Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Idbatterim wrote: »
    When the economic turmoil kicks off, we can remind you of this idiocy now which will cause it ...

You can if I bother to read your posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

The virologist on prime time from ucd actually spoke sense there. Need to get on with things and live with virus!
    Holiday booked for a staycation in August with herself and our son and I’d like to be able to go around, pop into a pub for a beer, but food, bring the young lad to the beach and swimming pool. If the 2 metre distance is upheld it’ll be torture with a buggy!
    Both us are in safe employment and want to help get the economy going again hence staying at home for our summer holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,888 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Just watching rte ****e news. Taoiseach saying he’s confident of moving to Phase 2- well whopdedoo... spineless. I can’t see this plank moving beyond the blessed “plan” dates. Leo will probably head off to buy some socks and a little rest some place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

I finally managed to go the dentist today and was relieved to see very few operational changes.
    There was hand sanitiser by the entrance which they requested everyone use on the way in and about half the seats were taken out of the waiting room, though what seating was left definitely wasn’t 2m apart.

The receptionist wasn’t wearing a mask, she said it was impossible to speak on the phone with one and taking it on and off every two minutes defeats the purpose of even wearing it.
    The dentist and his assistant just wore gloves and masks as normal, no hazmat suits and PPE. He obviously didn’t stay or even try to social distance from me when he was carrying out my treatments.

He didn’t even bring up coronavirus or mention it till I did, and he said he had no intention in making big investments in protective equipment and changing how his business operates and running at a loss when he fully expects all these rules to be gone in a few months.

He said it wasn’t realistic or sustainable and that come August 10th, when everything is open, the government won’t be long scrapping the 2m distancing and queueing rules etc when they realise it will mean pretty much every business across all sectors will go under because it won’t be financially feasible to run at such reduced capacities.

He reckons there will be a big push to spend/eat out/drink at Christmas to try to recover some of the revenue that was lost these past few months and winter weather isn’t compatible with waiting 45 minutes in the cold to get into a shop or catching up with old friends from a 2m distance over dinner.

It was honestly such a relief to come across someone in real life so pragmatic and not bending over backwards spending stupid sums of money they can’t afford on new systems and procedures in the ‘fight against coronavirus’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,153 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Idbatterim wrote: »
    When the economic turmoil kicks off, we can remind you of this idiocy now which will cause it ...

Economic turmoil was always gonna happen from this.

Every country is the same.

Stop pretending we are the only ones entering a bad time.

Luckily our economy was in good shape before it and that means we will bounce back quicker than a lot of countries.

But I know that doesn't suit your Varadkar is splinter rant.

You have a personal grudge for years here you just can't let go of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

Just dipping in and out while passing time pleasantly. This thread has zero impact other than as a lightning rod for rants.

Probably the busiest thread on the site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭Sammy2012

Santy2015 wrote: »
    The virologist on prime time from ucd actually spoke sense there. Need to get on with things and live with virus!
    Holiday booked for a staycation in August with herself and our son and I’d like to be able to go around, pop into a pub for a beer, but food, bring the young lad to the beach and swimming pool. If the 2 metre distance is upheld it’ll be torture with a buggy!
    Both us are in safe employment and want to help get the economy going again hence staying at home for our summer holiday.

We have booked to go away the August bank holiday weekend. But I wont be going anywhere if there's no pools/pubs etc open. Wed have just as much fun at home.

SusieBlue wrote: »
    I finally managed to go the dentist today and was relieved to see very few operational changes.
    There was hand sanitiser by the entrance which they requested everyone use on the way in and about half the seats were taken out of the waiting room, though what seating was left definitely wasn’t 2m apart.

The receptionist wasn’t wearing a mask, she said it was impossible to speak on the phone with one and taking it on and off every two minutes defeats the purpose of even wearing it.
    The dentist and his assistant just wore gloves and masks as normal, no hazmat suits and PPE. He obviously didn’t stay or even try to social distance from me when he was carrying out my treatments.

He didn’t even bring up coronavirus or mention it till I did, and he said he had no intention in making big investments in protective equipment and changing how his business operates and running at a loss when he fully expects all these rules to be gone in a few months.

He said it wasn’t realistic or sustainable and that come August 10th, when everything is open, the government won’t be long scrapping the 2m distancing and queueing rules etc when they realise it will mean pretty much every business across all sectors will go under because it won’t be financially feasible to run at such reduced capacities.

He reckons there will be a big push to spend/eat out/drink at Christmas to try to recover some of the revenue that was lost these past few months and winter weather isn’t compatible with waiting 45 minutes in the cold to get into a shop or catching up with old friends from a 2m distance over dinner.

It was honestly such a relief to come across someone in real life so pragmatic and not bending over backwards spending stupid sums of money they can’t afford on new systems and procedures in the ‘fight against coronavirus’.

My kind of dentist ! This wasn’t in Kilkenny by any chance, my dentist who’s
    I know fairly well would be of the same church. They’re as much dentists as small business men these days so very understandable. They already employ great hygiene already and ppe so I think definitely one of the low risk sectors

Jackman25 wrote: »
    Probably the busiest thread on the site.

One of the busier. Not the busiest though. Plus the posters are quite homogeneous so it can be monotonous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Wife managed to get a hairdresser to call to the house on Friday,going to do my mother's hair as well,the longer these restrictions stay in place the more the black market will thrive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

Simon now condemned the march.

Won't please the permanently outraged here no doubt.

Yesterday was the day to do it. 24hours later makes it seem like he's only doing it because he was forced too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,025 ✭✭✭growleaves

Simon now condemned the march.

Won't please the permanently outraged here no doubt.

I'm very pleased. Though I don't think he's helping himself by hanging on to the 'Racism is a virus' rhetorical flourish. But hey I'm not in P.R. maybe its gold with focus groups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭VonLuck

bb1234567 wrote: »
    That is not the attitude.
    It is ' those people broke the rules and the gardai and government did not seem bothered or even so much as care to condemn it, so why should we bother?'

There's little done about cars breaking red lights or people littering in parks. Would you behave likewise because there is almost no enforcement?

One of the busier. Not the busiest though. Plus the posters are quite homogeneous so it can be monotonous.

Almost everything that can be said has been said. I will try to think of a fresh new angle to approach it from if I can lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Santy2015 wrote: »
    Whereabouts did you book if you don't mind me asking. Want to do the same myself with the missus and the young lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

Remove yourself then. The idiocy of staying here when it bores you........

Wife managed to get a hairdresser to call to the house on Friday,going to do my mother's hair as well,the longer these restrictions stay in place the more the black market will thrive

Good to hear it. Yes all forced into it but that the governments fault squarely. No one is going to wait until late July for a hair cut. I hope they’re all claiming the Covid payment too. At this stage it’s two fingers to the lot of them, especially Harris .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Tony Foley economist from DCU making a huge amount of sense on the Tonight Show

Well worth a watch for people

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    Remove yourself then. The idiocy of staying here when it bores you........

Though I'm spattered with froth, I enjoy the warm glow from the rage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

SusieBlue wrote: »

Great news. The world will not function with this social distancing garbage. Incredibly, some have become very invested in it, even passionate about it. They don’t just engage with it, they revel in it. More like your dentist are needed.

Though I'm spattered with froth, I enjoy the warm glow from the rage.

People are suffering, businesses are hammered, people are in despair. But you enjoy the “warm glow“. Says a lot about you to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Tony Foley economist from DCU making a huge amount of sense on the Tonight Show

Well worth a watch for people

Watching now. Ivan Yates is very good as always too. Says all NI is fully opened by 20th july. Huge difference to 10 Aug. damn right.

17 out of 20 countries who opened schools did not have any rise in cases. Bloody hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

road_high wrote: »
    People are suffering, businesses are hammered, people are in despair. But you enjoy the “warm glow“. Says a lot about you to be honest

The drooling and “spattering of froth” will soon diminish on this thread in the next few weeks as the virus gets less and less cases ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

VonLuck wrote: »
    There's little done about cars breaking red lights or people littering in parks. Would you behave likewise because there is almost no enforcement?

If the people breaking those laws were displayed on television and the news breaking those rules and the prime minister said on twitter they were great for breaking the red lights and literring then yes it would absolutely change my opinion on whether I should do those things, or at the very least I would begin to not feel guilt about breaking such rules if it was for some reason of more convenience for me to do so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,542 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Think almost everyone on boards are feeling the frustration of all this today

A lot of sniping and arguing on all the forums in on today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

My loca barber didn't close. He is literally a back door barber 😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

Plenty back and forth on it until the last few weeks. As cases have came down, so has the opposition with yesterday protest putting a huge dent in the opposition.

Really just Arghus now and the odd pathetic whinge about the thread itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,153 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Mr. Karate wrote: »
    Yesterday was the day to do it. 24hours later makes it seem like he's only doing it because he was forced too.

Or....

He was off on a bank holiday Monday like most of the country and back in work today.

Jackman25 wrote: »
    Plenty back and forth on it until the last few weeks. As cases have came down, so has the opposition with yesterday protest putting a huge dent in the opposition.

Really just Arghus now and the odd pathetic whinge about the thread itself.

So the team won? Yay! Well done!

Micky 32 wrote: »
    The drooling and “spattering of froth” will soon diminish on this thread in the next few weeks as the virus gets less and less cases ;)

Unless those are some of the symptoms? Lol