Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

owlbethere wrote: »
    What is the recent news from Germany

The rate of reproduction has risen from .7 up to 1 showing it is spreading again.

https://www.thelocal.de/20200428/german-virus-spread-worsens-as-lockdown-eases

I am monitoring my own project over there and we were just slowly getting things moving again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭ek motor

bekker wrote: »
    Don't know regarding children but London hospital reporting something similar.

Regarding mutations,

'A couple of days later, in a pre-print paper others questioned, scientists reported finding that the ability of the disease to mutate has been “vastly underestimated” — investigating the disease as it appeared in just 11 patients, they said they found 30 mutations. “The most aggressive strains could generate 270 times as much viral load as the weakest type,” the South China Morning-Post reported. “These strains also killed the cells the fastest.” '

and in an unrelated report,

'Based on early reports, covid-19 appeared to be a standard variety respiratory virus, albeit a very contagious and lethal one with no vaccine and no treatment. But they’ve since become increasingly convinced that covid-19 attacks not only the lungs, but also the kidneys, heart, intestines, liver and brain.'

So it seems it's not impossible that such a mutation could have arisen.

Source https://nymag.com/intelligencer/2020/04/we-still-dont-know-how-the-coronavirus-is-killing-us.html

The main entry point for SARS-CoV-2 is via ACE2 receptors, these are found all over the body and especially the lungs kidneys and testicles , it makes sense that it would cause issues all over the body.

https://www.rndsystems.com/resources/articles/ace-2-sars-receptor-identified

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭Celticfire

OQ Q0 -[ Q

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭statto25

Don't know regarding children but London hospital reporting something similar.

Regarding mutations,

'A couple of days later, in a pre-print paper others questioned, scientists reported finding that the ability of the disease to mutate has been “vastly underestimated” — investigating the disease as it appeared in just 11 patients, they said they found 30 mutations. “The most aggressive strains could generate 270 times as much viral load as the weakest type,” the South China Morning-Post reported. “These strains also killed the cells the fastest.” '

and in an unrelated report,

'Based on early reports, covid-19 appeared to be a standard variety respiratory virus, albeit a very contagious and lethal one with no vaccine and no treatment. But they’ve since become increasingly convinced that covid-19 attacks not only the lungs, but also the kidneys, heart, intestines, liver and brain.'

So it seems it's not impossible that such a mutation could have arisen.

Source https://nymag.com/intelligencer/2020/04/we-still-dont-know-how-the-coronavirus-is-killing-us.html

Thanks for that. Do most virus of this nature have the ability to mutate into so many strains. This thing seems to be able to change based on its host. Kids weren't susceptible but now we are seeing that's not the case so something has had to have changed within the virus itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Ash3070

Kicking myself for never learning to drive. For years I decided I wasn't gonna do it because sure I can get the bus and if I CAN do so, I should for the environment. I live with my nanny, just the two of us. She's diabetic, on dialysis 3 days a week etc. etc. Less than a week ago we almost had to call an ambulance for her (we only didn't because she got very agitated at the idea of going into hospital at the moment), because she couldn't breath - she'd lost a tiny bit of weight during the week and had some excess water putting pressure on her lungs. There's not a doubt in my mind that if she caught this, she'd be done. I'm working from home at the moment and just hope that as people are returning to work, those of us who CAN work from home are left as long as possible...really kicking myself for never learning how to drive. Wouldn't mind but I'd decided to bite the bullet and it was one of the resolutions to start learning this year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

statto25 wrote: »
    Thanks for that. Do most virus of this nature have the ability to mutate into so many strains. This thing seems to be able to change based on its host. Kids weren't susceptible but now we are seeing that's not the case so something has had to have changed within the virus itself.
    Reputable scientists are telling us that the mutations are minor, I wouldn't get worked up about them. One of the Chinese vaccines in Phase 1 trials was tested against multiple geographical versions of the virus and has had success against each of the strains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Another one for Vit D deficiency combined with metabolic issues?

https://twitter.com/doctorcm9/status/1254186884328312837

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

A lot of people from Leinster counties would travel to Dublin for work too, but most of them are reporting far lower cases than Cavan or Monaghan. Laois, Carlow and Kilkenny have good transport links to Dublin, train or by road, and also counties like Wicklow and Wexford. But they all have far lower cases. I'm not sure if many people are commuting long distances to Dublin these days.

The border thing could be a coincidence. Donegal has a lower number of cases. Cavan and Monaghan would have a large number of foreign workers working in meat and agriculture plants and it may be there is a superspreader.

There needs to be an examination if any cases are coming from the north and if so restrictions should definitely be put in place. We know once cases take hold in the community, nursing homes and care homes follow soon after.
    Fair amount of meat processing in the Cavan/Monaghan area, with a deal of cross-border processing movements.

A super-spread could most probably be found in the processing transport sector or ancillary services, or it could be that there's no superspreader other than contaminated personnel/vehicles crisscrossing the wider area.

Whatever it is it's a glaring anomaly and need to urgently investigated in detail unless the DOH has an alternative explanation available today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,678 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Does the Cavan figures include the hospitalised from Monaghan too.
    Taniste Wilson was a fucin basterd to make Cavan the centre for the region .
    A mé Fein decision from him and FF.
    Desperate journey to even get to Cavan town from half the region and nothing they can do about the roads as they go in and out of NI every few miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭statto25

hmmm wrote: »
    Reputable scientists are telling us that the mutations are minor, I wouldn't get worked up about them. One of the Chinese vaccines in Phase 1 trials was tested against multiple geographical versions of the virus and has had success against each of the strains.

I'm not worked up as such just very interested in how this damn virus works.

silverharp wrote: »

Seems theres a genetic component regarding susceptibility.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Just confronted spitty boy there. When I say boy he was probably in his 30s and should know better.

Eejit was on a bike up ahead and did two big spits on the footpath after washing his mouth out with lucozade sport.

I lost it after the second one and called him a knacker. He circled back and I asked him has he not heard of Coronavirus. He said of course he has and that he has a vulnerable mother. I said what about other people who have vulnerable relatives and that have to walk in your spit!

To my surprise he apologised for the spitting :D

I've seen this from cyclists too recently - is it a thing that they do normally? Whatever, it's absolutely outrageous behaviour at the moment. At least he apologised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

Aren't most doctors and nurses in uk hospitals from an ethnic minority groups anyway? If the majority of doctors are not white, then the majority of them dieng wont be white.

This virus isnt racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,338 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Dr John Campbell thinks black and other ethnic minority groups are low in Vitamin D and that this could well be a factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

US2 wrote: »
    Aren't most doctors and nurses in uk hospitals from an ethnic minority groups anyway? If the majority of doctors are not white, then the majority of them dieng wont be white.

This virus isnt racist.

Black and middle eastern people tend to have higher levels of vitamin D deficiency, which is being linked to poorer outcomes. Scandinavians have far less Vit D deficiency, so maybe we can't just all jump on and copy their strategy, as it may be their advantage.

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Absolutely huge setback. Cannot be understated as we look to lift ours.

How long do you think 'lockdown' should stay for Chiki? Do you think it should stay until we have zero transmission anywhere? Restrictions have to be lifted at some point - that is official Govt policy on matter. Cases must rise when restrictions lifted so it's about the level of increases that they will have to look at.

I think that level of increases will be continually monitored in terms of what the health service can cope with. And life will go on, and back to some semblance of normality while living with the virus, and cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭keynes

Whatever it is it's a glaring anomaly and need to urgently investigated in detail unless the DOH has an alternative explanation available today.

Despite the striking border evidence, its pretty disappointing Holohan dismissed a spillover effect as "unlikely," without even entertaining the possibility. He took a similar stance regarding the arrival of the Italian rugby fans here. Yet the logic of the gov advice against Dubs traveling to Wexford (or wherever) is predicated on travel spreading the virus. Its hard to reconcile these positions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭jibber5000

Strazdas wrote: »
    Dr John Campbell thinks black and other ethnic minority groups are low in Vitamin D and that this could well be a factor.

Youd be surprised at the vast amount of people in Ireland with Vitamin D deficiency

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Just confronted spitty boy there. When I say boy he was probably in his 30s and should know better.

Eejit was on a bike up ahead and did two big spits on the footpath after washing his mouth out with lucozade sport.

I lost it after the second one and called him a knacker. He circled back and I asked him has he not heard of Coronavirus. He said of course he has and that he has a vulnerable mother. I said what about other people who have vulnerable relatives and that have to walk in your spit!

To my surprise he apologised for the spitting :D

Hard man. You'd had been wishing you kept your mouth shut if he gave you a few belts.

Although I agree it is totally digusting you just dont know who you are dealong with these day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

Something that has been bothering me right through this pandemic is people seeing waiting to find fault in other people. I feel there is nothing stopping us returning the restrictions in place before the lockdown. We can maintain social distancing but one thing that will prevent this is people freaking out about crowds in parks etc and jumping to the conclusion because there is people out and about that they are all on top of each other. I went to the beach the weekend before the lock down and I observed people adhering to social distancing but I seen pictures of that beach on Facebook later that evening and it was made look as if people were on top of each other and social distancing was not being adhered to. This is an interesting video of how the media in the UK is using shoddy tactics to make stuff out to be worse than it is.

https://www.facebook.com/www.JOE.co.uk/videos/542291403146752

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,291 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Damn Chinese and their wet markets

https://www.thejournal.ie/egg-shortage-ireland-5086007-Apr2020

Scientists are saying that because of how we treat animals and nature more and more of these viruses will emerge, I wonder where the next one will come from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Ash3070 wrote: »
    Kicking myself for never learning to drive. For years I decided I wasn't gonna do it because sure I can get the bus and if I CAN do so, I should for the environment. I live with my nanny, just the two of us. She's diabetic, on dialysis 3 days a week etc. etc. Less than a week ago we almost had to call an ambulance for her (we only didn't because she got very agitated at the idea of going into hospital at the moment), because she couldn't breath - she'd lost a tiny bit of weight during the week and had some excess water putting pressure on her lungs. There's not a doubt in my mind that if she caught this, she'd be done. I'm working from home at the moment and just hope that as people are returning to work, those of us who CAN work from home are left as long as possible...really kicking myself for never learning how to drive. Wouldn't mind but I'd decided to bite the bullet and it was one of the resolutions to start learning this year...

I'm puzzled. Why do you need to drive? Most shops deliver particularly to vulnerable categories. You also could get a lift with neighbours or friends.

If you are talking about driving to work, what is the point if the person sitting beside you came to work on the bus and may have picked it up.

Sounds like you should avoid the office and work from home full time. Any employer worth their salt would allow this.

statto25 wrote: »
    Don't have the requisite knowledge to answer with any great certainty but AFAIK mutation of viruses to less lethal more transmissible forms is the accepted norm.

The more generally lethal a virus is the more rapidly it's R0 diminishes towards zero, if it kills it's carriers then it reaches a stage where it can only be transmitted by direct contact with the corpses.

As far as the affected children are concerned it's not clear yet whether it's a viral mutation or some non-viral extraneous communality among those affected which is being aggravated by a COVID-19 infection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

kilkenny31 wrote: »
    Something that has been bothering me right through this pandemic is people seeing waiting to find fault in other people. I feel there is nothing stopping us returning the restrictions in place before the lockdown. We can maintain social distancing but one thing that will prevent this is people freaking out about crowds in parks etc and jumping to the conclusion because there is people out and about that they are all on top of each other. I went to the beach the weekend before the lock down and I observed people adhering to social distancing but I seen pictures of that beach on Facebook later that evening and it was made look as if people were on top of each other and social distancing was not being adhered to. This is an interesting video of how the media in the UK is using shoddy tactics to make stuff out to be worse than it is.

https://www.facebook.com/www.JOE.co.uk/videos/542291403146752

Exactly. You are of course referring to the people looking to be offended by something. I have been pit and about whilst keeping my distance and taking all necessary precautions. 2km needs to go. It's point blank pointless and always was. I think the government will start to ease restrictions from Sunday and they will ease them more than people think. Certain sectors have to be got back to work.

Enforce mask wearing and carrying a small bottle of sanitizer with you but also stop shops from gouging.

This disease is so mild with the fit and healthy that they should be allowed to operate under the pre lockdown restrictions. Let's cocoon the vulnerable but ensure that there is an economy to return too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭ZX7R

The rate of reproduction has risen from .7 up to 1 showing it is spreading again.

https://www.thelocal.de/20200428/german-virus-spread-worsens-as-lockdown-eases

I am monitoring my own project over there and we were just slowly getting things moving again.

It's worth reading the full report than the news article, Germany look at different regions most are still below 1 some are well below 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,791 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Absolutely huge setback. Cannot be understated as we look to lift ours.

This ****in hoor of a yoke has some outrageous characteristics, no wonder doctors and scientists are perplexed.

That’s why we need to give all these ‘lift restrictions’ attention seeking needy fûckwits a swift reminder of how quickly this can go south if restrictions get shelved too soon.

Hard man. You'd had been wishing you kept your mouth shut if he gave you a few belts.

Although I agree it is totally digusting you just dont know who you are dealong with these day.

He did the right thing. I wish in the same situation that I would confront the person, but might not have, to my shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Germans could be fined up to €10,000 as face mask rules brought in

Measure to help combat coronavirus comes into force in shops and on public transport.

Performance of fabrics for home-made masks against spread of respiratory infection through droplets: a quantitative mechanistic study

We found that most home fabrics substantially block droplets, even as a single layer. With two layers, blocking performance can reach that of surgical mask without significantly compromising breathability. Furthermore, we observed that home fabrics are hydrophilic to varying degrees, and hence soak water. In contrast, medical masks are hydrophobic, and tend to repel water. Incoming droplets are thus soaked and 'held back' by home fabrics, which might offer an as of yet untapped and understudied advantage of home-made cloth masks.

IMG_3248.jpg

Seen in New York :D

He did the right thing. I wish in the same situation that I would confront the person, but might not have, to my shame.

Next time you get the chance , take it. Good confidence boost.

Damn Chinese and their wet markets

https://www.thejournal.ie/egg-shortage-ireland-5086007-Apr2020

Scientists are saying that because of how we treat animals and nature more and more of these viruses will emerge, I wonder where the next one will come from
    Nothing to do with China, avian flu originated in Bangladesh.

On the general point if you cluster low genetic diversity populations densely you will always get high mortality if susceptible to a pathogen.