Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭rm212

What's the general consensus on the position that community growth is zero or close to it?

What are they basing this position on? Low admissions? High testing rates?

I’m not entirely sold on this, they haven’t really given justification for this statement, just kind of saying the metrics are doing well...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭joe_99

Nursing homes are closed environments so we should be able to address them.

Lack of community transmission is a massive positive. Well done to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

is_that_so wrote: »
    I think you should pick up the phone and stop venting on the internet!

Nicely deflected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,052 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Guards were never enforcing the restrictions anywya. Few checkpoints so they could show they were doing something but they've done **** all. Fines should have been handed out. The visibility stuff was just PR ****e.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,650 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

https://twitter.com/AndyBiotech/status/1253355549355380739

Fascinating from New York. If true it means 2.7m cases in New York State alone.

Looking forward to seeing more of these antibody tests over the next few weeks because if the ones to date are accurate they will have a massive impact on the response to the epidemic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭paddythere

Arghus wrote: »
    To be honest, I've seen very little Garda presence since the start of this lockdown period.

I don't know if there's been much change there in how they do they do their job.

People have just relaxed and now the idea of "May 5th" is in people's heads. Ah sure, it'll be grand.

At times I think we are a very stupid nation.

From my experience (in Dublin) they were out and about a lot the first week (roughly March 27th-April 3) but since that they seem to have gone back to normal and are hoping people just comply which is just not gonna work in reality. They need to be out in force to provide some kind of deterrence in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

titan18 wrote: »
    Guards were never enforcing the restrictions anywya. Few checkpoints so they could show they were doing something but they've done **** all. Fines should have been handed out. The visibility stuff was just PR ****e.
    Disagree. I live on the outskirts of Cork City and Gardai were actively moving people on and issuing warnings. Number of businesses who tried to re-open were closed, including famous 'KCs' chipper in Douglas which was closed last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

I didn't catch all the news, over 900 new cases. Did they say where these cases are from? I know they are testing nursing homes but people shouldn't be thinking "ah it's just in the nursing homes".

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/1253364294022037504

So, 549 cases in the general community.

Sorry but if over 50% of the new confirmed cases are community transmission I’m calling bull on the claims that we have 0 community transmission today.

rm212 wrote: »
    Sorry but if over 50% of the new confirmed cases are community transmission I’m calling bull on the claims that we have 0 community transmission today.
    I don't think you know what community transmission is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭patnor1011

wakka12 wrote: »
    But as you see now in recent weeks COVID has resulted in a 50% increase in the daily national mortality rates in the country. If it was here months ago, it would be very obvious

No.
    Last 5 years average is 82 people a day, 2666 a month and 32000 a year.
    Current covid related deaths are nowhere near these numbers and by a miles away from 50% increase you mention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

I'm not sure that 25 minutes of number crunching that we've had so far in today's press conference is going to do anything to encourage people to be more alert.
    Even if all those new 936 cases today are in the care home environment, infected staff going back to their families poses a big rick given how relaxed some people have got in the last few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,052 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Disagree. I live on the outskirts of Cork City and Gardai were actively moving people on and issuing warnings. Number of businesses who tried to re-open were closed, including famous 'KCs' chipper in Douglas which was closed last week.

I live close to The Lough and they were doing **** all. Go for a nightly walk and the amount of groups the whole month has been stupid.

Warnings and people being asked to move on will do nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

Mic 1972 wrote: »
    Another huge increase, I really hope they are not testing only nursing homes at this point
    People are not following restrictions, some idiots even complimenting those who disregards the rules, we are walking into another peak

Our death rate is increasing rapidly of late... I can't see this changing with so many people now ignoring the rules. Not looking too good.

Does anyone know why we haven't had a mass media campaign to stay at home? If you watch any sort of British TV or radio station there's messages every 15 minutes telling people to stay at home. People unfortunately need constant reminders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

I didn't catch all the news, over 900 new cases. Did they say where these cases are from? I know they are testing nursing homes but people shouldn't be thinking "ah it's just in the nursing homes".

Yes, large amount due to nursing homes they've said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

That's not good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Mic 1972 wrote: »
    Another huge increase, I really hope they are not testing only nursing homes at this point
    People are not following restrictions, some idiots even complimenting those who disregards the rules, we are walking into another peak

Facebook post of a friend yesterday saying no new cases recorded in Galway and was very proud of all our hard work...

All the while they open supermacs and let the whole thing get out of hand again.

I don't think you know what community transmission is.

So, what, you think that the non-nursing home cases are all imported then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

patnor1011 wrote: »
    No.
    Last 5 years average is 82 people a day, 2666 a month and 32000 a year.
    Current covid related deaths are nowhere near these numbers and by a miles away from 50% increase you mention.

The last 11 days in a row have been around a 40-50% increase on that national mortality rate of 82 or so deaths per day, most other days during the weeks before that have been in the region of 20-30% increase

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Just catching the end of this briefing now. Holy fcuk. Over 900 new cases. What did they say about the new cases?

Any community transmissions?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,650 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

Facebook post of a friend yesterday saying no new cases recorded in Galway and was very proud of all our hard work...

All the while they open supermacs and let the whole thing get out of hand again.

Again? When did it get out of hand originally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

How are they letting it out agian? Take aways have been open the whole time so dont see what difference opening up a supermacs does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,772 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

No chance they will keep them until June. 2km will be lifted May 5th.

The 2km thing isn't the issue. A lot of the people gathering stupidly are doing so within the 2km radius.

The better restriction to lift would be for certain sectors of the economy where they can carry out the work while maintaining distancing.

rm212 wrote: »
    So, what, you think that the non-nursing home cases are all imported then?
    Community tranmission are cases which cannot be linked to any other cases, IE they are untrackable. Community transmission cases have been virtually zero in the past week or two. Community tranmission =/= cases in the community (community = everything outside of residential settings).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

Yes, large amount due to nursing homes they've said.

More than half are not in nursing homes. Large community spread.

owlbethere wrote: »
    Just catching the end of this briefing now. Holy fcuk. Over 900 new cases. What did they say about the new cases?

Any community transmissions?

549 community cases, 387 nursing home cases

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Good question from that journalist there. I had that on my mind - like what are the Irish docs treating this seeing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭patnor1011

Have you scientific proof it was here in December?

And my cousins friends mother couldn't shake off a bad cough doesn't count.

To be honest, people like you are starting to look foolish and not fully understanding the science and exponential spread of covid19.

Had it been here in December, without restrictions and with events such as Christmas which are notorious for spreading viruses, we would by 1st March be looking at cases in the tens if not hundreds of thousands.

So far after two months of testing we've come up with 16,000 cases.

So yeh over to you, proof rather than speculation please.

Well for starters a lot of deaths and lifetime damage attributed to strange "vaping disease" in the US and mainly lungs images looked eerily the same like covid lung pictures.

While people cant "prove" to you that this virus came earlier you cant "prove" it only started in dec/jan so most of what we discuss here is just speculation. Are you saying that nobody came here from China in dec/jan or nobody was in direct contact with anyone from there?
    Even things you think that are facts may not be that.