Gone with the Wind Cancelled

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1fukTk8gJ3M

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDkwGQFLcjE

This series of videos is from a year ago, so removed from the proximate causes for the movie's removal from HBO Max. It's an interesting watch, and does show why leaving racist ahistorical depicitions can be dangerous and damaging today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Odhinn wrote: »
    Unlikely. They put a commentary on the DVDs of the old tom and jerry show where there was some dubious material included. Speedy Gonzalez was ok, but the way his fellow mexican mice were portrayed was completely wrong. As a kid I wondered why they always looked like they were drunk and half asleep.
    My favourite scene in all of Tom and Jerry is the one where Tom gets drunk and throws a jug of water over the black woman lying in bed, she then chases him and jumps down the stairs after him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭vetinari

But it's an irritant. And if somebody is granted an op-ed in a leading US newspaper to virtue signal then he must expect a reaction. And if the issue is so insignificant, why is it worthy of such an announcement in one of the US's "newspapers of record" in the first place.?

Are you a member of HBO Max, a US based streaming service.
    If you are, was that the only way you had to watch Gone with the Wind.
    If it was, were you planning to watch it anytime in the next year.

If any of those are not true, then how is it an irritant to you??
    Why the insatiable appetite to find something to be outraged about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭SNNUS

Woke W*nkers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Tork wrote: »
    Banning the likes of Gone With The Wind is the thin end of the wedge. It's a different version of the information silos many people are now immersed in. By only watching Fox Newd or reading the Daily Mail or people they agree with on Twitter, they fail to see the big picture. It's reducing the world to facile soundbites.

Who has banned Gone with the Wind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Thank **** it was boring and way too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭vetinari

That was the other thing I was wondering.
    I looked up the movie length, it's nearly 4 hours!
    Who has time to watch a 4 hour movies from the 1940's these days??

Snowflakes on Fox News are already getting #BoycottHBO rolling this morning because gone with the wind was taken down for the next couple days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

vetinari wrote: »
    That was the other thing I was wondering.
    I looked up the movie length, it's nearly 4 hours!
    Who has time to watch a 4 hour movies from the 1940's these days??
    Don't people regularly binge watch much more than 4 hours of shows like Tiger King, Stranger Things etc nowadays?

That’s different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭Burty330

Overheal wrote: »
    Snowflakes on Fox News are already getting #BoycottHBO rolling this morning because gone with the wind was taken down for the next couple days.

Snowflake was a term coined for people who are overtly PC and easily offended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Basil Fawlty and the Germans. That's another one. Too much stereotyping.

Gone.

https://twitter.com/guardianculture/status/1271158902868983808

Why are these companies taking these actions? In this case it's BBC owned, so that explains this example, but what of the rest? It's as if the world is under mass hypnosis right now. Radical leftists should be ignored, at best, not yielded to or appeased for heaven sake. They aren't even genuine, much less correct. Daft morons pearl clutching about old TV show and film dialogue, which oftentimes was parodying and lampooning (years ago) the very people they pretend to be offended by (today) but I guess that goes over their empty bloody heads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭SNNUS

The crazy left are a bigger plague than COVID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭FarmerBrowne

Gavin and Stacey is removed now as well from the BBC because of the Chinese Alan character, the world is gone absolutely mad. Speaking of the fawlty towers episode above about the war I assume they will also be removing the episode where Sybil racially abused O'Reilly because he is Irish? No? I thought not and guess what they shouldn't, it was a humorous scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭mick087

Fawlty towers dont mention the war removed from UKTV

Should we here in Ireland complain about the Builders episode?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I'm happy to see so many people on boards who are aware of the cancer that is "wokeness". I honestly though this thread would be full of these morons.

Well done.

mick087 wrote: »
    Fawlty towers dont mention the war removed from UKTV

Should we here in Ireland complain about the Builders episode?

I know that's tongue in cheek...

But if you can't laugh at yourself... It's hilarious. If we start banning everything somebody somewhere finds offensive we'll end up with nothing. Banning comedy is absolutely mental.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Fawlty Towers VHS/DVD are now only purchasable via a bloke called Alan, via the dark web, and if you have the access passphrase.
    If you have one under your TV, and it's on display: cover right now with a suitable cloth, and say x3 HailMary's as penance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,576 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Most of things are really old now.

Will Mrs Browne's Movie never be shown again?

O'Carroll impersonating a Chinese man was a bit much (and not funny).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,631 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

I'm happy to see so many people on boards who are aware of the cancer that is "wokeness". I honestly though this thread would be full of these morons.

Well done.

The "woke" are despised, they just don't know it....yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭FarmerBrowne

Fr Ted calling the Chinese a great bunch of lads is now probably going to be consigned to the scrapheap also on the head of these idiots.

I know that's tongue in cheek...

But if you can't laugh at yourself... It's hilarious. If we start banning everything somebody somewhere finds offensive we'll end up with nothing. Banning comedy is absolutely mental.

Myself i liked Fawlty towers and the builders to me is hilarious.
    Everyone in that show was a total plonker it made fun of everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,341 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Most of things are really old now.

Will Mrs Browne's Movie never be shown again?

we can only hope

Fr Ted calling the Chinese a great bunch of lads is now probably going to be consigned to the scrapheap also on the head of these idiots.

In a way I hope these morons try and get it banned, might wake some people up, grand when you're banning a 40 year old show like Fawlty Towers or Paw Patrol the boot, yes that's a thing. But try taking an institution like Fr. Ted off the airwaves and there will be a huge backlash. Even Graham Linehan himself who was on the other side of the fence for so long with his "wokeness" has realised what''s going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,180 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I was only saying this a few days ago -

It’s of it’s time, what’s to forgive anyone for?

Good movie in any case but I wouldn’t go out of my way to watch it.

Gone With The Wind on the other hand, that’s an actual classic that has withstood the test of time

Still available on Sky Cinema at least... for now! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

I love a woman with spirit, Mrs. Fawlty

I do, I do, I do, I do

O'Reilly was a great character.

The episode with the Major talking about the West Indies cricket team.... heads will explode

Burty330 wrote: »
    Snowflake was a term coined for people who are overtly PC and easily offended.

Then it fits neatly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

Fawlty Towers VHS/DVD are now only purchasable via a bloke called Alan, via the dark web, and if you have the access passphrase.
    If you have one under your TV, and it's on display: cover right now with a suitable cloth, and say x3 HailMary's as penance.
    Bad news, it seems Alan is actually an Antifa agent who likes entrapping and beating pensioners in his spare time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,007 ✭✭✭Feisar

We are going to end up like the film Equilibrium, any thought outside of the status quo is wrong.

First they came for the socialists...

Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    I love a woman with spirit, Mrs. Fawlty

I do, I do, I do, I do

O'Reilly was a great character.

The episode with the Major talking about the West Indies cricket team.... heads will explode

The Major was brilliant :pac: