Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

poppers wrote: »
    Its 24 -36hrs once the swab reaches the lab.
    You can prob add a day each side to get swab done and sent to lab and results back to patient

My grandmother, in a nursing home, was tested Thursday and results back Saturday. Positive :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

Flawed analogy.

To be really helpful, explain why, otherwise you just come across as a bit of a (insert appropriate word here).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,617 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

is_that_so wrote: »
    He's very good at not going off message.

It's not surprising given his history. He knows how to play the political game very well.

Soon Simon and Leo may not reference being led by the science, i feel they have backed himself into a corner somewhat regarding May 5th.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

The ‘shur it’ll be grand’ attitude is really starting to come out now in some people. There’ll forever be a cohort of people who don’t give a phuck about anyone but themselves.

Including a few hard core ones in this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭poppers

No, De Gascun said 24-36 hours total.

No he didnt. He said 24 to 36 hrs once the lab received the swab. Hospital swabs were done quicker as they are tested onsite.

Think about it how they can get a swab from west kerry/donegal to where ever processed and tested in 24hrs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭joe_99

You don't have to be an expert in virology to understand simple numbers.

49 deaths is 49 deaths whether it's increasing by 100% or 1%.

Equally 631 cases is 631 cases.

As you get more and more cases and deaths of course both inevitably grow by a lower percentage.

Over time it becomes less relevant in terms of the extent of the problem on the ground.

Flattening the curve, in other words. Great. Achieving our stated goal.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,322 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The ‘shur it’ll be grand’ attitude is really starting to come out now in some people. There’ll forever be a cohort of people who don’t give a phuck about anyone but themselves.
    Ah I think people are getting frustrated and that's understandable. Boredom is setting in too and unless someone personally knows of someone in hospital or dead because of this it does seem not much of an obvious threat, or as much as it was. I'm certainly noticing an obvious uptick in road traffic in my neck of the woods over the last couple of days, even little things like the folks behind shop counters who were wearing masks and/or gloves last week aren't today.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,359 ✭✭✭Be right back

My grandmother, in a nursing home, was tested Thursday and results back Saturday. Positive :(

Hopefully she will be ok...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

To be really helpful, explain why, otherwise you just come across as a bit of a (insert appropriate word here).

His hypothetical killing spree is linear with time, not exponential like virus growth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Mike3549

10 deaths have been de-notified from earlier figures.
    So the 10 deaths were notified twice? Typo or the person who died actually didnt have covid19????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Wibbs wrote: »
    Ah I think people are getting frustrated and that's understandable. Boredom is setting in too and unless someone personally knows of someone in hospital or dead because of this it does seem not much of an obvious threat, or as much as it was. I'm certainly noticing an obvious uptick in road traffic in my neck of the woods over the last couple of days, even little things like the folks behind shop counters who were wearing masks and/or gloves last week aren't today.

Yep. And the gloves and sanitizer at every petrol pump is now gone also at my local garage. 'Ask inside if you want some' is the sign that has replaced them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

Sorry to hear that. Please goodness she will recover well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

We need to keep Leo and Simon for however long this virus lasts. If Michael Martin is Taoiseach the virus will certainly kill us all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Deaths at more than 1000 across the island now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,249 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I think what is changing are people thinking it through . Apparently its ok to go shopping and pass others in the aisles . And queue up with 2 metres between people

If that’s ok then why is it not ok to chat with a neighbour with 3-4 metres between them
    And if that’s ok then why is it not ok to see family and stay 3-4 metres away ?

In my reckoning I am far more at risk in a supermarket than I am chatting to my family from 4 metres away .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Just watching people queuing up for Supermacs on the news, "When we heard they were open we had to come down". Keep it up lads, this is the sort of attitude that will undo any good that's been done to date and push any relaxation down the road further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

631 cases is not good

Would have been hoping for a falloff at this stage

It would be good to know how many of the cases relate to nursing homes etc seeing as they have ramped up testing there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭crossman47

So if people think it be a full lift must not be reading or listening properly

Unfortunately I feel thats common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭keynes

The confluence of this attitude plus the impending uptick on summer travel from abroad (UK, US etc) does not auger well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,213 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

No, De Gascun said 24-36 hours total.

From test to result?

If backlog is gone why is still some waiting long for results

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Mike3549 wrote: »
    10 deaths have been de-notified from earlier figures.
    So the 10 deaths were notified twice? Typo or the person who died actually didnt have covid19????

More than likely just counted twice accidentally

smallfryy wrote: »
    Hiya guys!
    Can some just quickly update on where we are in relation to 'flattening the curve'?
    I thought the daily figures were steady enough but still high enough to warrant all the restrictions in place.
    Then a man working in Tesco said to me today that we are at 0.7% at the moment so everything will be back to normal soon.

?

The man was talking through his hoop. Some restrictions could well be lifted by May 5th, but everything won't be back to normal soon. If we did go back to normal there would be a huge second wave of infections which would overwhelm our health service.

This is a bit worrying if it's a widely held view that life will go back to normal after the 5th May. Is this due to some of the health ministers press briefings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,205 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    631 cases is not good

It certainly isn't.

But sure, according to one poster as long as that's the curve flattened it's grand.

They will see how grand it is come May 5th if it continues this way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,213 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I hope she will be ok, take care

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

wakka12 wrote: »
    Deaths at more than 1000 across the island now

When we started the present restrictions on March 27th, three and a half weeks ago, we had 2000 cases and 22 deaths from covid 19.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Hopefully she will be ok...

Thank you. Hard as nails, 95 years of age, no known underlying conditions and on no medication. Not showing a single symptom either. We live in hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Akabusi

Are you gonna put them figures back up in the sky when your done?

I stated where I got the figures, yes I don't know where they originated from. However, maybe to add a bit of context, in Singapore you are fined if you are caught outside without a mask and their government distributed masks to every citizen.

Wibbs wrote: »

I've noticed the same in my area. A lot more traffic on the road in recent times, and more elderly people out and about than there was a week ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,205 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

New York reports 5,526 new cases and 457 new deaths. Rate of hospitalisations remains very high but steady.

NYDEATH15.png?itok=IURLPqPi

It certainly isn't.

But sure, according to one poster as long as that's the curve flattened it's grand.

They will see how grand it is come May 5th if it continues this way.

Every day the the health system can still function without having to decide who does and does not get adequate treatment is a win. That is the reality of this virus and that is why we are doing well. I can show you the flat curve on worldometers if you like