Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭gral6

hmmm wrote: »
    The nursing homes were a perfect illustration of how uncontrolled community spread means it will get into vulnerable areas. Nursing home staff live in the community, and any visitors also live in the community.

It is perfect example that the lockdown is good at f... all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,222 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Yeah , yeah , woah yeah, we are anti lockdown , yeah ! No virus or no law man going to take away our Freedom , yeah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,665 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Yeah , yeah , woah yeah, we are anti lockdown , yeah ! No virus or no law man going to take away our Freedom , yeah!

A bottle of wine is too much on a Saturday night IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,222 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

A bottle of wine is too much on a Saturday night IMO

Well looks like some of ye don't need any help to get high!
    Goodnight

Well looks like some of ye don't need any help to get high!
    Goodnight

Ah dont go, I've a slab of Arthurs finest and I've just watched Stuttgart 88, Im in great form for debate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭RicketyCricket

RTE keep showing same Brazil graves everyday and report Chinese man eating at some market and getting covid with 11 surrounding areas where he lives shutting down.

What a waste of taxpayers money.

0 insight. 0 reporting on EU countries no spikes
    from lifting ALL of bloody restrictions. France announced today reopening borders for 15 June this Monday coming. Not reported. Wrapping it up with thank you healthcare workers...

They spent yesterday reporting on the queues at Penneys and the school situation in September of which there is no decision on and nothing about the 200 odd people that lost their jobs in Mothercare and that Zara employees may not have a job anymore. There are a lot of lives changed with this coronavirus but the job losses arent of importance to RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭theballz

Good decision.

Its fairly evident lockdowns are not the weapon to fight Covid with.

Can you show this evidence please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

So I’ve been gone a week now and in that time, we’ve seen numerous transgressions of the phantom social distancing rules in the US, UK and our own country, not to mention the return of something resembling what we used to know as retail. To those who love the thought of getting paid €350 for hiding under the bed for another year and drinking beer in the back garden, where are signs of your beloved (not to mention deadly) “second wave”? Not enough time for it to set in in the community I hear you say? But, I thought this was particularly infectious?

(PS minor and inevitable outbreaks and temporary increases in “R” do not count)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,304 ✭✭✭patnor1011

What are you going on about?
    What happened here was not even close to "lockdown". Over third of workforce was still carrying on going to work daily to cater for needs of selected few who could sit in home while still on a full pay. Also catering for needs of others who were unfortunate to lose their jobs exactly due to this fake lockdown. A lot of them will not have their jobs back as many businesses will not recover.

Those people who worked during this insanity were going to work and then back home exposing their families. Every person who went to shop during last 3 months to buy food exposed their own family. Strangely enough, this did not cause tens of thousands of sick and thousands of deaths.
    What was this lockdown good for exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,304 ✭✭✭patnor1011

hmmm wrote: »
    The "vulnerable" can be people's parents, kids, spouses, cousins, co-workers. In many cases they are not even aware they are vulnerable until they get the virus. They live in the community, if we don't control community spread we can't protect the vulnerable.

We will never be able to control community spread. Not ever unless you isolate every single person but then there is no longer any community.
    No matter what you try to present here as "facts" people start to wake up to the realization of a power that media and politicians have - to crate hype over something which is no more damaging or deadlier than a seasonal flu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,267 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

patnor1011 wrote: »
    We will never be able to control community spread. Not ever unless you isolate every single person but then there is no longer any community.
    No matter what you try to present here as "facts" people start to wake up to the realization of a power that media and politicians have - to crate hype over something which is no more damaging or deadlier than a seasonal flu.
    Christ back to flu comparisons again :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

Top of the morning.

Almost 1,100 Covid-19 cases have been confirmed at 20 meat plants around the country to date.

https://www.thejournal.ie/covid-19-testing-at-meat-plants-5121171-Jun2020/

Do you know how many died of 1,100? 0. Do you know why? Because covid poses little to no threat to average working Joe. When someone compares it to a flu - you know, not a million miles off now is it.

0 Deaths. out of one thousand one hundred working people.

Do we really keep barbers cinemas gyms hotels restaurants shut for another 2 weeks? Really?

PS this is not a modelling study. This is not an estimate or prediction. This is reality. 0/1100 dead. And teachers are afraid to go back? You must be joking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Mattdhg

Lockdown was definitely the right way to go.

The HSE was not over run and no patients were left dying in corridors like in England and Italy. They've been increasing our hospital capacities by constructing new wards for hospitals that will deal with the Covid positive. Sweden have already come out and said that their approach of avoiding lockdown was wrong, and their death toll currently stands around ~10% which is significantly higher than other countries.

Top of the morning.

Almost 1,100 Covid-19 cases have been confirmed at 20 meat plants around the country to date.

Do you know how many died of 1,100? 0. Do you know why? Because covid poses little to no threat to average working Joe. When someone compares it to a flu - you know, not a million miles off now is it.

Do we really keep barbers cinemas gyms hotels restaurants shut for another 2 weeks? Really?

PS this is not a modelling study. This is not an estimate or prediction. This is reality. 0/1100 dead. And teachers are afraid to go back? You must be joking.

I think we all know teachers aren’t actually scared. This is a very nice opportunity for them to hold childrens’ education to ransom as they jockey for EVEN MORE favourable terms than they’ve already got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,334 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Yep got a good deal myself last week, dealer said they'd been alot busier than expected. Managed to get 1k knocked off the asking price. Made sure to keep my business local too

Same as that, went to a local dealer and he knocked a grand off and filled it with a full tank of diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,334 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Varadkar seems more bothered about statues these days rather than anything else, the sooner this guy is replaced the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭uli84

Varadkar seems more bothered about statues these days rather than anything else, the sooner this guy is replaced the better.

Agree but doubt this will happen, also I wish this hysteria and media coverage about this virus stopped and it started to be treated like any other illness people are dying from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭History Queen

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    I think we all know teachers aren’t actually scared. This is a very nice opportunity for them to hold childrens’ education to ransom as they jockey for EVEN MORE favourable terms than they’ve already got.

Teachers are not afraid to go back to school. Teachers are objecting to going back to school without strict health andsafety protocols. We want to be treated like every other workplace. From a personal point of view, I, and I suspect many of my colleagues accept that spcial distancing would be hugely disruptive.

I've posted this on another threadbut just to lay out how many teachers are thinking andthe context we work in:

As a teacher I can see between 150 and 250 students a day in my room for 40 mins at a time. I respectfully disagree that all we can hope for is masks. I want to see full cleaning procedures. My classroom gets bins emptied daily and hoovered every second day by school cleaners, I wipe down desks at the end of every day but I've only been doing the tops of the desks and with an "all purpose cleaner" i brought from home, I haven't been cleaning chairs/windows/doors etc. My classroom is a prefab so I (and my students) have no access to handwashing facilities when in my room.

I would like to see a hand sanatiser at the door to my room (cheaper than installing a sink), and strict protocols around symptomatic students and teachers. I fully accept that 2m social distancing is unworkable if we want students in school full time. I'll accept not having that, if we have other robust procedures in place. Such as strict protocols for dealing with symptomatic staff and students, better handwashing and toileting facilities, reduced movement in the corridor, massively increased cleaning regime both in classrooms and in the common school areas etc.

I'm not sure if it is possible to teach in a mask all day every day from a speaking and listening point of view, maybe those perspex shield things that you wear would work? Not sure if they're effective?

This link briefy outlines the union positions)all 3 are in agreement)
    https://www.rte.ie/news/education/2020/0613/1147260-coronavirus-schools/

Not sure why people are objecting to safe (within reason) environments for teachers and students?

theballz wrote: »
    Can you show this evidence please?

Sweden has not seen 120k dead.

If a country has a lot of older citizen's, death rate will be high, its an unfortunate fact.

I'm not sending old folk to an early grave by saying this, some posters got offended when I said this before

Mattdhg wrote: »
    Lockdown was definitely the right way to go.

The HSE was not over run and no patients were left dying in corridors like in England and Italy. They've been increasing our hospital capacities by constructing new wards for hospitals that will deal with the Covid positive. Sweden have already come out and said that their approach of avoiding lockdown was wrong, and their death toll currently stands around ~10% which is significantly higher than other countries.

Nah, you have completely ignored the screening cancellation issue and many Irish citizens are suffering now and have been for months due to suspended surgeries.

Easy have empty hospitals.

Seemingly only a Covid death is a tragedy

Sweden has not seen 120k dead.

If a country has a lot of older citizen's, death rate will be high, its an unfortunate fact.

I'm not sending old folk to an early grave by saying this, some posters got offended when I said this before

Japan has not seen even 2,000 dead. And imagine Neil Ferguson's models without lockdown scenario for Japan that has population of 120,000,000 + . Tokyo alone has 38,000,000 living there.

"Japan’s state of emergency is set to end with new cases of the coronavirus dwindling to mere dozens. It got there despite largely ignoring the default playbook.

No restrictions were placed on residents’ movements, and businesses from restaurants to hairdressers stayed open. No high-tech apps that tracked people’s movements were deployed. The country doesn’t have a center for disease control. And even as nations were exhorted to “test, test, test,” Japan has tested just 0.2% of its population — one of the lowest rates among developed countries.

Yet the curve has been flattened, with deaths well below 1,000, by far the fewest among the Group of Seven developed nations. In Tokyo, its dense center, cases have dropped to single digits on most days."

https://time.com/5842139/japan-beat-coronavirus-testing-lockdowns/

All Japan did is protect their elderly properly. 65% + of Irish deaths came from nursing homes, its not a co incidence that country's ability to protect elderly follows closely the death rate of that country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭sportsmaddad

No restrictions were placed on residents’ movements, and businesses from restaurants to hairdressers stayed open

My big bugbear here is the Dept of Education. How could they stand over a "reopening" plan launched at the start of May, which kept our schools closed until September? Keeping Primary School kids locked up for almost 6 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Top of the morning.

Wait that's what people are taking from the meat factory outbreaks. Not that employees were silenced and threatened with losing their jobs if they got tested /stayed home sick? It took a couple of whistle-blowers to raise awareness of it. I would have hoped people would have taken the idea that we need some form of universal basic income and heathcare in the country so people can resist criminal employers without fear.

Teachers are not afraid to go back to school. Teachers are objecting to going back to school without strict health andsafety protocols. We want to be treated like every other workplace. From a personal point of view, I, and I suspect many of my colleagues accept that spcial distancing would be hugely disruptive.

I've posted this on another threadbut just to lay out how many teachers are thinking andthe context we work in:

As a teacher I can see between 150 and 250 students a day in my room for 40 mins at a time. I respectfully disagree that all we can hope for is masks. I want to see full cleaning procedures. My classroom gets bins emptied daily and hoovered every second day by school cleaners, I wipe down desks at the end of every day but I've only been doing the tops of the desks and with an "all purpose cleaner" i brought from home, I haven't been cleaning chairs/windows/doors etc. My classroom is a prefab so I (and my students) have no access to handwashing facilities when in my room.

I would like to see a hand sanatiser at the door to my room (cheaper than installing a sink), and strict protocols around symptomatic students and teachers. I fully accept that 2m social distancing is unworkable if we want students in school full time. I'll accept not having that, if we have other robust procedures in place. Such as strict protocols for dealing with symptomatic staff and students, better handwashing and toileting facilities, reduced movement in the corridor, massively increased cleaning regime both in classrooms and in the common school areas etc.

I'm not sure if it is possible to teach in a mask all day every day from a speaking and listening point of view, maybe those perspex shield things that you wear would work? Not sure if they're effective?

This link briefy outlines the union positions)all 3 are in agreement)
    https://www.rte.ie/news/education/2020/0613/1147260-coronavirus-schools/

Not sure why people are objecting to safe (within reason) environments for teachers and students?

Fair enough but the absurdity of all those requirements you’ve written there certainly does indicate that you are afraid to go back; substantially so. You may think you need all those bells and whistles, but you really don’t because the virus is neither widespread, nor particularly dangerous to those who contract it. Actually, your attitude is even a little arrogant. You are perfectly happy (I assume) to frequent a supermarket on a regular basis where hundreds of workers up and down the country have selflessly, and without complaint, come into contact with a lot more than 250 people per day. Yet they live to tell the tale whilst all the teachers can worry about are unattainable and needless standards of cleanliness that just make all our lives difficult. Let me ask you this: for how long are you willing to draw chalk circles on the ground and hide behind Perspex glass? Do you think that is any way to deliver education to our young?

ShooterSF wrote: »
    Wait that's what people are taking from the meat factory outbreaks. Not that employees were silenced and threatened with losing their jobs if they got tested /stayed home sick?

Eh thats a matter for the work place forum.

The point is that for those healthy enough to work, covid doesnt seem any more dangerous than any other seasonal illness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    Fair enough but the absurdity of all those requirements you’ve written there certainly does indicate that you are afraid to go back; substantially so. You may think you need all those bells and whistles, but you really don’t because the virus is neither widespread, nor particularly dangerous to those who contract it. Actually, your attitude is even a little arrogant. You are perfectly happy (I assume) to frequent a supermarket on a regular basis where hundreds of workers up and down the country have selflessly, and without complaint, come into contact with a lot more than 250 people per day. Yet they live to tell the tell whilst all the teachers can worry about are unattainable and needless standards of cleanliness that just make all our lives difficult. Let me ask you this: for how long are you willing to draw chalk circles on the ground and hide behind Perspex glass? Do you think that is any way to deliver education to our young?

Every shop in my area has all or some of the following, queues outside and restricted numbers in the store, PPE, spit guards at till, one way systems, hand sanitizer at the door, social distancing with signs everywhere reminding of same and stickers on floor for queuing for the tills, stop go lights at the door, or door with supervisor monitioring who is going in and out limiting the numbers.

khalessi wrote: »
    Every shop in my area has all or some of the following, queues outside and restricted numbers in the store, PPE, spit guards at till, one way systems, hand sanitizer at the door, social distancing with signs everywhere reminding of same and stickers on floor for queuing for the tills, stop go lights at the door, or door with supervisor monitioring who is going in and out limiting the numbers.

And your point is?

ShooterSF wrote: »
    Wait that's what people are taking from the meat factory outbreaks. Not that employees were silenced and threatened with losing their jobs if they got tested /stayed home sick? It took a couple of whistle-blowers to raise awareness of it. I would have hoped people would have taken the idea that we need some form of universal basic income and heathcare in the country so people can resist criminal employers without fear.

I think that employment law etc is for another conversation - the fact is that nobody has died from meat plant clusters or infections out of 1,100 people (and maybe even more as you rightly suggest some may not have come forward). And if 1 person died, there wouldve been an on-going court case against the meat plant company and would've been all over the news (RTE are desperate for news to report currently)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭road_high

bb1234567 wrote: »
    https://112.international/politics/strict-lockdown-not-to-be-introduced-in-ukraine-despite-increase-in-coronavirus-infection-52169.html

Ukraine announces that despite recent increase in number of outbreaks there will be no lockdown like the rest of Europe had

They are correct, looking at countries like us it’s obvious extensive lockdowns do nothing but bankrupt countries.
    Targeted measure like Foucault distancing and ppe, restrictions on mass gatherings are all you can do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭seamusk84

Yep got a good deal myself last week, dealer said they'd been alot busier than expected. Managed to get 1k knocked off the asking price. Made sure to keep my business local too

I put a deposit down on a new motorbike yesterday.....For ehhh the benefit of the economy?