Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

What about the other 86%?
    They haven't had it, clearly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

briany wrote: »
    Hmm, looks to me like we're seeing the seed of an idea being carefully planted on this thread - that no matter how cases and deaths may continue to rise, it's mostly in care homes.

And that means we can shake our heads and say what a terrible shame it is. Right after we sink our fifth after-work pint down the boozer.

What “boozer” are you in? Many around?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭rm212

fullstop wrote: »
    What “boozer” are you in? Many around?

I think you missed his point entirely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

paddythere wrote: »
    The Gardai have slacked off and are not enforcing it anymore

To be honest, I've seen very little Garda presence since the start of this lockdown period.

I don't know if there's been much change there in how they do they do their job.

People have just relaxed and now the idea of "May 5th" is in people's heads. Ah sure, it'll be grand.

At times I think we are a very stupid nation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

This was bound to happen. Since the start we have constantly 25% of total confirmed cases being healthcare workers.

It’s not the average Joe that has triggered the avalanche of nursing home cases in Ireland.

I fully support social distancing and the HSE but it’s not the public who can be held to account for what’s currently happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

redarmy wrote: »
    COVID19ireland: A daily record for the number of new cases being reported - the Dept of Health says there have been 936 new confirmed cases, bringing the total to 17,607

wow... that's huge!

Can't see our death rate coming down any time soon. May 5th is looking like pipedream right now tbh!

'The disease is suppressed in the general population, the rate of growth in residential care is also declining.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,772 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Yeah noticed that,met them everyday last week coming home from work,yet to meet them this week!!

2 nights ago I saw more or then than I had before. Even the horsey chaps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭frillyleaf

Poorside wrote: »
    This day 2 weeks ago I could see a big bump coming, sun was out and people that were coming into where I work were getting complacent, this is going nowhere fast unless we as a country cop on.

It is very busy in my town today, definitely doesn’t look like we have restrictions. Garda have disappeared over the last week. This time two weeks ago they were visible every time I left the house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,402 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Fascinating to hear that the virus entered nursing homes about two weeks after it became widespread in the community

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭joe_99

What about the other 86%?

Wow. No words

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

I didn't catch all the news, over 900 new cases. Did they say where these cases are from? I know they are testing nursing homes but people shouldn't be thinking "ah it's just in the nursing homes".

'There has been no growth in the disease for about two weeks now' despite large numbers today and yesterday according to Prof. Nolan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭bennyl10

So community spread is virtually zero, it’s just rampant in the nursing homes.

That really is a catch 22
    One graph is great, the other..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

think Holohan,Varadkher & the Guards need to now get a bit more firm now.

So much at stake lives/livelyhoods.

If people stick to the restrictions the sooner people can get back to some sort of normal.
    Restrictions now wont be lifted until the start of June at the earliest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,947 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Bit tired of hearing about rate of growth declining, we should be moving towards the rate of decrease increasing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭frillyleaf

I have noticed in the last few days the number of Gardai enforcing the rules here in Cork City has reduced significantly. Someone has to be telling them to stop enforcing them.

Definitely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,947 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

MD1990 wrote: »

If people stick to the restrictions the sooner people can get back to some sort of normal.

No chance they will keep them until June. 2km will be lifted May 5th.

MD1990 wrote: »

I don't blame the Gardai entirely tbh. They're puppets. Someone has told them to ease up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

It shouldn't be up to them to be honest

Well it looks like there are an increasing amount of people not doing what is asked of them. While out for my daily walk today you'd be hard pushed to know that there was any sort of restrictions in place. If people are not abiding by the rules maybe the need to be reminded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭rm212

I don’t fully agree with everything that Prof Nolan is saying, he said that deaths by date of occurrence are stable but they look to be slowly increasing still. A lot of the conclusions he’s making seem to based on very shallow trends, but a lot of markers are looking optimistic at least and it does look like we aren’t worsening at the very least, right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭joe_99

I didn't catch all the news, over 900 new cases. Did they say where these cases are from? I know they are testing nursing homes but people shouldn't be thinking "ah it's just in the nursing homes".

Mainly nursing homes. They have tested everyone in homes symptoms or not. Indicates asymptomatic cases are prevalent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

No chance they will keep them until June. 2km will be lifted May 5th.

Very good chance actually!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

I have noticed in the last few days the number of Gardai enforcing the rules here in Cork City has reduced significantly. Someone has to be telling them to stop enforcing them.

hope their not getting sick

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

What's the general consensus on the position that community growth is zero or close to it?

What are they basing this position on? Low admissions? High testing rates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭branie2

May the 28 people who died rest in peace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Strazdas wrote: »
    Fascinating to hear that the virus entered nursing homes about two weeks after it became widespread in the community

I remember so clearly a poster saying that their friend who worked in a nursing home was heading out for pints the night before the pubs were closed and had been out on the Friday stating "he's entitled to his few pints".

Bone of contention at the time that many here were pricked off over. That's just one example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

joe_99 wrote: »
    Mainly nursing homes. They have tested everyone in homes symptoms or not. Indicates asymptomatic cases are prevalent.

Not yet they haven't. Good bit to go.

The model is giving a reproduction number 0.54. 95% confidence interval shows it's between 0.4 and 0.7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

Another huge increase, I really hope they are not testing only nursing homes at this point
    People are not following restrictions, some idiots even complimenting those who disregards the rules, we are walking into another peak