Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Level 42

Dunno about anyone else here but today has been an eye opener with regard to people ignoring the restrictions.

This thread title should be changed to easing of restrictions has happend.

wheres this happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

MD1990 wrote: »
    shame to see the rise in cases again.

but overall the cases have down over the week.
    PmMeUrDogs wrote: »
    The rise in cases seems concerning, hadn't we been dropping in the previous four days?
    Eod100 wrote: »
    Dr in French media claiming a patient had pneumonia on 27th December and they re-tested blood recently and it tested positive for covid19 suggesting it was in France before first case. Not sure how accurate it is but interesting.

https://twitter.com/BBCkatyaadler/status/1257004321306222592

Anyone else wonder whether the virus spreads as aggressively as we thought given it appears to have been in communities as much as 2 months before we thought?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Dunno about anyone else here but today has been an eye opener with regard to people ignoring the restrictions.

This thread title should be changed to easing of restrictions has happend.

Over here in a West of Ireland town iv seen little or no Garda activity over this weekend as regards this operation fanacht or whatever its called and I'm on the road a lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Renjit

Micky 32 wrote: »
    There’s a lot you can do yourself, avoid gatherings, wash the paws often, no physical contact with strangers , keep your distance from them. There will be a vaccine eventually.

I watched this on paw patrol first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭rm212

Benimar wrote: »
    Different places are experiencing different things.

I’ve just witnessed 2 hours of 4 adults and 8 kids playing football, having races and doing the wheelbarrow race! Not an ounce of cop on between the lot of them - 5 different households involved before someone asks.

Then I’m texting with mates on other estates in the same town and there’s nobody out. Everyone complying with the restrictions.

Many people are doing their bit, it’s the ones who are not that could ruin it for everyone.

Exactly the same sort of thing happening here today. I knew it would happen once they announced any easing, even if it was at a future date. Irish people are so like “ah sure it’ll be grand, I’ve been good for several weeks now, a bit of this won’t hurt, sure I’ve been careful to clean my hands and social distance, I’m not infected”. I’ve seen lots of family visiting their 60-70 year old grandparents today around here too. We’ll be lucky to even manage to meet the targets needed for phase 1 if this is going on in a widespread way unfortunately:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

rm212 wrote: »
    Exactly the same sort of thing happening here today. I knew it would happen once they announced any easing, even if it was at a future date. Irish people are so like “ah sure it’ll be grand, I’ve been good for several weeks now, a bit of this won’t hurt, sure I’ve been careful to clean my hands and social distance, I’m not infected”. I’ve seen lots of family visiting their 60-70 year old grandparents today around here too. We’ll be lucky to even manage to meet the targets needed for phase 1 if this is going on in a widespread way unfortunately:(

My worry is there isn’t much of a threat, people think it’s fine, won’t happen to me. Everyone relaxes, we get a surge, then what? Lockdown again? Will people stand for that? Everyone “stayed in” for 8-10 weeks and no surge, then we get one. No one will attach responsibility to themselves for just popping over to the grandparents, etc. Government gets blamed. And then what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,047 ✭✭✭✭fits

It seems that the early French case was discovered by retesting PCR swabs that were taken at the time to identify 'classical influenza' and that gave negative results.

'We repeated all the PCRs tested in patients with pneumonia in December and January whose results were negative," said Yves Cohen. "And of the 24 patients, we had a positive case at Covid-19, on December 27, when he was hospitalized with us,'

https://actu17.fr/un-patient-etait-positif-au-coronavirus-le-27-decembre-en-france-annonce-le-professeur-yves-cohen/

https://twitter.com/cecileollivier/status/1256966423919935491

Holey moley. If that turns out to be accurate, it turns everything on its head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,050 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

It's the same everywhere. I was talking to my sister earlier today in Liverpool and the same carry on in Britain. Party's, football, social hangouts and similar responses by the police also. Don't go into estates but just stay on the main roads. Probably more lax over there from what I could gather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DevilsHaircut

fits wrote: »

I'd imagine that retesting of flu swabs was how our earliest lab-confirmed case (death, add the lead-in time) was found to be in the week of 17-24 Feb, not 29 Feb.

https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/868ad8-mortality-census-of-long-term-residential-care-facilities-1-january-/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭rm212

My worry is there isn’t much of a threat, people think it’s fine, won’t happen to me. Everyone relaxes, we get a surge, then what? Lockdown again? Will people stand for that? Everyone “stayed in” for 8-10 weeks and no surge, then we get one. No one will attach responsibility to themselves for just popping over to the grandparents, etc. Government gets blamed. And then what?

This is exactly my fear too, well said. I find that a lot of Irish people have this annoying attitude of doing things halfway and saying it’s grand, but if it’s comes back to bite, they’ll claim like they did it 99%, if you know what I mean?

The only hope is the theory that lockdown is far too heavy handed and social distancing is enough, although getting us to adhere to that may be difficult with so many interpreting the rules as they see fit. So when we do start to reopen it’s a manageable caseload for health services.

The attitude of “ah its unenforceable” is so ignorant when people don’t realise the implications for both protection of life and restarting the economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,625 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Gynoid wrote: »
    Some people are in denial. They want things to be normal again. I think a lot of people cannot get their heads around the reality. We will have to learn to live going forward with a new cause of death and disability that did not exist before. Sure, we will go back out, but there is not the same world any more.

Yawn, I do love these posts. It must be great craic in your house during this lockdown. I hate to be the bearer of bad news but life WILL get back to normal eventually. Look at other pandemics, like the 1918 one that estimated 100million deaths worldwide. Where is the Spanish flu now? It eventually disappeared and the world flourished. 2020 normality is out for sure but in the next year or 2 things WILL be a lot different than today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,625 ✭✭✭Micky 32

MikeSoys wrote: »
    why are the number of covid-9 cases so high in cavan?. one if the papers was sayings they dont believe its from a spill over from the north.

There was an outbreak in the hospital so I’m guessing it has something to do with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭ChelseaRentBoy

It seems that the early French case was discovered by retesting PCR swabs that were taken at the time to identify 'classical influenza' and that gave negative results.

'We repeated all the PCRs tested in patients with pneumonia in December and January whose results were negative," said Yves Cohen. "And of the 24 patients, we had a positive case at Covid-19, on December 27, when he was hospitalized with us,'

https://actu17.fr/un-patient-etait-positif-au-coronavirus-le-27-decembre-en-france-annonce-le-professeur-yves-cohen/

https://twitter.com/cecileollivier/status/1256966423919935491

Now that's a game changer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

fits wrote: »

How does it change anything? It's interesting to know from the point of view of evolution of the disease and its original spread. But I don't get how it changes anything? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

The problem is that the 'powers that be' seem to be doing things 'half way' as well.

They are totally ignoring pre-symptomatic and silent spreaders by not requesting face covering for everyone in public. By the time symptoms appear in an individual the horse has bolted and then add the delay of getting results... makes contact tracing far more difficult than it should be.

Will we be the last country in Europe to recommend public masking ?

That and the failure to stop 'Day Trippers' from abroad run loose around the country.

As usual they do 'too little too late' as our case rate and death rate sadly testify.

Turtwig wrote: »
    How does it change anything? It's interesting to know from the point of view of evolution of the disease and its original spread. But I don't get how it changes anything? :confused:

It could mean this is a deadlier second wave (not sure I bank so much on this mirroring the Spanish flu as much as others do), that far less people in the population are susceptible to it, and that the IFR is far less than the WHO saying it’s 3.4%

Still tho, lots of people get excited about this, but in reality it still doesn’t stop surges or pressure on healthcare system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,118 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Only way I could see it as big news is if other countries start finding it then questions need to be asked how could something that apparently had very few cases in Wuhan had managed to spread to so many countries within a few weeks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,047 ✭✭✭✭fits

The possibility it was in circulation much longer. It was in Europe before the WHO even knew about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,513 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

So based on reports from many parts of the country today from personal friends it appears lots of people were out and about today.

Our idiot government again being so stupid. The famous old saying 'if you give them an inch, they'll take a mile' comes to mind. They put out a phased reopening plan and that's the inch. How could you be so stupid to think that people will stay inside when you are telling them things are looking good?

Another story I was told today from a friend working at the airport is about Romanians flying in and out of the country collecting social welfare. Apparently the department got word of it and stopped a bunch of them at the airport and cancelled their pps numbers.

Now while it's good to hear about detection there is the situation that they were all coming in here not self-isolating and doing their business and leaving. If ever there was proof that we need state monitored self quarantine for everybody entering the country it was this.

The fact none of this made the news is a shocking pointer to how our media are hiding things instead of being honest and bringing us all the news. I can't post any proof myself because this information came from a friend who works at the airport and does not want to become a public figure even for a short time. I can guarantee you it's true though because this person to the best of my knowledge has never told a lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

It could mean this is a deadlier second wave (not sure I bank so much on this mirroring the Spanish flu as much as others do), that far less people in the population are susceptible to it, and that the IFR is far less than the WHO saying it’s 3.4%

Still tho, lots of people get excited about this, but in reality it still doesn’t stop surges or pressure on healthcare system.

I don't understand.
    Patient zero in China was traced back to November 2019. It's not beyond the realms of possibility that other countries had infections in December.

Don't recall the WHO saying 3.4% IFR either. Tedros was quoted saying something like that in a general media press briefing but it wasn't IFR he was referring to case fatalities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

eagle eye wrote: »
    So based on reports from many parts of the country today from personal friends it appears lots of people were out and about today.

Our idiot government again being so stupid. The famous old saying 'if you give them an inch, they'll take a mile' comes to mind. They put out a phased reopening plan and that's the inch. How could you be so stupid to think that people will stay inside when you are telling them things are looking good?

Another story I was told today from a friend working at the airport is about Romanians flying in and out of the country collecting social welfare. Apparently the department got word of it and stopped a bunch of them at the airport and cancelled their pps numbers.

Now while it's good to hear about detection there is the situation that they were all coming in here not self-isolating and doing their business and leaving. If ever there was proof that we need state monitored self quarantine for everybody entering the country it was this.

The fact none of this made the news is a shocking pointer to how our media are hiding things instead of being honest and bringing us all the news. I can't post any proof myself because this information came from a friend who works at the airport and does not want to become a public figure even for a short time. I can guarantee you it's true though because this person to the best of my knowledge has never told a lie.

Satire?

I don't understand.
    Patient zero in China was traced back to November 2019. It's not beyond the realms of possibility that other countries had infections in December.

Don't recall the WHO saying 3.4% IFR either. Tedros was quoted saying something like that in a general media press briefing but it wasn't IFR he was referring to case fatalities.

Sorry, CFR, correct.

I mean even if it was in Ireland or Europe in 2019, I don’t fully understand why this is such good news as there is still the issue of overwhelming hospitals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Yawn, I do love these posts. It must be great craic in your house during this lockdown. I hate to be the bearer of bad news but life WILL get back to normal eventually. Look at other pandemics, like the 1918 one that estimated 100million deaths worldwide. Where is the Spanish flu now? It eventually disappeared and the world flourished. 2020 normality is out for sure but in the next year or 2 things WILL be a lot different than today.

Exaclty right. This will be over in a year two at most or even if it is still around chances are it will be much weaker than it is now. The convential wisdom is that a virus like this will learn that it is better to he weaker as it can pass more easily between hosts. We are living through the worst of this now. They might be speradic outbreaks over the rest of the year but this virus will eventually be gone or at least a lot less lethal than it is now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Whats wrong with lots of people being out and about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

look into tedros past...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

look into tedros past...

Why don't you just tell us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,168 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Could it be construed as good news because those that possibly had it back then are immune to it now, and thus verifies the belief that you can't get re-infected?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

Could it be construed as good news because those that possibly had it back then are immune to it now, and thus verifies the belief that you can't get re-infected?
    Why do you believe that all such people would be immune to it now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭ZX7R

What country were the romaine's flying from and too