Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Benimar

polesheep wrote: »
    That's not how you get people on board, especially at this stage.

How would you suggest it’s done so? Genuine question, not having a go. If this relaxed attitude doesn’t stop lockdown could easily be extended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,384 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    That's why I think we should be testing everyone, some could be out about infected with no symptoms

Oh to be in a perfect work and no we are not Iceland( a lot less people) or South Korea (they have a country just north of them that want to end them so can be complaint) Now we seem to be making some reagent we can ramp it up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

spookwoman wrote: »
    Only way is hit them in the pocket

No, it's not. For example, most people have no idea just how many products they have bought in their lifetime on the basis of an advertisement they saw, read or heard. There are better ways to influence people and bring them on board than threatening them.

Benimar wrote: »
    How would you suggest it’s done so? Genuine question, not having a go. If this relaxed attitude doesn’t stop lockdown could easily be extended.

I've yet to see some decent PR being used to advantage by the government. People are swayed every day by advertising, marketing and PR, mostly without ever even being aware of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,117 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I don't believe that will work tbh. It would add fuel to the fire. It would be far better at this stage to indicate a plan and bring people on board with that plan, which, of course, would include staying the distance with the restrictions. They have to give people something concrete to aim for.

Jesus how many times. Any plan relies on the public following instructions.

Large parts of the public dont seem capable of this.

It was planned that restrictions would change May 5th. That was with the assumption that people would cooperate. They are the ones jepordising the plan that was in place for May 5th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭helpful

That's not how you get people on board, especially at this stage.

I think it might be a bit strong but these people need to be hit in the pocket. We don’t have time to implement tricks to get them on board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,174 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

37 year old identical twins working as nurses in Southampton died from C19 this week.

An ordinary flu, overhyped, only affects the elderly, lockdown needs to be ended,....people need to catch themselves on realise that, if anything, this virus is worse than first feared.

pjohnson wrote: »

It was planned that restrictions would change May 5th. That was with the assumption that people would cooperate. They are the ones jepordising the plan that was in place for May 5th.

That wasn't a plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,985 ✭✭✭political analyst

pjohnson wrote: »

...only if they had the virus when they disregarded the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,156 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Watching the news and jaysus the amount of cars and people out and about is unreal
    Fine the f*ck outta them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭frillyleaf

Benimar wrote: »

Two weeks ago it was Garda everywhere now it’s just normal traffic! I don’t consider this a lock down anymore. I’ll stick to guidelines but to call this a lockdown is laughable compared to what other countries have done. Mixed messages coming from government probably isn’t helping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭John.Icy

Hmm that was an interesting stat just there....500 community cases a day on average at the moment and 100 a day from nursing....would have thought it would be the other way around if community transfer is zero and most cases are coming from care homes and healthcare staff?

EDIT: On news now for reference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

trapp wrote: »
    We're not.

And never will be.

How can we be when so many will lose jobs and others won't.

The idea of being in it together is a joke.

We are. I had a restricted life before this and it was incredibly isolating because so few people had to live like that. And now everyone knows what it’s like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

No, it's not. For example, most people have no idea just how many products they have bought in their lifetime on the basis of an advertisement they saw, read or heard. There are better ways to influence people and bring them on board than threatening them.

Hit them in the pocket with fines no more 3 warnings bull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,544 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I am not seeing drop off in gardai here...I have seen public order unit in park near me last two days as well as a checkpoint at the top of the road today in both directions for the first time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

fritzelly wrote: »
    Watching the news and jaysus the amount of cars and people out and about is unreal
    Fine the f*ck outta them

You do realise the vast majority of that report was stock footage, pictures of tailbacks on the n11 etc. I've just come through there a half hour ago. No tailback but a big checkpoint.

Traffic still quite light driving in and out of dublin to bray

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

...only if they had the virus when they disregarded the rules.
    That's not the case at all. Anyone not having it risks catching it when disregarding restrictions. That could bring it into their household thereby spreading it further

Why is it not enough to only have people whose lives would be endangered by the virus - the elderly, younger people with serious underlying health problems, pregnant women - isolate themselves while letting cafés, restaurants and other commercial premises re-open on condition of adherence to the two-metre rule? Herd immunity would eventually take hold and then it would be save for the vulnerable people to travel again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,117 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

That wasn't a plan.

What did you expect?

An itemised list with in depth day by day breakdown of the guaranteed cases yhat would have happened and the exact time each restriction would be lifted?

You are looking for a fortune teller not a government/doctor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,156 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

37 deaths RIP
    577 new cases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,268 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Beasty wrote: »
    That's not the case at all. Anyone not having it risks catching it when disregarding restrictions. That could bring it into their household thereby spreading it further

What evidence is there that they've been violating the two-metre rule?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭frillyleaf

Why is it not enough to only have people whose lives would be endangered by the virus - the elderly, younger people with serious underlying health problems, pregnant women - isolate themselves while letting cafés, restaurants and other commercial premises re-open on condition of adherence to the two-metre rule? Herd immunity would eventually take hold and then it would be save for the vulnerable people to travel again.

Because our healthcare system can’t cope with that at the moment. People are forgetting that our healthcare has largely closed to deal with this and needs to get back up and running alongside dealing with Covid19. If healthcare becomes overrun the economy can’t function. Healthcare staff will be infected, it would have huge knock on affects in other parts of society. We can’t afford to be complacent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭redarmy

BREAKING: Sadly, a further 37 people with #Covid19 are known to have died in the Republic. 185 “probable” deaths have occurred too. 577 new cases confirmed. It now brings the death toll to 1,014 & the number of confirmed cases stands at 18,184.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭rm212

245 of 577 new cases in nursing homes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

ElTel wrote: »
    Is that for the covid19 swab analysis or more to do with blood and antibodies? A "now your talking to a virology lab tech" thread would be great imo.

Hindsight of course, but we messed up testing too widely early.

Even now, with increased capacity I think we should still limit this test to continuous checking of health care staff and high risk groups and contact tracing of serious new cases. I hope the gardai are/get more involved in contact tracing. Some posts in this thread suggest that tracing has been poor.

We could do some random sampling of the full population instead and perhaps test people that have shown no symptoms.

I’ll be honest, I don’t know the details. She just told me that there was new training required for this virus. Actually, there’s probably specific training for testing of all kinds of viruses. They just all had to learn this one quick smart.

My friend would agree that some of the early criteria for testing were too broad and that wasted resources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,622 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Good to hear the guards are out and about doing checkpoints. As i did wonder would people with second homes attempt to go to places like Wexford this weekend.

142 currently in ICU