Tell us about your new improved government regulations compliant cycle part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Chris871

Went out and did another 50km this morning within my 5km circle (which I'm sick of now).
    Long sleeve jersey thankfully which kept the chill at bay but the wind was a bit of a pain.
    Still, under 200km left before I hit the 5000km mark this year :)
    https://www.strava.com/activities/3557519433

Dunno was it the change in the weather or what but the level of driver apathy seems to have plummeted overnight (and it had already deteriorated over the last few weeks).
    The worst was when passing through Celbridge, there was a tailback due to a funeral in the town. As I passed the qeueing traffic (me passing on the right), an oncoming car turns across me. Thankfully, my recent brake block replacement paid for itself today. My language filter immediately switched off so the driver retorts by shouting something at me to the effect that I was in the wrong :rolleyes:
    However, I'd say there was a dozen or so passes that were on the edge being dangerous passes - all of which were needless with an open road, just the driver couldn't be arsed making a full effort and figured that they'd be fine so pedal down.
    Plenty more overtaking on the approach to a bend. Sure what's the worst that could happen?

Out of curiosity, are most people here still sticking to the 5km boundary limit?
    (I'm not looking for an excuse - maybe just confirmation that I'm not the only one)

I am anyway. Didn't even bother riding outside while it was a 2km boundary, stuck to the turbo.

Been doing the same 35km loop a couple of times a week & a few Zwift races, getting a bit repetitive now.

Monday can't come soon enough either, start of a weeks annual leave for me. Hopefully the weather plays its part :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,497 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i've been spending a lot of time around the airport recently. vaguely interesting to note that nearly all aer lingus flights are their big planes (A330s) or turboprops. a lot of the A330 traffic is to and from beijing, i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭.red.

I'm lucky enough to live rural so I've a lot of options, longest loop I've done is 31km but it takes me just under 6km from home. It's a good mix of back roads with hills at the start and end and a nice long stretch of main road in-between.
    I could probably do 60/70km inside the 5km without passing the same road twice but it's all big hills and the legs aren't upto it yet which is why I'm using the other loop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,804 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

Got a bike recently and helmet finally got delivered today so took it out for a quick spin (3.2miles or so in 28mins :o) - to say I'm unfit is an understatement (I am over 18st and average height at best) but, enjoyed it none the less and already looking forward to my next outing tomorrow evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Takca

Out of curiosity, are most people here still sticking to the 5km boundary limit?
    (I'm not looking for an excuse - maybe just confirmation that I'm not the only one)

Spent most of the 2km limit using the turbo, now that it's 5km I've been outdoors keeping within my limit, I added an app to the Garmin that tells you how far you are from your starting point to help me keep inside the perimeter. It's hasn't been easy watching others on Strava but at least it's nearly over ðŸ˜

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Weepsie wrote: »
    Yes and this isn't the place to be going on about leaving it.
    Just to clarify, in case that's the way you interpreted it, I'm not leaving it.

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

bennyx_o wrote: »
    Got a bike recently and helmet finally got delivered today so took it out for a quick spin (3.2miles or so in 28mins :o) - to say I'm unfit is an understatement (I am over 18st and average height at best) but, enjoyed it none the less and already looking forward to my next outing tomorrow evening

Good on ya!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

Yep sticking to it and only a few more days too more options so I'm happy with that.

It is a little boring at times but in the grand scheme of things it's not much to ask of us. Anyone pulling the piss is just being selfish as I see some going 30km out.

Fair play to all observing it so far!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

bennyx_o wrote: »
    Fair play to you!
    Set yourself realistic & achievable targets to keep yourself going but most of all, enjoy yourself

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Yep stuck to the 2k limit and sticking to the 5k limit. Out every morning early for 20k-30k up the local hills. Also notice morning traffic is getting heavier and see a number of people I know going way outside their zone on Strava.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,362 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

I had stayed within the 2k and 5k, doing loops and giving out here and elsewhere about people blatantly breaking the rules, until I saw the protest march on
    monday and Leo and Simon tweeting support for it.

Went up to the viewing point on tues after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,138 ✭✭✭De Bhál

I've stayed within the recommended distances, it ain't that hard to do with the 5km cordon if you want a 40km spin.
    Looking at Strava and most of the people I follow are well outside the 5km and have been since about week 3 of this.

Blessed to have a fine hill that goes up to 187 metres within 5 km of my house. The hill starts within a few hundred metres of my house. Did 40ks worth of reps last night and can feel the rustiness leaving me and myself getting fit again. It helped that the wind was coming from a different direction last night than the usual SW so I had it with me on the hills. Absolutely beautiful evening for it - cooler but very sunny. Bring on Monday!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭mamax

smacl wrote: »
    Yep stuck to the 2k limit and sticking to the 5k limit. Out every morning early for 20k-30k up the local hills. Also notice morning traffic is getting heavier and see a number of people I know going way outside their zone on Strava.

I see a couple of lads from cork did a 200km spin yesterday imho that's really acting the bollocks

Here's one free month of Starlink service! Starlink high-speed internet is great for streaming, video calls, and gaming in even the most remote locations on Earth. https://www.starlink.com/residential?referral=RC-DF-6579889-13980-71&app_source=share

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

I'm in the midst of a 25 push ups in 25 days but its getting easier, then after that I'm off on the bike for my morning 22km loop around the countryside.

All within the 5km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Mc Love wrote: »
    I'm in the midst of a 25 push ups in 25 days but its getting easier, then after that I'm off on the bike for my morning 22km loop around the countryside.

All within the 5km

That’s only 1 push up a day! Even I could do that!😋

I may be mistaken but I think Mc Love has no arms and legs so one pushup won't be an easy task, never mind 25!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

mamax wrote: »
    I see a couple of lads from cork did a 200km spin yesterday imho that's really acting the bollocks

And one of them was extremely proud that he sailed through a Garda checkpoint while doing it. Same lad had been very loud in his giving out about people straying outside the 2km and 5km radius. Has unfriended quite a few people on Facebook who said it to him that publicly posting that spin on strava was taking the absolute mick. Always just wants praise and can't handle articulate discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

And one of them was extremely proud that he sailed through a Garda checkpoint while doing it. Same lad had been very loud in his giving out about people straying outside the 2km and 5km radius. Has unfriended quite a few people on Facebook who said it to him that publicly posting that spin on strava was taking the absolute mick. Always just wants praise and can't handle articulate discussion.

Is that the same guy that posted on the cycling Ireland zwift page. I saw someone calling him out and he took it to heart right away with something along the lines of "you wouldn't say it to my face" :rolleyes: I wonder if he noticed it was a military man he was threatening :D

He's probably a member on here :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Extremely vocal lad across social media & even wrote a blog post on his spin. I did pass a comment on his Twitter feed but as i have gone outside my 5km 2-3 times i wasn't the right person to call him out.

I notice that lots of the people who were very quick to admonish people for breaking rules at the start of the lockdown are some of the worst offenders now. But I won't be hypocritical either as I strayed outside my 5k twice on the bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    Is that the same guy that posted on the cycling Ireland zwift page. I saw someone calling him out and he took it to heart right away with something along the lines of "you wouldn't say it to my face" :rolleyes: I wonder if he noticed it was a military man he was threatening :D

He's probably a member on here :p

I'd imagine that he is. People rightly called him out on it. There is straying outside the radius but what they did was totally against the spirit of the idea around the radius. Then mouthed that he has been regularly training outside it for the past few weeks.

He just can't take any form of negative comment or criticism at all regarding the spin. Takes it totally to heart and can't see where people are coming from at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭shaveAbullock

I'd say I have about 30 active cyclists on my strava and about 2 of them are sticking to the 5km.
    Most are cycling at least 70km from home and receiving positive commends on strava, I don't use other social media platforms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,094 ✭✭✭✭ED E

I'd say I have about 30 active cyclists on my strava and about 2 of them are sticking to the 5km.
    Most are cycling at least 70km from home and receiving positive commends on strava, I don't use other social media platforms.

Senior members of my club flaunting it, some very early into the lockdown during the 2km. If it wasnt gonna be a headwreck Id be writing an open letter to the exec to ask them all to step down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

I did see a group of ~10 cyclists last weekend , Im not a Karen about these things but its hard to miss

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭JMcL

29km at a reasonably leisurely pace today - there was a stiffish breeze from the north and after a relatively tough session of hilly intervals on Tuesday and lots of core and squats yesterday, I fancied the fresh air more than fighting it.

Yep. I'm well bored of my routes for the most part at this stage - I'm on the coast so only have a semi-circle of 5km.

I didn't go out at all during the 2km restrictions - I parked the bike on the turbo on the patio and alternated between sessions on the bike and core/strength work on the days in between.

There's good and bad in the local roads. The (subjective) good is that they're rolling so give a damn fine workout, the bad is the horrible surface in many parts - it just sucks the life out of forward momentum. Still, looking forward to expanded horizons next week.

The guards are still mounting checkpoints and have been all along, I had to go into town this morning (first proper time in the car in about 2 months) and they were stopping on the way back. They look like they're talking to cyclists as well as they spoke to a couple of kids on bikes, but didn't stop them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,983 ✭✭✭secman

I was using a 3km loop on the 2km limit
    Used a 7 km loop on the 5km limit.
    But i did "stray" last weekend just out of pure boredom with the loops. All rural routes and I haven't seen a checkpoint since Thursday 30th April on N11 south bound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,011 ✭✭✭Plastik

Gas the amount of people aware of that muppets 200km spin and regular blog musings. They're both some ambassadors for "Team IRL" on Zwift with that spin yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,983 ✭✭✭secman

Test... as thread won't open !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Plastik wrote: »
    Gas the amount of people aware of that muppets 200km spin and regular blog musings. They're both some ambassadors for "Team IRL" on Zwift with that spin yesterday.

I think that lad is a bit basic to put it mildly. His 'blog' reads like an Ann and Barry book.

I've stayed within the 5km radius for its duration and have managed to put together some interesting enough loops. The 20km radius gets me to Blessington and the foothills of the Dublin/Wicklow mountains - actually, it gets me up Stocking lane and onto the Viewing Point, but that's as the crow flies; it takes a winding 30km route just to get there!

Hopefully, we get the all clear on Friday evening for Phase 2 to go ahead.