Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

ICU now has less than 100 Covid patients for the first time in a month. 99 confirmed cases in ICU across the country as of last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

Gael23 wrote: »
    According to google maps it’s 27km

I can tell you with my one if it was only 27km distance they would be around here trashing the gaff morning noon and night. Just go and visit your grandparents when the 20km thing comes into effect and don't even think twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

Ye could meet where the circles intersect.

A ∩ B

But grand parents can't leave home, to meet up with other people if over 70.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

speckle wrote: »
    He is a terrible public speaker.. like a robot.

Ah now hold on a second - can you imagine for one minute where we would be if Enda was in charge? The thought is frightening.

I think Leo is much better speaker than both Simons too. Coveney has to be coached before he says a word. It's easy to spout the same Brexit nonsense for months on end. Backstop anyone?

By stating that this was in the nursing homes before it was introduced to many of them by sending positive cases to free up hospital beds.

I don't know if this is true, but I think it could be, as initially they were legitimately panicked by the models predicting runaway numbers and all efforts went into increasing hospital capacity.

I think when the dust settles, our response should be studied and any mistakes made should at least be acknowledged. Although this won't happen as politicians and managers never do this, unless absolutely cornered.

Ah now hold on a second - can you imagine for one minute where we would be if Enda was in charge? The thought is frightening.

I think Leo is much better speaker than both Simons too. Coveney has to be coached before he says a word. It's easy to spout the same Brexit nonsense for months on end. Backstop anyone?

It is painful to watch Coveney being interviewed. They say he is not "book smart", I don't doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

But grand parents can't leave home, to meet up with other people if over 70.

Over 70's can leave home the same as everyone else. It is recommended that they stay home not mandated. Though you wouldn't think that listening to most of the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Cinemas are reopening in August, but it'll be worth the wait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

He would be attending EU meetings telling them we all went mad going on holidays to Italy. He will then tell us a tale about meeting a man holding two pints, and claim that we all went out to hold two pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,787 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I don't know if this is true, but I think it could, be as initially they were legitimately panicked by the models predicting runaway numbers and all efforts went into increasing hospital capacity.

I think when the dust settles, our response should be studied and any mistakes made should at least be acknowledged. Although this won't happen as politicians and managers never do this, unless absolutely cornered.

Things ‘could’ have been handled differently, my main criticism and one which many of us might have predicted was being slow to close borders and lockdown... but it’s an unprecedented time, we have a right wing government so you can’t be amazed that even in times of unprecedented danger their primary loyalty isn’t you and me, even the economy it’s continuing to allow money makers and businesses to flourish even if that means that the cost is illness and death. It’s their ‘natural instinct’. That class of classless individual sees success in terms of balance sheets, everything else is secondary , no matter the cost... everyone else sees success now as lives saved and doing WHATEVER necessary to do it, we’ll knuckle down, rebuild, re-establish the economy and social aspects of our lives later.. it won’t be difficult, we are responsible, resourceful and hard working... so don’t give in to grubby businessmen, the hands of greed, the examples we set are the ones of our good instincts and conscience, fûck them and lift the phone if needs be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,123 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Spanish aloowed out to exercise for the first time in 7 weeks today.

Bit of perspective is needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Does anyone know when we can do the Hokey Pokey again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,830 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Over 70's can leave home the same as everyone else. It is recommended that they stay home not mandated. Though you wouldn't think that listening to most of the media.

Why would they ignore guidance of the government and public health officials during a pandemic?

This forum recommends you don't be a dick. It's not mandated that you're not, but why would you choose to be if that's the guidance?

Strumms wrote: »
    Things ‘could’ have been handled differently, my main criticism and one which many of us might have predicted was being slow to close borders and lockdown... but it’s an unprecedented time, we have a right wing government so you can’t be amazed that even in times of unprecedented danger their primary loyalty isn’t you and me, even the economy it’s continuing to allow money makers and businesses to flourish even if that means that the cost is illness and death. It’s their ‘natural instinct’. That class of classless individual sees success in terms of balance sheets, everything else is secondary , no matter the cost... everyone else sees success now as lives saved and doing WHATEVER necessary to do it, we’ll knuckle down, rebuild, re-establish the economy and social aspects of our lives later.. it won’t be difficult, we are responsible, resourceful and hard working... so don’t give in to grubby businessmen, the hands of greed, the examples we set are the ones of our good instincts and conscience, fûck them and lift the phone if needs be.

I don't buy this. No politician left or right wants to tank the economy or cause needless suffering to its population, that it will be asking for a vote a few years down the line.

I think they are just way too over cautious, afraid of our media and afraid of upsetting our European partners, who had no problems closing borders and siezing ppe.

A shorter stricter earlier lock-down with borders closed to movement of people, would have suited left and right, it just needed the balls our cautious politicians don't have. This is across the board, people forget that Sinn Fein voted to bailout the banks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,155 ✭✭✭ronano

branie2 wrote: »
    Cinemas are reopening in August, but it'll be worth the wait.

didn't see that referenced in the plan or online, got a link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭Tommybojangles

What's the angle on here today? Is the government a joke for being too cautious and only listening to doctors or are they a joke for being reckless and only caring about money?
    I cant keep up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,787 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I don't buy this. No politician left or right wants to tank the economy or cause needless suffering to its population, that it will be asking for a vote a few years down the line.

I think they are just way too over cautious, afraid of our media and afraid of upsetting our European partners, who had no problems closing borders and siezing ppe.

A shorter stricter earlier lock-down with borders closed to movement of people, would have suited left and right, it just needed the balls our cautious politicians don't have. This is across the board, people forget that Sinn Fein voted to bailout the banks.

I think we are in fact agreeing, a more proactive call on lockdown was needed and the balls to make it happen and enforce it too.

For sure, I just don't think left or right came into it.

What's the angle on here today? Is the government a joke for being too cautious and only listening to doctors or are they a joke for being reckless and only caring about money?
    I cant keep up

Need a poll, I'm for a tragedy for being too cautious. The should have ripped if the bandage straight away, like Soeul did and said sorry for the loss of privacy later when everybody was safe and well.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,315 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yeah it's across the board alright, but I'm not so sure it's entirely caution, more a fear of making a clear move that could come back to bite them and they'd have to take responsibility for. Even then bugger all would happen, save for some "tribunal" that would line a few barrister's pockets and being seen to do the right thing. The electorate can have short memories too, which politicians in democracies tend to rely on.

With this crisis they can always pull the hindsight defence with a sideorder of pointing fingers at nations who did worse than us, while ignoring those who did much better. Keep it all calm and measured for the suburban housewives and job done.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,830 ✭✭✭✭8-10

ronano wrote: »
    didn't see that referenced in the plan or online, got a link?

Leo mentioned it would be in a further phase in his speech, Irish Times have reported on it being August:
    A phased return to normal work will start around this time. Shopping centres will reopen as well as theatres and cinemas that can maintain social distancing.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/coronavirus-the-reopening-ireland-plan-in-detail-1.4242985?mode=amp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,084 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

99 currently in ICU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

The public support was not there for an earlier lockdown.

I think the timing was right. Public support was there so it didn't require heavy-handed enforcement, and groups like the vitners couldn't complain. Some people will only tolerate a short lockdown for whatever reason, so we didn't want to impose it too early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

Micheal O Leary was saying July flights would resume, but I go to ryanair.com now and I can buy a flight from Dublin-Barcelona from May22 - May 24 ?

Why are that site still taking bookings ? surely that's illegal, especially when their CEO has said it will be July earliest when Ryanair resumes flights

hmmm wrote: »
    The public support was not there for an earlier lockdown.

I think the timing was right. Public support was there so it didn't require heavy-handed enforcement, and groups like the vitners couldn't complain. Some people will only tolerate a short lockdown for whatever reason, so we didn't want to impose it too early.

Well I didn't say lack of balls for no reason.

Leaders are supposed to lead, not follow public opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

There was no mention of children at all . I presume when families are allowed visit each other it includes children ?
    Then in my opinion two or three kids will have to be allowed play together before they open schools again ,
    That way it can be assessed if its a problem that needs addressing

Well I didn't say lack of balls for no reason.

Leaders are supposed to lead, not follow public opinion.
    Introducing a lock-down when public support wasn't there would have been a disaster. We'd have needed heavy-handed enforcement by the Guards which is not part of who we are.

As it is compliance has been mostly great, and most people have understood the need for personal responsibility.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

A step to ease restrictions is allow small get-togethers from the 18th? Is that right? I think 4 people from different households can meet so long as they can maintain social distancing of 2 metres apart.

Did I get that part right?

Did Leo just rib a new arsehole for parents of teenagers? I can't see how teenagers meeting up and staying metres apart. I think there could be a lot of agro in families this summer.

I could also see people become a little bit comfortable and gain an attitude like:

'sure we'll be allowed to meet next week, or after, so I might as well meet now. What's the point.....'

Or something like that.

owlbethere wrote: »
    A step to ease restrictions is allow small get-togethers from the 18th? Is that right? I think 4 people from different households can meet so long as they can maintain social distancing of 2 metres apart.

Yes correct.
    Did Leo just rib a new arsehole for parents of teenagers? I can't see how teenagers meeting up and staying metres apart. I think there could be a lot of agro in families this summer.
    Can't keep everyone happy. It falls on all of us to try and be responsible, as we have to try and get society and our economy reopened as safely as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,331 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

owlbethere wrote: »

I could also see people become a little bit comfortable and gain an attitude like:

'sure we'll be allowed to meet next week, or after, so I might as well meet now. What's the point.....'

Or something like that.

He discussed this in his LLS interview. He said four people can meet up outdoors......sitting at a table at a barbecue would be acceptable for example (or standing for that matter).