Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,459 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Publicans on Joe Duffy saying they will open same time as restaurants

Why would they stay closed when people got away with large March in Dublin

If they can have same social distance as restaurants whats the difference?

Fair play to those publicans

When you see some cafes and delis letting people eat in today because the weather isn't great then it's no surprise. The restrictions are going down the gutter and I'd highly doubt if a fair few of them opened up that they'd be forced to close. That goes for any business by the way if they can implement the guidance then let them open by the end of June.

Like you say if a large protest can happen with no repercussions then it's a free for all really and makes a joke of the whole restrictions on business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Painfully dragging businesses through five phases of reopening and arsing about with 2m of social distancing is ridiculous and not feasible unless grants were given to every affected business whereby they could be given the finances to at least cover their costs for the rest of the year.

It is just ridiculous to tell places they can only half open but then they don't get anymore financial support. We need to get to phase five ASAP. At best, phase two next week and then phase five two weeks later.

Fair play to businesses taking their own initiative to get back to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭manniot2

Nothing is going to be expedited in these phases - Harris said today he is "hopeful" we can go to bloody phase 2 next week. 6 months time when reality hits home, they will blame the doctors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

When you see some cafes and delis letting people eat in today because the weather isn't great then it's no surprise. The restrictions are going down the gutter and I'd highly doubt if a fair few of them opened up that they'd be forced to close. That goes for any business by the way if they can implement the guidance then let them open by the end of June.

Like you say if a large protest can happen with no repercussions then it's a free for all really and makes a joke of the whole restrictions on business

Exactly

If the VFI said to all members open on June 29th what could the guards or government do?

Very little

There's further marches planned for Dublin, Cork and Galway at the weekend

What's Leo and the guards going to do about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭vid36

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Exactly

If the VFI said to all members open on June 29th what could the guards or government do?

Very little

There's further marches planned for Dublin, Cork and Galway at the weekend

What's Leo and the guards going to do about it?

Those marches have been cancelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,571 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

The most dangerous virus to the population is varadkar, fg and nphet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,025 ✭✭✭growleaves

Organiser of Dublin's George Floyd solidarity march to self-isolate
    One of the organisers of a solidarity march in Dublin last Monday over the death of George Floyd has said he is going into self-isolation.

JYellowL is also urging other marchers to do the same, but activists here intend to press ahead with protests this weekend in solidarity with demonstrations in the United States.

That is despite a Garda investigation into alleged breaches of social distancing guidelines after thousands gathered in Dublin on Bank Holiday Monday and marched on the American Embassy in Ballsbridge.

vid36 wrote: »

Yeah and there is a seven pm curfew in the states being totally ignored. Despite how intimidating it must be to break curfew in front of law authorities and clash with them. What will the boy scout guards here do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,742 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

cure is worse than the disease territory now

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

growleaves wrote: »

That will get the organiser even more thumbs up on social media! A win / win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,153 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Sweden with the highest dearg rate pm in the world now.

Admit they would have done things differently if they had the chance.

Can you post a link to that please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

Can you post a link to that please.

The really mind boggling thing will be when they count up their deaths for 2020.

2019 deaths was like 92k

Current covid deaths is like 4k?

Boy, what will be our reaction when they report 91k in 2020 deaths? Couldve done better if avoided covid - give me a break.

but anyways this Sweden stuff is way off topic, their unemployment there is like 6-7%. ours is 26-28%. alarm bells anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

vid36 wrote: »

No announcement on the Cork ones Facebook page yet

Good if it is cancelled but the original Dublin one was a disgrace going ahead

Our World in Data has UK as higher in deaths per million than Sweden as of Jun 3 (today). Not sure if that's correct or out of date but not seeing any prominent news stories to contradict it.

Well that's proof if any was needed that you're on a wind up. A week or two ago you couldn't go a post without mentioning Sweden.

Yeah then i was told it was too offtopic and havent spoken about it since. Not much to talk about in fairness, as i said 92k deaths per year. covid deaths 4k. how is this even news lol, the only news here is imperial college predicting 96k deaths for Sweden off covid by June. Just slightly off, 1000%+ wrong

Whats your problem?

Any feedback on our 26% unemployment rate? or you dont like to talk about lockdown side effects?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,428 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Painfully dragging businesses through five phases of reopening and arsing about with 2m of social distancing is ridiculous and not feasible unless grants were given to every affected business whereby they could be given the finances to at least cover their costs for the rest of the year.
    It is just ridiculous to tell places they can only half open but then they don't get anymore financial support. We need to get to phase five ASAP. At best, phase two next week and then phase five two weeks later.
    Fair play to businesses taking their own initiative to get back to work.

What we all have to remember is that this are "Guidelines" only as recommended by medical staff in the HSE, they aren't laws, however because of the lack of political leadership in Ireland they are being followed to the letter.
    Business can't bend these guidelines as they could effect insurance cover for claims from staff or customers, and may also lead to closure from the HSE.
    Varadkar has specifically said that all businesses can't expect a taxpayer bailout.
    So over the next 6 - 8 months more and more businesses who will try and open under the Lockdown/2m law will close their doors permanently, and 2021 will be more like 1981 in terms of employment.

For what its worth, not that I pay much attention to these but its something Dr Tony is likely to show this evening. I worry for the 17% who think we're moving too quickly and the 6% who think much too quickly

https://twitter.com/RobOHanrahan/status/1268183609522995203?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

I’ve had two phone calls so far today.
    One was from my aesthetician clinic to schedule an appointment for me as they are now open for business and taking in clients as of today, and they weren’t due to open until phase 4.

The other was from my hairdresser, she is currently doing up a staff roster and wanted to know my preferred date for an appointment, she says she expects to be open at the very latest by next Friday.

So either they’ve been told something that hasn’t been announced yet, or they’re reopening of their own accord. Either way I’m not complaining. Leo’s speech on Friday should be interesting.

Screenshot below from the aesthetician clinic confirming their reopening, for anyone who is doubting my claims.

6.1 billion deficit for May, but let's drag out the reopening.

https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1268183596399038465?s=19

Ah, now I see.

The UK has the highest death rate per million.

However if you look at the rolling seven-day average, it is Sweden.

Maybe you could provide a link next time, for clarity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,428 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

For what its worth, not that I pay much attention to these but its something Dr Tony is likely to show this evening. I worry for the 17% who think we're moving too quickly and the 6% who think much too quickly

I'd like to know if their sample base are made up of those who are economically unaffected by the Lockdown.

Also I think it's time we stop the daily HSE / Holohan briefings, at this stage we have either low or no new deaths/cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭jay0109

Organiser of Dublin's George Floyd solidarity march to self-isolate
    Quote:
    One of the organisers of a solidarity march in Dublin last Monday over the death of George Floyd has said he is going into self-isolation.

JYellowL is also urging other marchers to do the same, but activists here intend to press ahead with protests this weekend in solidarity with demonstrations in the United States.

JYellowL :rolleyes:
    What a hero...the protest was Sunday afternoon and 72 hours later he/she come's out with this piece of fluff.

Children making it up as they go along

Yeah then i was told it was too offtopic and havent spoken about it since. Not much to talk about in fairness, as i said 92k deaths per year. covid deaths 4k. how is this even news lol, the only news here is imperial college predicting 96k deaths for Sweden off covid by June. Just slightly off, 1000%+ wrong

Whats your problem?

Any feedback on our 26% unemployment rate? or you dont like to talk about lockdown side effects?

400+ Deaths per week with no sign of it falling.

And 250,000 extra Swedes either on unemployment or state supports. Given their unemployment rate in February was 8.2% and in April its 8.2%, I tihkn there may be some creative number criuncing going on to hide the economic impact. But thats for the Swedish thread.
    36,500 people back to work here with only phase 1 implemented and more and more activity every day. We are on the right track. Time to accelerate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Is Leo talking Friday . Heard a few whispers we are going back to phase 1 . I agree with his stance . Scenes at the weekend were a disgrace

Horrifying stuff.

Still no announcement on 350 euro a week, a hint perhaps?

Less than expected due to better than Corporation tax as Medtech sector booms and vat fall was less than expected

Sorry, what was expected?

This lad in Irish examiner expected deficit of over 3bn. Not bloody 5 bn

"Wednesday, June 03, 2020 - 06:30 AM
    New figures will throw new light on the huge costs in supporting the economy and on the long-term pain as more households lose their jobs amid the Covid-19 economic crisis.

Exchequer figures published later today will likely show that a ballooning deficit of over €3bn in May as the €2bn-a-month cost in the pandemic unemployment and wage-support schemes are added to the continuing healthcare costs in fighting the pandemic."

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/business/corporation-tax-revenues-set-to-be-bright-spot-in-covid-19-economic-crisis-1003059.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,655 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Though I'm spattered with froth, I enjoy the warm glow from the rage.
    So the team won? Yay! Well done!
    I do enjoy dipping in and reading ill-informed and shallow rants. Usually, they're boring and repetitive but some are laugh out loud. For instance, the idea that clueless rants by posters on this thread are helping businesses and people in despair - is genuinely funny.
    Would that be faux laughter? Don't be sad.

Mod: It would be good if you could post something of substance. Don't post in this thread again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Is Leo talking Friday . Heard a few whispers we are going back to phase 1 . I agree with his stance . Scenes at the weekend were a disgrace
    Yeah he will and we will be going to Phase 2, no matter what your phone is whispering to you!