Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

ziggyman17 wrote: »
    exactly, I did not ring the gardai, because I do not mix with those people and it would not effect me or my family, but they should be grown up enough to know that at the moment you can not have a gathering like that, It pains me to say it, but it is always the same sort of people that think they are above everything, I would be deeply offended if I have had a close family member or friend that that had caught this virus and died all the while these sort go on like everything is grand,,

I don't blame ye for not ringing. What's the point? They let a load of travellers move North, south, east and west and settle in the Curragh. And a crowd almost laid siege to the Four Courts the other day and again they did nothing. Although, in fairness that same day they were busy moving a few disgruntled Debenhams workers on so I presume the Riot Police and ERU were probably moving the women on and couldn't be in two places at once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭Iamabeliever

Boggles wrote: »
    Do you mean you see people use gloves incorrectly?

That doesn't mean everyone uses gloves incorrectly.

When I'm out shopping, etc. I wouldn't really be looking at anyone except to keep away from them.

I'd be focused on myself and in fact using my gloves correctly.

Forget about the virus, gloves have 100s of purposes.

A vet for instance wouldn't go clean into a cow without one, unless he was into that sort of thing.

A vet wouldn't clean into the second cow with the same pair.

I started of wearing gloves from the get go but I always found I would make errors like touch my car door, car booth, touching shopping with and without gloves, touch my shopping bag with and without gloves etc.
    All I'm trying to say is, as hard as it is to remember to do the basic hand washing 57 times a day, adding an extra step can cause confusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭Wombatman

My two cents

Ppl are WAY TOO CASUAL the last few days

It’s gonna ruin any chance the lockdown will ease

Selfish selfish idiots

I'm beginning to think it's just a natural reaction at this stage. Humans are social animals and creatures of habit. Quarantine fatigue is setting in, as predicted, and we are all seeing the impact of this over the last couple of days.

Converse to your point this is the very reason why restrictions will be eased on the 5th of May. It's only natural that people are fed up with them at this stage, some more than others. It's a understandable reaction. That's why we are seeing it all over the country. It can't be stopped in reality by the police or government.

Hopefully we have given the health service enough time to gear up for the next few months and that most people will voluntarily continue with behaviors that will slow the spread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,757 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

We're suppose to be in this ''second phase'' of this stricter stay at home order, but so many people out, shops reopening, cafes opening, adapting to the situation with distancing that no one obeys, even saw a hairdressers open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,046 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

You don't house 1000s of people the vast vast vast majority of which don't have the virus in hospitals, a mystery army base or some pop up field hospital during a pandemic.

As for closing the borders, the horse has bolted.

Right now, my understanding is passenger traffic is pretty much non existent.

An idea based on reality, anyone that chooses to travel onto the island be made self isolate in a hotel room for 14 days. That was not feasible back in March with 1000s of returning citizens.

Simple, No need for the army fetish to be involved.

Ok so you say a hotel

I am ok with that once they are bussed there and there is proper security.

By that I mean the army and not some G4S shift worker who is not watching the comings and goings carefully enough.

I am not xenophobic etc it is simply that ppl arriving into the state from abroad need to quarantine. And it needs to be properly enforced and not an ah sure twill be grand approach this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,174 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Do rte really need to be sending corespondents London to in order to produce a brief report? Your man Sean Whelan in the middle of an empty Piccadilly Circus to explain to us there’s nowt going on over there. There’s no reason they can’t link with reporters over there and get a bit of footage in order to make their point

He's permanently based there but sending Brian O'Donovan to Washington for daily reports is a bit extreme in the current situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Jesus Titty Christ we do not have an "army base" to cater for 1000s of people.

Also housing 1000s of people in one place during a pandemic is one of the dumbest things I think I have ever heard.

It's up there with drinking toilet duck.

Perhaps,however where are you getting the '000's from ?

Are you assuming that every expatriate Irish citizen is suddenly going to turn up en-masse to kiss the ould sod ?

As with New Zealand,we now have thousands of empty Hotel rooms adjacent to our main Air and Ferry ports,each Hotel capable of being closely monitored and effectively sanitized.

Nobody is suggesting Stalag 17 here,but if we as a State,can shuttle Direct Provision refugees to "centres" across the Country,who then test positive for CV19,then we sure as hell can do a LOT better for potentially infected Irish Citizens ?

It also has to be acknowledged that,as posted earlier in thread,Ireland's current policies are 'advisory' and 'recommended' a situation which may well have to be addressed given the increase in reports and verified occurences of Darwinism being practiced around the State.

It may well have to come to a choice,and assessing those options is what has to be done....shrugging the shoulders and sniffing about 'entitlements' won't wash no more boss :(

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

Saudi Arabia reports 1,172 new cases and 6 new deaths.

Interesting to note temps across the kingdom at the moment are generally in the mid to high 30's.

Outside temps - indoors will be frigid with air con.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

You have to change gloves after everything you touch. You're not going to find a surgeon using one pair of gloves the minute they clock in until they clock out. One pair of gloves=more infection/cross contamination and this is alot of what I'm seeing in shops.

The same level of virus spread by touch occurs on fomites with or without gloves unless people wash their hands between every item they come into physical contact with. Do you wash your hands between picking up every item you're putting into your basket in the shop?

The gloves work as a deterrent for people touching their faces, I see people rubbing their itchy face on their shoulder etc when they have gloves on. That's not to say gloves are a replacement for hand hygiene but act as somewhat of a deterrent to touching the face.

Masks are all well and good but the barriers to access them are too high for the vast majority of people and taking them off presents a whole new challenge to avoid contaminating your self. I see doctors and nurses, daily, who misuse masks and doff them incorrectly despite almost daily reminders in correct technique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Multipass wrote: »

You could say that about most of the Northern hemisphere during mid summer and influenza activity is still minimal

Wombatman wrote: »
    I'm beginning to think it's just a natural reaction at this stage. Humans are social animals and creatures of habit. Quarantine fatigue is setting in, as predicted, and we are all seeing the impact of this over the last couple of days.

Converse to your point this is the very reason why restrictions will be eased on the 5th of May. It's only natural that people are fed up with them at this stage, some more than others. It's a understandable reaction. That's why we are seeing it all over the country. It can't be stopped in reality by the police or government.

Hopefully we have given the health service enough time to gear up for the next few months and that most people will voluntarily continue with behaviors that will slow the spread.

The 'social elements' won't be eased on 5th May by a long shot. The inability of people to simply knuckle down for a few weeks is staggering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

wakka12 wrote: »
    People reading worldometers today probably think Irelands ****ed with 220 in a day , wonder why they didn't stagger the release

I haven't been keeping up but what's the story with the numbers today?

Did 220 people die last night or did we just add a bunch of people to the list that we didn't know about previously?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

From Reddit - interesting bit I noticed and highlighted in red

New Cases: 577 - 245 in respect of nursing homes
    Total Cases: 18184
    New Death: 37
    Total Deaths: 829 * 2 denotifications
    Male: 441
    Female: 388
    Deaths
    • Hospitalised + died in hospital: 406
    • Died in ICU: 53
    • Underlying conditions: 715
    • Median age: 83
    • Mean age: 81
    • Range: 23-105
    Of 340 in ICU
    • Remain in hospital: 142
    • Discharged: 144
    • Died: 53
    • Underlying conditions: 283
    • Median Age: 30
    As of Weds 22nd
    • Cases: 17420
    • In Hospital: 2486
    • Total In ICU: 338
    • Deaths: 821
    • Median age infected: 49
    • Healthcare workers: 27%
    Update on Healthcare Workers - Data up to Saturday 18th April
    • 3830 cases *159 hospitalised
    • 24 admitted to ICU
      • 5 deaths
    Residential Settings
    • All Residential Homes (Includes nursing homes): 336 clusters
    • Nursing Homes: 198 clusters
    • Total cases in residential homes: 3277 - 305 hospitalised
    • Total cases in nursing homes: 2500 - 208 hopsitalised
    • Residential homes - deaths in hospitals: 452 lab confirmed - 124 probable cases
    • Nursing homes - deaths in hospital: 376 lab confirmed - 112 probable
    • 576 total across all community residential homes, when including confirmed and probably
    • 488 across all nursing homes, when including confirmed probable
    • 109 died in hospital
    • 91 out of 376 nursing home deaths occurred in hospital
    Questions
    • ECDC has asked that all countries report the probable and confirmed deaths together. Ireland has been doing this already. We are one of 4 countries doing this.
    • Probable deaths what does this mean? A death of someone who didn't have a swab taken, but the doctor believes that the person was likely to have had Covid.
    • Decision in principle has been decided on case definition. What that case definition will be is in line with the ECDC advice: Fever, recent onset of cough, shortness of breath. An algorithm will be used to try and see how many numbers that will be. There will still be prioritisation of certain groups (elderly, healthcare workers) even when the criteria is expanded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,246 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Multipass wrote: »

Aye and air circulation in spreading a factor there too i'd imagine.

Still, it is notable.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Do you mean you see people use gloves incorrectly?

That doesn't mean everyone uses gloves incorrectly.

When I'm out shopping, etc. I wouldn't really be looking at anyone except to keep away from them.

I'd be focused on myself and in fact using my gloves correctly.

Forget about the virus, gloves have 100s of purposes.

A vet for instance wouldn't go clean into a cow without one, unless he was into that sort of thing.

The vet uses surgical gloves to cut down on contamination. There's a proper way to put on gloves and a proper way to take them off again. Vets are thought all this. They won't be using their phone during an operation. Which alot of people do while out shopping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,536 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

A vet wouldn't clean into the second cow with the same pair.

I started of wearing gloves from the get go but I always found I would make errors like touch my car door, car booth, touching shopping with and without gloves, touch my shopping bag with and without gloves etc.
    All I'm trying to say is, as hard as it is to remember to do the basic hand washing 57 times a day, adding an extra step can cause confusion.

Bring hand sanitizer. Dose the gloves liberally before you touch car doors, etc.

Discard accordingly.

wakka12 wrote: »
    You could say that about most of the Northern hemisphere during mid summer and influenza activity is still minimal

If only this virus was influenza. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,919 ✭✭✭GM228

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    ECDC has asked that all countries report the probable and confirmed deaths together. Ireland has been doing this already. We are one of 4 countries doing this.

The WHO has made this change rather than the ECDC, I know of the US, Canada and Ireland doing this, don't know of a fourth country yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

I haven't been keeping up but what's the story with the numbers today?

Did 220 people die last night or did we just add a bunch of people to the list that we didn't know about previously?

Probable cases added, but cumulative from since the outbreak began

Miike wrote: »
    The same level of virus spread by touch occurs on fomites with or without gloves unless people wash their hands between every item they come into physical contact with. Do you wash your hands between picking up every item you're putting into your basket in the shop?

The gloves work as a deterrent for people touching their faces, I see people rubbing their itchy face on their shoulder etc when they have gloves on. That's not to say gloves are a replacement for hand hygiene but act as somewhat of a deterrent to touching the face.

Masks are all well and good but the barriers to access them are too high for the vast majority of people and taking them off presents a whole new challenge to avoid contaminating your self. I see doctors and nurses, daily, who misuse masks and doff them incorrectly despite almost daily reminders in correct technique.

I wash my hands before leaving the house, I wash my hands when I come home. I don't touch my face. I wipe down and disinfect my shopping. I shower and change my clothes after coming home from the shop

And having gloves on didn't stop the person in front of me in a queue from having a smoke. So it's not acting as a reminder in some people to not touch their face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,036 ✭✭✭jackboy

Christ. The news just had a piece where an opera singer was brought outside some oul wans apartment to give her a song. Talk about unnecessary journeys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

I'm reading on another forum, people experiencing symptoms for 40+ days. They are up and down in symptoms. Many saying they feel like they are over the worst of it but any exertion is leading to some chest pains and exhaustion. These would be considered mild cases, mild as in not needing hospital admissions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

I wash my hands before leaving the house, I wash my hands when I come home. I don't touch my face. I wipe down and disinfect my shopping. I shower and change my clothes after coming home from the shop

And having gloves on didn't stop the person in front of me in a queue from having a smoke. So it's not acting as a reminder in some people to not touch their face.

Some people doesn't mean all though. We will never get all people to comply with anything.

My point is that gloves do help, to some degree. It's not a perfect solution but it's better than nothing.

polesheep wrote: »
    Mary Lou is obese, she's lucky it didn't go worse for her.

Is that what you call obese?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,776 ✭✭✭✭blade1

jackboy wrote: »
    Christ. The news just had a piece where an opera singer was brought outside some oul wans apartment to give her a song. Talk about unnecessary journeys.

Maybe they thought this will all be over when the fat lady sings.

owlbethere wrote: »
    I'm reading on another forum, people experiencing symptoms for 40+ days. They are up and down in symptoms. Many saying they feel like they are over the worst of it but any exertion is leading to some chest pains and exhaustion. These would be considered mild cases, mild as in not needing hospital admissions.

Mild was always defined, medically, as not needing hospitalisation. It certainly doesn't mean this is a cake walk. The two people I know with it, and at home, have had a dreadful time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,067 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    If only this virus was influenza. :rolleyes:

Same largely applies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Is that what you call obese?

No offence, but your comment perfectly explains why we have an obesity problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭MipMap

Miike wrote: »
    If you contaminate yourself when you take the mask off then it implies there is virus on the mask which in turn means it has done it's job to that stage.
    If the mask had not caught it it would have gone into your mouth or eyes.!

If you assume that even half the people who have a contaminated mask take it off correctly then you have been 50% successful.

In the general population the odds of your mask being infected has to be extremely low. If it is not then you are crazy to put yourself in that environment, mask or no mask.

No one is looking for 100% guarantees. We are trying to cut the odds down using as many methods as possible. This is one of them.

In a hospital environment the odds of contamination being on your mask is

vastly greater. That is why they are heros.

Comparing the two environments is not appropriate. Even the avid anti-mask brigade agree to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,919 ✭✭✭GM228

I didn't realise some knew Mary Lou's BMI to determine she was obese.....