Covid19 Part XVIII-25,473 in ROI(1,736 deaths) 5,760 in NI (551 deaths)(30/06)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    A lot of people starving in Yemen

Half of the people on here wouldn’t last 5 minutes in the developing world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Is this first line some sort of joke? Not a single person on here has an issue with posting statistics. I do it regularly about testing, cases rising and cases falling. What is unacceptable is this constant “strap in”, “this is out of control”, “we’re all doomed” ****e that spreads on here like wildfire.
    If ye put as much attention ye put into other countries COVID issues into children dying in Yemen and civil war in Sudan the world would be a much better feckin place.

If only there was a way for you to start a discussion online to share your superior knowledge with people who don’t think there is a problem?

Ignorance is bliss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Is this first line some sort of joke? Not a single person on here has an issue with posting statistics. I do it regularly about testing, cases rising and cases falling. What is unacceptable is this constant “strap in”, “this is out of control”, “we’re all doomed” ****e that spreads on here like wildfire.
    If ye put as much attention ye put into other countries COVID issues into children dying in Yemen and civil war in Sudan the world would be a much better feckin place.

Not to mention comments on the less of the “happy talk”. Lets all go around with miserable glum frowns on us and talk unhappy to everyone. We better not tell everyone we only had 5 cases yesterday just incase it makes them happy and optimistic Instead Lets go around and keep reminding everyone it’s coming back for the second wave, stock up on the jacks roll, keep the misery going folks ;-)

It would make you want to f****g jump into the Shannon, maybe a possible solution??? If we all did that you can be sure of no second wave.

Statistics are one thing but people demanding we should stop happy talk and rid our optimism is another thing.

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Not to mention comments on the less of the “happy talk”. Lets all go around with miserable glum frowns on us and talk unhappy to everyone. We better not tell everyone we only had 5 cases yesterday. Instead Lets go around and keep reminding everyone it’s coming back for the second wave, stock up on the jacks roll, keep the misery going folks ;-)

It would make you want to f****g jump into the Shannon, maybe a possible solution???

Statistics are one thing but people demanding we should stop happy talk and rid our optimism is another thing.

There should be less talking and more doing something to actually help.

I’ll be making a donation to the UNICEF COVID-19 appeal later today, I hope others follow suit.

Yeah let's ignore WHO. We could even cut its funding. This news is unacceptable and entirely preventable.

This should not be reported by RTE. It's not relevant. Completely off topic, doom mongering.
    Europe has seen a surge of Covid-19 cases since countries began easing restrictions aimed at curbing the spread of the potentially fatal virus, the World Health Organization said today.

"Last week, Europe saw an increase in weekly cases for the first time in months," the WHO's regional director for Europe Hans Kluge told reporters.

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0625/1149493-world-covid-australia/

I know some people like to come on a forum discussing global pandemic that is killing people and minimise it. I find it's better to listen to this when I don't want to worry or I want to be happy. Enjoy the sun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Yeah let's ignore WHO. We could even cut its funding. This news is unacceptable and entirely preventable.

This should not be reported by RTE. It's not relevant. Completely off topic, doom mongering.

Do you see a resurgence here?? I dont, I see a very steady level with the odd spike here and there as to be expected but resurgence it isn't

https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/cases-2019-ncov-eueea

I know some people like to come on a forum discussing global pandemic that is killing people and minimise it. I find it's better to listen to this when I don't want to worry or I want to be happy. Enjoy the sun.

Sweden is the only country continuing to cause the odd growth.

I remember the other night the hysteria of the German R at 2.88, as many people tried to explain at the time with a low base of cases and a very rapid increase in cases due to the various meat plants etc the R value grew exponentially.

I've not seen anyone post the R value for Germany that was released last night. I'm not doing this for the "happy clappy" postive news its for some balance in the discussion whereby the increase was explainable.

Last night in Germany the rolling 4 day average of R was estimated at 0.72 with interval of 0.56 - 0.91.

The 7 day R in Germany is estimated at 1.17 with interval of 1.08-1.25.

I dont see people jumping on this information that was released last night compared to when 2.88 was released. Balance

Sweden is the only country continuing to cause increased growth.

Sweden, UK to a lesser extent and the meat plants in Germany that caused the spike in the last few days.
    Poland also had an issue with mines recently with cases being linked to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

I remember the other night the hysteria of the German R at 2.88, as many people tried to explain at the time with a low base of cases and a very rapid increase in cases due to the various meat plants etc the R value grew exponentially.

I've not seen anyone post the R value for Germany that was released last night. I'm not doing this for the "happy clappy" postive news its for some balance in the discussion whereby the increase was explainable.

Last night in Germany the rolling 4 day average of R was estimated at 0.72 with interval of 0.56 - 0.91.

The 7 day R in Germany is estimated at 1.17 with interval of 1.08-1.25.

I dont see people jumping on this information that was released last night compared to when 2.88 was released. Balance

Or you won’t see certain posters put a like on a positive post either. Why is that i wonder?

Sweden is the only country continuing to cause the odd growth.

You should take it up with Hans Kluge. I agree with you that this must be a conspiracy that is aimed at destroying the aviation industry. Don't get me started on RTE who don't have the same fact checking ability as yourself or any sane, lockdown fearing patriot.
    "Thirty countries have seen increases in new cumulative cases over the past two weeks.

"In 11 of these countries, accelerated transmission has led to very significant resurgence that if left unchecked will push health systems to the brink once again in Europe," he warned.

Mr Kluge did not identify the countries by name, nor provide detailed numbers.

You should take it up with Hans Kluge. I agree with you that this must be a conspiracy that is aimed at destroying the aviation industry. Don't get me started on RTE who don't have the same fact checking ability as yourself or any sane, lockdown fearing patriot.

I stopped reading RTE about two weeks in tbh, their reporting is a complete joke. Poland, Germany reported clusters last week and Sweden/UK contribute heavily. Very little reason for panic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

UK numbers are plummeting thankfully. Good news especially for us

https://twitter.com/ProfKarolSikora/status/1276109476685365250

wadacrack wrote: »
    UK numbers are plummeting thankfully. Good news especially for us

https://twitter.com/ProfKarolSikora/status/1276109476685365250

Starting to look good in Europe. Cases down with clusters under control, air corridors being decided and bans on the Americas also. Vaccine could be available by end of year. Well able to deal with this now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Half of the people on here wouldn’t last 5 minutes in the developing world.

lol! what?
    what the hell has that got to do with anything?
    we are talking about covid in the covid thread.
    Stop moaning!

I stopped reading RTE about two weeks in tbh, their reporting is a complete joke. Poland, Germany reported clusters last week and Sweden/UK contribute heavily. Very little reason for panic.

But wait a second. I think I've just found what the WHO Europe boss was referencing.........You might be wrong :eek:

I don't know who to believe? strange times.

Check out the link? It seems that not all lines are going down :eek::eek:

https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/all-topics-z/covid-19/14-day-incidence

517706.png

517705.png

While Paddy Mallon tells the Dail, "Coronavirus second wave ‘inevitable’".

You couldn't make up some of the stuff that gets reported. A second wave is not inevitable, possible but inevitable it is not

But wait a second. I think I've just found what the WHO Europe boss was referencing.........You might be wrong :eek:

I don't know who to believe? strange times.

Check out the link? It seems that not all lines are going down :eek::eek:

https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/all-topics-z/covid-19/14-day-incidence

517706.png

517705.png

Are you even reading your graphs? They’re cases per 100,000 - entirely dependant on the population of a country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,811 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Australia reports 37 new cases and 1 new death.

Highest number of cases since April 15th.

Australia has successfully isolated the country but...

If this is the start of the Australian winter surge it is the last domino in the southern hemisphere and confirms what the CDC has said for months - this virus has a seasonal bias and what is happening in the southern hemisphere will happen in the northern hemisphere.

There will be no argument against what we face later in the year if Australia suffers a surge now.

Do you see a resurgence here?? I dont, I see a very steady level with the odd spike here and there as to be expected but resurgence it isn't

sure what do the WHO know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Drumpot wrote: »
    Why are you getting so angry at the poster? There’s a fair few of you actually magnifying his posts a lot more by constantly attacking them and bring them
    Up. If you just ignored them this thread would move along much better and their posts would be forgotten. I’d say at least 30% of the last few days that I have read has been people referring to one or two posters and implying that this entire thread has descended into chaos. It’s as hyperbolic if not more then the poster who is being accused of being overly pessimistic.

I actually spoke with a mod about it yesterday and said I would try and bring the thread back on track with COVId discussion and after a few posts somebody posts up something about Waterford whispers to slag off people who “want things to get bad”. These posts are actually worse at this stage then the ones of the poster who is being targeted.

Can people who can’t stand bad news please just open their own COVID thread or accept this is for COVID discussion (the good and bad parts of it). I know Kermit has been around here a long time, I think I remember reading his concerned posts back in February. I just accept that Kermit is finding it really hard and comes here for some sort of comfort or cathartic reasons. He’s not completely wrong in what he says but I don’t need to get as upset as he does about things. Maybe put him on ignore if you don’t want to read what he says.

Have to be honest , I’m surprised mods are letting this continue as it’s really made this thread extremely frustrating to follow.

He labelled everyone in Europe who has a more positive outlook as deluded . Thats not respectful of other people's opinion. Lots of happy talk too? Which is simply not true. Calling him out on this is fair in my eyes. The negative stories is not the issue. He needs to work on his delivery. Almost like hes now on a mission to bring doom and gloom , which is quite frankly very odd and Im not a fan of it.

Are you even reading your graphs? They’re cases per 100,000 - entirely dependant on the population of a country.

Not only dependant on per 100,000 of the population also taking into account the clusters identified in Germany, Poland etc.

Look at the EU average, all reflective of the current trend.

Distribution of lab confirmed cases paints a stable picture.

I am reading them. A let's clarify shall we. They are not my graphs. They are European Centre for Disease Control. Thanks for confusing me with the supranational body who's responsibility is to report on this stuff.

Now quoting the rate per 100K population effectively normalises the rate so that comparisons can be made. You have just revealed that you don't understand that.

I must admit ballsy to come on and dismiss the head of the world health organisation in Europe as a liar and the largest news organisation in the country as False news peddlers.

Look you could have been right. Take it on the chin and keep minimising. You'll be right half the time.

Australia reports 37 new cases and 1 new death.

Highest number of cases since April 15th.

Australia has successfully isolated the country but...

If this is the start of the Australian winter surge it is the last domino in the southern hemisphere and confirms what the CDC has said for months - this virus has a seasonal bias and what is happening in the southern hemisphere will happen in the northern hemisphere.

There will be no argument against what we face later in the year if Australia suffers a surge now.

no no no Kermit, less of that negativity!
    Realism is not allowed on here, only naivety!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

I mean this is the 18th consecutive thread of arguments but I admire your optimism.

tom1ie wrote: »

They know they won't get fooled again! vis a vis masks?

wadacrack wrote: »
    He labelled everyone in Europe who has a more positive outlook as deluded . Thats not respectful of other people's opinion. Lots of happy talk too? Which is simply not true. Calling him out on this is fair in my eyes. The negative stories is not the issue. He needs to work on his delivery. Almost like hes now on a mission to bring doom and gloom , which is quite frankly very odd and Im not a fan of it.

He is bringing facts to the table.
    not nice facts, but facts none the less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Some of ye have a lot of reality to hit if ye think COVID is the worst thing to happen the world. There’s a lot worse going on.

Indeed a bit of perspective may be needed at times. TB, another infectious but preventable illness, killed 1.5 million people in 2019. Three times the current covid deaths

Malaria also annually kills as many as have died from covid so far. It is also preventable and curable

tom1ie wrote: »

Christ, really is that what your coming back with?? A sarcastic response without actually looking at the reasons why some countries reported more cases recently and the overall trend.

Some countries picked up clusters in meat plants, in mines amongst other places. Highly populated and close proximity workplaces.

Its very easy to say there's a resurgence when they picked up more cases in those settings this week than last week.

Do you actual want to argue that the overall European trend isn't very steady?? Look at the graph showing lab confirmed cases.