Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

owlbethere wrote: »
    Is there any quarantine plans for arrivals into the country?

They said they are looking at making it a regulatory requirement rather than the current advisory

Suspect it would be tied into having the increased testing capacity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭Blud

Some of the posts here justify exactly the "only tell them as much as they need to know" approach.

For example, calls for ramping up testing leads to Harris nodding along, yep lads, 100k a week. People on here foaming at the mouth. The reality is, you do 100k tests in a week and 10k are positive, when do you test the other 90k again? Back of the queue, see you in about 10 months? What's the point in that?

People need to reconcile with the idea that this is going to be a long time, a few years unless theres a vaccine. The likes of New Zealand will boast about low infection rates - are they going to isolate forever? Are they putting all eggs in the vaccine basket?

Gynoid wrote: »
    I am a cheerful person. Bite my shyte.

Oooh, claws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,784 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Nobody under the age of 30 dead yet, they're as likely to die by being pooed on by a crow.

Young people stuck at home watching re runs on redtube seems like a good use of their time!

It’s really not, dehydration can be a mitigating factor in your response to this condition. So some wankèr on a blog wrote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,457 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Leo needs to píss off at this stage. He thinks he is in a disaster movie.

At least we have Micheál to look forward to soon. :rolleyes:

Their "reopening" document is absolute laughable aspirational nonsense.

Hopefully Turbidy grows a pair of bollíx and starts asking the right questions tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭ZX7R

There's so much information.

Did our government advise or ban non essential travel abroad? Back in March. Will this be continued on for another few more months? Or at least arrivals being quarantined.

Same travel advisory as has been in place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭techdiver

If for instance on the 18th of May tennis and golf clubs are permitted to open how will that work as regards to travel to those locations?

Many golf clubs are in the "middle of nowhere" and outside of the permitted travel area. So how do we square that circle?

Boggles wrote: »

Hopefully Turbidy grows a pair of bollíx and starts asking the right questions tonight.

Hi Boggles. I was reading another thread today started by a fella, a designated essential worker, who said he was planning to go for a drive at the weekend.
    You said that if he has an accident you hope he will be killed on impact.
    How do you feel about that statement now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

Nobody under the age of 30 dead yet, they're as likely to die by being pooed on by a crow.

Young people stuck at home watching re runs on redtube seems like a good use of their time!

There are people under the age of 30 dead. There are people in this country under the age of 25 dead from this virus. What are you on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,503 ✭✭✭✭walshb

😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Hi Boggles. I was reading another thread today started by a fella, a designated essential worker, who said he was planning to go for a drive at the weekend.
    You said that if he has an accident you hope he will be killed on impact.
    How do you feel about that statement now?

what a single vehicle accident....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,503 ✭✭✭✭walshb

techdiver wrote: »
    If for instance on the 18th of May tennis and golf clubs are permitted to open how will that work as regards to travel to those locations?

Many golf clubs are in the "middle of nowhere" and outside of the permitted travel area. So how do we square that circle?

I am assuming the distance restrictions will be lifted on May 18..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭MipMap

Ok. They are opening up construction on the 18th May.

I used to work for an engineering company - big office hundreds of engineers
    and office staff. Designers on CAD etc., etc., all crammed into an office where social distancing would be impossible.

Every day our guys went to sites for meeting to approve works, certify stuff etc., Firms of Architects Surveyors etc all over the city doing the same thing.
    You can hardly dig a hole on a construction site without a suit coming out to sign off on it.
    And then there's materials and supplies of all kinds. All these businesses will have to open up to support the construction industry.
    Can't see how all this is going to be controlled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,801 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

I liked Leo's speech this evening. He came across very well. He addressed so much in his speech and recognised people who are mourning alone which would be something so difficult.

I'm so grateful our leader is not an almighty bo11ocks recommending bleech or whatever other nonsense the American sh1tbag sprouts.

I was just hoping he’d say “and I had a lovely letter from a young lady called Mary Lou that simply said ‘Up the Ra’” :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭techdiver

walshb wrote: »
    I am assuming the distance restrictions will be lifted on May 18..

Not according to the published plan. 5km will still be the limit on the 18th of May. It extends out to 20km in stage 2 on the 8th of June and then further in stage 4 on the 20th of July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

DubInMeath wrote: »
    Not being doom and gloom but Germany are seeing increasing numbers of infection since easing their lockdown and may reverse it.

The current plan phases we have are based on numbers continuing down, and that depends on what people do, some will do the necessary, but some won't as can be seen on here and elsewhere online.

We also need masks etc to become the norm along with more testing etc.
    Just on Germany,

https://twitter.com/ProfKarolSikora/status/1256142064804401153?s=19

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

He's not the worst. He used to annoy me but he's coming across well now. Thankfully he's not addressing the nation like the d1ck Trump listing out companies on and on and on with tripe.

There's no if. The virus is here. Relax restrictions, cases go up. Good luck with a pub when people are drunk and all packed in together. It's just not going to happen.

You are certain there will a 2nd wave? There may be one is what I will say. I remember the sheer amount of posters back in March saying that our health system would implode sometime in April. Hasn't happened (hopefully) yet.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

MipMap wrote: »
    Ok. They are opening up construction on the 5th May.

I used to work for an engineering company - big office hundreds of engineers
    and office staff. Designers on CAD etc., etc., all crammed into an office where social distancing would be impossible.

Every day our guys went to sites for meeting to approve works, certify stuff etc., Firms of Architects Surveyors etc all over the city doing the same thing.
    You can hardly dig a hole on a construction site without a suit coming out to sign off on it.
    And then there's materials and supplies of all kinds. All these businesses will have to open up to support the construction industry.
    Can't see how all this is going to be controlled.

18th I think.
    And yes to the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭MipMap

Gynoid wrote: »
    18th I think.
    And yes to the rest.
    Thanks Fixed the date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Silly Gilly

Wibbs wrote: »
    More like save face from the previous position. And moving in that direction, just like most other countermeasures they brought in against this virus, moving towards and half arsed a month too late. Varadkar seems to be a nice enough guy, but he is also a useless cnut, at the head of a pack of them, a stuffed shirt only useful for greet and meets with dignitaries.

You absolute arrogant arsehole. Who are you to call our Taoiseach a useless ****. You are a 20+ post a day merchant on a ****ty website who thinks he has all the answers from behind a keyboard.

You've always been a massive pain in the hole with your cloying shortenting of names to the first letter but this episode has propelled you into another stratosphere of annoyance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭harr

Mr.S wrote: »
    Leo’s interview on the late late is a car crash, he doesn’t even know what the phases are jeeeeepers

Just saying that here, lost without Tony who should be really on with him.

Local pharmacy is selling N95 face masks in packs of three. Saying its ok to wear the first one again and so on after 72 hours instead of throwing it away as the virus should be gone from it after that time. Interesting advice I thought. Mentioned here as well:

https://www.sages.org/n-95-re-use-instructions/

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    what a single vehicle accident....

No. An unfortunate crash into a towerblock of cocooning 25 year olds. Car hit the buzzer system so they all died because they couldn't buzz in the delivery men bringing them the essentials of life. Tragic case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,328 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Mr.S wrote: »
    Leo’s interview on the late late is a car crash, he doesn’t even know what the phases are jeeeeepers

In fairness, there is a lot of detail in that PDF.......it runs to 23 pages (!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,882 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

You absolute arrogant arsehole. Who are you to call our Taoiseach a useless ****. You are a 20+ post a day merchant on a ****ty website who thinks he has all the answers from behind a keyboard.

You've always been a massive pain in the hole with your cloying shortenting of names to the first letter but this episode has propelled you into another stratosphere of annoyance.

In fairness he's not wrong, Varadkar is a grand standing puppet.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭coastwatch

The outbreaks in meat processing plants must be a real concern at this stage.
    The plant in Roscrea has 120 positive cases out of a workforce of 340.
    These cases explain some of the reported "community spread" in the daily reported new cases, and so could be a source of much wider spread if not caught quickly enough.
    I would expect the HSA (Health Safety Authority) have the legal powers to visit all plants and force closures if they are not operating all possible measures to prevent spread of the virus in the workplace.

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2020/may/01/covid-19-outbreaks-at-irish-meat-plants-raise-fears-over-worker-safety

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/agribusiness-and-food/fears-for-agrifood-sector-as-three-meat-plants-confirm-covid-cases-1.4242668

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Ah here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,530 ✭✭✭boardise

zzfh wrote: »
    Any date for gyms re-opening?

There'll be an extra weight for gym-goers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

All pubs on May 18th:

EW877bQXkAA9d5j?format=jpg&name=900x900