Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,690 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

People promoting masks - where do you live?

I went to city center today, 2 people out of 40 wearing a mask on my train. nobody wearing a mask on the train back. There were 4 people per train carriage, in same space you could fit 80 people.

Tons of Gardai standing around convention center today, 0 masks there also. Another example of waste of taxpayers money.

Shops around IFSC - no masks to be seen.

But, I did wear a mask, at the barbers today and I took it off after 15 mins. They checked my temperature at the start, got my contact details, made me sanitize my hands, all of the good stuff. I took it off during the haircut though as, frankly, its fkin woeful. It is NOT comfortable. I have no idea how do people wear them for hours, barber was giving out as well, he has to wear the bloody thing the entire day. Finds it very difficult to breath, so did I.

When people post "I agree with masks and dont mind wearing them" have you actually wore one for more than 10 mins in enclosed space? I felt horrible 15 mins in a barbers with door opened to the street for some more fresh air other than air con. It is genuinely not easy to breath. I wont mention the ludicrous look...

What type of mask are you wearing? I find it a bit hard to breathe with the n95 type but the blue surgical ones are grand. I wore one for about an hour last week getting a hair cut with no issues but yeah I'd say the entire day would get annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

MattS1 wrote: »
    It's not that uncomfortable. Get used to it or get a better mask.

The sort of thing Tony H would say.

That and "you cant travel abroad until a vaccine is found, get used to it and start enjoying west of Ireland. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,202 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Wore a mask to barbers appointment today. Barely noticed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,947 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

That and "you cant travel abroad until a vaccine is found, get used to it and start enjoying west of Ireland. :rolleyes:

Yeah it's a big conspiracy. Tony H wants to take over the world.

I am not the mask expert.

Is it easier to breath in a mask? no.

Is it harder to breath? yes.

Will I wear one again? No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

I didn't realise there were so many rich people around the place. Where I am many people can't afford a holiday abroad every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,231 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I am utterly shocked, how unpredictable.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,045 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Stark wrote: »
    Wore a mask to barbers appointment today. Barely noticed it.
    Passed by my local barbers - there was a guy outside issuing sanitiser to everyone who entered and both barber and customer were wearing masks.

Have I worked 8 hour shifts in a mask? Yes.

Was it mildly inconvenient and slightly uncomfortable? Yes.

Did I have to try a few masks first to get the right fit for me personally? Yes.

Do I think it's worth it to protect my colleagues and members of the public my line of work routinely comes into contact with? Yes yes yes. Even if I got Covid at least I haven't passed the misery onto anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭ZX7R

faceman wrote: »
    As time goes on, this is probably a factor for sure. Im scratching my head at Ireland opting out of the EU agreement today on the safe list (thus leaving our borders open to all countries) while preaching to people not to travel.

Other EU countries have additional steps such as automated temperature tests, contact tracing apps etc.

As it stands, our borders are open with no checks on incoming arrivals bar a voluntary quarantine, and free movement for people travelling from NI.

But no holidays for the Paddies. :rolleyes:

Another reason for obstaing was because the the UK are also implementing a two week qurantine from the 8 of July.
    due to our common travel area they believe that a co-ordinated lifting of travel restrictions would be looked at.
    Air bridges are currently being worked at.
    For now on a rolling bases Ireland will continue with issuing there advisory for none essential travel and 2 weeks qurantine.
    According to euro news
    Air

Are you selfish? Yes.

Now that we got masks out of the way - has below been posted? What the f is going on

"Due to the quarantine, which also applies to arrivals in Ireland from EU member states, several countries in the EU including Germany, France, the Netherlands and Denmark advise their citizens against non-essential travel to Ireland.

Ireland meets the criteria for low infection rates in the new travel guide model, but we still advise against any unnecessary travel to Ireland because there is a 14 day home quarantine for people traveling to Ireland from abroad,” the advice to citizens on Denmark’s foreign affairs ministry reads.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/europe/ireland-left-out-as-eu-opens-borders-to-15-states-including-australia-canada-and-japan-1.4292678

Where is that poster who said that our economic damage is out of our control??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

I'm a mild asthmatic and I have no issues breathing when wearing a face mask.

Perhaps you just need to find a different mask

Are you selfish? Yes.

If you are deciding who is selfish and who isnt by mask wearing habits, I got bad news for you, you live in a country where over 90% of people are selfish.

And around 85% of nurses are selfish.

Will that ever change? no. Fk sakes like, 70% of nurses dont even get a bloody flu vaccine, let alone wear masks. Last time I checked a flu vaccine for healthcare workers wouldve saved more lives than mask wearing. And here you are trying to bash me :rolleyes:

I feel like this thread has a pattern, people post their ideal scenarios here and anyone who points out the real world gets bashed as "selfish" etc. Thankfully for me i am well used to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,886 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

If you are deciding who is selfish and who isnt by mask wearing habits, I got bad news for you, you live in a country where over 90% of people are selfish.

Will that ever change? no. Fk sakes like, 70% of nurses dont even get a bloody flu vaccine, let alone wear masks. Last time I checked a flu vaccine for healthcare workers wouldve saved more lives than mask wearing. And here you are trying to bash me :rolleyes:

I feel like this thread has a pattern, people post their ideal scenarios here and anyone who points out the real world gets bashed as "selfish" etc. Thankfully for me i am well used to it

Where did u get these numbers?

Had a person had a go at me in a shop for not wearing a mask, at the same time had their hands all over their mask 🙄

ShyMets wrote: »
    I'm a mild asthmatic and I have no issues breathing when wearing a face mask.

Perhaps you just need to find a different mask

Thank you for your concern but I am not going to be shopping for masks. If masks were beneficial, and made a real change, they wouldve been advised by WHO way back in January and February.

The flip flopping, and various sources saying different things, arent encouraging. Do I trust Tony H and Simon Harris would you have some cop on or Danish health authorities? Danish health authorities.

"He said that masks came with many disadvantages.

"It comes with a price for most people: You have to pay for the masks; it is inconvenient to wear it; is difficult to talk to people when you can't see their face; if people working hard, it can be hard to breathe, and we don't know how long a mask last for."

Perhaps the biggest issue, he added, was that masks might create a sense of false security.

"If you feel safe, you might change your behaviour, maybe you get closer to people and maybe you don't wash your hands so often," he said. "So the achievement might be none, or you might be worse off in fact."

https://www.thelocal.dk/20200511/why-is-denmark-not-recommending-face-masks-to-the-public

Last time I checked Denmark has handled covid so well that they actually opened schools on 14th of April.

Yep and that's the issue, the 90pc. It's wearing a mask for a few mins a day. Imagine if you were asked to do something complicated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

It's not that uncomfortable. Get used to it or get a better mask.

Get used to it? Haha that's a good one with our incredibly low numbers. You should pull the other one.

I don't think people who don't wear masks are selfish, I know a lot of people who don't even some who are very worried about Covid. What I do think is selfish is people who rage against those who are pro masks with real anger and say things like "the government better not make it compulsory that would be ridiculous!!". I honestly feel if face coverings had been made compulsory from the get go so many lives could have been saved and the economy stayed at a normal level of functioning. Now we have the worst of all worlds, well done folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,231 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Yep and that's the issue, the 90pc. It's wearing a mask for a few mins a day. Imagine if you were asked to do something complicated.

It appears wearing a mask is in fact too complicated going by the difficulties he faced.

Where did u get these numbers?

Had a person had a go at me in a shop for not wearing a mask, at the same time had their hands all over their mask ��

Was that person called Matt by any chance? :pac:

Get used to it? Haha that's a good one with our incredibly low numbers. You should pull the other one.

You would have said the same thing at the height of cases though, wouldn't you?

Good man. Be a prick and don't protect anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,652 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Now that we got masks out of the way - has below been posted? What the f is going on

"Due to the quarantine, which also applies to arrivals in Ireland from EU member states, several countries in the EU including Germany, France, the Netherlands and Denmark advise their citizens against non-essential travel to Ireland.

Ireland meets the criteria for low infection rates in the new travel guide model, but we still advise against any unnecessary travel to Ireland because there is a 14 day home quarantine for people traveling to Ireland from abroad,” the advice to citizens on Denmark’s foreign affairs ministry reads.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/europe/ireland-left-out-as-eu-opens-borders-to-15-states-including-australia-canada-and-japan-1.4292678

Where is that poster who said that our economic damage is out of our control??

I would have thought the clue is in the article.
    Ireland is not in the Schengen area of free travel and has a Common Travel Area with the U.K.

pjohnson wrote: »
    It appears wearing a mask is in fact too complicated going by the difficulties he faced.

Pj! If masks were in fact grand why would over 90% of our country not wear them? There are a lot of gingers and lemons in Ireland ;););) aka reasonable people who can calculate below

250/4,900,000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

Thank you for your concern but I am not going to be shopping for masks. If masks were beneficial, and made a real change, they wouldve been advised by WHO way back in January and February.

The flip flopping, and various sources saying different things, arent encouraging. Do I trust Tony H and Simon Harris would you have some cop on or Danish health authorities? Danish health authorities.

"He said that masks came with many disadvantages.

"It comes with a price for most people: You have to pay for the masks; it is inconvenient to wear it; is difficult to talk to people when you can't see their face; if people working hard, it can be hard to breathe, and we don't know how long a mask last for."

Perhaps the biggest issue, he added, was that masks might create a sense of false security.

"If you feel safe, you might change your behaviour, maybe you get closer to people and maybe you don't wash your hands so often," he said. "So the achievement might be none, or you might be worse off in fact."

https://www.thelocal.dk/20200511/why-is-denmark-not-recommending-face-masks-to-the-public

Last time I checked Denmark has handled covid so well that they actually opened schools on 14th of April.

Fair enough, Chief. You know best:)

Good man. Be a prick and don't protect anyone else.

Thats not very nice is it? We are down to name calling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,652 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Pj! If masks were in fact grand why would over 90% of our country not wear them? There are a lot of gingers and lemons in Ireland ;););) aka reasonable people who can calculate below

250/4,900,000

Nobody is claiming they are grand, but would it kill you, and perhaps save you from killing someone else, to wear one for the limited occasions you are being asked to?

Also, 11 new cases today.

I know I know weekend lag. Restrictions are working. Long live the lockdown. 4,899,750 must wear masks as the other 250 have covid, :rolleyes:

Remember, no one was wearing masks in May and up to 3rd week of June and yet new cases kept falling..... it seems like no matter what we do, new cases are still peanuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

fr336 wrote: »
    You would have said the same thing at the height of cases though, wouldn't you?

No, wearing a mask can assist with other hygiene measures when there is community transmission. I do not think we will not go onto lockdown again if transmission is rising again in the community, instead we will have social distancing, mandatory mask wearing, cancelling of large events etc. By all accounts of our data, there is no community transmission currently warranting a mass wearing of masks.

Edit: NOT go into lockdown again.