Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVII-24,841 in ROI (1,639 deaths) 4,679 in NI (518 deaths)(28/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Strazdas wrote: »
    It's somewhat unclear. Some outdoor tourism and public amenities will reopen but from what I can gather, people are still being encouraged not to sunbathe and they should keep moving when out in the open. They don't want a scenario where people congregate in one area for hours and don't move (even if they maintain social distancing).

I think the new limit next week is 20km, not 5km.

The increase to 20kms is on June 8th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭RugbyLad11

Strazdas wrote: »
    It's somewhat unclear. Some outdoor tourism and public amenities will reopen but from what I can gather, people are still being encouraged not to sunbathe and they should keep moving when out in the open. They don't want a scenario where people congregate in one area for hours and don't move (even if they maintain social distancing).

I think the new limit next week is 20km, not 5km.

I could be wrong but I think the 20km limit is not until June or July

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭ek motor

https://english.elpais.com/economy_and_business/2020-05-12/will-the-office-become-a-thing-of-the-past-in-spain.html

Offices may never return to normal .... sigh...

even the most pessimistic views , in 3 years time this shouldn't be an issue anymore with most of the world vaccinated or with herd immunity kicked in.

Why wouldn't they return to normal ?
    future pandemics ? - a roughly once a century event ??

I remember after 9/11 people were saying the age of the tall building is OVER , and they will start building huge structures underground instead - people seem to be very short sighted during a crisis - and yes I include myself here...

There is no guarantee of either 'herd immunity' (no evidence of long term immunity for other coronaviruses) , or a vaccine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

From the WHO on their big solidarity trial, but no cure anywhere in sight
    The World Health Organization said on Tuesday that some treatments appear to be limiting the severity or length of the Covid-19 respiratory disease and that it was focusing on learning more about four or five of the most promising ones.

ek motor wrote: »
    There is no guarantee of either 'herd immunity' (no evidence of long term immunity for other coronaviruses) , or a vaccine.

Millions of cases worldwide and months later and a few stories out of certain places that have been attributed to everything except reinfection.

Can you detail how that evidence would be gotten? What's the process.. Does a government force a citizen to try to get reinfected?

Explain it to me. How do you prove it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Stheno wrote: »
    Nope the 20km doesn't come in till the 8th of June :(

Oh right.....well, that rules out many of the beaches, tourist attractions and public amenities anyway then for many people (and means Gardai still have the right to stop anyone going to them who doesn't live near them).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,978 ✭✭✭growleaves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭daydorunrun

Does anybody know the protocol for visiting an elderly parent who lives quite a distance away, Meath to Limerick?

Is it possible to get clearance from Guards for special circumstances- father in law has been unwell for years and is now suffering badly with his mental health. Hasn’t seen his daughter since February and is struggling big time, saying some dark stuff about not carrying on by phone and text. She is beside herself with worry. She doesn’t drive so was going to drive her down for a social distance meeting up for an hour and drive back as I think it would make a huge difference to them both.
    I would just take matters in my own hands and go ahead but feel the chances of getting through a dozen checkpoints and having to tell the story each time are slim.

Any thoughts?

“You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.” Homer.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Does anybody know the protocol for visiting an elderly parent who lives quite a distance away, Meath to Limerick?

Is it possible to get clearance from Guards for special circumstances- father in law has been unwell for years and is now suffering badly with his mental health. Hasn’t seen his daughter since February and is struggling big time, saying some dark stuff about not carrying on by phone and text. She is beside herself with worry. She doesn’t drive so was going to drive her down for a social distance meeting up for an hour and drive back as I think it would make a huge difference to them both.
    I would just take matters in my own hands and go ahead but feel the chances of getting through a dozen checkpoints and having to tell the story each time are slim.

Any thoughts?

Ring the Gardaí and ask them - I seem to remember there was a clause re: compassionate grounds and looking after people who were cocooning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

hmmm wrote: »
    A number of businesses are finding that staff enjoy working from home, and they are not seeing any productivity differences. If you're a CFO seeing this, it would make sense to seriously consider whether you need to have all the office space you currently have.

I don't expect offices to go back before 2021 realistically. It's going to be difficult to ask all your staff to get back on public transport/queue in traffic when they have become accustomed to working from home. I think the workplace of the future is going to be primarily remote, or possibly hybrid at best. Companies with everyone working in an office will be seen as dinosaurs.
    There is only one result certain when attempting to predict the future, failure.

If office spacing restrictions remain in place in the medium term, how will large companies with high tech office space on long leases react to having their m2/employee cost rise by a factor of 2-5 or maybe much higher. That's before considering possible mandatory HVAC upgrades.

It is unlikely that the lessor will look favourably on reduction of their income, which implies that the employers' space costs will remain high while they are faced with funding employees home office setups, and possibly tax liabilities arising therefrom.

Closing their Irish operations will probably be one of the options examined.

Any thoughts?

Definitely allowed in this instance:
    From the HSE Website:
    https://www2.hse.ie/conditions/coronavirus/protect-yourself-and-others.html#stay-at-home
    Everyone needs to stay at home to help slow the spread of coronavirus.

You should only leave your home to:

shop for essential food and household goods
    attend medical appointments, collect medicine or other health products
    care for children, older people or other vulnerable people - this excludes social family visits
    exercise outdoors - within 5 kilometres of your home and only with people from your household - keeping 2 metres between you and other people
    travel to work if you provide an essential service - be sure to practice social distancing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

is_that_so wrote: »

Seems like the old sledge hammer approach to crack a nut. The Chinese don't do things by halves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,109 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

UK reports 627 new deaths and 3,403 new cases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Flights are going to be an interesting topic.

If a country has gotten their numbers down or close to zero, then there is few , if any people who will be able to spread the virus. Taking in flights from any country could be the undoing of all that work. Without proper quarantine procedures and quick responses it seems like this will be the biggest issue with 2nd waves.

But its never really been (that I can see or hear) properly highlighted or at least its not discussed like the social distancing and mask wearing strategy's. Is it because of the economic impact of the airline industrys if they are highlighted as a serious issue for spread ? This is the only reason why I can think flights are basically not completely off the table.

Next to having a massive orgy with strangers, there arent many things worse then a flight that I can think of spreading it if you are infected, especially if you use public transport.

- Bus/Train to Airport
    - Time in airport - shops, toilets, resterauts, pubs
    - Time queing with passengers
    - Time on plane - using toilet, walking around, even sneezing/coughing in one spot and the air being locked in
    - Getting off plan again with loads of people (we have seen photos of the impracticality of social distancing on planes)
    - Going through terminals,
    - Getting public transport to hotel
    - Checking into Hotel
    - Using hotel bar/resteraunt

You could all these things in a few hours and its just impossible to work out how many people you might of infected.

But it feels like this is not really being discussed for economic and political reasons.

The counter argument might be the impractical nature of closing down flights/ports to tourists or business people who may need to do business in Ireland. I would say let business people in, but in a very restrictive manner. Tourism wont die as Irish people still need to go on holidays themselves so this should replace some of the lost tourism.

But regardless of the counter argument, there is no meaningful discussions on the impacts of flights. Really is a good reminder of how much discussion can be manipulated away from science for certain agendas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

is_that_so wrote: »
    From the WHO on their big solidarity trial, but no cure anywhere in sight

This looks promising ...

https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/covid-19-3-drug-combo-treatment-may-be-successful

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Bryan Adams has made an expletive-filled attack on Chinese people

on his Instagram page, the Canadian singer wrote:

''Tonight was supposed to be the beginning of a tenancy of gigs at the @royalalberthall, but thanks to some f**king bat eating, wet market animal selling, virus making greedy Chinese bastards, the whole world is now on hold, not to mention the thousands that have suffered or died from this virus. My message to them ‘thanks a f**king lot’

There has been unreported cases as far back as December all over. It may not have even started in China, they were just the first to report it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Bryan Adams has made an expletive-filled attack on Chinese people

on his Instagram page, the Canadian singer wrote:

''Tonight was supposed to be the beginning of a tenancy of gigs at the @royalalberthall, but thanks to some f**king bat eating, wet market animal selling, virus making greedy Chinese bastards, the whole world is now on hold, not to mention the thousands that have suffered or died from this virus. My message to them ‘thanks a f**king lot’

That blows the theory of Canadians being mild mannered an inoffensive out of the water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

Millions of cases worldwide and months later and a few stories out of certain places that have been attributed to everything except reinfection.

Can you detail how that evidence would be gotten? What's the process.. Does a government force a citizen to try to get reinfected?

Explain it to me. How do you prove it.

You don't prove a negative. There is no guarantee, we won't know for a number of years.

The more successful options the better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

bekker wrote: »
    If office spacing restrictions remain in place in the medium term, how will large companies with high tech office space on long leases react to having their m2/employee cost rise by a factor of 2-5 or maybe much higher. That's before considering possible mandatory HVAC upgrades.
    Where's the benefit to any desk-bound organisation retooling their office space in order to bring back a socially-distanced 1/4 of their staff for what is a hopefully 12-18 month problem, many of whom probably won't want to come back (or travel on public transport). I find the whole idea that offices will come back, before a vaccine, just pie in the sky. It'll be remote working until a vaccine or some other breakthrough.

In the longer term, it's hard to predict what happens, but after workers have been working from home for a year there will be an element of normality in that, and returning to an office will be seen as an imposition for many. I expect smart CFOs will look to make use of this, assuming that productivity numbers have held up. The commercial office with humans exhausted from commutes, packed into a noisy virus-spreading open plan space, looks a bit like an antiquated work practice.

Whatever about multi-nationals leaving Ireland as a consequence, there is the bigger risk I think that a shift to remote working may mean that location is seen as less of an issue when hiring, which wouldn't be good for these various "hubs" we are trying to encourage in certain areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Seamai wrote: »
    That blows the theory of Canadians being mild mannered an inoffensive out of the water.

Sad thing is people will probably call him a racist now or something like that when its clearly not the case.

The Chinese have an awful lot to answer for. Their behaviour one way or another has brought human civilisation to its knees, which is no mean feat. It will take years to recover from this. As one of their own researchers said a few years ago, wet markets are a bomb waiting to happen. They have now managed to destroy the airline industry, the cruise industry, hospitality industry, Irish pubs, and many many more businesses. All because of their eating habits. You'd think they'd learn from the past, but nope, full steam ahead.

Vegans tend to lose the head quite a bit.

What to get a vegan for Christmas:

Vitamin b12 injections

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

UK reports 627 new deaths and 3,403 new cases

No matter what way that figure of 627 deaths is dressed up, using excuses about the lag in reporting due to it being a long weekend it's still pretty grim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

It's good, but needs to be applied early. Those were cases that might not have been hospitalised in a high burden environment.

Good news is that with rapid and abundant testing this could be almost a home treatment. The antivirals are pills and the interferon is a simple injection (no IV drip or even vein injection needed).

From the speculation around this combo, most clinicians are thinking it's mostly the interferon kicking the patients innate immune system back in alert mode counteracting the virus's immune suppressing actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭coastwatch

RugbyLad11 wrote: »
    I could be wrong but I think the 20km limit is not until June or July

That particular restriction is being way too cautious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Because one Canadian was rude ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,114 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Ice cream vans are back out - kids are happy...

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Because one Canadian was rude ??

He's English-born and has always been a bit grumpy!