Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,078 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

silver2020 wrote: »
    Similar comments were made in Germany too just 3 weeks ago.

Yes virus is pretty much extinct, but we are an open country with open border to Northern Ireland which has no restrictions on travel into Britain where the Virus is still spiking in many areas.

All we need to do is to respect each other and as much as possible keep social distance.

The other advantage of wearing coverings in enclosed areas where social distancing if not feasible, is not catching other viruses from people. Regular colds and other viruses have not gone away, but have seen a dramatic drop as well.

What exactly is the reason *not* to wear one?

Is it based on perceived facts?

Is it based on people not liking what they are being asked to do/anti-establishment?

Is it recklessness?

I don't get it. None of the above are reasons not to wear one!?

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,502 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

If the government are making wearing masks mandatory, are they going to be giving out free masks to everybody?

Covering your bollix in public is mandatory.

Do you get free pants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Tork

Yes: to protect others
    The government needs to step up its information campaign about masks and why we should all be wearing them when we're in shops and other enclosed areas. I'm still seeing comments on social media from people saying there's no point in wearing a mask because it isn't going to stop them from catching the virus. We've had the old "wash your hands" message hammered home for months but there's less about the droplets in the air. I've been near people who've sniffed, coughed and spluttered their way around the supermarket and wished that they'd either stayed at home or put something over their faces to stop spreading their germs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

everlast75 wrote: »
    What exactly is the reason *not* to wear one?

Is it based on perceived facts?

Is it based on people not liking what they are being asked to do/anti-establishment?

Is it recklessness?

I don't get it. None of the above are reasons not to wear one!?

Here's my reason: I don't want to wear one. For months now I have endured severe restrictions on my lifestyle for the sake of those who were considered vulnerable to the virus. I consider that I have done my bit. If people from the vulnerable cohort still feel at risk then they will have to cocoon. I am not prepared to live my life based on the level of risk to certain others indefinitely. And that includes wearing a mask.

Tork wrote: »
    The government needs to step up its information campaign about masks and why we should all be wearing them when we're in shops and other enclosed areas. I'm still seeing comments on social media from people saying there's no point in wearing a mask because it isn't going to stop them from catching the virus. We've had the old "wash your hands" message hammered home for months but there's less about the droplets in the air. I've been near people who've sniffed, coughed and spluttered their way around the supermarket and wished that they'd either stayed at home or put something over their faces to stop spreading their germs.

You also have the option to stay home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,675 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

polesheep wrote: »
    Here's my reason: I don't want to wear one. For months now I have endured severe restrictions on my lifestyle for the sake of those who were considered vulnerable to the virus. I consider that I have done my bit. If people from the vulnerable cohort still feel at risk then they will have to cocoon. I am not prepared to live my life based on the level of risk to certain others indefinitely. And that includes wearing a mask.

That's not a reason. You already live your life that way if you live in Ireland... where you can smoke, from what fuel you can burn, what kind of car you can drive e.g. emissions standards etc.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Yes: valved
    You also have the option to stay home.

Telling someone to who's shopping to stay at home. If they have the need to be shopping, well they can't really stay at home.

I'm not exactly sure where you've been the past few months but we've all been told if you have symptoms stay at home. A disease with cough as a symptom, anyone coughing and spluttering all over the place are probably the people who should be staying at home.

Telling someone to who's shopping to stay at home. If they have the need to be shopping, well they can't really stay at home.

I'm not exactly sure where you've been the past few months but we've all been told if you have symptoms stay at home. A disease with cough as a symptom, anyone coughing and spluttering all over the place are probably the people who should be staying at home.

As so many pro-lockdown posters have said, shop online.

odyssey06 wrote: »
    That's not a reason. You already live your life that way if you live in Ireland... where you can smoke, from what fuel you can burn, what kind of car you can drive e.g. emissions standards etc.

We're talking about a specific thing and how it has affected life, not in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭LeeroyJ.

No: I don't care enough
    During the height of the pandemic I ordered the KN95 Masks from Aliexpress and wore them at all time when outside my apartment.
    Now I wear Surgical masks indoors like Shops and reusable / Home-made for Public transport. Saving the KN95 mask for air travel now.

Everyone should be wearing a mask in stores, its low effort, cheap to make one and will help protect yourself and others from a second wave.

Restrictions were placed upon us so that hospitals didn't get overwhelmed. We have done a very good job at that. Our bit isn't over though. Telling people to cocoon, so that you can be selfish. People can't be locked up forever and there's people with undiagnosed conditions and we should all continue our bit by wearing masks.

As so many pro-lockdown posters have said, shop online.

What do you suggest for an older person without a bank account, collect's their money at the post office and no family to help?

Ironically, shopping online would curtail MY lifestyle. Are you seriously suggesting that I should make a Tesco van drop a litre of milk and a loaf of bread to my doorstep, just so that you can avoid wearing a mask for 10 minutes?

Restrictions were placed upon us so that hospitals didn't get overwhelmed. We have done a very good job at that. Our bit isn't over though. Telling people to cocoon, so that you can be selfish. People can't be locked up forever and there's people with undiagnosed conditions and we should all continue our bit by wearing masks.

I am not selfish. For months I have restricted my life for the benefit of others. However, the general population cannot be restricted forever. The only way vulnerable people can live a full life is with a vaccine and you cannot expect those who are not vulnerable to live restricted lives until one is found. If you are vulnerable take good care of yourself, but I am no longer willing to live my life as though I were a vulnerable person.

What do you suggest for an older person without a bank account, collect's their money at the post office and no family to help?

We are past the point where you can hold the general population to ransom with this kind of spurious reason. We've done our bit.

I am not selfish. For months I have restricted my life for the benefit of others. However, the general population cannot be restricted forever. The only way vulnerable people can live a full life is with a vaccine and you cannot expect those who are not vulnerable to live restricted lives until one is found. If you are vulnerable take good care of yourself, but I am no longer willing to live my life as though I were a vulnerable person.

Who is restricting you now?

Ironically, shopping online would curtail MY lifestyle. Are you seriously suggesting that I should make a Tesco van drop a litre of milk and a loaf of bread to my doorstep, just so that you can avoid wearing a mask for 10 minutes?

Yes. You do your shopping and live your life as you see fit.

Boggles wrote: »
    Who is restricting you now?

There are still restrictions in place.

And which ones are troubling you exactly?

You put up with restrictions for months for the benefit of others? Believe it or not but the restrictions were for all of us, including you, so that if you needed help, it would be there for you.

And which ones are troubling you exactly?

Any and all. The squeaky wheel has had all the attention, but now it's time for the squeaky wheel to be isolated and let the rest of us get on with our lives and count the cost. Ironically, there will be a significant cost in health for those who were denied services due to Covid-19.

Stop waffling and give us specific examples.

You put up with restrictions for months for the benefit of others? Believe it or not but the restrictions were for all of us, including you, so that if you needed help, it would be there for you.

No. The restrictions were there because it was not considered the right thing to do to isolate those who were vulnerable. It had to be everyone.

Stop waffling and give us specific examples.

One is enough. We have been discussing masks.

Any and all. The squeaky wheel has had all the attention, but now it's time for the squeaky wheel to be isolated and let the rest of us get on with our lives and count the cost. Ironically, there will be a significant cost in health for those who were denied services due to Covid-19.

"new members" are indeed a funny breed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,181 ✭✭✭✭Stark

No: other
    polesheep wrote:
    One is enough. We have been discussing masks.

Hardly a restriction is it? Doesn't affect you living your life in any way. Unlike what you're proposing for every vulnerable person in the country so suit your selfish self and your fashion choices.

The irony is that if people stopped behaving like petulant teenagers and wore the fecking thing for a few minutes in the shops, it'd reduce the risk of a second wave. But oh no, it's cooler to be edgy and anti-authoritarian. You'd swear the rest of us enjoyed having our movements restricted.

"new members" are indeed a funny breed.

Can you please explain the above? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,675 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Any and all. The squeaky wheel has had all the attention, but now it's time for the squeaky wheel to be isolated and let the rest of us get on with our lives and count the cost.

What aspect of your life does wearing a mask on public transport, or a small shop etc interfere with?

People of all adult ages ended up in hospital with coronavirus, including those without pre-existing conditions.
    The risks are different for different groups, but none of know for sure whether our "wheels are squeaky" until it hits.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Stark wrote: »
    Hardly a restriction is it? Doesn't affect you living your life in any way. Unlike what you're proposing for every vulnerable person in the country so suit your selfish self and your fashion choices.

It is a restriction and I make no apologies after months of restrictions for wanting to get back to normal. Until there is a vaccine, those that are vulnerable must take good care of themselves. They can no longer expect everyone else to be restricted on their behalf.