Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Madeleine McCann

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭v638sg7k1a92bx

callmehal wrote: »
    Have a look into it in more detail. They weren't investigated fully and the lies of the whole group should have been questioned more.

How can you not “fully” investigate someone???

That's why they should have been investigated fully. Their stories don't match. Now, the most reasonable explanation is that they were trying to cover up their neglect of their children, they all left them alone but still, that they weren't fully investigated and didn't do a reenactment is worrying.

It would be more unusual if their stories matched. I guarantee that if you went for dinner with two friends and recounted the story the next day, none of your stories would match.

She wandered out herself, something happened (car accident/paedo)
    Toots wrote: »
    Yeah, I've seen my kids do stuff that I definitely didn't think they'd be able to. My youngest keeps trying to open the door to a cupboard where I keep the treats so I put a child lock on it. Worked for about 3 weeks and she copped how to open it. Then I stuck one of my husband's kettle bells in front of it - 8kg, thought that would keep her out for sure until I turned around and she was lifting it out of the way. She's 2.

Even if the McCanns say the door was too heavy for Madeleine to have opened on her own, I don't think it could be ruled out.

I've stayed in resorts a few miles from Praia de Luz. The doors are always light flimsy things. If it was locked thats different. But if someone forgot to lock it after a few drinks, I think wandering is a possibility.

However, my personal theory is someone either resort staff or a local spotted their nightly routine and took the chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

I’d hold more weight in the door theory if she hadn’t closed it after herself.
    I just don’t believe that a sleepy 3yr would would have the strength to open and completely close a door like that, or have the cop on to even close it in the first place.

In my experience with children of that age, they’d be so delighted they managed to get the door open in the first place that it wouldn’t even occur to them to close it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭antgal23

cgcsb wrote: »
    The simplest explanation is that Maddie wandered out alone and befell some terrible fate. The other 2 scenarios (abduction and parents did it) require a lot of fanciful explanation. It's strange that the McFanns wholesale buy into one of the 2 fanciful scenarios and denounce the other as 'fantasy'.

Question for the people who have read Kate's book. Does she offer an explanation as to how she knew instantly that Maddie had been taken and not wandered off? I've heard the 'door too heavy' blurb but that sounds like something flimsy you'd make up on the fly.

Can't accept a kid would wake up and decide to go for a midnight stroll - highly unlikely

My 4 yr old has left the garden the odd time during the day but wets the bed at night due to the dark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,345 ✭✭✭limnam

If we've learned nothing from this bar all children are different.

Well, when it suits. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭cgcsb

Something Else
    Where can we view this stipulation on upper middle class English culture?

I think you just revealed where your bias on this whole thread is coming from.

Have you ever been to England? It's extremely common for young children from wealthy backgrounds to be abandoned in 'boarding' schools for most of the year then packed off to some camp for the summer. The McCanns didn't see anything wrong with throwing the toddler and 2 babies to the four sheets of the wind. It's clearly not a family based culture and they'd be the first people to tell you that.

Kate and Gerry are both from working class backgrounds and not from wealthy families.
    Kate stayed at home after the children were born and only went back to work part time shortly before Madeleine disappeared.
    She had previously worked as an anaesthetist in a hospital but retrained as a GP for a better work life balance.

The twins attend the local catholic secondary school (and the primary school before that) and are members of the local athletics club, and their parents bring them to the meets & events they take part in every weekend.
    They were never carted off to boarding school or to boarding camps for months on end.

So really all of what you said is pure projection and completely irrelevant to the McCanns seeing as they clearly do not prescribe to this ‘culture’ you speak of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,068 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Gerry is from Glasgow, not England. You are describing a culture he and Kate are clearly not members of. You'll be next telling us Billy Connolly isn't funny and is an upper class toff born with a silver spoon in his mouth.

Who would be the first to tell me that, an entire social class? What a load of rubbish.

Something Else
    SusieBlue wrote: »
    Kate and Gerry are both from working class backgrounds and not from wealthy families.
    Kate stayed at home after the children were born and only went back to work part time shortly before Madeleine disappeared.
    She had previously worked as an anaesthetist in a hospital but retrained as a GP for a better work life balance.

The twins attend the local catholic secondary school (and the primary school before that) and are members of the local athletics club, and their parents bring them to the meets & events they take part in every weekend.
    They were never carted off to boarding school or to boarding camps for months on end.

So really all of what you said is pure projection and completely irrelevant to the McCanns seeing as they clearly do not prescribe to this ‘culture’ you speak of.

So then why did they abandon the babies and the toddler every night that week? No doubt they done this at home also, it was hardly a behaviour they took up on holiday. They might be from working class backgrounds, which are more family orientated generally but they sure got into the coldness easy enough.

Something Else
    Who would be the first to tell me that, an entire social class? What a load of rubbish.

Why don't you do a survey and see how many people from wealthy backgrounds over a certain age were packed off to boarding school. In the UK children a young as 5 are sent away. It's extremely common among the wealthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

"abandoned"- dramatic much?

You should write for a tabloid.

Let's mention the 'working class' who frequent pubs for day time drinking at the weekend and leave their kids roaming around the streets or at home or in the pub car park.

What utter tripe.

antgal23 wrote: »
    Sorry, I must have missed your banal explanation, which is?

It's right in front of you but you are too blinded by your own rambling imagination to see it.

antgal23 wrote: »
    Can't accept a kid would wake up and decide to go for a midnight stroll - highly unlikely

My 4 yr old has left the garden the odd time during the day but wets the bed at night due to the dark

It happens. It's highly unusual but it does happen.

For example, there was a 3 year in Limerick a few years back picked up wandering around the streets in the middle of the night. The kid had got up and literally walked out the front door while the rest of the family was asleep. The kid started walking the school run route along the footpath. Only pure luck nothing more tragic occured. It was on the news and if I could be bothered later I'll find the link.

It is also a regular occurance in poverty stricken areas in Asia where families live in shacks with no secure doors and windows. Regrettably kids are found the next morning floating in the local well or stream.

It was well within the bounds of possibility that Madeleine woke up and saw her parents missing and decided to have a wander out the door to try and find them- not remotely surprised if that is what happened and then got picked up by an opportunist.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-26665286

Something Else
    "abandoned"- dramatic much?

You should write for a tabloid.

Let's mention the 'working class' who frequent pubs for day time drinking at the weekend and leave their kids roaming around the streets or at home or in the pub car park.

What utter tripe.

When you leave babies on their own, what else do you call it?

You rather hilariously equated sending children to boarding school with the word "abandon" as a direct compartive with leaving children asleep in their room while the parents went downstairs for dinner as a means to shoehorn in your own prejudices (not saying it was right for one moment but the reality is couples on holiday do it- they clearly felt it was safe enough to do so).

Equally I have seen plenty of half pissed "poor" people welded to the poolside bar who have not got a clue where their kids are except that they are 'somewhere' around the hotel complex and sure somebody else will keep them out of trouble and that is what lifeguards are for. Is that much different?

Abandon means to desert or to give up. Abandon implies that they had no intention of going back to the room and had washed their hands on the kids. Quite frankly it is irrelevant what word is used as the result is the same.

Why don't you do a survey and see how many people from wealthy backgrounds over a certain age were packed off to boarding school. In the UK children a young as 5 are sent away. It's extremely common among the wealthy.

I've a better idea, since you're the one making the assertion why don't you show me a survey that backs up your prejudices.

That's how it usually works, people make assertions based on evidence not by making a statement and then tell others to carry out a survey to prove them wrong.

So then why did they abandon the babies and the toddler every night that week? No doubt they done this at home also, it was hardly a behaviour they took up on holiday. They might be from working class backgrounds, which are more family orientated generally but they sure got into the coldness easy enough.

You’re hilarious, you tried to insist the McCanns are this wealthy upper class family who dump their kids in boarding schools and boarding summer camps and how they aren’t family orientated and are such cold people.

When you were shown hard evidence that contradicts this, you have gone back to the default classic position of ‘but why did they leave the kids alone then!!!’.
    So predictable.

Cold, uncaring people don’t persist in keeping up a 13yr search for their missing child in the face of intense scrutiny, criticism, nastiness and abuse from the general public.
    If they were cold people who didn’t care about their children they would have dropped this years ago.

Something Else
    You’re hilarious, you tried to insist the McCanns are this wealthy upper class family who dump their kids in boarding schools and boarding summer camps and how they aren’t family orientated and are such cold people.

You've got your wires crossed. I made 2 points:
    1) The McCanns are Cold and uncaring
    2) In the wealthier parts of English society, this attitude to children is commonplace, for example: they pack their kids off to boarding school

Teh 2 points are related but I never said anything about the McCann's sending their specific kids to boarding school. Maybe they would but it'd be PR suicide with Maddie missing and all.
    When you were shown hard evidence that contradicts this, you have gone back to the default classic position of ‘but why did they leave the kids alone then!!!’.
    So predictable.

Not sure what I was shown hard evidence of? was probably to a point I never made.
    Cold, uncaring people don’t persist in keeping up a 13yr search for their missing child in the face of intense scrutiny, criticism, nastiness and abuse from the general public.
    If they were cold people who didn’t care about their children they would have dropped this years ago.

Perhaps, this is a point you can add that supports your abduction theory.

2) In the wealthier parts of English society, this attitude to children is commonplace, for example: they pack their kids off to boarding school

I have lived in England for the post 10 years and in my experience their attitude toward the elder is far far worse. Massive inconvenience- can't wait to 'abandon' them in nursing homes.

Look at the sheer number of C19 deaths over here. That is not sheer incompetence. The English are quite comfortable allowing a few thousand bed blockers die off. In fact it is seen as great stowing.

Something Else
    I have lived in England for the post 10 years and in my experience their attitude toward the elder is far far worse. Massive inconvenience- can't wait to 'abandon' them in nursing homes.

Look at the sheer number of C19 deaths over here. That is not sheer incompetence. The English are quite comfortable allowing a few thousand bed blockers die off. In fact it is seen as great stowing.

I would expect that to be the case and I think that showed quite clearly in the early days of the pandemic hitting Europe when the UK was pursuing a policy of herd immunity (i.e. mass casualties among the old and the sick), seemed to all change when Borris himself became infected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,068 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Sheer bliss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,069 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Teh 2 points are related but I never said anything about the McCann's sending their specific kids to boarding school. Maybe they would but it'd be PR suicide with Maddie missing and all.

Not sure what I was shown hard evidence of? was probably to a point I never made.

Perhaps, this is a point you can add that supports your abduction theory.

Cold and uncaring?? I presume you have never met them. You're not even saying it's your opinion. For you it's a fact. What are you basing this on? The few times that you've seen them on TV. OR are you referring to the fact that they went for dinner a hundred yards or so from their villa in Portugal whilst their kids were asleep.

The holier than thou posters on here don't seem to get that prior to this happening 13 years ago, there was no such case in Ireland and the UK that attracted such media attention. Since the Maddie case, we are all on our toes for predators - in shopping malls, on holidays etc. Because in the back of our mind we think to ourself that we cannot let what happened with the McCanns happen to us. Because as parents, it's our worst nightmare. Prior to 2007, this awareness was not as prevalent, whether we like to admit it or not. People took chances. They didn't perceive them as chances, but they were. They didn't see the dangers because the precedents were not set. But when Maddie McCann was taken, it changed everything. We refused to let our kids out of our sight. And all of a sudden because we were such "good" parents, a level of scorn developed towards the McCanns - the "how could they do such a thing" brigade. And many people jumped on that bandwagon. Part of it is reinforce to themselves what good parents they are, and wouldn't do what the McCann parents did. It's a load of bull.

And the parents didn't kill Madelaine McCann.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,432 ✭✭✭bladespin

Something Else
    And the parents didn't kill Madelaine McCann.

Can you prove that? or is it just an opinion?

Sorry, but couldn't resist after the high horsing there.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭mosii

The child was taken guys,by a pedophile or by someone who had arranged the child to be trafficked,look at Epsteins case ,he brought 3 girls from France for his perverse actions.I would be shocked if the parents had anything to do with the loss of their daughter.,

There is really only a minimum of two people that know what 100% happened and one of them IMO is dead.

• Site Banned Posts: 461 ✭✭callmehal

Accident happened, parents hid body
    What happened to the letter from Germany? Is there proof Madeleine is dead or not? If they don't have proof, then why would they announce it? It just seems to be really sick if they have nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,345 ✭✭✭limnam

What happened to the letter from Germany? Is there proof Madeleine is dead or not? If they don't have proof, then why would they announce it? It just seems to be really sick if they have nothing.

I thought he claimed shortly after she maybe alive.

That would make evidence that she's dead redundant no ?

• Site Banned Posts: 461 ✭✭callmehal

Accident happened, parents hid body
    limnam wrote: »
    I thought he claimed shortly after she maybe alive.

That would make evidence that she's dead redundant no ?

Let's be honest, it really seems like they don't know what they're doing. Have the McCanns made a statement since saying they never received the letter?