Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Waters & Gemma O'Doherty to challenge lockdown in the high Court

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Balf

I have seen an argument that the long term effect on GDP would be higher if we just allow the virus to spread (death rates would increase dramatically amongst the working population once the hospitals are overrun).
    I suspect the 'argument' is wishful thinking. Grown-ups know you can't have your cake and eat it.

This is a farce being played out. Dragged out.

redarmy wrote: »
    The Phoenix Park has been completely closed off thanks to a protest organised

Entirely? Have all the gates been shut?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭brightspark

Balf wrote: »
    I suspect the 'argument' is wishful thinking. Grown-ups know you can't have your cake and eat it.

This is a farce being played out. Dragged out.

It's going to be expensive either way. I personally prefer the one that has less people dying.

Two meat factories (essential work, we still need to eat) are currently taking two different tactics, the Dawn plant has shut down with just 4 cases, the Rosderra one is reported to have many more and is continuing to operate, it will be interesting to see what happens to them in the long term.
    (Of course it could simply be that the Dawn group has alternative means of production)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭freddie1970

EDit wrote: »
    Not sure if it’s the same video, but In the one I’ve just seen Gemma says something like “your time is coming”. I understand why the Gards didn’t take it further at the time, but is that not considered a threat?

Oh, I forgot to mention, she is a raging ****

I know we have had problems with the guards over the years ..But nobody should be able to talk to them like that ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭redarmy

Entirely? Have all the gates been shut?

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭freddie1970

Imagine the scenario if we actually were forced to work during this crisis..the government saying the economy was more important and can't be shut down ...
    Would Gemma be on the streets looking for a shutdown ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,923 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Balf wrote: »
    In fairness, it was already pretty much inaccessible to most of the city.

But well within the 3,500 km range allowed to Bulgarian fruit pickers under the Health (Load of Bollocks) Regulations 2020. I'd say they're hopping if they noiw can't visit the Zoo.

Well, that's a stretch. Are there exceptions to the 2km rule for Bulgarian fruit pickers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

Imagine the scenario if we actually were forced to work during this crisis..the government saying the economy was more important and can't be shut down ...
    Would Gemma be on the streets looking for a shutdown ...

Of course. Her only agenda is chaos. Bring down the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭threeball

Shes scum. Shes ran from one conspiracy to the other when the first didnt work out. 5G one day, UN communist coup the next. At this stage they would be better off if they sectioned her for a few months rather than have her running around the city causing chaos. Surely she has also broken the 2km limit numerous times if she was in Killiney abusing a guard and in the city centre abusing a guard. People have been up in court for less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭shaveAbullock

threeball wrote: »
    Shes scum. Shes ran from one conspiracy to the other when the first didnt work out. 5G one day, UN communist coup the next. At this stage they would be better off if they sectioned her for a few months rather than have her running around the city causing chaos. Surely she has also broken the 2km limit numerous times if she was in Killiney abusing a guard and in the city centre abusing a guard. People have been up in court for less.

The 2KM limit is for exercise only. It is irreverent in most situations that people bring it up for on this thread. It does not matter how many times it is explained people can't get their heads around it. You can't even travel 1km for something non-essential.

It is legal to travel any distance for something considered essential. Attending court is considered essential. No excuse for abusing a guard though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,654 ✭✭✭Infini

threeball wrote: »

The most effective thing that could be done is having her twitter/facebook profiles banned permemantly it would stifle her ability to both spread and profit from her malignant bullshít.

The 2KM limit is for exercise only. .

It is amazing how many people don't understand this

She's needs help in my view. She can't be in a good place mentally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

Infini wrote: »
    The most effective thing that could be done is having her twitter/facebook profiles banned permemantly it would stifle her ability to both spread and profit from her malignant bullshít.

Or a crunchy costs order plus a bollocking by a Judge for endangering public welfare for launching a silly court action in the middle of an emergency that has already killed over 1000 real people each one infinitely more valuable than the toxic Gemma

It is amazing how many people don't understand this

Don't want to understand imo, sort of like dealing with certain members of the team in my last job, their comprehension depended on if I was giving them good or bad news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,654 ✭✭✭Infini

At one point that might have been the case but I think she's beyond any help and that her motive's are driven primarily by malice and spite, she either toxic by nature or she's terminally stupid and incapable of being reasoned with only to be ignored, ridiculed and laughed at. Certain individuals thrive off it as well and the only way to deal with them is to ignore them or make sure they can't spread their Bull****. It's one of the thing's about social media that really needs to be addressed in that those spreading misinformation, bull**** conspiracies and lies with the intent to profit on the ignorance and stupidity of other's should be banned simply to stop this whole thing.
    Truthvader wrote: »
    Or a crunchy costs order plus a bollocking by a Judge for endangering public welfare for launching a silly court action in the middle of an emergency that has already killed over 1000 real people each one infinitely more valuable than the toxic Gemma

That or even a court order banning her from any form of social media too!

She's together enough to encourage other people to resist arrest etc but make herself scarce when needed and to make money off her sh1te

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭threeball

The 2KM limit is for exercise only. It is irreverent in most situations that people bring it up for on this thread. It does not matter how many times it is explained people can't get their heads around it. You can't even travel 1km for something non-essential.

It is legal to travel any distance for something considered essential. Attending court is considered essential. No excuse for abusing a guard though.

I understand that but if she was within two 2km of her house she could say she was going to the local park to walk or whatever. Shes clearly not though so how is she driving around the county with impunity when others are brought before the courts and didn't even abuse a guard. Shes being let act this way because of who she is.

Infini wrote: »
    At one point that might have been the case but I think she's beyond any help and that her motive's are driven primarily by malice and spite, she either toxic by nature or she's terminally stupid and incapable of being reasoned with only to be ignored, ridiculed and laughed at. Certain individuals thrive off it as well and the only way to deal with them is to ignore them or make sure they can't spread their Bull****. It's one of the thing's about social media that really needs to be addressed in that those spreading misinformation, bull**** conspiracies and lies with the intent to profit on the ignorance and stupidity of other's should be banned simply to stop this whole thing.

That or even a court order banning her from any form of social media too!

You are probably right there. Good analysis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,841 ✭✭✭JJayoo

A good smack in the face would be a huge benefit to Mr Waters

JJayoo wrote: »
    A good smack in the face would be a huge benefit to Mr Waters

Something happened him years ago. Seems so bitter now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Something happened him years ago. Seems so bitter now

Sinead probably pegged him up the hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mrs Shuttleworth

Of course. Her only agenda is chaos. Bring down the system.

"Bring down the system?" :rolleyes:

Regina Doherty, Shane Ross and Katherine Zappone all lost their seats in February but for some reason remain Government Ministers.

What system is there to trash but an illegal one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭brightspark

Regina Doherty, Shane Ross and Katherine Zappone all lost their seats in February but for some reason remain Government Ministers.

It's not illegal.

Article 28.11.2 of the Constitution states: “The members of the Government in office at the date of a dissolution of Dáil Éireann shall continue to hold office until their successors shall have been appointed.”

So if they didn't hold their office it would be unconstitutional!

For someone who claims to be legally literate, you don't seem to know how things work.

I wouldn't claim to know about areas of the law outside of which I needed for work in the past and for my current position, but I am aware of the requirements for forming a government and what happens until a new government is formed after a general election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Well, great stuff lads, sound.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Yeah, your man is a bit off his head alright, sound enough if he was sedated I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,136 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Oh lord give me strength.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

Can someone explain the details of this court case? Is it still ongoing? When is a result due? What is the cost of it to the taxpayer? Is this b***h funding her own case? Can the state pursue her for their costs when the judge tells her to f**k off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

mike_ie wrote: »
    Mod: @Quantum Erasure - threadbanned.

Mod: Threadban lifted after discussion with user. Post sensibly.