Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVII-24,841 in ROI (1,639 deaths) 4,679 in NI (518 deaths)(28/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

How ? Connecting flights you dont leave the airport so you don't cross the border.
    If a person flies here from the UK they have to quarantine.
    If a person arrives in Northern Ireland they have to quarantine.

The enforcement is about filling out the form, not enforcing the quarantine.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Who was asking about "Karen" a couple of days ago?

There you go. KarenElon Musk.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=113519412&postcount=4351

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

If a person flies here from the UK they have to quarantine.
    If a person arrives in Northern Ireland they have to quarantine.

The enforcement is about filling out the form, not enforcing the quarantine.

If I fly into Belfast there is absolutely nothing to stop me getting into the car and driving back home here.

Likewise here, you've to fill in the form , it's an offence not to but after that who's going to actually enforce it ? There isn't a hope in hell that the Gardai will be knocking on doors.

Yeah I get that the enforcement is filling in the form but it's pretty pointless if your not enforcing after that. Someone flies into the country fills in the form, gets a phone call asking if they're in quarantine they say yeah, well sure theres no proof they are or aren't and nothing to stop them going out and about.

This is all 3 months too late

If I fly into Belfast there is absolutely nothing to stop me getting into the car and driving back home here.

Likewise here, you've to fill in the form , it's an offence not to but after that who's going to actually enforce it ? There isn't a hope in hell that the Gardai will be knocking on doors
    So what? The whole point of it is for contact tracing. We know who has come from where and that's literally the point.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Some questions.

Why is Tiny Tony not there?

Why can we not hear the journalists?

Why are his sleeves rolled up, is he doing manual work?

Also there are 3 more people in ICU with Covid since Wednesday.

Sh!t craic. Only scanned the briefings during the week but Philip Nolan was a lot more palatable than this nonsense.

Simon Harris: "...the next ste-p *pops lips*"

Gross

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Can’t hear the questions people are asking Simon. What’s the point of that? Why even bother broadcasting it?

So what? The whole point of it is for contact tracing. We know who has come from where and that's literally the point.

So then what's the point in saying to them to quarantine if theres no enforcement?

Do you not think it sounds a bit stupid no ? Heres the form fill it in and if you want to quarantine go ahead if not well what can we do about it.

If your going to actually do something then back in March they should have implemented something similar but enforceable.

This is just a laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Can’t hear the questions people are asking Simon. What’s the point of that? Why even bother broadcasting it?
    Think with the usual DoH they walk up to mics, here they are shouting from the back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

RTE are so shoddy, so inept, so "sure twill do".

So then what's the point in saying to them to quarantine if theres no enforcement?

Do you not think it sounds a bit stupid no ? Heres the form fill it in and if you want to quarantine go ahead if not well what can we do about it.

If your going to actually do something then back in March they should have implemented something similar but enforceable.

This is just a laugh
    No I don't think it sounds stupid. The Minister specifically said it's to help contact tracing.
    https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1263870802426040322?s=20

is_that_so wrote: »
    Think with the usual DoH they walk up to mics, here they are shouting from the back!

“That’s grand” says RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

RTE are so shoddy, so inept, so "sure twill do".

It's the DoH who organise the briefings, of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭ZX7R

According to rte breaking news, the filling out of address form is mandatory .
    And are still asking passengers to self isolate at the provided address.
    The two weeks isolation are not mandatory so in that essence they would not be breaking the common European travel law's.

No I don't think it sounds stupid. The Minister specifically said it's to help contact tracing.
    https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1263870802426040322?s=20

How ? Theres feck all entering the country and that's not going to change between now and 18th of June

If there's nobody entering the country then I don't see what you're giving out about?

Because its something that should have been done months ago.

Its utterly pointless at this stage

ZX7R wrote: »
    According to rte breaking news, the filling out of address form is mandatory .
    And are still asking passengers to self isolate at the provided address.
    The two weeks isolation are not mandatory so in that essence they would not be breaking the common European travel law's.

I’m confused about that? If the 2 week isolation is not mandatory, what will the guards be checking?

So when will the daily briefing be held?

Italy reports 652 new cases of coronavirus and 130 new deaths.
    Over 75k tests done today.

Total of 228,658 cases and 32,616 deaths.

11 new deaths RIP

115 new cases

A mini-surge today, with 115 cases. 11 deaths also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Dead tally 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,147 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Doubling of daily cases in the past week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

THE SECOND WAVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,114 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Hmmm...cases rising again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭ZX7R

I’m confused about that? If the 2 week isolation is not mandatory, what will the guards be checking?

The mandatory isolation is not a problem.
    Weather the Garda check or not,it down to trace ability the Garda would only need to assure that you would be staying at the address.
    The problem up to know was some passengers we're not providing details when arriving now they can be traced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

The new travel restrictions are both a disgrace and a complete joke. We're going backwards while the rest of Europe is moving forwards. Half the people flying into the Republic will say they're on their way to the North to avoid this Draconian idiotic measure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

fritzelly wrote: »
    Hmmm...cases rising again
    Not even 0.5% increase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Not even 0.5% increase.

Or a 5% increase in active cases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,114 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Not even 0.5% increase.