Covid19 Part XVIII-25,473 in ROI(1,736 deaths) 5,760 in NI (551 deaths)(30/06)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

LiquidZeb wrote: »
    You quoted the first paragraph of a Wikipedia article. Truly you are the great scholar of our time. So once you're finished congratulating yourself are you going to clue the unwashed hordes of the good doctors message?

Yeah ok.
    The doc is saying the infection rate in the USA is approx 5% (some places higher eg New York, some places lower)
    He is saying virus won’t go away until we reach 60-70% with immunity which will happen either by a vaccine or infection.
    A vaccine is at least 18 months away according to him and that is when vaccines start being mass administered.
    The world has gone into some sort of lockdown for let’s say 4 months, do you think we won’t see a second wave in the next 18 months?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,990 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

MD1990 wrote:
    Hard to believe we are only getting 8-20 cases per day in the last few weeks when reading this thread.
    The fear & negativity is incredible I suggest some on here go outside for a walk.
    I'm just back from a walk and the first post I rolled my eyes at was this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

Right I was on mobile so I hoped the big massive gap between the quote and my post and me saying you said this to me would suffice but I guess some people have to be spoon-fed.

Are you this confrontational in real life? Lighten up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

fr336 wrote: »
    Are you this confrontational in real life? Lighten up!

Do you try and misquote people in real life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

The immaturity is comical. Have a good night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

tom1ie wrote: »
    Yeah ok.
    The doc is saying the infection rate in the USA is approx 5% (some places higher eg New York, some places lower)
    He is saying virus won’t go away until we reach 60-70% with immunity which will happen either by a vaccine or infection.
    A vaccine is at least 18 months away according to him and that is when vaccines start being mass administered.
    The world has gone into some sort of lockdown for let’s say 4 months, do you think we won’t see a second wave in the next 18 months?

The vaccine has been 18 months away since February, surely it should be 14 months away by now ?

Any mature response to my previous post?

The vaccine has been 18 months away since February, surely it should be 14 months away by now ?

18 months at leat according to olsterholm.

Yeah ok.

Well we won't ever be caught off guard like we were in February. It'll be lockdown in specific areas rather than a blanket Nationwide lockdown. It'll basically become the strategy of choice until a vaccine which hopefully will be sooner than 18 months going by the news out of Oxford.

fr336 wrote: »
    The immaturity is comical. Have a good night!

I know you should really work on it. Have a great weekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Tbh plumb I really couldn’t be bothered. You have your view I have mine.
    But you still haven’t answered my question on wether a second wave will materialise and this time I’ll add before a vaccine is available.
    It's good manners if you are going to make an allegation that you back it up, you have not done so. So I can only view your tactic as a pathetic attempt to dismiss someone who disagrees with your position.
    Considering your behaviour what makes you think any questions you pose to me is warranted with answers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭maebee

The last few pages here have been painful to read with the pointless squabbling, especially in light of the seriousness of the thread topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Steve F wrote: »
    46 cases??
    Bit of a jump that??
    ☹️

24 today cases today. Other 22 was Thursday and Friday cases.

Well we won't ever be caught off guard like we were in February. It'll be lockdown in specific areas rather than a blanket Nationwide lockdown. It'll basically become the strategy of choice until a vaccine which hopefully will be sooner than 18 months going by the news out of Oxford.

Grand so we are passed all the stupid comments we can get onto the grown up discussions. Good.
    What happens if we had infected people at the mass protests? How do we contact trace them?
    What happens if a full plane from London comes over with 2 infected people, but those two people are asymptotic. The plane load of people end up with 10 people who were close to the two asymptotic people, developing symptoms- however not until 2 weeks later. How many people have those 10 come into contact with?
    Good luck with contact tracing.
    Anyone that takes a critical eye on this can see its full of holes.
    A second wave is probably inevitable

maebee wrote: »
    The last few pages here have been painful to read with the pointless squabbling, especially in light of the seriousness of the thread topic.

Agreed. No more crap comments from me.

18 months at leat according to olsterholm.

I'd imagine he;ll be saying "18 months at least" by November, I'll take it with a grain of salt.

Grand so we are passed all the stupid comments we can get onto the grown up discussions. Good.
    What happens if we had infected people at the mass protests? How do we contact trace them?
    What happens if a full plane from London comes over with 2 infected people, but those two people are asymptotic. The plane load of people end up with 10 people who were close to the two asymptotic people, developing symptoms- however not until 2 weeks later. How many people have those 10 come into contact with?
    Good luck with contact tracing.
    Anyone that takes a critical eye on this can see its full of holes.
    A second wave is probably inevitable

You're asking a question no one here is qualified to answer. Unless we build a feckin wall around Ireland we'll have to open up our ports and airports. For your own sake you should just focus on what measures you yourself can take. Wear a mask when on public transportation and wash your hands regularly. If everyone does what they should the plane issue will take care of itself.

The point is to stop the virus reproducing we need to get to 60-70% infected, be that via a vaccine or infection.
    That’s just a fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Holohan has already said a response to future outbreaks will not be a nationwide lockdown. We are in a better place than we were in March more knowledge about the virus and the majority of the public on board with what needs to done to stop the spread. Won't stop the scaremongering though.
    Life needs to go on even if a large cohort got comfortable at home on €350 per week.

Holohan has already said a response to future outbreaks will not be a nationwide lockdown. We are in a better place than we were in March more knowledge about the virus and the majority of the public on board with what needs to done to stop the spread. Won't stop the scaremongering though.
    Life needs to go on even if a large cohort got comfortable at home on €350 per week.

The virus already has at least a two week head start on contact tracing due to the incubation period, let alone a symptomatic carriers.

https://www.reuters.com/article/health-coronavirus-vaccines/italy-germany-france-and-netherlands-sign-contract-with-astrazeneca-for-covid-vaccine-idUSL8N2DQ0A1
    The contract is for 400 million doses of the vaccine, which was developed with the University of Oxford and whose experimentation phase is already advanced and expected to end in autumn, Roberto Speranza said in a Facebook post.

He added that a first batch of doses would be made available by the end of this year.

It's good manners if you are going to make an allegation that you back it up, you have not done so. So I can only view your tactic as a pathetic attempt to dismiss someone who disagrees with your position.
    Considering your behaviour what makes you think any questions you pose to me is warranted with answers?

Yeah fair enough. Best of luck.

The virus already has at least a two week head start on contact tracing due to the incubation period, let alone a symptomatic carriers.

Two weeks is the max incubation period. Normally it's within a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,811 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Two weeks is the max incubation period. Normally it's within a week.

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.businessinsider.com/coronavirus-incubation-period-5-days-average-can-exceed-2-weeks-2020-3%3famp

You are correct and wrong.
    It is normally within 5 days but the max is not two weeks, there have been cases that have exceeded 14 days. As high as 1%!

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.businessinsider.com/coronavirus-incubation-period-5-days-average-can-exceed-2-weeks-2020-3%3famp

You are correct and wrong.
    It is normally within 5 days but the max is not two weeks, there have been cases that have exceeded 14 days. As high as 1%!

Excuse me for misphraseing one minute detail. No one likes a know it all

tenor.gif?itemid=3961540

Good news better stamp it dead Kermit. It's your kryptonite, positivity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

eagle eye wrote: »
    I'm just back from a walk and the first post I rolled my eyes at was this one.

I'm not seeing this fear and negativity the usual suspects are crowing on about. A lot more people giving out about the supposed fear and negativity than there is actually anyone displaying it.

There isn't much panic here, despite how much some are convinced of it being widespread.