Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part III - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

SusieBlue wrote: »
    What’s your solution? Continue lockdown indefinitely until we have a vaccination? No one is allowed go back to work until we have a cure?

This situation is completely unsustainable and people are rightly wondering when they’re going to be allowed to earn a living again.
    The €350 a week payment isn’t going to last forever and the longer people are out of work, the less likely the chance of them having a job to go back to is.
    The economy is in a chokehold while Tony H bleats on about 2 more weeks, as if two more weeks is going to kill off the virus but the virus is going nowhere. We need to learn to live alongside it.
    This is the new normal and we need to adapt to it, sooner rather than later.

We need to protect the elderly and vulnerable by cocooning them & supporting them in any way we can, and allow the young healthy majority of the population go back to work.
    What were supposed to be temporary layoffs are turning into permanent ones as the days go on.
    This simply cannot continue. This is going to cost as many lives, if not more than covid-19 in the long run.

When did the government or Tony H say continue lockdown until there is a vaccine? Your being over dramatic. Rabble rabble rabble.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,470 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

deisedevil wrote: »
    This would be your expert opinion of course, yes? You've reviewed what literature is available and studied the data?

Or are you talking out your hoop?

Edit. Just to add. Seeing as you've made your very informed opinion on the situation. You might also enlighten us as to how we would fare if we were to suddenly remove the restrictions only to see an increase in deaths and then have to roll back again. Do you know what that might do for the economy? Did you think about how many times worse it will be if we have to go back to square one?

Missed the part where virtually everyone who wants the economy reopened still wants social distancing among the healthy and the vulnerable to remain cocooned as they currently are?

LiquidZeb wrote: »
    So we should shut up and leave it to our betters then? I guess you'll still be doffing your cap when you get sacked so.

No, your right. We should go with the lads that shout loudest and talk through their hoop having done no research or made any decent effort to come up with an informed decision. Let's follow the lead from the lads acrss the Atlantic. Murica!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,377 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

LiquidZeb wrote: »
    Right so what's your master plan then, hole up until there's a vaccine? See you in 12-18 months so.

Leave the current restrictions in place for three/four weeks. Try to ensure that community transmission is eradicated.

Make sure all testing, tracing and turnaround systems are robust, accurate and efficient.

Re open society, place enormous emphasis on social distancing, hygiene measures and make face masks/coverings mandatory in public places.

I'd start with all of that.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,307 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Arghus wrote: »
    I'm not concerned personally that I'll die of Covid, but I'd be concerned about helping to spread it to other people who might become seriously ill or worse because of it.

If someone isn't already terminally ill or approaching end of life the risk is not very high.
    So assuming you are adhering to government directive now as you should(avoiding vulnerable), going back to work won't mean you can automatically reintegrate with those vulnerable people and put them at risk

I'm not concerned personally that I'll die of Covid, but I'd be concerned about helping to spread it to other people who might become seriously ill or worse because of it.

Why on earth would you be going near anyone you think is vulnerable?

Leave the current restrictions in place for three/four weeks. Try to ensure that community transmission is eradicated.

Make sure all testing, tracing and turnaround systems are robust, accurate and efficient.

Re open society, place enormous emphasis on social distancing, hygiene measures and make face masks/coverings mandatory in public places.

I'd start with all of that.

Well thats not absurd.

Its not Tonys plan however

Missed the part where virtually everyone who wants the economy reopened still wants social distancing among the healthy and the vulnerable to remain cocooned as they currently are?

And that's on the way.

If we do it too quickly when we haven't prepared properly for it, we'll make an absolute mess of it and could end up having to roll back. Be some craic reading comments from the same people on here then when the economy would be in a far far worse state than it already is.

Having to bring back restrictions would end up being so much worse. So why not get it right first time and not just go and chance it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭growleaves

This would be your expert opinion of course, yes? You've reviewed what literature is available and studied the data?

Here's the problem in a nutshell. Literature reviews, data, peer review, expert medical opinion, statistical analyses etc. are not the sole criteria by which the nation is governed.

Ireland is a country, not a giant university in which the professor with the most PhDs outranks the rest of the faculty.

The real leaders of this country, the Taoiseach and the Cabinet, can ask for and take Holohan's advice but they have balance it against other important factors and they can't pass off responsibility onto him either.

The people who live here get some say as well, they don't have to produce expert scientific credentials before they can object to the dismantling of all economic life and civil society.

Why on earth would you be going near anyone you think is vulnerable?

Well, I mightn't myself, but I could easily spread it to someone who might. It's a highly transmissible virus.

As it turns out, I happen to work in a retail store where being pretty close to the public is more or less impossible to avoid. And every hour of every day that I'm there I see "vulnerable" people in close proximity to other people. Just flat out avoiding the vulnerable isn't as easy as you seem to believe. Do I know the medical history of every person that stands beside me?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

When did the government or Tony H say continue lockdown until there is a vaccine? Your being over dramatic. Rabble rabble rabble.

Except I never said Tony H said that, so you must be seeing what you want to see. Unless we plan to stay locked in our houses until there is a vaccine there is no need to delay any further. The virus is going nowhere and hiding at home won’t make it go away.
    Why are you not concerned about the lives that are being ruined and lost to the crashing of the economy and restricted access to other healthcare services?

And that's on the way.

If we do it too quickly when we haven't prepared properly for it, we'll make an absolute mess of it and could end up having to roll back. Be some craic reading comments from the same people on here then when the economy would be in a far far worse state than it already is.

Having to bring back restrictions would end up being so much worse. So why not get it right first time and not just go and chance it.

The issue is how restrictive Ireland is. The decision today was an indicator that the roadmap is horses##t and all that's due on the 18th of May is an extension.

Try to ensure that community transmission is eradicated.

Open borders and optional/no quarantining among certain groups renders this aspiration impossible.

If you think a liberal like Varadkar would in a million years demand mandatory quarantine of for example those from the Traveller ethnic minority, you are deluded. He'd rather 1000 died from covid 19 before even thinking of doing this.

Welcome to the new ultra cool ultra liberal Ireland.

Well, I mightn't myself, but I could easily spread it to someone who might. It's a highly transmissible virus.

As it turns out, I happen to work in a retail store where being pretty close to the public is more or less impossible to avoid. And every hour of every day that I'm there I see "vulnerable" people in close proximity to other people. Just flat out avoiding the vulnerable isn't as easy as you seem to believe. Do I know the medical history of every person that stands beside me?

Well there is a substantial chance in previous years you have contracted and passed on Influenza.
    The media didnt tell you though so it didnt resonate as much

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

And that's on the way.

We’ve had 7 (8?) weeks to prepare for it. Business owners have had plans in place for weeks on how they will operate their businesses with new social distancing measures in place.
    Now they’re being told they need to wait until July to reopen, they aren’t even being given a fighting chance.

If at any point the hospitals become overwhelmed, the restrictions will be coming back anyway. I thought that was common knowledge.
    If the health system is under too much strain we will have to stay at home again.
    Right now both the public and private hospitals are all but empty, waiting for a surge that isn’t coming because everyone is in lockdown. It’s a massive waste of resources to say the least.

You should be practising social distancing with everyone bar your immediate family.

And your immediate family/partner should not be going anywhere near anyone vulnerable unless in full PPE.

If you follow these steps the chances of you infecting someone vulnerable are next to 0.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭hamburgham

Would recommend Covid articles in the Daily Telegraph.Excellent informed writers representing a DIVERSITY of views on the value of lockdown, many extremely sceptical. Complete contrast to our media which apart from Ivan Yates is only interested in generating fear porn.

Was one very interesting piece which completely rubbished Ferguson’s modelling, quoted a doctor who said the idea of a load of 80+ year olds ending up in ICU was laughable to every med practitioner, it doesn’t happen as sadly their bodies aren’t able for it . This one example of reality wasn’t factored into the model though hence ICUs will be overrun. There was also an analysis of his previous predictions on SARS,MAD COW, Etc ,deaths all massively massively Overstated.

Except I never said Tony H said that, so you must be seeing what you want to see. Unless we plan to stay locked in our houses until there is a vaccine there is no need to delay any further. The virus is going nowhere and hiding at home won’t make it go away.
    Why are you not concerned about the lives that are being ruined and lost to the crashing of the economy and restricted access to other healthcare services?

I know you didn't say that. What I mean is, who has said we need to do that? Nobody! Restrictions will be lifted slowly, regardless of a vaccine availability.

Of course I'm concerned about the lives being ruined. But, I'm far more concerned about how much worse it could become. And I'd be much more comfortable with leaving the decisions to those making them at the minute than the likes of yourself anyway that's for sure. Where do you get the idea that you might have a better grasp of what we need than the people currently making the decisions? Do you think they got their jobs from a lucky bag? Seriously. How brazen are some of you that you think your opinion overrules these people. Have a good think about it. These people and more like them around the world are working their arses off to get countries back to normal. Your opinion that they are wrong means fúck all.

We’ve had 7 (8?) weeks to prepare for it. Business owners have had plans in place for weeks on how they will operate their businesses with new social distancing measures in place.
    Now they’re being told they need to wait until July to reopen, they aren’t even being given a fighting chance.

If at any point the hospitals become overwhelmed, the restrictions will be coming back anyway. I thought that was common knowledge.
    If the health system is under too much strain we will have to stay at home again.
    Right now both the public and private hospitals are all but empty, waiting for a surge that isn’t coming because everyone is in lockdown. It’s a massive waste of resources to say the least.

If we have to bring back in the restrictions and have a lockdown a second time then the economy will be completely on its arsé. Do you not know that? Why do you think they are trying to make so sure that they get it right first time rather than try and try again.

We can't just have a go at it. We have to be a lot more sure than that.

hamburgham wrote: »
    Would recommend Covid articles in the Daily Telegraph.Excellent informed writers representing a DIVERSITY of views on the value of lockdown, many extremely sceptical. Complete contrast to our media which apart from Ivan Yates is only interested in generating fear porn.

Was one very interesting piece which completely rubbished Ferguson’s modelling, quoted a doctor who said the idea of a load of 80+ year olds ending up in ICU was laughable to every med practitioner, it doesn’t happen as sadly their bodies aren’t able for it . This one example of reality wasn’t factored into the model though hence ICUs will be overrun. There was also an analysis of his previous predictions on SARS,MAD COW, Etc ,deaths all massively massively Overstated.

Check out Dr Marcus Bruns report from last month.

Also Ivan will get a statue after this, its the only show in town.

The rest of the populist bulls##t is nauseating

• Registered Users Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

pv8sixjdbmx41.jpg

Well there is a substantial chance in previous years you have contracted and passed on Influenza.
    The media didnt tell you though so it didnt resonate as much

Yes. But influenza is less lethal and not as transmissible. That's what makes Covid more dangerous.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,568 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Spain has refused a request from Madrid to ease lock down measures and Italian officals have issued warning over flouting of distancing rules saying measures will be reimposed.
    The Spanish government has refused the Madrid region permission to loosen its coronavirus confinement, as angry officials in Italy issued a warning that they would not hesitate to reimpose strict lockdown restrictions if distancing rules were flouted

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/may/08/global-report-spain-and-italy-grapple-with-how-to-end-covid-19-lockdown

These people and more like them around the world are working their arses off to get countries back to normal. Your opinion that they are wrong means fúck all.

No Ireland are way behind the world. Thats the problem

growleaves wrote: »
    Here's the problem in a nutshell. Literature reviews, data, peer review, expert medical opinion, statistical analyses etc. are not the sole criteria by which the nation is governed.

Ireland is a country, not a giant university in which the professor with the most PhDs outranks the rest of the faculty.

The real leaders of this country, the Taoiseach and the Cabinet, can ask for and take Holohan's advice but they have balance it against other important factors and they can't pass off responsibility onto him either.

The people who live here get some say as well, they don't have to produce expert scientific credentials before they can object to the dismantling of all economic life and civil society.

So it's a good thing that not to go with the Eggheads then is it? Shur what would they know. We can make up our own minds. Fúck science.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭growleaves

Yes. But influenza is less lethal and not as transmissible. That's what makes Covid more dangerous.

You don't know that. You just think you do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

pv8sixjdbmx41.jpg

Jesus that's rubbish. There's no nuance or satire or anything.

You could of still passed on Influenza and killed someone in the past

No Ireland are way behind the world. Thats the problem

Oh I didn't know that. Please, could you send us a link to your data that supports your theory.

You should be practising social distancing with everyone bar your immediate family.

And your immediate family/partner should not be going anywhere near anyone vulnerable unless in full PPE.

If you follow these steps the chances of you infecting someone vulnerable are next to 0.

I try to practice social distancing, but in my line of work it's next to impossible. I was within 2 metres of literally hundreds of people today. The nature of being on a shopfloor. Unless I hide in the toilets all day.