Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVII-24,841 in ROI (1,639 deaths) 4,679 in NI (518 deaths)(28/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

We don't know how widespread it actually is until we start doing widespread antibody testing.

Widespread antibody testing will show who has had the virus, not who has it currently. You only develop antibodies if you've defeated the virus. I think our hospitals tell us quite clearly how widespread the virus is currently.

For interest if you look at Ireland's death's for 2018, 85 people on average died every day, there are other 'killers' out there unfortunately that are being put on the long finger because of Covid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

micar wrote: »
    A few minutes????? A person running will run about 100m every 30 seconds. A few mins would be 400-600 m.

You want us believe that you saw someone running towards you from that distance and stopped to wait for them. ..... perhaps 50m to 100m max at most......

Why would a person running Zig zag???? Perhaps to better a better view of the road ahead.

I' m a regular runner myself, I found the post so ridiculous I couldn't even be bothered responding to it.
    On the Zig zag thing I do swap sides of the road every few Km to take pressure off one hip due to the camber of the road.
    Some seem to actually go out of their way to wind themselves and others up.

Widespread antibody testing will show who has had the virus, not who has it currently. You only develop antibodies if you've defeated the virus. I think our hospitals tell us quite clearly how widespread the virus is currently.

For interest if you look at Ireland's death's for 2018, 85 people on average died every day, there are other 'killers' out there unfortunately that are being put on the long finger because of Covid.
    How are the hospitals measuring asymptomatic people?:confused:

True, it seems rampant allright in our communities, people are dropping dead on the streets, hospitals are overwhelmed, ICU's are full to the brim, doctor's are overworked...That person better watch out for those virus filled 'joggers' who are going to exhale large amount of Covid 19 into the open air and into everyone that lies in their wake...scenes of carnage I'm sure will ensue...all because they didn't wear masks.

Oh wait that never happened and the virus is practically eliminated in the community and medics are taking annual leave.

Probably listened to too much Pat Kenny who, by 10.15, has normally mentioned “plumes of COVID” emanating from every runner and cyclist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

Someone on the internet did a very convincing debunking of the methodology of the 'test' that started the whole 'runners spraying droplets in a 10m plume behind them' nonsense. Kingston Mills, Professor of experimental immunology at TCD, and former top marathon runner, has stated categorically that people have little to fear from runners or cyclists moving past them at speed.

How are the hospitals measuring asymptomatic people?:confused:

You're right, stay inside, stay safe and stay scared is the best approach.
    And if you dare to venture out (and don't dare go beyond the coveted 5km!), make sure you're covered head to toe in protective gear and take plenty of pictures of people in public places also to post on social media later so people can vilify them for living their lives and not living in fear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

And if you dare to venture out (and don't dare go beyond the coveted 5km!), make sure you're covered head to toe in protective gear and take plenty of pictures of people in public places also to post on social media later so people can vilify them for living their lives and not living in fear.

Fear my Edgelord-ism!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,674 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Saying on the news that Tony Holohan is concerned that in a recent survey nearly half the population think that the worst is over. Maybe I am naive but is it really that bad that people think the worst is over? We had almost 1,000 new cases three days in a row back in April, so are the other 50% of the population expecting it to get worse than those levels again? We aren't out of the woods yet but I didn't think it was overly optimistic saying that hopefully the worst is behind us..

Never said anything like that.

#projectspin

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/hazmatsuitandmask/emergency-mask-and-hazmat-suit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Saying on the news that Tony Holohan is concerned that in a recent survey nearly half the population think that the worst is over. Maybe I am naive but is it really that bad that people think the worst is over? We had almost 1,000 new cases three days in a row back in April, so are the other 50% of the population expecting it to get worse than those levels again? We aren't out of the woods yet but I didn't think it was overly optimistic saying that hopefully the worst is behind us..

Agree, but if Tony says the worst is behind us then everyone relaxes. Bit of a lose lose situation as if he does his job right, while he says the worst is still ahead, and we get it under control, people may not trust his word if say this thing does move into the background but reemerges in autumn.

The other thing is if this somehow does act like a bad influenza season and lasts 3 months before magically disappearing, the govt and NPHET may lose credibility after grinding the country to a halt for “nothing”. Not that I think that’s what’s going to happen, as much as everyone would love it.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Concern is probably people will think it's over and stop observing the basics like handwashing and social distancing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,674 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Yeah that's true actually. I suppose I was just surprised that half the population think there is worse to come. Fingers crossed there isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,116 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Yeah that's true actually. I suppose I was just surprised that half the population think there is worse to come. Fingers crossed there isn't.

Thats not what the survey means

Never said anything like that.

#projectspin

Fair enough,
    What I painted is essentially what the media&politicians have encouraged us to do over the past few weeks, which is damaging to to our society.

Fair enough,
    What I painted is essentially what the media&politicians have encouraged us to do over the past few weeks, which is damaging to very damaging to our society.

So the media and politicians are telling people to take pictures of people not socially distancing? Must have missed that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,101 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Fair enough,
    What I painted is essentially what the media&politicians have encouraged us to do over the past few weeks, which is damaging to very damaging to our society.

That's patently untrue. What media or politician encouraged the over reaction and totally over the top behaviour you referred to?

So the media and politicians are telling people to take pictures of people not socially distancing? Must have missed that one.

I saw a concerted effort coming up to the Easter weekend - Councillors and others shamefully posted a picture from Salthill prom during the July 2018 heatwave to imply it was present day and got hundreds of comments of outrage until they were called out. Who decided to start that campaign and why? It was also followed by comments from our authorities at national level of concern over not following the guidelines when the true picture was we were all at home and complying.
    I have also seen the Connacht Tribune publish a video of approx 6 people on Salthill beach two weekends ago - and a few strollers on the prom looking for a reaction. These were families with young children miles away from each other. This is a violation of their privacy, it could put the individuals in danger and is shocking behaviour from a supposed respectable local paper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    I may have gotten it wrong but I took the three week gaps to a maximum time between phases and if the evidence showed otherwise that would be shorten. That was my understanding at the time anyway.

Yeah, the dates didn’t seem set in stone to me either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,101 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Yeah, the dates didn’t seem set in stone to me either.

They aren't set in stone but only in so far as the suggested dates may pass without enacting the next phase if the cases/hospitalisations don't keep at a manageable level.

I saw a concerted effort coming up to the Easter weekend - Councillors and others shamefully posted a picture from Salthill prom during the July 2018 heatwave to imply it was present day and got hundreds of comments of outrage until they were called out. Who decided to start that campaign and why? It was also followed by comments from our authorities at national level of concern over not following the guidelines when the true picture was we were all at home and complying.
    I have also seen the Connacht Tribune publish a video of approx 6 people on Salthill beach two weekends ago - and a few strollers on the prom looking for a reaction. These were families with young children miles away from each other. This is a violation of their privacy, it could put the individuals in danger and is shocking behaviour from a supposed respectable local paper.

Any links to these? Where was the encouragement to videotape them coming from? You are starting to sound a bit.... conspirital.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

boardise wrote: »
    I'm afraid your vapid generalisation doesn't really stand much scrutiny.

Apart from FG =strongly pro-EU and Tory Party = strongly anti-EU...

FG have supported much of the progressive legislation introduced in Ireland over the last 3 decades or so and enacted it in government - Divorce , Abortion , Gay Marriage.

divorce, abortion , gay marriage or the EU are not right/ left issues per se.

FG are undoubtedly a right wing party with a fascistic pedigree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,115 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

https://twitter.com/Angie_RejoinEU/status/1262094849861398529

And his wife on a ventilator...

Quite a few of these stories emerging actually of karma I guess.

It's important to treat disease of all types seriously. Not everything is a hoax.

American saying Covid is a hoax and God is bigger than the virus, can't say I'm surprised. Any stories closer to home, or do you have to trawl the net to seek these articles out?
    As an aside his obese nature certainly won't help him in the fight against the virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭crossman47

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    They aren't set in stone but only in so far as the suggested dates may pass without enacting the next phase if the cases/hospitalisations don't keep at a manageable level.

Or, if things go well, items scheduled for Phase 4 could be brought forward to Phase 3.

crossman47 wrote: »
    Or, if things go well, items scheduled for Phase 4 could be brought forward to Phase 3.

Phases will be brought forward. Much of Europe reopening no justification to have Ireland still in lockdown of one variety or another till August.
    New government will speed things up significantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,623 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Roger_007 wrote: »
    The only case that I know personally about was a woman in he forties who developed symptoms and tested positive. Her husband and three children all tested negative on two tests.

A cousin of mine and her husband got the virus but their kids never got it from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,367 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

We know this. The hoax thing isn't a belief widely held in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,623 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Monday numbers are skewed by the weekend, so I'd hold fire on making a judgement about free for all acceleration in any event. Tomorrow is the number that matters this week.

*Covid 19 is not going to burn itself out* Stop with the Trumpian BS

If you then compare with other Monday numbers the result is still the same trend, going down and going down, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭blackcard

Coming from a medium sized town, I came across 5 building sites today. 2 were small sites and were grand. Council doing a job which was fine too. A medium sized site was fine too. On the large site, there was no work on site today. Everyone was getting an induction for the new working procedures and working their way through potential issues.
    Of the shops that I saw opened, there was 1 phone shop where social distancing wasn't taking place.
    You could see some groups of teenagers around who seemed to be brazenly flouting social distancing. I was tempted to have a word with them but I didn't.
    Wore a mask for the first time today in a supermarket, I am not sure if it makes any difference but it might remind others to comply.

I went for a walk this evening and I could see 4 teenagers sitting on the parapet of a bridge and I was frustrated. However as I got nearer, I saw that they were actually keeping apart from each other. I said 'Fair play to ye lads, ye are exactly 2 metres apart' They laughed. Made my day.