Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,551 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

No: other
    Setanter wrote: »
    www.pharmacy.ie are stocking them, with next day delivery €50 for a box of 50, €12.00 for a ten pack. Fairly sure couriers have cocooning procedures.
    Hope that helps

it doesn't give any information on masks, just says 3 ply I think or am I missing it ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Yes: valved
    For anyone that thinks home made masks are useless... Didn't they (doctors and nurses) use cloth masks during the 1918 flu pandemic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,170 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Yes: homemade
    Seanergy wrote: »
    Buy a cottonmask from these guys and they send a free one to direct provision also.

WEMAKEGOOD.IE

They're not great masks to be honest. And aid to direct provision or not doesn't excuse the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,170 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Yes: homemade
    LuasSimon wrote: »
    How does one make a mask or what do you need ?.... are shops still selling them or are they gone very expensive ?

POST 1595 shows one type in a tutorial but there's plenty of good tutorials available. Just make sure they are as good a design and quality as you can manage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭cnoc

Is there a plentiful supply of masks available?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Coralcoras

How does one make a mask or what do you need ?.... are shops still selling them or are they gone very expensive ?

I’m making mine with three layers of fabric (quilters cotton/non-woven interfacing material/quilters cotton). I have an aluminum strip sown in and two elastic loops for the ears (I’m including bra sliders in future versions so I can remove the elastics before the hot wash). I’m also using strong polyester thread. Sewing machine can just about handle the thickness.

Note from the pics I’ve cinched any areas not flush with the skin.

It takes me over an hour to make two - but I’m distracted by children a bit.

Materials are easily bought from sewing outlets and online from uk.

Staying away from polycottons (Cheaper cotton) due to lightly woven nature of the fabric - these are most likely used by mass producers so be aware of this and make you're own mind up about it before purchasing on the likes of eBay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

Yes: surgical
    The anti mask mob are now seriously getting on my tits. I can find no other explanation than typical group mentality picking on the "odd ones out". Why does it bother them so much what other people do? There is no downside to wearing a mask. And don't give me the "sigh you'll just touch your face more and infect yourself anyway". Er no I'm a grown adult I can manage to be aware of touching my face at a time like this. I look forward to the day when these clowns are forced by the government to wear something, anything, over their faces and see if the big I ams will refuse to go out in public because they don't want to be seen in a mask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

fr336 wrote: »
    The anti mask mob are now seriously getting on my tits. I can find no other explanation than typical group mentality picking on the "odd ones out". Why does it bother them so much what other people do? There is no downside to wearing a mask. And don't give me the "sigh you'll just touch your face more and infect yourself anyway". Er no I'm a grown adult I can manage to be aware of touching my face at a time like this. I look forward to the day when these clowns are forced by the government to wear something, anything, over their faces and see if the big I ams will refuse to go out in public because they don't want to be seen in a mask.

Problem I have with “why does it bother them so much with what other people do” is that I want others to wear masks too. I don’t believe a mask with fully protect me from it, it certainly helps. But what would absolutely help is if everyone’s own droplets were caught by their masks, or at least reduces transmission. Anything that helps us move around more, but safer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭McGiver

No: I don't care enough
    hmmm wrote: »
    So masks. Sure they'll do a small bit to reduce transmission. But they are completely overblown (one previous poster said they were "pivotal for reducing the spread in Scotland", which is some stat they pulled out of their imagination).
    At this stage of the game you're just trolling.
    Masks don't reduce anything "a bit" if everyone wears them. And that's exactly the point of this thread. Simple DIY cotton double layer mask filters 60%+ micron sized virus sized particles. With extra insert filter you can get to 80%. Even if 50% people wore them improperly (which is unlikely with simple DIY mask) it's still has a huge effect on population level than simply no masks.

At this stage if the government don't enforce masks in public and don't fine non adherence it's simply criminal. There's nothing else what a) could be done to stop the spread and b) what they are able to arrange on the ground. Simply nothing.
    They aren't able to do massive testing, contact tracing via phones, enforce strict quarantine, quarantine monitoring via phone. So what do you suggest they do? Indefinite lockdown?

And also they fail to treat people on top. The results are getting into poor levels despite all the advantages of being an island with low population density. With ability to cut off all incoming passenger traffic easily. With ability to limit spread. They failed in that spectacularly. We've now week 8 of a very strict lockdown and looking at further extension with minimum loosening.

Some numbers:
    Czechia
    Death rate per capita - 0.022 per 1000
    Cases per capita - 0.715 per 1000

Ireland
    Deaths per capita - 0.243 per 1000
    Cases per capita - 4.130 per 1000

That's 12 times worse death rate and 6 times worse case rate despite the fact of island vs a continental transit country (close to Austria and Italy with a strong tradition going skiing there in February!). And please note that number of cases was the same in both countries 3-4 weeks ago (that means double per capita for Ireland) and deaths were roughly tripple per capita - I was predicting there would a huge divergence and Ireland ending up with an order of magnitude worse mortality than Czechia. And here we go 4 weeks later - 12 times worse and rising. Despite very strict lockdown which is way too long and extremely costly - 30 billion and rising, many fortunes destroyed, people with no work.

So no we won't listen to people like you but will double down.

MAKE YOUR OWN MASK,
    PUT IT ON,
    YOU WILL SAVE LIVES.

It'll be recommended for some but it won't be compulsory, it's not something that can be policed, don't expect it to be law.
    Really? how come other countries can? And don't fecking tell me bollox like "we need an Irish solution for Ireland".

It's not a rocket science! What other countries did, prime example Czechia and Austria, is that all shops and public buildings will need to ensure that no one enters without a mask. All shops have security staff and they enforce it. It's simple system.

If shops can enforce and regulate number of customers entering (situation now) they can easily check mask discipline. Very easy.

At this stage all I see is arguments thrown just to try too find a reason for "why not". Just give up please, it's tiring and lacking any pragmatism.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,323 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yes: other
    McGiver wrote: »
    At this stage if the government don't enforce masks in public and don't fine non adherence it's simply criminal. There's nothing else what a) could be done to stop the spread and b) what they are able to arrange on the ground. Simply nothing.
    They aren't able to do massive testing, contact tracing via phones, enforce strict quarantine, quarantine monitoring via phone. So what do you suggest they do? Indefinite lockdown?
    The "lockdown" is going to pot too and they can't even manage that. You are dead right Mc. The top levels of our government and health authorities are displaying sheer wilful incompetence to a criminal degree. They have directly led to people dying from this and will continue to do so.

But nothing will happen to them. Sadly this mediocrity is endemic to our society and that includes much of our population. The "Ah shure wat cud dey doo" types. So the utter fcukwits at the top instinctively know the Irish population will not bite back. At best there might be yet another junket "enquiry" where some of the judiciary will clear the mortgages on their second homes, "investigating" people whose fat pensions will continue to be paid. Both out of our hard earned taxes. I mean look at the near reflexive negative attitude we've seen in this thread. Either A) masks don't work because we've been told by the same fcukwits in government or B) sure people will just ignore it, how can you enforce it, and often both attitudes at once. I mean how can we hope to win this fight as a society with that level of negative mediocrity at both top levels and at the grassroots?

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Seanergy

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    They're not great masks to be honest. And aid to direct provision or not doesn't excuse the price.

Let's get the masks on 1st Jim, bump in quality will happen for all maker's, your wife's brand incl.

I agree the price is on the higher scale, so penny pinchers might not support, but I support anybody making and promoting masks right now, I think we all should.

Places already introducing bans on valved mask usage in public, places already installing street vending Corona-19 product care machine's mainly for masks and hand sanitzer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭railer201

Just watched a bit of Ivan Yeates's Tonight programme on Virgin Media 1 where Professor Luke O'Neill quickly showed his home made mask.

He claimed a 95% filtration level, and although he didn't say what it was made of, it appeared to be two layers of dish towel material.

It looked also that it had been perhaps hand sewn together, but it did the job and covered his face adequately.

There's a plethora of designs about, with fancy pleats and stitching etc., but this is secondary to the absolute basic of getting as many peoples faces covered with something starting with scarves, no sew masks, sewed masks - hand or machine, sewed masks with disposable filters, and so on.

And all the necessary info and links are on this thread, no need to look any further. All people have to do is read down through it, and look at the various links.

I'll link to the CDC machine sewed design again, because of its simplicity, using two layers of close weave cotton.

There's something for everybody in the audience, bottom line is get your nose and mouth covered with at least 2 layers of close weave material.

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/prevent-getting-sick/diy-cloth-face-coverings.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,509 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Yes: other
    Places already introducing bans on valved mask usage in public, places already installing street vending Corona-19 product care machine's mainly for masks and hand sanitzer.

Which places?

I think banning valve masks is silly, sure they are not ideal, but it sends the wrong message imo.

Why not just ban anyone not in full hazmat suits?

fr336 wrote: »

Another explanation that I'm starting to entertain is that there are afew/possibly alot of G-men bumping the figures on the poll and trying to influence brains in thread.

The risk compensation argument(that wearing a mask is more harm..etc.. touch your mask etc.) is null and void as far as I am concerned beacuse their is no current sound scientfic evidence relating to this behaviour with the Corona-19 virus.

The anti mask mob have double standards, if anything, they should wear 2 masks, 1 for each face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,905 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

GreeBo wrote: »
    Which places?

I think banning valve masks is silly, sure they are not ideal, but it sends the wrong message imo.

I'd be curious to know as well.

Banning valved masks could make sense in a country where non-valved masks are mandatory and readily available (i.e. wearing valved masks would weaken the level of public protection). But in any other context, banning them makes no sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,347 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Yes: surgical
    It'll be recommended for some but it won't be compulsory, it's not something that can be policed, don't expect it to be law.

It doesn’t need to be policed by Gardaí. What I’d like to see is nobody allowed into a supermarket without a mask, or any other enclosed indoor space, public transport etc. Most supermarkets already have someone on the door organising the the queue so they could stop people without masks as well. Work places should also be forced to implement it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭railer201

There's plenty of info on this thread about making your own, and from stuff just lying around the house, old cotton t-shirts and shoe laces for ear-loops. Take your time and read down through this thread, all the info is there on how to make your own.

Just one of many examples -

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/prevent-getting-sick/diy-cloth-face-coverings.html

GreeBo wrote: »
    Which places?

Why not just ban anyone not in full hazmat suits?

It sends the right message out alright(protect others 1st) but maybe you just don't like that message.

California’s Bay Area, there’s a new stipulation: You can wear any style of mask you want, so long as it doesn’t have a valve in it. What? Why? Because a mask with a valve may protect you from some pathogens in the air, but it doesn’t protect the people around you from your own breath.

banner.png

The whole mask discussion is about shielding virus particles at point of source, the mouth and nose, if we we excreting virus's from our legs and arms then yeah maybe a hazmat suit's might be discussed more.

And the vending machines are appearing everywhere in Europe, here's one in Warsaw.

Screen-Shot-2020-05-01-at-10.26.31.png

railer201 wrote: »
    Just watched a bit of Ivan Yeates's Tonight programme on Virgin Media 1 where Professor Luke O'Neill quickly showed his home made mask.

He claimed a 95% filtration level, and although he didn't say what it was made of, it appeared to be two layers of dish towel material.

It looked also that it had been perhaps hand sewn together, but it did the job and covered his face adequately.

There's a plethora of designs about, with fancy pleats and stitching etc., but this is secondary to the absolute basic of getting as many peoples faces covered with something starting with scarves, no sew masks, sewed masks - hand or machine, sewed masks with disposable filters, and so on.

And all the necessary info and links are on this thread, no need to look any further. All people have to do is read down through it, and look at the various links.

I'll link to the CDC machine sewed design again, because of its simplicity, using two layers of close weave cotton.

There's something for everybody in the audience, bottom line is get your nose and mouth covered with at least 2 layers of close weave material.

95% is unlikely with a double layer cotton design without a hepa type of filter but its certainly 60%+.

The US CDC went really smart about it:
    1. We recommend face masks.
    2. Cover your bloody face while in crowded spaces.
    3. Here is how you're wear it - 3 points.
    4. Here is how to make it - one page instruction.

That's it. They did what they could - told people what to do, told them how, they knew that federal gov can't supply proper masks to everyone so DIY is the only choice. Done and dusted. And that's despite Trump.

Local leaders have no brain and no spine. Cowards, crooks and charlatans. Hundreds of people have died and will die unnecessarily. Public coffers will lose dozens of billions - we'll all pay for it!

And the public reaction is equally shocking - no enthusiasm, no criticism, no scrutiny, just lazy acceptance of authority and what we're told. Compare it with the water charges boycott! Few quid for water was apparently a reason to protest, but billions of public debt, 20% unemployment and thousands of dead people are fine.

Where's the Irish rebellion? Just bend the rules and go 10 km out of your home instead of the 2 km they told us? That's not enough.... :)

MadYaker wrote: »
    It doesn’t need to be policed by Gardaí. What I’d like to see is nobody allowed into a supermarket without a mask, or any other enclosed indoor space, public transport etc. Most supermarkets already have someone on the door organising the the queue so they could stop people without masks as well. Work places should also be forced to implement it.

Exacto, A donation box or fixed charge at entrances to indoor spaces, 2 yoyo a mask.

I would agree with the concept of issuing a mask with a fiver fine. Heads walk away stung a fiver but armed with a mask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,062 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

No: other
    Are you allowed full face masks here, would love one of the plague ones with the beak and a nice top hat. I thought they were banned from the Rá days.

Think I'll get my self a goggle jacket, another thing I've always wanted..

If shops police face mask wearing, I'd be worried about the poor people that works in the shops if someone went without a mask. I've heard that there's alot of psychos out there now giving out to shop workers... Giving out because they're asked to stand back and keep distance, give out because they can't buy alcohol at 9am... It will be the same with masks... It's not the shop's fault for these ignorant types.

Wibbs wrote: »
    The "lockdown" is going to pot too and they can't even manage that. You are dead right Mc. The top levels of our government and health authorities are displaying sheer wilful incompetence to a criminal degree. They have directly led to people dying from this and will continue to do so.
    This. It is criminal. But I hear people around me saying "ah sure the gov are managing it alright". This is the narrative in the media. It's pathetic on two levels - the public act like sheep and don't scrutinise media information and the public don't display any level critical thinking with regards the actions of the government.
    The media is complicit in not enough gov scrutiny and not giving international comparison. The message is "It's better than in the UK and therefore its grand". UK is extremely low bar in many areas, especially this one, they're running for the worst death rate in Europe.

The gov is only lucky that Ireland has so low population and especially low population density. With their inability to govern, Ireland would be onSpanish level of death per capita even if the population of Ireland was 10-15M. So no they are not doing it right and they are failing.
    Countries to compare with are Austria, Finland, Slovakia, Norway. Similar populations, similar densities (bar wilderness with no people but just reindeers in FI and NO).

Exacto, A donation box or fixed charge at entrances to indoor spaces, 2 yoyo a mask.

I would agree with the concept of issuing a mask with a fiver fine. Heads walk away stung a fiver but armed with a mask.

It's legally problematic. Retailers won't accept this responsibility. They could be sued eventually "dey sold us dem masks 'n we got d covid like".

Everyone needs to have their own mask else you're not allowed in by the security. Not a rocket science. Make your own mask if you can't buy it else put on a scarf if you can't make a mask yourself at home...

Fines not needed. It would be better but I don't think Guards are able to police it. The government doesn't govern. The only public body that works alright is The Revenue of course, they'll follow ya till the death! (unless you're Google then they pretend they don't see ya).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

If shops police face mask wearing, I'd be worried about the poor people that works in the shops if someone went without a mask. I've heard that there's alot of psychos out there now giving out to shop workers... Giving out because they're asked to stand back and keep distance, give out because they can't buy alcohol at 9am... It will be the same with masks... It's not the shop's fault for these ignorant types.
    Firstly who's looking to buy drink at 9am, think they've an issue.

Secondly if as expected face masks won't be mandatory so not in law, therefore shops cant actually police it. If someone wants to go out without one on theres nothing the shop worker can do.

People that abuse those working in retail are scum anyway.

Yeah, but simple - employ more security staff then. They provide essential service (food) so they need to ramp up security if needed.

Leo addressing the nation, not a thing said about masks/face coverings. Idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭2u2me

Are you allowed full face masks here, would love one of the plague ones with the beak and a nice top hat. I thought they were banned from the Rá days.

Your post reminded me of this video that absolutely cracked me up.

Absolute safety is upon is!