people to take the hit of a few thousand for a family holiday .
    But I think we do need stricter controls on countries with higher risk and quarantine needs to be properly imposed.
    How many people wanting to travel would be prepared to quarantine e fir 14 days on return?

Paschal said earlier today - June unemployment 22.5%.

His prediction in April was that unemployment will peak at 22%.

April unemployment 28%
    May 26%
    June 22.5%

Oh boy. Lets keep them pubs closed and tourist out of our country, we want to be poor and unemployed and we want to be alone doing so.

Accelerating downward trend. Great stuff

No she's not complacent at all. It's a well-beaten track at this stage but remind yourself of the Apocalyptic scenario presented to us in mid-March by Holohan & Co. that convinced us to retreat to our living rooms. Yet here we are.

Erm can you not see the connection between retreating to our living rooms and the apocalyptic scenerio not coming to pass? Not at all? You sure?

I agree with masks in certain circumstances and happy to wear one flying and in airports and in public transport etc.

But I also agree that the previous Govt and the CMO made an absolute mess of the messaging on this.

Agree totally .

Claire Byrne show last night with 2 immunologists making masks on sewing machines was the worst , most cringeworthy piece of television I have seen in a long time .

Accelerating downward trend. Great stuff

Indeed - at least a trend in the right directing although the State is subsidising many of those salaries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

Thank you.

charlie14 wrote: »
    Not agreeing with you in the slightest. I look on people who will not wear masks, other than those who cannot for medical reasons, for the very limited occasions they are being asked to as selfish mé féiners.

I know you do, which is why I disagree with you entirely on this matter. Remember - their use is voluntary in the vast majority of scenarios. That should be your starting point for trying to reconcile the anger you have for non-mask wearers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Jizique

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Travel for business purposes has continued throughout .

I don’t know of any company that has not cancelled all flights; all conferences have been cancelled; I can think of anyone who would fly on a business trip to (eg) London, which was in full lockdown anyway; there were only a handful of people going through Dublin airport daily so completely wrong to say that “travel for business purposes has continued throughout”

fr336 wrote: »
    Erm can you not see the connection between retreating to our living rooms and the apocalyptic scenerio not coming to pass? Not at all? You sure?

A lot of people have swallowed that, hook, line & sinker. Simon and his models. Sure it must be true!!

I know you do, which is why I disagree with you entirely on this matter. Remember - their use is voluntary in the vast majority of scenarios. That should be your starting point for trying to reconcile the anger you have for non-mask wearers.

That you refuse to wear one on the basis that it is voluntary does make you look less of a selfish mé féiner in my opinion. Moreso if you wore one because it was compulsory. It a would also mean you were also someone who hadn`t the courage of their on convictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭greensheep777

People promoting masks - where do you live?

I went to city center today, 2 people out of 40 wearing a mask on my train. nobody wearing a mask on the train back. There were 4 people per train carriage, in same space you could fit 80 people.

Tons of Gardai standing around convention center today, 0 masks there also. Another example of waste of taxpayers money.

Shops around IFSC - no masks to be seen.

But, I did wear a mask, at the barbers today and I took it off after 15 mins. They checked my temperature at the start, got my contact details, made me sanitize my hands, all of the good stuff. I took it off during the haircut though as, frankly, its fkin woeful. It is NOT comfortable. I have no idea how do people wear them for hours, barber was giving out as well, he has to wear the bloody thing the entire day. Finds it very difficult to breath, so did I.

When people post "I agree with masks and dont mind wearing them" have you actually wore one for more than 10 mins in enclosed space? I felt horrible 15 mins in a barbers with door opened to the street for some more fresh air other than air con. It is genuinely not easy to breath. I wont mention the ludicrous look...

You will get used to them to some extent. I wear one of the blue medical ones if I have to wear it for any length of time or if it's hot/humid. E.g. the hairdresser took a few hours. Trip on public transport could be 30-45 mins.

A lot of people have swallowed that, hook, line & sinker. Simon and his models. Sure it must be true!!

And you've swallowed your own false hope hook line and sinker. Were you around during April when Covid cases and deaths were on a steep climb? What do you think would have happened without a lockdown? Don't tell me. "People die all the time, what's another few thousand". Why are you prepared to take the risk with people's lives and businesses?

How much % is Ireland of the world population? If all of Ireland died would this be a problem, or a little blip on the world population? Moronic comment.

You are right, your comment is truly moronic.

0.04% of Irish population died with covid.

Do you have an issue with %s?

And you've swallowed your own false hope hook line and sinker. Were you around during April when Covid cases and deaths were on a steep climb? What do you think would have happened without a lockdown? Don't tell me. "People die all the time, what's another few thousand". Why are you prepared to take the risk with people's lives and businesses?

I'm not taking any risks with anybody's life or anybody's business. Jeez come back off that tangent.

You seem very angry today, whats wrong?

Jizique wrote: »
    I don’t know of any company that has not cancelled all flights; all conferences have been cancelled; I can think of anyone who would fly on a business trip to (eg) London, which was in full lockdown anyway; there were only a handful of people going through Dublin airport daily so completely wrong to say that “travel for business purposes has continued throughout”

Apologies it should read some travel .
    Edited now .

Pubs and restaurants opened?
    More people are working?
    Life is getting better for many as we emerge from this very unnatural state?

This is complete denial of reality nonsense.

I'm grand, had my first freshly baked cake since March today.

Pubs and restaurants opened?
    More people are working?
    Life is getting better for many as we emerge from this very unnatural state?

I wish more people were working here in England as they should be on a weekday. Instead they are cramming the shops, streets and when a bit of sun is out the beaches.