Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭trapp

Please be aware the below is not meant to take away from the virus itself. I know how much damage the virus could do if let move unrestricted in the population.

I'm just wondering has it home what exactly is happening here and worldwide.

We're hearing stay at home, clap the frontline, watch netflix, enjoy family life and so forth but it seems fake or forced positivity.

In Ireland alone this is what's happening.

Thousands of people are now going to unemployed and all the effects of that

Many, many shops and businesses will never reopen

Very few pubs, restaurants will survive

The major sports of this country gaelic games, soccer and rugby are banned indefinitely both for large events and at local level. No more all irelands.

Our children can't mix with each other or go to school

Our young people can't go to college (online studying is not the same)

Our children can no longer play sport. Let that sink in for a second.

Funerals, weddings and so on are no more.

18ths, 21sts, 40ths, are no more.

Socialising in groups is no more. How do our young people meet a partner? Genuine question.

Concerts, festivals, parades, community days are no more.

We're heading into a depression, never mind a recession and emigration for a better life is off the table.

Many, many people in this country will be dependent on the state.

Most people I talk to still think we'll get back to some type of normal soon or that we'll have a vaccine to save the day. That could be years away.

Is life as outlined above sustainable or will the **** hit the fan over the summer and into the autumn.

I don't think the way we're going is just making a sacrifice for the frontline as it's being portrayed by politicians and in the media.

From what I can see it's complete destruction of our lives.

I'm not debating the right or wrong approach, more when will it sink it what we're being asked to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

510764.png

This is the sort of thinking we need to be doing, getting COVID-19 patients out of the acute care hospitals so that those hospitals can get back to treating the ever increasing backlog of non-Covid-19 ailments, coronary, cancer etc.

The self-contained ICUs were developed from standard shipping containers and can be moved to wherever needed.

https://newatlas.com/architecture/cura-shipping-container-icu-installed/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

All the Asian countries who have contained the virus have thermal cameras or temp checks everywhere.

So they are the answer.

They are definitely one part of the Asian countries fight against this. Public mask wearing particularly on public transport is another. And strong control of borders.

One of these measures alone such as temperature checking won't work. Bring them all together and you start to see results.

I believe one of the Spanish islands turned away a woman because she had a temperature of 38 degrees. If she was infected, she could have caused a major outbreak on the island.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,275 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

grogi wrote: »
    It's not about filtration, but reducing the velocity of exhaled droplets.

Which you achieve through a barrier acting as a filter.
    cnocbui wrote: »
    No, it's about filtration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭ZX7R

eagle eye wrote: »
    I can understand stand things like this in normal times but not now. I'm of the opinion that it should be mandatory for work and going to the shops and in urban areas at all times. I think if there is a reason you cannot wear a mask then you should stay at home. A service should be provided to deliver necessities to people like this.
    Where masks are mandatory the extremely small numbers who would be exempt are not deemed a necessary risk as everyone else is wearing them.
    Most would not be working.
    The exemptions are for public transport and exercise.
    And also in cases where families are being repatriated to home countries.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Akabusi wrote: »
    I've come fully around to masks being a good idea. They are an extra barrier so can only be a good thing. Think about the advice we have been given, if you sneeze or cough use your elbow or a tissue to cover your mouth. That cannot offer the same protection as a mask would to any people around you. As Trump would say you've gotta try it, you have nothing to lose

Well done Sir, I think you are the 1st person to spell 'lose' correctly on Boards in April. Seriously most people seem to use 'loose' :confused:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,275 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

All the Asian countries who have contained the virus have thermal cameras or temp checks everywhere.

So they are the answer.

I'd say they're part of the answer, as are masks, gloves, washing/disinfecting hands, not touching your face, giving everyone a wide berth, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

What’s Etsy? Honestly no clue what etsy is and not afraid to admit it. I want to say it’s something about delivering food or rating restaurants. Sounds cool though.
    Etsy is a place where Mary, who left her job as an accountant in Dublin and moved to Ennistymon to follow her dream of making wicker baskets, receives an order for a million pieces of PPE from the NHS because she uploaded a photo of the handmade facemask she made which was now on sale for 5 euros or in exchange for some hummus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭lbj666

Wombatman wrote: »
    The focus really needs to shift away from the general public to the old and vulnerable, particularly nursing homes and LTRCs. Total lock down for them with increased testing (including staff), staffing and resourcing including PPE.

Hospitals have had time to prepare and aren't under much pressure.

Restrictions should be eased on the 5th. Social distancing and other measures to slow community spread should be kept in place for another couple of months.

Half the people dieing are not in nursing homes.

The modelling of various R0s presented showed very sobering picture.

Basically they reckon the R0 is well below 1 which is a well done to all of us.
    But if it goes back up to around 1.5 they projected 1000 new cases a day with a within a week. If it's 2.4 new cases go off the chart.

Remember the R0 under previous restrictions was around 3 at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,613 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Well done Sir, I think you are the 1st person to spell 'lose' correctly on Boards in April. Seriously most people seem to use 'loose' :confused:

Common misspelling that. No idea why...

walshb wrote: »
    Common misspelling that. No idea why...

"Lose" lost an "o" because it was "loose".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,594 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Redo91 wrote:
    That poster said easing and not ending the restrictions. Big and very obvious difference. I’m listening and reading plenty about this and certainly it seems that the restrictions will be eased on the 5th May. Irish Independent were only reporting yesterday that over 70’s will be allowed out for exercise. While they aren’t promising anything the government are certainly suggesting that restrictions will be eased. They are due to give us a “road map†before the 5th outlining how they will do that.
    Well done f this happens it just shows what a complete and utter hopeless shower of a idiots we have in government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,089 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

bekker wrote: »

This is the sort of thinking we need to be doing, getting COVID-19 patients out of the acute care hospitals so that those hospitals can get back to treating the ever increasing backlog of non-Covid-19 ailments, coronary, cancer etc.

The self-contained ICUs were developed from standard shipping containers and can be moved to wherever needed.

There really aren't that many buildings with doors large enough to allow you to use a massive fork lift to carry a container through sideways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Wombatman wrote: »
    The focus really needs to shift away from the general public to the old and vulnerable, particularly nursing homes and LTRCs. Total lock down for them with increased testing (including staff), staffing and resourcing including PPE.

Hospitals have had time to prepare and aren't under much pressure.

Restrictions should be eased on the 5th. Social distancing and other measures to slow community spread should be kept in place for another couple of months.

That would have to also include immunocompromised people. How would it work if other members of the household were venturing out again to go to work and school? They can bring the virus home with them. Should immunocompromised people isolate from their families? Go to a different location? Sounds awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭take everything

Weak excuses!

You don't need the perfect mask, look at Asia they wear all different types. Anything is better than nothing! Even a homemade one or a tightly woven bandana.

Any additional layer of protection that could help cut down transmission even a small bit, should be welcomed and embraced. Just because some people might use a mask as an excuse for being lazy with other measures... doesn't mean you should not advise everyone else to wear one. Sorry, but it's poor rationale.

The reason our government have been slow to suggest widespread use of masks, is because they are blindly following WHO guidelines. They are avoiding their responsibility to show leadership and take a position on it themselves... they are dithering and indecisive, which will quite likely cost us lives!

I can't believe people are still trotting out these weak excuses.
    It's a serious case of being captured by authority/consensus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭quokula

bekker wrote: »
    510764.png

That's a single prototype, and when I tried to look it up to learn more every single article I can find about it is in a design or architecture publication, rather than anything medical or scientific, which makes me wonder how serious it is.

Remember that anything like this still needs staff and equipment. They built a massive field hospital in a convention centre in London but it's been turning patients away because they don't have enough nurses to staff it. You can only ramp up critical healthcare so quickly, early detection and suppression of the number of cases is always going to be more important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭manniot2

All of the above are huge concerns, add to them:

1. Huge backlog to be added to hospital waiting lists for procedures and surgeries as they are currently being cancelled.
    2. Huge mental health problems for the previously well elderly and youth - as per the last recession.
    3. Developmental issues for vulnerable kids with disabilities who are missing education and those on the spectrum who will find it incredibly hard to reintegrate.
    4. Domestic abuse, child abuse, alcohol and drug abuse.
    5. Delayed diagnosis and treatment of physical and mental illnesses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭minggatu

The best recovery rate in Germany has the state of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern
    cases 661

recovered 519

deaths

41 cases per 100 000

https://interaktiv.morgenpost.de/corona-virus-karte-infektionen-deutschland-weltweit/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

The Czechs moving on travel restrictions. 14 day quarantine on entry.
    The Czech Republic today opened its borders for outbound foreign travel in a sudden U-turn after official figures showed a decline in the incidence of Covid-19 infections.The move, announced by the health minister Adam Vojtěch, represented a surprise change of course for the country, which had been among the first in Europe to close its borders on 16 March.

is_that_so wrote:
    They've learned the hard way and, unlike us, reassessed and improve things dramatically. Kudos to their government.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭trapp

manniot2 wrote: »

1. Huge backlog to be added to hospital waiting lists for procedures and surgeries as they are currently being cancelled.
    2. Huge mental health problems for the previously well elderly and youth - as per the last recession.
    3. Developmental issues for vulnerable kids with disabilities who are missing education and those on the spectrum who will find it incredibly hard to reintegrate.

And all of them feeding in to each other.

Young men for example left unemployed and all their sporting outlets and socialising taken away??

If anyone can't see the huge risk to that they're blind.

And I repeat I'm not opposing restrictions per say before the usual lockdown merchants arrive.

More wondering when it will hit home where we're going and what we'll be left with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

is_that_so wrote: »

Italy due to announce their road map of restrictions being relaxed today, taken from the guardian,

"The next four Mondays will mark the country’s reopening” following the lockdown implemented last month to slow the spread of the new coronavirus, the Corriere della Sera daily reported.

“Everything depends on the infection curve,” the best-selling daily said, but if it doesn’t rise again “factories making agricultural and forestry equipment can reopen on (Monday) 27 April.”

Building sites as well as the textile and fashion industry can restart on 4 May, followed a week later by clothing, shoe and other shops. Finally, bars, restaurants and hairdressers can reopen on 18 May, the paper said.

Other Italian media said that bars and restaurants could reopen some time “in the second half of May”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

cnocbui wrote: »
    Masks filter in both directions with equal efficacy, if used with a modicum of intelligence.

Taking temperatures is not the answer, given the high level of asymptomatic transmission. Australia hasn't employed mass temperature screening and it's numbers are on par with Singapore, South Korea, Japan, and China's bogus figures.

Yeaa but at least they check temperatures at the airport on all arrivals and do a health screen too.

Unlike ourselves... who seem to be intent on topping up our already terrible case numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,953 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

would I be right in saying the chances of catching the virus out side of hospitals and care homes is very very low currently ,

You'd be wrong and that will be the case until people cop on and start wearing facemasks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭omerin

Anyone driving to a park should be fined, no excuses. This is an easy win for the guards so why aren't they doing it? Get traffic wardens doing it, but it needs to be done, we are far too laissez faire in this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Redo91

Italy due to announce their road map of restrictions being relaxed today, taken from the guardian,

"The next four Mondays will mark the country’s reopening” following the lockdown implemented last month to slow the spread of the new coronavirus, the Corriere della Sera daily reported.

“Everything depends on the infection curve,” the best-selling daily said, but if it doesn’t rise again “factories making agricultural and forestry equipment can reopen on (Monday) 27 April.”

Building sites as well as the textile and fashion industry can restart on 4 May, followed a week later by clothing, shoe and other shops. Finally, bars, restaurants and hairdressers can reopen on 18 May, the paper said.

Other Italian media said that bars and restaurants could reopen some time “in the second half of May”.

Jesus opening bars and restaurants as early as May seems like lunacy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

manniot2 wrote: »

Sounds about right but at least it's FRIDAY.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

We'll have to. Disease eradication is incredibly difficult. It is much more likely to not happen than to happen. So we'll have no choice but to live alongside the virus. If you think society isn't going to function well while this virus is still with us, then I hope you are sitting comfortably because it's going to be a long ride.

We might very well have no choice at some point, but that doesn't mean we are going to function well... without a vaccine or even a very basic therapeutic treatment in the works. Do you seriously think we're going to be functioning well as a society/economy if we completely opened up in the near future?

I never mentioned anything about disease eradication btw. You're jumping the gun quite a bit there ODB... we might think about shooting for treatments and a basic workable vaccine first, before we even begin to think about complete eradication of the virus.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

Drumpot wrote: »
    That’s actually a great way to live. People don’t really think about the “what would I regret if I was on my deathbed Thinking about life decisions”.. if you read top 10 things people dieing regret, it’s never that they didn’t work harder for a promotion or spend more time in work.

I think that’s why I abhor the rat race society we have built. And people don’t seem to realise that it doesn’t have to be like this, this is just the way we have been programmed to live in the world. It’s another form of feudalism but most of us in western democracies are thrown enough comforts and enough distractions (Mortgages/loans, Financial crisis down to mismanagement/greed) to not bother challanging it.

Sorry, back to discussions on the inconvenient virus that is upsetting economies to the point where we will have to probably let people die so economies can get back up and running....

Just an aside on this view.

I was over in the Uk a few years ago and listening to the radio while I drove a rather unpleasant hire car. They had a documentary about the new town, Milton Keynes.

In it, (this is in the 1960s) they discussed the idea the was behind it was to get people and companies to move out of London. But for me the most interesting point was that they specified that every house had to have enough space to keep a yacht. Now it was not that they expected the residents to keep a yacht, it was that they expected the residents would have a hobby that would require the sort of space a yacht would need for over wintering.

The reasoning was that by the year 2000, people would have significantly more leisure time by then, and that they would need to be occupied in a significant hobby, and that would require space and now (1960s) was the time to plan for it. Of course, a large proportion of households only had one wage earner, and many wives stayed at home to raise children.

How things did not work out as planned! I wonder why things did not work out like that.