Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

Penfailed wrote: »
    This reads like a gloating post where you lord it over, 'a certain poster' about economic damage. Nice nod to mental health there.

Truth hurts. But take this as encouragement to WANT to open up the country

"The council believes it could lose up to €20m in rates income alone this year because many businesses will struggle to get back on their feet and others will go under as a result of months of lockdown.

Decisions have already been made to halt council housing maintenance programmes, except for emergency repairs and the local authority may also reduce its funding for roads."

I know i know you always wanted to open up quickly. You just always seem to thank posts of people who quote Gerry Killeen. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,791 ✭✭✭Benimar

Thanks. Seems like a bit of a daft thing to put in. There are plenty of parts of the country that have had zero or minimal cases for weeks, is having a meal with someone from another house really going to do much harm at this stage?

I suppose the other question is whether the 2m is advised or mandatory. Most of the shops were asking people to shop alone yet not a single one enforced it. Could be something similar here.

Yes, but what happens when someone from Dublin goes for a weekend in Sligo? That introduces a higher risk to Sligo than currently exists.

Anyway, as another poster pointed out, this isn't going to be an issue for 4-6 people meeting up for a meal as no one will check, but Restaurants probably won't be taking bookings for a party of 15 any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,510 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Anything to deflect from their woeful statistics .

Great article and many of us here foresaw the idiocy of this all on this thread. Rte who many use here as nearly their sole source if news, is like the old catholic church, doom, fear, rot in hell, uber conservatism. I rely on foreign news sources for many matters , the analysis and groupthink and media agenda here , is a disgrace and its dangerous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭Penfailed

l know i know you always wanted to open up quickly. You just always seem to thank posts of people who quote Gerry Killeen. :rolleyes:

Like I said previously, I've no idea who he is. I've no idea if people have been quoting him or not as it's not very common for people to attribute quotes on here. Nice cheap shot for 'thanks' though.

Yet again, you're talking out of both sides of your mouth. Faux concern shown for mental health and then having personal attacks on posters. It's not a good look. Luckily I have very thick skin. Jabs from a randomer on the internet tend not to get to me.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

hamburgham wrote: »
    Will you stick with Boards Ginger? You must have strong feelings on other subjects?

I've been thinking about what to do as obviously restrictions are to be expected to be fully lifted 29th June with 1m or 1.5m social distancing at 9 new cases per day rate.

Probably going to post in economic/business threads, but read more than post tbh. (i am assuming such forum section exists here) It would be beneficial for my job to keep on top of things all related to Irish economy and businesses so going to combine good with the interesting. :)

Okay.

But surely you are happy for people getting their well deserved holiday?

Oh we will be delighted when you get your holiday :D

It's all this has ever been about anyway. Mental health my hole!

Penfailed wrote: »
    Like I said previously, I've no idea who he is. I've no idea if people have been quoting him or not as it's not very common for people to attribute quotes on here. Nice cheap shot for 'thanks' though.

Yet again, you're talking out of both sides of your mouth. Faux concern shown for mental health and then having personal attacks on posters. It's not a good look. Luckily I have very thick skin. Jabs from a randomer on the internet tend not to get to me.

You dont seem to have very thick skin at all if you dont mind me saying. Youve argued with plenty of posters over the last few days.

Take a chill pill. For someone to talk about attacks on posters you sure have short memory :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,877 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

While I don't know the legal ins and outs, once its a policy applied to all employees equally it may well be legal. That are not saying you cant take time off, not saying you cant go abroad, just that by flying, based on current company policy you are defacto making yourself unavailable for work

Do they have any particular right to ask you where you went on your holidays?
    It seems like personal private information to me, but no legal expert.
    If they insisted then I presume people would just lie and say they went nowhere.

You dont seem to have very thick skin at all if you dont mind me saying. Youve argued with plenty of posters over the last few days.

Take a chill pill. For someone to talk about attacks on posters you sure have short memory :pac:

Deflecting again. A common trait from yourself. Robust debate has little to do with having a thick skin. Yes, I have challenged (not attacked) posters but I don't profess to be concerned about people's mental health at the same time I'm doing it.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Great article and many of us here foresaw the idiocy of this all on this thread. Rte who many use here as nearly their sole source if news, is like the old catholic church, doom, fear, rot in hell, uber conservatism. I rely on foreign news sources for many matters , the analysis and groupthink and media agenda here , is a disgrace and its dangerous!

Seriously lads, are you still harping on about the forden press being the best, and then chose to ignore all they publish if you don't like it?

https://twitter.com/cfishman/status/1269781054635868161

Am I happy to take advantage of the loosened restrictions, absolutely. Do I have my head up my ass thinking it was an over reaction, pointless and it's all gone now, nope, I'm not dumb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

Penfailed, Ginger n Lemon - could ye take it to PM? Or get a room, or something? All the two of you are doing now is attacking each other.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Okay.

But surely you are happy for people getting their well deserved holiday?

I can assure you they’ll be quite a few on here who won’t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,892 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

A certain poster in this thread wont be happy at all

realities of lockdowns

Cork County Council is urgently looking for Government funding as it faces into the "stark" reality of a budget deficit of at least €23m from which it could take up to five years to recover, due to the Covid-19 lockdown.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/cork-county-councils-23m-deficit-could-take-five-years-to-recover-1004109.html

You do know even if we didn't have a lockdown this would of still happened.

More businesses would of went under as they would of had to pay their staff even though customer numbers would of dropped through the floor.

All big companies in Dublin etc had to told their staff to stay home before lockdown came into effect. So all small cafe's in Dublin were in trouble at that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,135 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Someone from Dublin will be able to go to Sligo either way by the time restaurants are allowed to open though.

I agree it won't be an issue, it just seems like a poorly thought out document in general.
    It is aimed at a general control of population movement and that most people will strategy. In that respect it works very well. The relaxation on Monday and next Monday give the psychological boost a lot of people need. Additionally we are so well programmed in terms of what we can do at this stage you will still get a good degree of compliance plus full travel freedom is under three weeks away.

Someone from Dublin will be able to go to Sligo either way by the time restaurants are allowed to open though.

I agree it won't be an issue, it just seems like a poorly thought out document in general.

Yes and it increases rick, but not as much as if a family from Dublin sit with a family from Sligo (ex work colleagues, old friends whatever).

Again, if people don't do stupid things then we will be fine. Unfortunately (and this isn't aimed at you!) this thread worries me in that regard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭growleaves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,135 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

growleaves wrote: »
    That's an interesting innovation. Maybe it can be applied elsewhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

growleaves wrote: »
    Good to see preparation going on quietly for later in the year. If Covid doesn't reappear well and good, but better to be prepared.

"She expects they will see a second surge of respiratory illnesses, flu, and Covid-19 later this year, but says they have been coping well and will be well-prepared if a second surge comes."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Limerick hospital is constantly short of bed space so it's as much a reaction to that as Covid 19. Wait till the next flu season hits.

The argument about opening up v flattening Covid 19 flat to the point of zero cases (plus mandatory masks, mass test, track, trace) and then opening up in August is interesting but the government has clearly made it's mind up now so we're taking a "middle course" which doesn't put much pressure on a system that probably can't cope with a determined policy.

Penfailed, Ginger n Lemon - could ye take it to PM? Or get a room, or something?

...or put us on ignore if it's bothering you so much?

There most likely won't be a 2nd surge. But of course we should be planning just in case. The most important thing would be to ensure that we don't lockdown so many healthy people again at a huge financial cost.

We would need to need to look at alternative actions. Cocooning the over 70's would be the best bet. 1M social distancing. Hand Washing. Temperature checks at airports etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭VonLuck

We have truly defeated pro lockdown people yesterday, it wasnt hard but we did it!

Very childish attitude to have.

There most likely won't be a 2nd surge.

Why? Look at the tweet I posted a few back highlighting the surge in cases in Florida, California (highest average new number of cases since pandemic), Texas, highest average number of new cases in a day so far, with Arizona, North and South Carolina following suit. California and Texas at their worse since the pandemic. The increased number of tests have been factored in and numbers are still increased, it's not all to do with an increase in testing.

No doubt someone will come along soon and tell us that we shouldn't be comparing ourselves to America. It's how this thread absolves itself of reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭vid36

There most likely won't be a 2nd surge. But of course we should be planning just in case. The most important thing would be to ensure that we don't lockdown so many healthy people again at a huge financial cost.

We would need to need to look at alternative actions. Cocooning the over 70's would be the best bet. 1M social distancing. Hand Washing. Temperature checks at airports etc.

If there is a resurgencein the autumn, the 1m will go to 2.It will temporarily close many bars and restaurants without having to coerce them. There will also be strict limits on numbers indoors.

Hurrache wrote: »
    Why? Look at the tweet I posted a few back highlighting the surge in cases in Florida, California (highest average new number of cases since pandemic), Texas, highest average number of new cases in a day so far, with Arizona, North and South Carolina following suit. California and Texas at their worse since the pandemic. The increased number of tests have been factored in and numbers are still increased, it's not all to do with an increase in testing.

No doubt someone will come along soon and tell us that we shouldn't be comparing ourselves to America. It's how this thread absolves itself of reality.

If there is a second wave not to worry we won’t be going into lockdown again, although it might upset the lockdown brigade. I heard Harris talking on the radio saying if restrictions need to return it will be in areas where an outbreak might happen not the whole country.

Micky 32 wrote: »
    If there is not to worry we won’t be going into lockdown again. I heard Harris talking on the radio saying if restrictions need to return it will be in areas where an outbreak might happen not the whole country.

I'm not worried about going into lockdown again, but it's head in the sand stuff to claim at this stage there won't be a resurgence. There may be, there may be not, we just can't tell yet, but we don't want our numbers to go the way of some states in America.

Hurrache wrote: »
    I'm not worried about going into lockdown again, but it's head in the sand stuff to claim at this stage there won't be a resurgence.
    Would you ever give over about the head in the sand shyte. People are entitled to be positive and try and live their lives, we have to try. give over ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,265 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

VonLuck wrote: »
    Very childish attitude to have.

I dont think Ginger ever fully understood what was actually going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Would you ever give over anout the head in the sand shyte. People are entitled to be positive snd try and live their lives, we have to try. give over ffs

Big time,jaysus theres a serious amount of lockdown fanatics and prophets of doom on here incredible.

The virus is rapidly diminishing , we'll be back to 90% normality by August, much to the disgust of the prophets of doom on here.

jonnny68 wrote: »
    Big time,jaysus theres a serious amount of lockdown fanatics and prophets of doom on here incredible.

The virus is rapidly diminishing , we'll be back to 90% normality by August, much to the disgust of the prophets of doom on here.

Even if the virus won’t go away and keeps returning like the predictions on this thread people are just gonna have to learn to live with it full stop. Every man for themselves , everyone do their best to protect themselves from catching it.