Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVII-24,841 in ROI (1,639 deaths) 4,679 in NI (518 deaths)(28/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Colibri

is_that_so wrote: »
    I'm repeating their position on this. Take it up with them.

That's the problem, it's nigh on impossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

Thanks, i always wanted a stalker.

You think it would be easier to find a job when dead then i'm presuming ?

No stalking needed. Hard not to see your posts, you are all over the forum like a rash.

How are all his former employees going to be dead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Colibri wrote: »
    That's the problem, it's nigh on impossible.
    The only sop, if you will, to masks is that they are usually used in conjunction with a lot of other measures which are believed to have much greater effects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭jd1983

I was just reading this article and was wondering if there's any explanation for the high death rate in 2019 from April?
    Between these months it was consistently higher than the 10 year average, the delta was particularly large for the last 3 months.

https://www.rte.ie/brainstorm/2020/0505/1136496-death-notices-ireland-coronavirus/

BTW: I know rip.ie doesn't give accurate death rates but it should provide a decent approximation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Colibri wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/orlaryan/status/1259442614643949568

Up until recently, they didn't even acknowledge there very real risk of asymptomatic cases spreading the virus. Face masking is so incredibly important, I don't know what their game is. This is essential.

A road to Damascus conversion for our Irish speaking doctor !

Asymptomatic and silent spreaders have been known about since early February, yet all we got was lectures on how useless masks and face coverings were for the general public and how difficult they were to wear. It should also be mentioned that face coverings for all will reduce the virus load on fomites, like plastic and metal surfaces, and thus reduce transmission.

Get your fingers out of your asses DOH, CMO and HSE and actually do something which might limit the spread of this nasty virus.

But like all their other interventions it's "too little too late".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Colibri

The only sop, if you will, to masks is that they are usually used in conjunction with a lot of other measures which are believed to have much greater effects.

Used in conjunction I agree with 100%! Hand washing too, but even social distancing could be extended beyond the 2m rule.

Anywho, I'm off to have a shower and get dressed, because I'm a lazy fecker with too much time on my hands at the moment :pac:

I wish you all the best, is_that_so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭JoChervil

The government has spent an absolute fortune on social distancing adds and they have worked for the majority of people.

Why not put funds into a massive advertising campaign educating people on the merits of proper face mask usage and the advantages of same.

This is stuff that should have been done weeks ago. I just can't understand the logic to this. We all want to go back to work and about our lives as much as possible and masks are going to play a massive role in this.

Yes. They should do it as a continuation of social distancing. If you can't socially distance yourself like in a public transport or small shops, you have to wear mask. Simple as that. And it has to start now, not on the 18th.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

jd1983 wrote: »
    I was just reading this article and was wondering if there's any explanation for the high death rate in 2019 from April?
    Between these months it was consistently higher than the 10 year average, the delta was particularly large for the last 3 months.

https://www.rte.ie/brainstorm/2020/0505/1136496-death-notices-ireland-coronavirus/

BTW: I know rip.ie doesn't give accurate death rates but it should provide a decent approximation.

I think a 10 year average is way too wide to use as a comparative there. RIP usage would have been fair less 10 years ago, so not sure the numbers back then would be reflective of actual deaths.

Charts aren't normalised for population either, or ageing of the population. Both of which have increased over the past decade.

They should've compared 2019 to a 3-5 year average instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

If someone goes to work wearing a cloth mask covering e.g. cotton, and they then go on lunch, what's the mask etiquette, should they just put it in a separate bag, and wash their hands? Would they need to replace with another mask covering when they return fromnl lunch?

I know it might seem quite extreme, but if you have to wear a mask for a longer time I would do it in an 1 hour intervals. I would prepare 10 cloth masks and exchange them every hour (putting them in a separate bag after usage), if you have to wear them for so long non-stop.

You know, you are also exhaling not the nicest things so keeping it inhaling back, wouldn't be the healthiest. Nasty bacteria can develop in 4 hours on food left outside the fridge, so to prevent it from happening on your home made mask from inside, I would keep changing them every hour. And then wash them after returning home.

I am doing it now. After I return home I am just washing my mask in my hands, so by the way I am washing my hands thoroughly as well, so not special time sacrificed for it.

You could also just go to toilet every hour take off your mask soak it in a soap foam and dispose it to the bag. So after returning home, you would have to only rinse them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

https://www.ibtimes.sg/china-partly-closes-shulan-city-near-north-korea-amid-surge-coronavirus-cases-44762

Essential services in a Chinese city near the North Korean border have been closed, state of alert raised to high after dozens of new cases of local transmission have been reported

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

JoChervil wrote: »
    I know it might seem quite extreme, but if you have to wear a mask for a longer time I would do it in an 1 hour intervals. I would prepare 10 cloth masks and exchange them every hour (putting them in a separate bag after usage), if you have to wear them for so long non-stop.

You know, you are also exhaling not the nicest things so keeping it inhaling back, wouldn't be the healthiest. Nasty bacteria can develop in 4 hours on food left outside the fridge, so to prevent it from happening on your home made mask from inside, I would keep changing them every hour. And then wash them after returning home.

I am doing it now. After I return home I am just washing my mask, so by the way I am washing my hands thoroughly as well, so not special time sacrificed for it.

Problem is we live in Ireland... And washing masks and drying for a second day. So you would need 20 masks, have some in the wash and drying.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Problem is we live in Ireland... And washing masks and drying for a second day. So you would need 20 masks, have some in the wash and drying.

How do you manage with underpants?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I am doing it now. After I return home I am just washing my mask in my hands, so by the way I am washing my hands thoroughly as well, so not special time sacrificed for it.

You could also just go to toilet every hour take off your mask soak it in a soap foam and dispose it to the bag. So after returning home, you would have to only rinse them.

Employers will be obliged to provide masks to staff under the return to work plan - problem solved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

My job are supplying masks when we go back. They will be compulsory. We will be getting two a day and two more if we travel by public transport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭RugbyLad11

My job are supplying masks when we go back. They will be compulsory. We will be getting two a day and two more if we travel by public transport

What industry do you work in

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

RugbyLad11 wrote: »

It doesn't matter, all employers have to provide them under the return to work plan

They can be penalised by the HSA for refusing to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,449 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Stheno wrote: »
    It doesn't matter, all employers have to provide them under the return to work plan

Do they? I only read it quickly, didn't see anything about compulsory masks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Employers will be obliged to provide masks to staff under the return to work plan - problem solved

So have they essentially made it mandatory that an employer will need to provide a mask in workplace? Do you have link to doc? Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭ChelseaRentBoy

New Home wrote: »

Inside out, back to front :D

4 days right there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

RugbyLad11 wrote: »

Funds. I am in an office. Don't deal with many people in person mostly phone or email.

New Home wrote: »

I don't change my underpants 10 times a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

They can be penalised by the HSA for refusing to do so.

They actually dont have to provide them, it's up to the employer based on the needs of the company if they cant maintain social distancing. A company wont be shut down for failing to provide face masks so long as they maintain social distancing. If they can't maintain it then they should have masks available to staff.

From rte:
    In relation to the wearing of facemasks, the protocol notes that they are not a substitute for other safety and hygiene measures.

"However, if masks are worn they should be clean and they should not be shared or handled by other colleagues," it states.

And from the document
    In settings where 2 metre worker separation cannot be ensured by organisational
    means, alternative protective measures should be put in place, for example:
    o Make face masks available to the worker in line with Public Health advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Actually their message has been pretty blunt throughout, weak evidence, save for those who where infected.

And why do we all have to stay home and not interact with people as much as we used to? Because we are being asked to act like we are infected. Because the fact is that some of us are and will be infectious before we realise we are. So if we are supposed to act as if we are potentially infected, the same surely applies to masks. It's utter bullshît that mask wearing hasn't been recommended.

Yes, I know, but it is one off effort. Wouldn't it be worth it, if it allowed our economy to open?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭DisneyLover

Is anyone else using the dart for work?
    I work in HC and it was so busy this week :/ There where children on it in a group, lads in tracksuits chilling with cans.
    Where's the security ? They should be protecting the HSE staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

So have they essentially made it mandatory that an employer will need to provide a mask in workplace? Do you have link to doc? Thanks

https://dbei.gov.ie/en/Publications/Return-to-Work-Safely-Protocol.html

Document is in a PDF there on that page. It's not mandatory. If the business can't maintain social distancing in the work place they are given examples of what they might be able to do to have extra safety measures for staff. One example is to make masks available to staff.

They actually dont have to provide them, it's up to the employer based on the needs of the company if they cant maintain social distancing. A company wont be shut down for failing to provide face masks so long as they maintain social distancing. If they can't maintain it then they should have masks available to staff.

From rte:
    In relation to the wearing of facemasks, the protocol notes that they are not a substitute for other safety and hygiene measures.

"However, if masks are worn they should be clean and they should not be shared or handled by other colleagues," it states.

And from the document
    In settings where 2 metre worker separation cannot be ensured by organisational
    means, alternative protective measures should be put in place, for example:
    o Make face masks available to the worker in line with Public Health advice.

You're correct I reread the doc, it says they have to provide hand sanitiser but other ppe is "where practibale"

Dunno how I interpreted it as mandatory, could have been due to my office providing facemasks and requiring them to be worn prior to shutting the office

Yes, I know, but it is one off effort. Wouldn't it be worth it, if it allowed our economy to open?

I agree, it's what I'm doing currently. I have a few days worth made up.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Asymptomatic and silent spreaders have been known about since early February, yet all we got was lectures on how useless masks and face coverings were for the general public and how difficult they were to wear.
    Worse, we had Cormican telling the Irish public that asymptomatic spread was of such low risk that if you were living with a known Covid contact person you should go about your life as normally as possible as they wouldn't be shedding virus until they came down with symptoms like a "sore throat and runny nose". Yep. In March he said this. A month after the WHO said it was a vector for spread, after specific cases were found and tracked in Germany and Korea and China. That's the level of near criminal incompetence we've seen here at times. Throw in Holahan and opening the care homes around the same time, never mind the testing delays, the lack of decent contact tracing, the lack of port control, the "advisory" quarantine setup and it's staggering to me these fools haven't been taken to task in the Irish media over it and that so many think they've done a grand job.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.