Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVII-24,841 in ROI (1,639 deaths) 4,679 in NI (518 deaths)(28/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Arghus wrote: »
    They don't have the same appetite to interrogate Ronan as they usually do for Tony.

I actually think Ronan is way more capable of dealing with tough questions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭Onesea

I thought they stopped giving the age and sex of those that died?

Why is that?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Hrududu wrote: »
    Saw a fun one earlier. I was out for a spin on the bike, and had to slow down around Rathfarnham because a load of teenagers, maybe 10 or 12 of them were strung across the path on their bikes. From taking a guess based on what was going on it looked like an older man was giving out to them for being in a big group. I didn’t see it start but as I was going past (slowly as they took up the path and I wanted to be nosy) I heard one of the young fellas say “We can’t pass it on to people.” And as he said that one of his pals did a big exaggerated cough at the man. I mean, I thought that **** had died out a month ago.

Oh and at a first glance they all looked like kids that would be described as “coming from good families.”

You should have taken a photo and uploaded it everywhere. Some people need shaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,098 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

It's becoming clear that they need to move the phases forward. Pubs are reopened on the sly and a a lot are distributing take away pints. Hair dressers all gone into the black market. And people buying clothes online. The big loser is the government.

What exaggeration! Some pubs were trying to do takeaway pints. A very few hairdressers were operating clandestinely. People always bought clothes online.
    Bring anything forward wouldn't change this but could derail our recovery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

New Home wrote: »
    Which is what a lot of people have been doing all along, instead of voting with their heads.

Yet numbers and infection rates dropping, strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,150 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

That 2 hour thing could have massive implications for workplaces. Shifts will be staggered but there could still be quite a few people affected.

On testing/self-isolation, do people need to still self-isolate for the full 2 weeks even if test comes back as negative before then, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,155 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

He has a softer demeanor, but Tony sounds more authoritative. Even if they essentially say the same thing.

Bit less assertive/defensive (sometime there's a fine line) but yeah has good responses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,366 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    What exaggeration! Some pubs were trying to do takeaway pints. A very few hairdressers were operating clandestinely. People always bought clothes online.
    Bring anything forward wouldn't change this but could derail our recovery.

I think it's more common than you think, particularly with barbers and hair dressers.

And 40% of pubs said they will reopen as restaurants at the end of June.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Eod100 wrote: »
    That 2 hour thing could have massive implications for workplaces. Shifts will be staggered but there could still be quite a few people affected.

On testing/self-isolation, do people need to still self-isolate for the full 2 weeks even if test comes back as negative before then, right?

Hes clarified that it applies to meetings really but it's only guidance. You won't see meetings in workplaces anyway and you can be sure that people are and will be working with people for more than 2 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 TheyDidWhat?!

Was there any mention of why the CMO isn't there this evening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,612 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

You should have taken a photo and uploaded it everywhere. Some people need shaming.

who, the old lad for stopping them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭bettyoleary

Yeah they're also saying 79 new cases in the whole of England, no idea how accurate any of this is. I'd suggest not very but who knows
    There was 2,000 and something new cases today on BBC presser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Onesea wrote: »
    Why is that?

I have no idea, but at a guess the age of death was mostly of those in their 70's / 80's hard to get compliance from younger people if they get the impression it's an 'old' person killer. Just my opinion though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭double jobbing

Quite high death percentage for the Roma community

I have little doubt Kitty Holland and the like will blame our society for this rather than personal responsibility.

I think it's more common than you think, particularly with barbers and hair dressers.

And 40% of pubs said they will reopen as restaurants at the end of June.

I think said they would is key. Whether HSE, HSA, Gardai etc say otherwise remains to be seen. Could cause licence issues when renewing their licence for eg if they do.

I understand their point of view between restaurants and pubs but think people are conditioned to sit down at restaurants. Not sure it would be same in pubs unless you have tables and seats and ensure people don't go to other tables, only get up to use toilet. I'm not sure it's possible really.

I think vinters also need to be seen doing something so if plan is rejected they can say they've done everything. Will have to wait and see sure

No but he’s back tmrw they said

I have little doubt Kitty Holland and the like will blame our society for this rather than personal responsibility.

Would you say the same for homeless people? If they get it, it's some moral failing? You're assuming living conditions, whether someone can self-isolate etc have no impact on possibility of being infected.

I think said they would is key. Whether HSE, HSA, Gardai etc say otherwise remains to be seen. Could cause licence issues when renewing their licence for eg if they do.

I understand their point of view between restaurants and pubs but think people are conditioned to sit down at restaurants. Not sure it would be same in pubs unless you have tables and seats and ensure people don't go to other tables, only get up to use toilet. I'm not sure it's possible really.

I think vinters also need to be seen doing something so if plan is rejected they can say they've done everything. Will have to wait and see sure

Theres no licence issues, if they have a restaurant licence they can open end of June based off that licence but it's only the ones that do food and you'll probably have to be having a meal. Theres more pubs currently going through the courts to get restaurant licenses without Garda objections so they're being approved and issued.

If you just want to go in for a drink you'll be waiting until August.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭lbj666

Probably cause he hasnt had a night off in 2 months

Hes clarified that it applies to meetings really but it's only guidance. You won't see meetings in workplaces anyway and you can be sure that people are and will be working with people for more than 2 hours.

Ah yeah and other side of it is non-essential workers may not return to offices for forseeable future. I think going to a workplace when you don't need to and can do job elsewhere needs to change.

Think some managers reluctant to go along with it as loss of control and think productivity would decrease but may increase. Pros and cons to both I think so will be interesting to see if there's long-term changes.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

who, the old lad for stopping them?

No, the little shíts acting the maggot.

My calculations have 1,564 active cases

Theres no licence issues, if they have a restaurant licence they can open end of June based off that licence but it's only the ones that do food and you'll probably have to be having a meal. Theres more pubs currently going through the courts to get restaurant licenses without Garda objections so they're being approved and issued.

If you just want to go in for a drink you'll be waiting until August.

Yeah I guess roadmap differentiates between a pub and restaurant but if a pub has or gets a restaurant licence it's a bit of a grey area. By rights then they can obviously only serve drink with food so would be tricky to enforce I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,155 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Keep it simple lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Nope, we are the big losers. We are the government. Every man woman and child will pay for this , year's into the future through higher taxes and dwindling services.

Pretty sure higher taxes and dwindling services is what we have had for the last decade as austerity taxes applied to income while big companies like Google, Apple etc have paid less and less at the expense of public services. The future will be to tax faceless corporates and assets over individuals.

Yeah I guess roadmap differentiates between a pub and restaurant but if a pub has or gets a restaurant licence it's a bit of a grey area. By rights then they can obviously only serve drink with food so would be tricky to enforce I think.

Yeah complete grey area, and theres alot of them in this roadmap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,708 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

is_that_so wrote: »
    This Karen thing is not working for me at all! :confused: Why not, say Grainne, Clodagh or Ciara?

What's it supposed to mean anyway?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,103 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

is_that_so wrote: »
    This Karen thing is not working for me at all! :confused: Why not, say Grainne, Clodagh or Ciara?
    Tony EH wrote: »
    What's it supposed to mean anyway?

https://knowyourmeme.com/memes/karen

Is it just me who thinks two hours is a little long for close contacts? Surely if you’re in the vicinity of a positive case for as little as 30 minutes you could exposed.