Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

The funny thing is I remember in December seeing multiple posts online talking about a particularly wicked chest infection type thing doing the rounds that people were noting as abnormal before COVID 19 even became a known thing.

In hindsight, you could put two and two together.
    =5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

https://www.sciencemag.org/news/2020/04/did-japan-miss-its-chance-keep-coronavirus-check

Pandemic entering 'explosive growth' phase in many Japanese cities simultaneously, authorities urge all citizens to limit social contact by at least 80% in order to mitigate the effects of the epidemic

It is thought that uncontrolled community transmission has been building for months throughout Japan completely unbeknownst to authorities due to the low levels of testing or community tracing. This does make me worry a bit for Sweden , maybe they are just not at any kind of epidemic peak yet ..who knows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,191 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

haha Trump doesn't give a rats arse about "black and minority communities"..

We're on to the wall now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Monitor1985

News from July 2019 of a mystery respiratory outbreak in Virginia nursing home.

https://abcnews.go.com/US/respiratory-outbreak-investigated-retirement-community-54-residents-fall/story?id=64275865

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Well somehow we had cases in November but didn’t notice anything more than a few bad coughs, then massive outbreak in China followed by Europe with over 150k dead so far?

First case in Wuhan 17th November

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.livescience.com/amp/first-case-coronavirus-found.html

Lockdown there was over two months later think they had about 571 cases (allegedly) when they locked down on Jan 23

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

It's worth reposting this as often as necessary so it doesn't get drowned in 'boo boo' 'tired' 'simon the hero working so hard' deflection.

Actually it's not. Spammers get sitebanned so I would suggest you do not post it again. I'll delete all your other posts spamming this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

gabeeg wrote: »
    I think they should absolutely all be experts on all things Covid by this stage.
    At least to the level of your average boards user anyway.

Granted I've never been under the pressure he's currently under, but I've never come close to making a professional gaff like that and I don't think I ever will.

That’s not realistic unless he worked in the science field before being a politician. There is a huge amount of knowledge he wouldn’t have. I know everyone is an amateur scientist these days but, like any job, it takes a lot of training to become an expert. Thinking that the coronaviruses might be named sequentially in the order they were discovered isn’t ridiculous and does he need to know how many other coronaviruses have been identified?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

domrush wrote: »
    So you also think we had a number of cases of Covid in this country in November? Is that what you’re saying?

if you care to read it again, i said some DOCTORS raised huge concerns in November re the abnormal amount and severity of fevers and chesty coughs they were treating and were far removed from a normal winter flu.
    Their concerns were ignored by the HSE.

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2020/apr/07/cancer-alley-coronavirus-reserve-louisiana

In parts of Louisiana African Americans make up 70% of coronavirus fatalities but are only around 30% of the population

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Ok enough of the "I think I had cv19 back in October" type posts.

Cv19 is a highly contagious lethal disease for many people and the earlier strains could give pneumonia to even a healthy person. Had it been here late last year you'd have seen the current nursing home crisis in January with massive numbers of deaths then. So it wasn't here late last year.
    It came from Italy, Austria or Netherlands in February.

Anything you had before then was not covid 19.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

A lot of posters here saying it may have been around for a lot longer than first reported. To me that doesn't sound logical. You need only look at death rates WITH RESTRICTIONS to rebut that.

A lot of infections come and go.

If this was around longer we surely would have seen pressures on hospitals at an earlier stage....

gabeeg wrote: »
    Question then, hot-shot - how many coronaviruses have there been prior to covid-19

Indeed. I don’t even know why people think knowing the number of coronaviruses identified is so important here. How does that affect his handling of this situation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

The funny thing is I remember in December seeing multiple posts online talking about a particularly wicked chest infection type thing doing the rounds that people were noting as abnormal before COVID 19 even became a known thing.

In hindsight, you could put two and two together.

If there were abnormally high death rates then too, then yes you could. Otherwise, no.

wakka12 wrote: »
    https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2020/apr/07/cancer-alley-coronavirus-reserve-louisiana

In parts of Louisiana African Americans make up 70% of coronavirus fatalities but are only around 30% of the population

Somewhat although not totally explained by a high prevalence of diabetes in african americans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭nj27

lalababa wrote: »
    Research coming out suggesting c-19 was in parts of US as early as December. And I started a c-19 thread in this forum suggesting that it might have been here in December.
    The thread was shut down and moved the 'conspiracies theory' threads. So whoever did that can f##k right off.

Autopsy shows first covid-19 death in the USA was on February 6th. Assuming they contracted it around 2 weeks prior to death it's safe to say it was around a lot longer than they thought, and it could well have been here too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

Stheno wrote: »
    First case in Wuhan 17th November

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.livescience.com/amp/first-case-coronavirus-found.html

Lockdown there was over two months later think they had about 1000 cases (allegedly) when they locked down

Its getting so much more harder to believe them Chinese case numbers. Their first case was in November and 2 months later they lock down at 1000 cases.

Here at home we got our first confirmed case on the first of March or there abous. We are about 6 weeks I'm down the line from the first case and we have over 16000 cases.

For the love of Jaysus will ye ever shut up about Trump!!!

Trump Trump Trump Trump Fcukin Trumpety Trump Trump.

Most of us don't care about what he is saying or doing. I don't know where ye are getting so much Trump 'news' but turn it off!
    Ye are worse to repeat the nonsense. Talk about the ultimate feeding of a troll...

Don't make me break the 2km limit to go over to ya!

Careful, Snow Garden, people take criticism of Trump talk in this general thread as a sign that you’re a Trump supporter bizarrely, as I discovered last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,300 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Durex should get in on the act.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

News from July 2019 of a mystery respiratory outbreak in Virginia nursing home.

https://abcnews.go.com/US/respiratory-outbreak-investigated-retirement-community-54-residents-fall/story?id=64275865

That's a good find. Last summer.

Has anyone symptoms last summer? I had possible food poisoning last summer but I didn't eat anything dodgy. I had fever and no energy for a few days. This surely wasn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭domrush

washman3 wrote: »
    if you care to read it again, i said some DOCTORS raised huge concerns in November re the abnormal amount and severity of fevers and chesty coughs they were treating and were far removed from a normal winter flu.
    Their concerns were ignored by the HSE.

There was no Covid in Ireland in November 2019, no doctor is claiming there was whatsoever. Show a source claiming other wise . You’re not qualified nor do you have the data to claim there was based upon a couple of chest infections. Worth noting that the number of flu hospitalisations and deaths was not abnormal this year. So you have no evidence except anecdotal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭ldy4mxonucwsq6

That's a good find. Last summer.

Has anyone symptoms last summer? I had possible food poisoning last summer but I didn't eat anything dodgy. I had fever and no energy for a few days. This surely wasn't it.

Don't forget the US vape lung thingy which is also being linked back to covid now according to some media reporting.

https://twitter.com/goss_ie/status/1253028294817013760

This is the first genuinely positive news we've had in the last two months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭MipMap

Can someone explain why it matters a f**k when Covid 19 got here or anywhere else?
    It's Here Now that's what is important.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-52349538

Projected deaths in Northern Ireland by the end of first 20 weeks of pandemic revised down from 3000 to 1500 due to effectiveness of the social distancing measures. I suppose we are entering about week 7 of the pandemic in Europe now.

Are there any up to date estimates for the republic? I assume it is about 4500 then based on the NI projection and current ratio of deaths between the the North and South

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

joe_99 wrote: »
    They have. Asked and answered at today's press conference. No mystery.
    Missed it, what was answer please?

Durex should get in on the act.

Full body condoms? Not a bad idea!

CB19Kevo wrote: »
    A lot of posters here saying it may have been around for a lot longer than first reported.

For all the doubters I had it back in September and I have the pictures to prove it

19ea630014dd4aae2d3986a3c227e5d6.jpg

screen-shot-2012-01-18-at-11-32-04-am.png

You can't take it away from me!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Don't forget the US vape lung thingy which is also being linked back to covid now according to some media reporting.

Vape lung thingy? I'm lost, what are you on about?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

wakka12 wrote: »

That's similar to that other statistic