Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

Hannibal36 wrote: »
    I would imagine travel arrangements and deals will be done politically between countries with low numbers so theoretically it shouldn't cause a massive spike in either country.

Personally i want to leave Ireland as soon as things hit some kind of normal worldwide,the future is pretty grim here no matter what way things shake out and i would advise anybody with options to think along the same lines.

I would think the immediate future is pretty grim in an awful lot of places now, especially if you're talking economically. Covid has hit most of the developed world, no country is immune. Job losses, unemployment, huge financial deficits in most Government budgets so cutbacks everywhere. Listen to what the WHO said yesterday: "globally the worse is yet to come with Covid".
    So where would you go that has a rosier outlook?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

I would imagine travel arrangements and deals will be done politically between countries with low numbers so theoretically it shouldn't cause a massive spike in either country.

Personally i want to leave Ireland as soon as things hit some kind of normal worldwide,the future is pretty grim here no matter what way things shake out and i would advise anybody with options to think along the same lines.

Where isn't looking grim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭costacorta

All the guys posting about how ****e our country is yet they all run back here when things are ****e In other countries. And why do they ?? Because this country looks after its citizens better than any other country full stop 🛑

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭Hannibal36

I would think the immediate future is pretty grim in an awful lot of places now, especially if you're talking economically. Covid has hit most of the developed world, no country is immune. Job losses, unemployment, huge financial deficits in most Government budgets so cutbacks everywhere. Listen to what the WHO said yesterday: "globally the worse is yet to come with Covid".
    So where would you go that has a rosier outlook?
    GooglePlus wrote: »
    Where isn't looking grim?

I agree it is looking grim in a lot of places,but the cost of living doesn't outstrip the wages like it does here in almost any place on earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭Cal4567

I am just back after nearly ten years abroad and I have decided to look again at options.

Serious and genuine question. Where would you go? We talked about the very same point last week during a work zoom call. In the end, we could only see New Zealand and perhaps Australia but then one of us reminded all of us that most other people were thinking the same. Those countries might from now be actually harder to go to. They would have their pick as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,231 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I'd guess Sweden is still the utopia for how to handle covid.

costacorta wrote: »
    All the guys posting about how ****e our country is yet they all run back here when things are ****e In other countries. And why do they ?? Because this country looks after its citizens better than any other country full stop ��

This isn't remotely true,it really isn't,some third world countries we beat just about,but after that we have one of the poorest qualities of life for qualified people on the planet,most just haven't tested the international market to realise this.

And when another round of austerity inevitably comes i can only imagine how bad it's going to get.

I agree it is looking grim in a lot of places,but the cost of living doesn't outstrip the wages like it does here in almost any place on earth.

but surely that depends on the job you're in? If the cost of living is higher than your wages then you need to look at increasing your income.
    My daughter lives in Vancouver and the cost of living is through the roof there, likewise my other daughter in London.
    Huge unemployment in Spain , Greece, Italy and Portugal so it will be hard to get jobs there.
    Maybe Asia would be a good bet? Apart from that most other economies wont be cheap after Covid, prices will rise for everything like they are here , and well paid jobs will be scarce.

Cal4567 wrote: »
    Serious and genuine question. Where would you go? We talked about the very same point last week during a work zoom call. In the end, we could only see New Zealand and perhaps Australia but then one of us reminded all of us that most other people were thinking the same. Those countries might from now be actually harder to go to. They would have their pick as well.

I think about this all the time,it's even hard to find reliable information on the internet about what is exactly going on in each country.If i can i do be trying to talk to people online that live in different countries and find out exactly how life is there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

Cal4567 wrote: »

My line of work gives me a series of different options. It’s not to escape Covid but rather a broader sense of well being.

I am disgusted about how the health service treats people in this country - the nursing home situation is a case in point. Affordable housing is another issue. Half arsed regulation and lack of enforcement where it is needed (e.g. building controls and standards) and nanny state regulations on small businesses. Lack of policing. Middle classes paying huge taxes and yet need to pay additional health insurance.

I could go on and on. And I do have the perspective of living in three other countries.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 7,095 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sheep Shagger

Naos wrote: »
    Where is the pic?

Here it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,339 ✭✭✭Allinall

My line of work gives me a series of different options. It’s not to escape Covid but rather a broader sense of well being.

I am disgusted about how the health service treats people in this country - the nursing home situation is a case in point. Affordable housing is another issue. Half arsed regulation and lack of enforcement where it is needed (e.g. building controls and standards) and nanny state regulations on small businesses. Lack of policing. Middle classes paying huge taxes and yet need to pay additional health insurance.

I could go on and on. And I do have the perspective of living in three other countries.

You're looking through the wrong end of the binoculars.

This isn't remotely true,it really isn't,some third world countries we beat just about,but after that we have one of the poorest qualities of life for qualified people on the planet,most just haven't tested the international market to realise this.

And when another round of austerity inevitably comes i can only imagine how bad it's going to get.

so why do Google , Facebook, State Street etc all have huge HQ here in Ireland which attracts thousands of workers from all over the world? I'm not saying the cost of living here is cheap, its not, but these people wouldn't come to Ireland for some of these very well paid jobs unless they had done their maths!

Poorest qualities of life?? People have been paid €350 per week, every week since March 22nd to stay at home! Very few Governments have been this generous to their citizens, many of them just students earning €120 for a bit of weekend work! Why are the Eastern Europeans and Romanians working and living here in their tens of thousands, getting Irish citizenship and deciding to make Ireland their forever home?

costacorta wrote: »
    All the guys posting about how ****e our country is yet they all run back here when things are ****e In other countries. And why do they ?? Because this country looks after its citizens better than any other country full stop 🛑

No we don’t. We are certainly far from 3rd world but we have a poor health service, we don’t treat older people very well, our long term planning is dreadful, our public transport is inadequate. We have elements of good but best in the world we ain’t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,461 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

ZX7R wrote: »
    The proposal was passed
    Qualified majority witch means it has been adopted under the basis of article 16 of the treaty of European Union and article 238 of the treaty on the functioning of the European Union.
    Not much the Irish government can do to avoid travel now

I did read though that for us as we aren't signed up to Schengen its not binding but that not adopting would be very much frowned upon especially when we go looking for a larger share of the recovery pot when the EU want the block to now move as 1 rather than each country doing what it wants

so why do Google , Facebook, State Street etc all have huge HQ here in Ireland which attracts thousands of workers from all over the world? I'm not saying the cost of living here is cheap, its not, but these people wouldn't come to Ireland for some of these very well paid jobs unless they had done their maths!

Poorest qualities of life?? People have been paid €350 per week, every week since March 22nd to stay at home! Very few Governments have been this generous to their citizens, many of them just students earning €120 for a bit of weekend work! Why are the Eastern Europeans and Romanians working and living here in their tens of thousands, getting Irish citizenship and deciding to make Ireland their forever home?

If you work in tech here life is great,no doubt about it,but qualified people outside of tech in other areas have a poor standard of life they really do.Full of bitterness at the social welfare class because their take home isn't in line with their qualifications.

I have lived abroad and met similar people and had family that never left with solid qualifications,not in tech though.They have set down their roots here now with families but they don't have the same standard as any other western nation they really don't its not even close.

Quality of life has been good for the 350 a week class this few months off course,but that ain't going to last and someone has to pay the piper and anyone in the middle should be asking themselves who is going to pay?The same people that always pay the middle class.

And just on another note,yes its grim worldwide but we were the most generous with the covid payments worldwide and you somehow think that's a good thing i would rather live in a country that didn't pay their citizens a wage for 4 or 5 months,their bill will be smaller and life will be better in almost all of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/cancel-your-holiday-plans-holohan-plea-as-cases-rise-39327205.html

What a sustained campaign of harassment over 6 Iraqi cases - absolutely ridiculous.
    The government can cancel my holiday plans and give me my money back as we’ve paid for them since last November and they’re not cancelled.
    Otherwise I’m going and I’m going to (shock horror) enjoy myself.

Allinall wrote: »
    You're looking through the wrong end of the binoculars.

We are not a good place for SMEs. Fine for big business and vested interests until the taxpayer has to cough up. I don’t believe I am wrong on that and perhaps even some of the lock down brigade may agree that.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,673 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I've heard first hand of a pub in Ballyfermot packed to the rafters yesterday. No social distancing. They charged €9 for a sandwich yet didnt serve any, so the €9 acted like an entry fee.

But pubs in Ireland are low risk though yeah? :rolleyes:

faceman wrote: »
    I've heard first hand of a pub in Ballyfermot packed to the rafters yesterday. No social distancing. They charged €9 for a sandwich yet didnt serve any, so the €9 acted like an entry fee.

Pubs are a managed risk. That pub is a high risk and should be shut down.

faceman wrote: »

Hopefully they wont get a licence renewal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ronivek

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/cancel-your-holiday-plans-holohan-plea-as-cases-rise-39327205.html

What a sustained campaign of harassment over 6 Iraqi cases - absolutely ridiculous.
    The government can cancel my holiday plans and give me my money back as we’ve paid for them since last November and they’re not cancelled.
    Otherwise I’m going and I’m going to (shock horror) enjoy myself.

"Sustained campaign of harassment"? What planet are you living on?

Although clearly you never had any intention of not going; so I suppose you have to try and convince yourself you're not being irresponsible by going anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

so why do Google , Facebook, State Street etc all have huge HQ here in Ireland which attracts thousands of workers from all over the world?

A 1% tax rate might have something to do with it in fairness

ronivek wrote: »
    "Sustained campaign of harassment"? What planet are you living on?

Although clearly you never had any intention of not going; so I suppose you have to try and convince yourself you're not being irresponsible by going anyway.

Gotta love the concern for the irish economy....until its holierz time with the ladz/girlz!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,878 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Just checked this morning and it's only €200 for the 4 of us to fly back into Belfast from Spain on my holiday return date. Well worth it for the peace of mind of heading off for 2-weeks holidays

Thank goodness we have another jurisdiction just an hour up the road and can avoid any of the Dr Tony, 2--week quarantine nonsense if we need to.

I've no doubt that the curtain-twichers who will moan about the 'risk' and the 'irresponsibility' never drive anywhere - after all how could you live with the risk of killing yourself or someone else in a car crash?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 7,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

For the bolded part, I think low corporate income tax plays a role in big companies coming here (plus the good infrastructure and access to good staff).
    For the rest I generally agree with you. I think there could be countries with better quality of life, but comparing to Greece where I come from I think there are some aspects of everyday life that are better than Greece - and to your point many Eastern European countries would be the same.

2025 gigs: Selofan, Alison Moyet, Wardruna, Gavin Friday, Orla Gartland, The Courettes, Scissor Sisters, Nine Inch Nails, Rhiannon Giddens, New Purple Celebration, Nova Twins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Just checked this morning and it's only €200 for the 4 of us to fly back into Belfast from Spain on my holiday return date. Well worth it for the peace of mind of heading off for 2-weeks holidays

Thank goodness we have another jurisdiction just an hour up the road and can avoid any of the Dr Tony, 2--week quarantine nonsense if we need to.

I've no doubt that the curtain-twichers who will moan about the 'risk' and the 'irresponsibility' never drive anywhere - after all how could you live with the risk of killing yourself or someone else in a car crash?

fair play to you. I hope you've a great time

we have 361 active cases in Ireland- 12 serious ( I assume in ICU) and that sh1tehawk wants us to forgo our holidays after months of sitting on our holes.
    he has lost the run of himself - my only hope is the new government will lessen his impact after Leo gave him full control.

paw patrol wrote: »
    fair play to you. I hope you've a great time

we have 361 active cases in Ireland- 12 serious ( I assume in ICU) and that sh1tehawk wants us to forgo our holidays after months of sitting on our holes.
    he has lost the run of himself - my only hope is the new government will lessen his impact after Leo gave him full control.

And no sense of risk management. We have an open border. If he wants to manage risk close that border.

Then we join Schengen with common EU controls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ronivek

Ireland consistently ranks within the top countries for Quality of Life. Some areas are worse than others for sure; but this kind of tripe I tend to hear from those lads who got on the Australia gravy-train for a particular trade. They're trying to compare coming back home to Ireland with getting paid over-the-odds in a country that was crying out for labour and also has a high standard of living.

As to the big tech companies locating here they're attracted of course by the corporation tax regime but also things like:
    • English fluency and common-law legal systems.
    • EU and EuroZone member and access to market.
    • Ireland generally being moderate and neutral in any worldwide conflicts.
    • Situated in a time zone which allows remote collaboration across many parts of the world.
    • High participation levels in 3rd level education.
    • One of the best countries to become a citizen in terms of the access a passport gives you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,633 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

If you work in tech here life is great,no doubt about it,but qualified people outside of tech in other areas have a poor standard of life they really do.Full of bitterness at the social welfare class because their take home isn't in line with their qualifications.

I have lived abroad and met similar people and had family that never left with solid qualifications,not in tech though.They have set down their roots here now with families but they don't have the same standard as any other western nation they really don't its not even close.

Quality of life has been good for the 350 a week class this few months off course,but that ain't going to last and someone has to pay the piper and anyone in the middle should be asking themselves who is going to pay?The same people that always pay the middle class.

And just on another note,yes its grim worldwide but we were the most generous with the covid payments worldwide and you somehow think that's a good thing i would rather live in a country that didn't pay their citizens a wage for 4 or 5 months,their bill will be smaller and life will be better in almost all of them.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Human_Development_Index

Ireland ranked 3rd in 2019. You're posting complete and utter nonsense. Please stop.